You have found an item located in the Kentuckiana Digital Library.
History: the progressive spirit of Parkland Lodge no. 638 F. & A.M., 1888-1918, including the Parkland High Twelve Club, 1911-1918 and Bright Star Chapter, no. 16, O.E.S., 1902-1918 / compiled, enlarged and arranged by Alfred W. Harris.
History: the progressive spirit of Parkland Lodge no. 638 F. & A.M., 1888-1918, including the Parkland High Twelve Club, 1911-1918 and Bright Star Chapter, no. 16, O.E.S., 1902-1918 / compiled, enlarged and arranged by Alfred W. Harris. Harris, Alfred W. 400dpi TIFF G4 page images University of Kentucky, Electronic Information Access & Management Center Lexington, Kentucky 2002 b92-108-27905074 Electronic reproduction. 2002. (Beyond the shelf, serving historic Kentuckiana through virtual access (IMLS LG-03-02-0012-02) ; These pages may be freely searched and displayed. Permission must be received for subsequent distribution in print or electronically. History: the progressive spirit of Parkland Lodge no. 638 F. & A.M., 1888-1918, including the Parkland High Twelve Club, 1911-1918 and Bright Star Chapter, no. 16, O.E.S., 1902-1918 / compiled, enlarged and arranged by Alfred W. Harris. Harris, Alfred W. s.n., [Louisville : 1918]  p.,  leaf of plates : ill. ; 24 cm. Coleman Microfilm. Atlanta, Ga. : SOLINET, 1993. 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm. (SOLINET/ASERL Cooperative Microfilming Project (NEH PS-20317) ; SOL MN02771.05 KUK) Printing Master B92-108. IMLS This electronic text file was created by Optical Character Recognition (OCR). No corrections have been made to the OCR-ed text and no editing has been done to the content of the original document. Encoding has been done through an automated process using the recommendations for Level 1 of the TEI in Libraries Guidelines. Digital page images are linked to the text file. Freemasons Kentucky Louisville. HISTORY The Progressive OF Spirit Parkland Lodge No. F. A.M. 1888-1918 INCLUDING THE PARKLAND HIGH TWELVE CLUB, 191 1-1918 AND BRIGHT STAR CHAPTER, No. 16, 0. E. S., 1902-1918 "To be proud of being a Mason is commendable, particularly if the pride is of the right sort" COMPILED, ENLARGED AND ARRANGED BY ALFRED W. HARRIS, P. S., P. T. 638 PUBLICATION COMMITTEE. William A. Groves Emil Anderson Alfred W. Harris ALRE W. HARRI . This page in the original text is blank. D E D I C A T I O N 0 the Officers and Members of Park- land Lodge No. 638, F. A. M., for their fidelity to the fraternity and true devotion to the lodge; and in appre- ciation of their zeal and united efforts in mak- ing it a progressive and self-sustaining insti- tution; and to perpetuate the names of the past officers and members who took an active part in striving to build it up in the early days of its existence, this volume is fraternally dedicated by The Author. ACROSTIC A TRIBUTE Prosperity its life and light, Advancing through the Sates sublime; Returning good-will day and night, Keeping step to the march of Time; Laboring for the orphans care, And widows true, helpless are they- Nobly acting on the square, Dispensing kindness day by day. Looking for more Masonic light; Obedient to His will, and know- Divulging nothing-Masonic rite; Good deeds on all in need bestow, Ever contributing its mite. No. for number the lodge holds dear. 6 and twenty years the rate- 3 full degrees conferred in state- 8 and twenty-June-meeting date. Freedom from all the tempting snares allurements of worldly life. Anciently to relieve the cares- Masonically avoiding strife. -A. W. H. OFFICERS OF THE LODGE 1918 Harry D. Edwards, Master. Walter Trinkle, Senior Warden. Allen H. O'Brien, Junior Warden. Fred. B. Stewart, Senior Deacon. George D. Gates, Junior Deacon. Leonard M. Dow, Secretary. Arthur Hover, Treasurer. William R. Edds, Tyler. Martin Keller, Chaplain. Carl Payne George J. Hellenman I Stewards. Brady V. Winslow John M. Perkins Trustees. Emil Anderson J Emil Anderson Dr. John G. Clem St. John's Day League. Arthur Hover Masonic Board of Relief-Jonathan Davis. Lindsay R. Hurst Edwin S. Barnett William T. Perciful Employment Bureau. William Kuinz Wellington A. Schooler PAST MASTERS William H. Perrin ................ ....... served as Master, 1888-1890 John W. Drake .--------------------------------. William B. Tate .------------ Herbert V. Harris. ................... George W. Seymour......................... William Taylor................... Herbert V. Harris .......... Robert H. Carothers. ........................ John Thomas Funk. ......................... Robert H. Carothers............................ Edwin J. Wright........................................ Emil Anderson ..... ................... George R. Yancey. ......................... William A. Groves ....--.--.-- Harry J. Phillips. ........................ Herzer Clarence . ............................ Lynn Alexander . ........................... Stephen S. Jones ............. L. W. Campbell.................................... Edwin S. Barnett. ........................... Lindsay R. Hurst. ..................... Herbert F. Brenton. .......................... Brady V. Winslow ................. Harry D. Edwards ........................... " " " 1891-1892 " " " 1893-1894 " " " 1895 " "' " 1896 "" " 1897 ' 'I " 1898 " " " 1899-1900 " " " 1901-1902 " " " 1903 " " " 1904 " " " 1905-1906 " " " 1907 " "' "' 1908 " " " 1909 " " " 1910 " "' "' 1911 " " " 1912 " " " 1913 SI It "' 1914 " " " 1915 " " " 1916 " " 1917 " " " 1918 W. H. PERRIN, Firs 6t Mse fPrin o No. 638 This page in the original text is blank. PETITIONERS TO THE GRAND LODGE OF KENTUCKY Brethren of the Society of Free and Accepted Ancient York Masons William H. Perrin, Walter P. Jobson, Thomas W. Blackhart, Rev. Ivan M. Wise, Thomas C. Robertson, John W. Drake, William T. Pyne, Humphrey Marshall, Jr. DISPENSATION GRANTED June 28, A. D. 1888; A. L. 5888. PARKLAND LODGE U. D., INSTITUTED June 30, A. D. 1888; A. L. 5888. CHARTER GRANTED October 18, A. D. 1888; A. L. 5888. CHARTER MEMBERS William H. Perrin, Master. Thomas W. Blackhart, Senior Warden. Thomas C. Robertson, Junior Warden. William T. Pyne, Treasurer. Walter P. Jobson, Secretary. John W. Drake, Senior Deacon. Humphrey Marshall, Jr., Junior Deacon. Rev. Ivan M. Wise, Chaplain. Frank K. Lewis, Tyler. George M. Crawford. William W. Riggs. Thomas Shivell. PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. Organized October 20, A. D. 1888; A. L. 5888. Regular Meetings, First and Third Friday Evenings of Each Month. Place of Meeting Parkland Masonic Hall, Northwest Corner 28th Street and Grand Ave. This page in the original text is blank. R INTRODUCTION _3 VERY Masonic lodge library should contain a history of its own, so that in future years the descendants of worthy Masons who may become connected with the fraternity may refer to it with pride, to know that their paternal an- cestors were members in good standing, and how their respective lodges have prospered in so many years. Parkland Lodge from the beginning of its career had struggled for six long years to gain prominence in the Masonic world with some prospects of success, until finally, after holding on nobly and living up faithfully to the rules and principles of the order, and with renewed energy coupled with its usual characteristic sociability, a bright light as it were, appeared above the horizon of its day dreams, just as a faint gleam of sunlight peers through a rift in a cloudy sky, or as the silver lin- ing on a rainless cloud; and it was then the Masonic device, "Sit lux et lux fuit" was more fully realized than at any other time and it has continued to grow in numbers and prosper ever since. There is an old saying that "nothing succeeds like success," used in the same sense that "it takes money to make money," and Parkland Lodge in its efforts to reach the goal of prosperity has succeeded wonderfully. At a certain stage of its career the lodge was on the verge of disbanding, or in other words, succumb to the inevitable, and prob- ably would have surrendered its charter to the Grand Lodge had it not been for Bro. William B. Tate, a very energetic and enter- prising young member, and one of the very first to be initiated into the lodge, who, on being solicited to become its Master at this try- ing moment, consented to accept the office (having been assured of his election beforehand), providing the brethren would be prompt in their attendance at the meetings, and in all kinds of weather if pos- sible to do so and be earnest workers in the lodge; consequently he was unanimously elected Master for the year 1893, and having conducted the office with perfect satisfaction throughout the year, he was re-elected and served through 1894 more successfully. On accepting the office the first year, he cautioned the small number of brethren to look to their laurels, for a bright and glorious future awaited them in the dim distance, and keep straight in line of their bounden duties. From that time on down to the present the lodge has pursued the even tenor of its way. In writing this history, the writer is reminded of a little inci- dent concerning himself and Past Grand Master John H. Leathers, who instituted Parkland Lodge, and at present is the Grand Treas- urer of the Grand Lodge of Kentucky. When the Grand Army of the Republic held its 29th Annual Encampment in Louisville, Septem- INTRODUCTION ber 11th, 12th, 13th, 1895, and the ex-Confederate veterans were invited by the ex-Federal veterans to participate with them in the magnificent parade, it was the happiest moment of his life to march in line and side by side touching elbows with Major Leathers, he a commissioned officer in the Civil War on one side, and the writer a non-commissioned officer on the other side of the great conflict, and the truth of it is they have been marking time ever since in peace and harmony, bound heart and soul by the mystic ties of brotherly love and charity. On November 16, 1895, the writer petitioned Parkland Lodge for membership when Bro. Herbert V. Harris was its Master, the fourth in succession. It then numbered about thirty-one members. He was lectured by Bro. George W. Seymour, Senior Warden of the lodge, made an Entered Apprentice, December 21, 1895, passed to the degree of a Fellow Craft, February 1, 1896, and raised to the sublime degree of a Master Mason, February 29, 1896 (leap year), by Bro. Seymour, the newly elected Master of the lodge. Only two of the trio of Confederates mixed up in the affair he remembers, Filmore Tyson, Chief of Fire Department and James D. Bohon, Secretary of the Fire Board, both members of Preston Lodge No. 281. Having occupied the old Masonic Hall, northwest corner 28th and Dumesnil streets, off and on for many years without some of the necessary conveniences, and as there was no prospect of secur- ing another in or near Parkland, the lodge began to make strenuous efforts to build one of its own. The writer was its Secretarv-elect and Treasurer pro tem during the whole of that year 1899, and R. H. Carothers the Master. He appointed a committee to purchase the lot, which it did several months afterwards, and it was a decade be- fore the lodge was able to erect a substantial building upon it, an imposing edifice which adds greatly to the beauty and attraction of Parkland. It was occupied by the lodge for the first time and be- fore it was quite finished, on Friday night, March 3rd, 1911, and dedicated Tuesday night, March 14th. On Wednesday, October 22, 1913, a resolution was offered by J. N. Saunders, from the floor of the Grand Lodge of Members F. A. M., and adopted, "that the incoming Most Worshipful Grand Master appoint a committee of three, which shall and in the most effective and expeditious way, gather the facts of interest relating to each of the active and defunct lodges of Kentucky, and present same in type-written manuscript to the Grand Lodge at its next meeting," etc. Signed by J. N. Saunders, W. C. McChord, George B. Winslow. In June, 1914, the subordinate lodges of the state were noti- fied of the above action by the Grand Secretary with the request INTRODUCTION that they furnish a short history of their respective lodges and for- ward to Bro. J. N. Saunders, at Stanford, Ky., before the next session of the Grand Lodge in October. At a regular meeting of Parkland Lodge, the communication was read by the Secretary, Len M. Dow; it was accepted and the Master, Edwin S. Barnett, appointed the following committee on lodge history: Past Masters of the lodge, Bros. Stephen S. Jones and Emil Anderson, and John M. Perkins, Affiliated Past Master; and on learning that the writer was preparing a historical sketch of the lodge on his own account (which he began to write on October 14, 1910, the very day the ground was first broken for laying the foundation for the new hall), and in order to facilitate the work and have it submitted to the Grand Lodge in due time, the Master appointed him as an additional member-and about the first of August he finished the task and mailed the twenty pages of plainly written manuscript to Bro. Saunders. It is a perfect historiette of Parkland Lodge and appears in a neat type-written style in "Masonic Lodge Histories," Vol. I, pages 598, 599, 600, 601, 602, 603. The next thing for him to do was to revise and write an elab- orate history of Parkland Lodge for its library and for the benefit of the members individually, which has been accomplished in this volume. It required time, patience, and endurance. Time he caught by the forelock as the opportunity offered, with the in- herited patience of Job, and the endurance of frequent and some- times unavoidable interruptions all along the line, in fair weather and in foul, for he was engaged in a business that demanded his particular attention and for that reason the work was considerably delayed. This volume is made up principally of some of the most im- portant proceedings of the lodge as they occurred in stated and called communications from time to time, with the data of each item and arranged in regular order, having been enlarged on, thereby making the compilation of this history as complete as could be under the circumstances, therefore, it can be seen that the writer is both author and compiler and only aspires to the posi- tion of a historian in a limited sense. This book contains a sketch of Parkland, also a bit of history of the Parkland High Twelve Club, and Bright Star Chapter No. 16, 0. E. S., re- spectively. The majority of the members of the former as well as the male members of the latter organization came from Parkland Lodge, now in the zenith of the glory attained by its progressive spirit. This page in the original text is blank. DESCRIPTION OF PARKLAND aIf( BOUT thirty-five years ago, and probably a little more than that, Parkland was in its infancy, so to speak, and thirty years ago, the enchanted village lifted its head, as it were, above the low green hills to the east, to the west, the north, and the south, in plain view from the leafy woodlands that stretched a little distance beyond its confines; and where the inspiring notes of the feathered songsters enlivened the hearts of the thrifty and hopeful inhabitants of the village; where the stranger strolled in thoughtful mood along the freshly made cinder paths or rode won- deringly over the yellow dirt roads, gazing up and down, here and there, at the surroundings of the wonderland. At that time streets and avenues were unthought of, yet, there have been many wonderful changes since, and today should a con- noisseur for the romantic who had seen it then, bounded by wood- lands and quaint looking farmhouses dotted here and there about, and cornfields like an army of soldiers with plumed heads marching on to battle; where blackberry bushes grew in profusion down in the bottoms, and entangled along the zig-zag rail fences within a stone's throw from Virginia avenue either way; here and there a silent pond of limpid water glistening in the summer sunshine, he would look with amazement, Rip Van Winkle like, upon the progressive strides Parkland has taken since the first house was built. As he strolls leisurely along the concrete walks of the beautiful avenues of the town, with its seven thousand inhabitants (whereas, it boasted in the beginning of having between twenty- five and fifty souls), he views with argus eyes the stretch of bright green lawns checkered with sunshine and shade, the most modern and improved styles of cheerful homes, bungalows, cottages and palatial residences with substantial garages in the background of some of them. Various kinds of shade trees beautify the front yards of nearly all of them; the most conspicuous of which are the maple, the linden, catalpa, sycamore, the majestic elm and the stately poplar pointing skyward; a shelter for the cardinal-bird, the robin-redbreast, the catbird, the oriole, the noisy blue-jay and others of the feathered tribe; some of them with gay plumage and pouring forth from tuneful throats at times delightful songs of joy- ous greeting. The most beautiful and rare flowers adorn the velvety lawns and cozy verandas of many of the homes; some of these choice flowers are fragrant, while a very few of them, though teeming with beauty, are odorless. Although Parkland, in the days of long ago, was more of a wilderness than anything else, it is now the enchanting spot-the DESCRIPTION OF PARKLAND paradise of greater Louisville. It is the place for good, desirable people who wish to locate for the balance of their natural lives, the allurements of which are magnetic, and tourists on reaching the "Gateway of the South" (Louisville), do not go away without first seeing the beautiful and progressive town of Parkland. It supports six religious denominations, an Episcopal, a Metho- dist, a Presbyterian, a Baptist, a Christian and an Evangelical Church. Every one of these houses of worship are beauti- ful and attractive edifices. It also has a public library, styled the Louisville Free Public Library, Parkland Branch, erected 1907, a model of beauty and architecture; a postoffice station; three drug stores; four dry goods stores; a millinery establishment; one cleaning, pressing and dyeing concern; three groceries; a Polar meat market; two first-class bakeries and confectioneries; two hardware stores; an up-to-date barbershop; a bowling alley; and a poolroom; four physicians and two dentists. A steam fire engine, No. 19, housed in a commodious building, protects the town from conflagrations. It has two educa- tional institutions, the Parkland Public School, a substantial build- ing, and the Brandeis Public School, the handsomest in the city of Louisville. There are two carpenter shops in the town, a plumbing shop, and two cobbler stands. Two mounted patrols make their grand rounds through the town by day and by night, and yet it is fortunate not to have a police station, which it did have several years ago, but, there was no need of it and it was done away with, and it is cheering to know that no drinking saloons disgrace this thriving town. It is, no doubt, the only suburban town of Louis- ville that is free from such a business. It is a clean and law-abiding town, peaceful and prosperous and its inhabitants energetic, healthy and happy. Before 1880, the town of Parkland, it is claimed by one of the first settlers, was bounded on the east by 26th street; on the west by 32nd street; on the north by Garland avenue, and on the south by Gibson lane and Cane Run road. The "old tower" which advertised the grounds at the start, stood, as I was informed, on the northeast corner of 26th street and Garland avenue, during the time the large tract was being laid off in town lots and sold for 2.00 to 5.00 and 10.00 per foot; whereas, at the present time there are very few vacant lots to be had, and are valued at from 30.00 to 50.00 per foot. Before the first dwelling was erected, some persons who were dubious to invest their surplus cash in real estate, remarked that it would take at least twenty years before Parkland would show any sign of being a town and it proved true, for between that length of time it became a hamlet, then a village, and finally merged into a town with between three and four thousand inhabitants. Previous to, and soon after its boom, all kinds of discouraging remarks were heralded about to prevent the sale of lots; that it was crawfish land, DESCRIPTION OF PARKLAND and full of hills and hollows, frog ponds, swampy and unhealthy. With all that had been said disparagingly against it, like Mr. Fin- ney's turnip it grew, and it grew, and it grew, and today it is a prosperous town of at least 7,000 inhabitants. It is well-known that some of those "doubting Thomases" who looked at it with dis- favor, now own beautiful homes here and there in this most beauti- ful of all the suburban towns of Louisville. One of the old landmarks of Parkland was an old fort that stood on the northwest corner of 26th street and Cane Run road. It was a relic of the Civil War, 1861-1865, built before the intended besieging and capture of Louisville by the ex-Confederate Gen. Braxton Bragg and his army that retreated September 29th, 1862, before the Federal forces under Gen. Don Carlos Buell. The old fort has long since been demolished to make room for private dwellings thereabout. In 1890, the incorporated town of Homestead, which, if I am correctly informed, extended from the center line of the alley south of Bismarck avenue,east to 26th street,west to 30th street and south to the Cane Run road, and was then as it is now, the business part of Parkland (that is the central part), was annexed to the city of Louisville, which made the town as it formerly was, the original Parkland. This page in the original text is blank. HOW IT ORIGINATED IN THE PERRIN HOUSE, 1888 May. Early in the Spring of 1888, the proposition to establish a Masonic lodge in Parkland, a suburb of Louisville, was first sug- gested by the late Bro. William H. Perrin, who discussed the move- ment at length with six other enterprising citizens and business men of the community, and brothers of the Society of Free and Accepted Ancient York Masons, Bros. William H. Perrin, Thomas W. Blackhart, Thomas C. Robertson, William T. Pyne, Walter P. Jobson, Rev. Ivan M. Wise, John W. Drake, and Humphrey Marshall, Jr. They assembled in the parlors of Bro. Perrin's residence, on the southwest corner of 26th street and Dumesnil avenue, where they exchanged views and offered sug- gestions for starting a lodge of Freemasons, which resulted in formulating a petition, signed by them and forwarded to H. B. Grant, Grand Secretary of the Grand Lodge of Kentucky. The petition praying that they be authorized to organize and proceed to work as a lodge, having received the recommendations of Lodges Nos. 8, 191, 239, 258, 281, 376, 506, and 633, and it appearing to be for the benefit of the Craft in general, as well as for the aforesaid brethren, that their prayer should be granted. In due course of time the petitioners received notice that, on the 28th of June the request for a lodge under dispensation was most cheerfully granted them. SECOND MEETING The second meeting, held in the Perrin residence, took place on the 29th day of June, 1888. The eight petitioners were promptly on hand, and precisely at 8 o'clock, p. m., it was called to order by Bro. Perrin for the purpose of congratulating each other on being granted the privilege to start a Masonic lodge under dispensation; also to select a suitable place in which to institute a lodge. As there were no houses built for holding meetings of any description in Parkland, several of the little party offered their homes in which to hold a meeting to institute a lodge-for an indefinite time. It was further suggested that "The Old Davison House," which was vacant, situated on the south side of Virginia avenue, third door be- low 28th street (now an apartment house), would be more accept- PARKLAND LODGE No. 638 F. A. M. PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. able. One of the petitioners stated, on authority, that the lodge could take possession of it at any time that suited them. The offer was greatly appreciated and readily accepted. It was therefore ordered that Bro. Henry B. Grant, Grand Secretary, be informed of the result of the meeting. Bro. Perrin was notified that the Grand Master, J. Soule Smith, would, on the 30th day of June, institute a lodge of Masons under dispensation in "The Old Davison House," to be known as Parkland Lodge U. D. PARKLAND LODGE INSTITUTED U. D. IN THE OLD DAVISON HOUSE, 1888 As it was previously announced that a meeting to form a lodge of Freemasons would be held in the "Old Davison House," south side of Virginia avenue, third door below 28th street, June 30th, at 8 o'clock, p. m., the petitioners and others interested were promptly on hand at the appointed hour. The meeting was conducted on the second floor, and in the front rooms of the residence, and according to the usual forms and customs of the Order. The names of those who were to take an active part in forming a lodge of Masons were recorded by the Secretary, Walter P. Jobson; and the participants were elated over the prospect of a Masonic lodge located in the community. Before the meeting convened they mingled in groups, and with smiles of satisfaction, shook hands with brotherly affec- tion while commenting on the outlook for the future, which they predicted would be prosperous. The meeting was called to order by Past Grand Master John H. Leathers, proxy of the Grand Master J. Soule Smith of the Grand Lodge of Kentucky. He proceeded at once to institute a lodge of Free and Accepted Masons according to the forms and usages of the Order. The following grand officers were assigned to their respective stations; they being the charter members of the lodge. William H. Perrin, in the meantime, escorted Past Grand Master John H. Leathers to the Master's chair. P. G. M. John H. Leathers, as Master. Thomas W. Blackhart, as Senior Warden. Thomas C. Robertson, as Junior Warden. William T. Pyne, as Treasurer. Walter P. Jobson, as Secretary. John W. Drake, as Senior Deacon. Humphrey Marshall, Jr., as Junior Deacon. Rev. Ivan M. Wise, as Chaplain. Frank K. Lewis, as Tyler. William H. Perrin and Rev. Ivan M. Wise took seats by W. H. 22 IN THE OLD DAVISON HOUSE. 1888 Shaw, of Falls City Lodge No. 376. Frank K. Lewis, of Golden Rule Lodge No. 345, Covington, Ky., was a visitor, also a charter member of the lodge. Past Grand Master John H. Leathers, stated the object of the meeting to be the formation of a lodge of Masons under dispensa- tion, which he was authorized to do by virtue of a letter of proxy from the Grand Master J. Soule Smith, which he held in his hand, and under letters of dispensation in his possession, issued for that purpose. The full text of the dispensation is as follows: DISPENSATION In the name and by the authority of the Grand Lodge of Kentucky: To All To Whom This May Come, Greeting: Whereas, A petition has been presented to the undersigned Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Kentucky, by William H. Perrin, Thomas W. Blackhart, Thomas C. Robertson, William T. Pyne, Walter P. Jobson, Rev. Ivan M. Wise, John W. Drake, and Humphrey Marshall, Jr., brothers of the Society of Free and Ac- cepted Ancient York Masons, residing in Parkland and its vicinity, County of Jefferson, and State aforesaid, praying that they be au- thorized to organize and proceed to work as a lodge, being recom- mended by Lodges Nos. 8, 191, 239, 258, 281, 376, 506 and 633, and it appearing to be for the benefit of the Craft in general, as well as for the aforesaid brethren, that their prayer should be granted, Therefore, Be It Known, That by the power in me vested, I do authorize and empower our worthy brothers aforesaid, to form, open and hold a just and regularly constituted lodge of Free and Accepted Ancient York Masons, known by the name and style of Parkland Lodge, Under Dispensation, and vesting them with power and authority, therein to confer upon worthy applicants the several degrees of Entered Apprentice, Fellow Craft, and Master Mason; to receive members, to make and establish By-Laws, Rules and Regulations, not inconsistent with the Constitution, Rules and Regulations of the Grand Lodge aforesaid. I do hereby appoint Bro. William H. Perrin, Master; Thomas W. Blackhart, Senior Warden; and Thomas C. Robertson, Junior Warden, of said lodge, requiring the aforesaid Master, Wardens and brethren to keep a faithful record of their accounts and proceedings of the meetings from time to time as they occur, so far as they should be committed to writing; to correspond with the Grand Lodge aforesaid whenever necessary; to make due returns of this Dispensation; and a copy of their by-laws and proceedings to the Grand Lodge aforesaid at the next grand annual communication, to be held in the Masonic Temple, in the City of Louisville, on Tues- day succeeding the third Monday in October next, until the close 23 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. of which Communication this Dispensation shall continue in force and no longer. And lastly, the Master, Wardens, and members aforesaid do, by accepting hereof, solemnly engage strictly to con- form to all and each of the foregoing requirements, and at all times to acknowledge themselves subordinate to and under jurisdiction of the Grand Lodge aforesaid. In testimony whereof I have hereunto set my name and cause SEAL the seal of said Grand Lodge to be affixed by the Grand Secretary this 28th day of June, A. D. 1888, A. L. 5888. J. Soule Smith, Grand Master. H. B. Grant, Grand Secretary. There being no objection made to the officers named in the Dispensation, Past Grand Master John H. Leathers then installed William H. Perrin, Master; Thomas W. Blackhart, Senior Warden; Thomas C. Robertson, Junior Warden. The newly installed Master then appointed William T. Pyne, Treasurer; Walter P. Jobson, Sec- retary; John W. Drake, Senior Deacon; and Humphrey Marshall, Jr., Junior Deacon. The brethren were installed in the several offices to which they were named by Past Grand Master John H. Leathers and the Acting Master of Ceremonies, W. H. Shaw, of Falls City Lodge No. 376, proclaimed Parkland Lodge U. D. insti- tuted according to the forms and usages of Masonry. FIRST STATED MEETING GETTING DOWN TO WORK June 30, 1888. The lodge being organized proceeded to busi- ness at the first rap of the Master's gavel, which foretold the events for the future of the young lodge just starting out on its mission of charity and good will. The reading of petitions being in order, the Secretary announced the names of George M. Crawford, William W. Riggs and William B. Tate to become members by initiation, which were received and referred to the proper committees. These applicants were well-known business men in the community and entitled to receive all the three degrees of the Blue Lodge, which they did, as each one became due. It appears that, about this time, the burg of Parkland was al- most too young to encourage any kind of an institution, as the population was conceded to be (at a rough guess) between five and six hundred inhabitants. The lodge started out on its mission of brotherly love and charity with slim chances of success, being poorly equipped for progressive work (the odds were against it), until it secured, by a loan from Abraham Lodge No. 8, F. A. M., some unused paraphernalia and outfit really necessary for lodge work. There were no funds in the treasury, but soon, it gradually and by dribbles began to fall into its coffers from the pockets of its 24 IN THE OLD DAVISON HOUSE, 1888 more able members, and from worthy petitioners who applied for admittance from time to time. The lodge had no debts worth men- tioning but what it could pay most anytime. A few of its members were tolerably in fair circumstances; had their cozy homes, but lit- tle available means at their command, while others had their mod- em style bungalows, and hip-roof cottages and nothing to fall back on. The members were, at the outset, ambitious and painstaking, and looked forward for the day to come when the lodge could be self-sustaining, but the forthcoming of that day was far in the dim distance. Before the close of the meeting, the Master instructed the brethren in regard to their duties as Masons. That they were now bound by the strong ties of the Order, and by strict adherence to the rules and regulations they would command the admiration and respect of all good Masons everywhere and the lodge would gain for itself a name that will endure forever. The stated meetings of the lodge were set for the first and third Saturday nights of each month. This was the first stated meeting held in the Old Davison House, on the same day and date that the lodge was instituted and the only place that could be secured at the time for large head- quarters. All members were present including the officers of the lodge: William H. Perrin, Master. Thomas W. Blackhart, Senior Warden. Thomas C. Robertson, Junior Warden. Walter P. Jobson, Secretary. William T. Pyne, Treasurer. John W. Drake, Senior Deacon. Humphrey Marshall, Junior Deacon. Rev. Ivan Wise, Chaplain. Frank K. Lewis, Tyler. One visiting member from Golden Rule Lodge No. 345, Cov- ington, Ky. Preparations were made to procure the necessary equipments, books and stationery for the use of the lodge; committees were ap- pointed to attend to purchasing the articles and have them on hand as soon as possible. Every member seemed to be very enthusiastic over the pros- pects of having a Masonic lodge and a place to meet at times in Parkland. Not only that, but they conjured in their minds a far away hope that some day, maybe, they would have one of their own. July 7. The membership of the lodge, though few in numbers, showed fairly well at all the meetings from time to time, but the increase was remarkably slow, and it could not be expected other- 25 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. wise, for, while the town of Parkland had already begun to show steady progress with a population of about four or five hundred souls as before mentioned, it generally happens that in all organi- zations one or more officers, to say nothing of the other members, absent themselves for some reason or other, and it was so with the Parkland Lodge as with all the others, and in consequence of this fact some of the visiting members are called on to act in their stead which they always do cheerfully and willingly. It is one of the characteristics of a Mason, we well know. Besides the officers and members there were two visitors pres- ent: John Krepper and George E. Johnson, of Preston Lodge No. 281. Two petitions for affiliation accompanied by demits were re- ceived; one from Frank K. Lewis, of Golden Rule Lodge No. 345, Covington, Ky., and the other from Thomas Shivell, of Nolin Lodge No. 234, Nolin, Hardin County, Ky. The brethren were the first to become members of the lodge by affiliation. A circular letter was received from Grand Master J. Soule Smith in regard to taking degrees out of time. It was to remind new lodges not to be too hasty in well-doing. At this time the Parkland Lodge had just barely begun to take the progressive step as it surmised. The charges for conferring the degrees on applicants qualified to receive them were fixed at 25.00, of which sum 10.00 must ac- company the petition, and the remaining 15.00 to be paid before taking the Entered Apprentice degree. A committee was appointed to draft a set of by-laws for the government of the lodge, composed of Humphrey Marshall, Thom- as W. Blackhart, and Thomas C. Robertson. The expenses to date as itemized: To cash for Dispensation ............................................. 8.00 One dozen blank petitions for Initiation... .25 is " " " " Affiliation.. 25 One bolt ribbon for use of Jewels ... .60 Postage stamps for use in writing to other lodges and G'd M'r .40 Total..................................................... 9.50 July 21. On account of the "Parkland Excursion to High Bridge" on this date, given for the benefit of one of the churches, no meeting was held that night. Nearly every person in town took advantage of the opportunity and went on the outing, barely a cor- poral's guard was left behind; really, it put one in mind of the de- serted village we used to read about in the school books of our childhood days. However, the Parklandites had a most enjoyable time, but as it invariably happens after such delightful occasions, the excursionists were very much fatigued and none of them were, I dare say, in a restful mood to venture out to go anywhere that 26 IN THE OLD DAVISON HOUSE, 1888 night. It was learned that several members of the lodge put in an appearance at the sanctum but found it dark as chaos, not even a faint glimmer of light could be seen anywhere, and, after hanging around for some little bit, displaying their witticisms, they departed for their respective domiciles. August 4. It was broached about by some of the more know- ing members of the lodge that they would, in a week or two, change their lodging place. The following report was made by the committee appointed to purchase the outfit and paraphernalia for the lodge, which, on mo- tion of Rev. Ivan M. Wise was adopted. To the Master, Wardens and Brethren of Parkland Lodges U. D.: The undersigned committee appointed to procure outfit and paraphernalia for this lodge, beg leave to report that they have purchased from Abraham Lodge No. 8, in this city, the following: 1 set of Jewels (13 pieces)..........................................................14.50 1 " Warden's columns (2 pieces) ................................................ 1.00 1 " Working tools (4 pieces) ................ 1.50 1 " Deacon's and Steward's rods (4) . ... ..................................... . 3.00 1 " Candlesticks (3) ...................... .................................. 1.50 1 " Master's Charts (3) ................ 1.50 1 " Fellow Crafts Carpet ................ 3.50 1 " Silver Trowel ................ 2.50 1 " Lodge Seal ...................... .................. 2.00 1 " Setting Maul ...................... ................. 1.25 1 " Ballot Box and Ballots.. 1.50 3 " Slippers ................................................................,.,,,, .50 Total .34.25 Approved by the finance committee and a note for one day after date given for the amount. W. H. Perrin, 1 T. W. Blackhart, Finance Committee. T. C. Robertson, J Having purchased the equipments for the lodge from Abraham Lodge No. 8, F. A. M., with the funds it had accumulated since its organization, the members concluded to seek a more convenient place for their meetings. In view of the fact that Mr. J. W. Dixon, a resident of Parkland, had in course of erection a two-story brick house, situated on the northeast corner of 28th street and Dumes- nil avenue, the upper floor of which was designed for a large hall and suitable for lodge purposes, he said, it was brought before the regular meeting of August 4th, and a committee appointed to call on Mr. Dixon and make arrangements with him whereby the hall could be secured as a place for meetings, soon as it was near ready 27 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. to be occupied. On that committee were Thomas W. Blackhart, William T. Pyne, and Thomas C. Robertson. Immediately after appointing the above committee, the Master stated that a communication had been received, which would offset the former proposition for awhile. The letter, which was read by Bro. Jobson, the efficient Secre- tary, stated that the official board of the Parkland Presbyterian Church offers the lodge the use of its Sunday school room as a place in which to hold its meetings, until a more suitable place could be found. That the room was secure against all observation and intrusion, and well adapted for lodge purposes. The motion was put by Bro. Rev. Ivan M. Wise, Chaplain of the lodge and unanimously adopted. As a matter of course the offer was gracious- ly accepted. The acceptance of the Presbyterian Sunday school room did not deter the hall committee from endeavoring to secure the Dixon Hall, for it was actually necessary for Parkland Lodge, U. D., to have a room so arranged wherein it could conduct all its meetings with perfect freedom, and without the least fear of molestation, or of being overheard by pedestrians passing to and fro on the outside, or by groups congregated on the street corners below. The lodge, it is well known, had many drawbacks during the first seven years of its existence, which most surely stunted its growth for a time while striving to hold its equilibrium. The night of the 4th of August was the last meeting held in the "Old Davison House." IN THE PRESBYTERIAN SUNDAY SCHOOL ROOM, 1888 August 7. The members of the lodge being desirous to hold the first meeting in the Sunday school room early as possible, the Master announced that they would meet there on the night of August 7th, in called communication for the purpose of conferring the several degrees. Promptly at 7:30 o'clock, all the members were in attendance with the exception of two of its officers, the Senior Warden and the Tyler, who were unavoidably absent, and whose stations were filled by Bros. George E. Johnson and John Krepper, both of Preston Lodge No. 281, and frequent visitors at the meet- ings. The officers present on this occasion were: William H. Perrin, Master. George E. Johnson, Acting Senior Warden. Thomas C. Robertson, Junior Warden. Walter P. Jobson, Secretary. William T. Pyne, Treasurer. John W. Drake, Senior Deacon. Humphrey Marshall, Junior Deacon. Rev. Ivan M. Wise, Chaplain. John Krepper, Acting Tyler. 28 IN THE PRESBYTERIAN SUNDAY SCHOOL ROOM, 1888 August 18. At the regular meeting of August 18th, the com- mittee on by-laws made the following report: To the Master, Wardens, and Brethren of Parkland Lodge, U. D.: Brethren:-Your committee appointed at a stated meeting held on the 7th of July last, to prepare a set of by-laws, having per- formed their duty, respectfully submit for your consideration the following code of By-Laws, Rules of Order, etc., as the result of their labors. Fraternally, etc., Humphrey Marshall, 1 Thomas W. Blackhart, Committee. Thomas C. Robertson, J On motion of Frank K. Lewis, the report was received, and the reading and consideration of the by-laws postponed until the next stated meeting, one month from this date. After the lodge was fully equipped it possessed a beautiful set of silver jewels, emblems of the various offices and attached to silver chains and plates. The Secretary deeming them too heavy for use, conceived it a first rate idea for the lodge to dispose of them and convert them into coin, and instead, have the jewels of the lodge attached to a narrow blue silk ribbon and worn about the neck. He therefore offered a motion that the chains and plates of the lodge jewels be taken off and sold for old silver, that it would be of greater benefit to the lodge. The motion was carried, and the Mas- ter appointed the Secretary to attend to the disposal of the same. At the stated meeting, September 1st, the committee on rent- ing hall reported that they called on Mr. Dixon and he made them two propositions: 1st, to lease the hall to the lodge for five years at an annual rental of 50.00. The said Dixon to furnish it com- pletely (regular lodge furniture, etc.), providing light, fuel, water, and a janitor; 2nd, to rent it to the lodge for one year at the latter's own price, say 40.00, taking chances as to what rent may be asked after the expiration of the year. On motion the report was received and the committee con- tinued in force, with instructions to close a contract with Mr. Dixon for one year at 40.00. An informal discussion was indulged in regarding discipline and decorum of officers and members of the lodge, and the courtesy and duty due each other, with some timely remarks on the same by the Master. September 15. On September 15th, a motion was made to postpone the consideration and adoption of the by-laws which was set for this evening, until the next stated meeting, owing to the small attendance. The Secretary reported that in accordance with the action of the lodge at the last meeting, that the cross-plates, pins, and chains were detached from the jewels and sold for old silver, and weighed 29 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. in the aggregate 45y2 ounces, which, at the standard price of old silver amounted to 3.40, and that he paid fifty cents for silk cord to be attached to the jewels, leaving a balance of 2.90 in his hands, which was paid over to the Treasurer with other funds collected. A voucher was drawn on the Treasurer for 4.30 in favor of the Grand Secretary for 3 gavels and 33 linen aprons. October 6. October 6th, the reading and consideration of the by-laws were brought before the lodge for the last time, and on motion by Bro. Frank K. Lewis, were adopted without a change or amendment, and ordered to be submitted to the Grand Lodge for approval. An order was drawn on the Treasurer for 19.50, the amount due the Grand Lodge for dues and assessments; another for 36.00, due it for the charter of the lodge which it received on October 18th. At the called meeting of October 13th, which was for the con- ferring of degrees, eight members were present, and five visiting brethren. They were: C. R. Gregory, Harvey Maguire, Lodge No. 209, Perryville, Ky.; George E. Johnson and John Krepper and Ernest Wedekind, Preston Lodge No. 281, and B. W. Thurman, Kilwinning Lodge No. 506, Louisville, Ky. PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, ORIGINAL CHARTER, OCT. 18, 1888, PARKLAND, JEFFERSON COUNTY, IN DIXON HALL, 1888 October 20. On the 20th of October the first stated meeting under the charter was held in Dixon Hall which was not quite completed. However, the lodge was in good working trim and in readiness to receive the officers of the Grand Lodge. They came down in a body, entered the hall, and occupied their respective sta- tions in regular order, preparatory to obligating the officers of Parkland Lodge. The officers who constituted the Grand Lodge and performed the imposing ceremonies on this auspicious occasion, were men prominent in social and business circles, and men of sterling worth and integrity, and well known throughout the Masonic fraternity. The charter members and officers, and brethren of the lodge were also a fine body of citizens of the commonwealth who had the inter- est of Masonry at heart, energetic workers for the cause of charity and Christianity, and used every precaution to make the lodge a perfect success. Past Grand Master John H. Leathers, as proxy to the Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Kentucky, F. A. M., J. Soule Smith, prepared for the duties which devolved on him. The fol- lowing Grand Lodge officers officiated: John H. Leathers, as Grand Master. W. H. Shaw, as Deputy Grand Master. 30 IN DIXON HALL, 1888 E. H. Payne, as Grand Secretary. Joseph T. Davidson, as Grand Tyler. Acting Grand Master Leathers called the members of Park- land Lodge, U. D., to order, and stated that the object of the meet- ing was for the purpose of obligating its officers under the charter of a regular lodge of Free and Accepted Masons. This he did in conformity to the form and usages of the Order. After the interesting ceremonies were completed, short ad- dresses were delivered which were beneficial, and for the guidance of the lodge as it progressed along the line of Masonic duty success- fully. It was previously arranged to obligate the officers of the lodge in Dixon's Hall as it was to be the next regular place of meeting; in appreciation of the good will of the officials of the Presbyterian Church in voluntarily offering the use of the Sunday school room, Acting Grand Master Leathers closed the lodge in form, and the brethren proceeded in a body to the church where he formally or- ganized Parkland Lodge No. 638, F. A. M., and installed the officers publicly in the Sunday school room as follows: William H. Perrin, Master. Thomas W. Blackhart, Senior Warden. Thomas C. Robertson, Junior Warden. Walter P. Jobson, Secretary. William T. Pyne, Treasurer. Rev. Ivan M. Wise, Chaplain. John W. Drake, Senior Deacon. Humphrey Marshall, Junior Deacon. George M. Crawford, Stewards. William W. Riggs, Frank K. Lewis, Tyler. Besides Thomas Shivell, Sr., charter member, there were pres- ent with those who took part in organizing the lodge, S. J. Grau- man, Lewis M. Levi, H. S. Simons, of St. George Lodge No. 239, George E. Johnson and John Krepper, of Preston Lodge, No. 281. At the conclusion of the proceedings in the Sunday school room of the Presbyterian Church, northwest corner of Amber and Woodland avenues, Rev. Ivan M. Wise, Chaplain of the lodge, pro- nounced the benediction and the brethren returned to Dixon Hall where the Grand Lodge was closed in the usual form and witnessed the opening of Parkland Lodge No. 638, F. A. M., on the third degree of Masonry. As there was no business to be transacted, under the head of "Good of the Order" a brief address from each of the Grand Representatives and other brethren present, congratulat- ing the new lodge on launching its bark safely out on the tide of fraternal good-will with the cherished hopes of a successful career. On behalf of Parkland Lodge, Bro. Perrin thanked the Grand Lodge officers for the work they so ably performed. 31 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. At a subsequent meeting Bro. John W. Drake offered the fol- lowing resolution: Resolved, That the lodge tender a vote of thanks to the officers and members of the Presbyterian Church for the use of their Sun- day school room in which it held its meetings pending the comple- tion of Dixon Hall. The resolution was unanimously adopted by a rising vote and the Secretary instructed to send a copy to the church session with the seal of the lodge affixed. November 16. At the stated meeting of November 16th, fif- teen members were present, seven of whom were from sister lodges expecting to witness the Master Masons Degree conferred on Wil- liam Brown Tate, one of the very first applicants proposed for mem- bership in the lodge, but were disappointed on account of the un- finished condition of the hall, which was too cold to attempt to per- form the initiatory ceremony, and in consequence it was postponed for a more suitable occasion. The representatives from the sister lodges were, George E. Johnson, L. R. Dickinson, F. Diefenbach, Henry Heuser, and John Krepper of Preston Lodge No. 281; George Simpson of Kilwinning No. 506, and Charles Moir, of Ex- celsior No. 258. Under the existing conditions they passed the time away pleasantly by giving some short talks on the future of the young lodge, and for its ultimate success. Everything being systematically arranged to proceed squarely to work according to the rules and regulations of the Order, the members set themselves to planning for the future. The lodge room not being quite finished they had to rest contented and bide their time with patience. Visitors from other Masonic lodges throughout the city and State, occasionally paid the lodge a brotherly call. The usual test, in some instances where it was really necessary, was resorted to. December 27. The date for holding the annual election of officers for the ensuing term being at hand, the brothers duly quali- fied were chosen to fill their respective stations as follows: William H. Perrin, Master; Humphrey Marshall, Senior Warden; Thomas C. Robertson, Junior Warden; William W. Riggs, Secretary; Wil- liam T. Pyne, Treasurer; John W. Drake, Senior Deacon; William B. Tate, Junior Deacon; Rev. Ivan M. Wise, Chaplain; Thomas Shivell, Sr., Tyler. January 3, 1889. The question of taking stock in the Parkland Masonic Temple Building Company was brought up and after some debate the lodge invested in four shares which was about as much as it could afford at the time, as an entertainment was in prospect for the benefit of one of the charter members who had demitted and was going to locate in another city; also it was pledged to co-oper- ate with other Masonic lodges of the city in giving an entertain- 32 IN DIXON HALL, 1889 ment for the benefit of the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home, which it did most cheerfully. During the progress of the meeting the gaslights began to flicker and grow dim, and finally went out entirely. The room be- ing in a chaotic state created some merriment among the brethren, for at that moment one of them shouted goodnaturedly "Who doused the glimmer" another "Where was Moses when the lights went out" and like expressions. In a very short time the candles of the lodge were lit and the Master proceeded to close in due form. March 2. On March 2, the first call of ten per cent. on the four shares of stock in the Parkland Masonic Temple Building Company, amounting to 20.00, was paid. April 16. At the meeting of April 16th, the attendance was considerably larger than any held since the lodge was regularly established. There were twelve members present and thirteen vis- itors; the most prominent among them were Past Grand Master John H. Leathers, who presided over the meeting as Master of the lodge, and W. H. Shaw of Falls City Lodge No. 376, who acted as Senior Deacon, and A. Smythe, C. N. Caldwell, E. H. Payne, and John Armstrong, also of Falls City Lodge; B. W. Thurman, of Kil- winning Lodge, No. 506, and B. F. Schardein of the same lodge; D. 0. Talcott and George C. Gorman, of Compass Lodge, No. 223, and Vaughn, of Louisville Lodge No. 400, and John Fowler, of Lewis Lodge No. 191, a veteran of the Civil War, and James Lanning, late of Acacia Lodge, La Salle, Ill. A rising vote of thanks was extended to Past Grand Master John H. Leathers and W. H. Shaw for their presence and able assistance, also to the other visiting brethren who also honored the lodge with their presence which was appreciated to the fullest extent. The following committee was appointed by the Master to pur- chase the corner stone for the Parkland Masonic Temple, and have the inscription carved thereon: Humphrey Marshall, Jr., George C. Crawford, and Frank K. Lewis. This committee, appointed at a previous meeting, reported that they had performed their duty, and that the corner-stone was ready to be laid at the designated time. The Master then called a meeting for September 21st, the object of which was explained at a former meeting, that they were to as- semble to assist the officers of the Grand Lodge in the ceremonies. September 21. After an entertaining talk by some of the brethren, they left the hall, or rather lodge room, formed in line by twos and the procession then began its march to the L. N. Depot where they waited the arrival of the train which pulled in about an hour after. The brethren of the Grand Lodge were greeted with glad hearts and willing hands, and named in the following order: John H. Leathers, Grand Master. W. H. Shaw, Deputy Grand Master. 33 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. H. T. Jefferson, Grand Senior Warden. J. H. Branham, Grand Senior Deacon. C. E. Graff, Grand Secretary. T. H. Boden, Grand Treasurer. H. R. Coleman, Grand Chaplain. D. F. C. Weller, Grand Standard Bearer. E. Grauman, Grand Marshal. J. T. Davidson, Grand Tyler. They formed in procession and marched to the Masonic Temple building where the corner-stone was laid with the usual appropriate Masonic ceremonies. After everything was completed and many complimentary remarks passed in favor of the first Masonic edifice erected in Parkland, and which was an ornament to the town, the Grand Lodge officers were escorted back to the depot by Parkland Lodge which, after many fraternal handshakes and pleasant good- byes parted to meet again, and returned to its lodge room, and opened in stated communication at the appointed hour. It was here a committee was appointed consisting of Bros. Drake, Tate, and Miller, to contract with the Parkland Masonic Temple Com- pany for rent of hall when ready to be occupied. Time and terms to be left with the committee. It was recommended by the entertainment committee that the services of H. R. Coleman be secured for a lecture on the Holy Land. October 1. On the 1st of October the following letter was re- ceived by the Master: Appreciating the kindness of you and your brethren of the lodge, I desire to give them some token or memento of my appre- ciation; and knowing that a Bible is considered a part of a Masonic lodge, I had in my mind to present them one. Learning that your lodge had recently purchased a Bible, but had not yet paid for it, I assumed the responsibility of paying for it myself and herewith en- close a receipted bill for same. Tendering you and your lodge my sincere thanks for all your kindness, I am very truly yours, Amrah R. Cartmell. The gift was accepted with kindest thanks, and a copy of the letter was ordered spread on the minutes of the lodge, and also on one of the blank pages of the Holy Bible. As the lease on Dixon Hall would expire on Nov. 17th, the lodge accepted the proposition to rent it at 3.122 per meeting night until the Parkland Masonic Temple, which was then in course of erection, was ready to be occupied and which the lodge contem- plated on renting or leasing as a regular meeting place. The lodge rented the Parkland Christian Church, near the southwest corner of Dumesnil and Catalpa streets, for the purpose 34 IN DIXON HALL, 1890 of having a lecture to be given by the Rev. Bro. H. R. Coleman on "The Holy Land," December 21st, as Dixon Hall in which Parkland Lodge was holding meetings from time to time could not accommo- date all who would attend that night. Bro. Carothers printed the tickets and dodgers for the occa- sion. The proceeds amounted to 88.95. Renting the church, 5.00. Printing 2.50. Clear of all expenses, 81.45. IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1890 December 27. December 27th being the time for the annual election of officers, the following brethren were chosen for the year 1890: William H. Perrin, Master; William W. Riggs, Senior War- den; John W. Drake, Junior Warden; Frank K. Lewis, Secretary; William Taylor, Treasurer; William B. Tate, Senior Deacon; Brent Moore, Junior Deacon; Thomas S. Redman, Tyler. On February 1st the lodge leased the Masonic Hall. At the stated meeting held March 1st, it was announced to the lodge by the Master, that Bro. Jacob Krieger, Sr., donated to it one share of stock in the Parkland Masonic Temple, for which the lodge gratefully acknowledged and with thanks. April 5, 1890. The lodge accepted from the Parkland Masonic Temple Company a donation of the rent of the hall from the begin- ning of the lease, February 1st to April 1st, which was accepted with many thanks and appreciation, and notified in the usual order. The ladies of the Presbyterian Church (which is located on the northwest corner of Woodland and Amber sts., now 28th), having requested the use of the hall in which to give a lecture for the bene- fit of the church, it was cheerfully granted them, and also to the different religious denominations of Parkland, providing they ac- cept it before being carpeted, which would be in about six weeks' time. They were accordingly notified of the action of the lodge. A vote of thanks was tendered Bro. H. B. Grant for two neat and appropriate pictures he presented to the lodge. They still oc- cupy a conspicuous place on the wall of the new hall. The Trustees rented the small hall to the Parkland Progress Club at the rate of 40.00 per annum, and 1.50 for each extra meet- ing. It was a positive order that those responsible for the rental should keep it in good condition. At the regular meeting of April 5th, a resolution was offered that Parkland Lodge No. 638, F. A. M., surrender its Territorial Jurisdiction to the extent that it is necessary to make the Jurisdic- tion of the City of Louisville and town of Parkland, in the County of Jefferson, and State of Kentucky, a concurrent jurisdiction, exactly as it would be if the two were in the same corporation. It was therefore ordered that the Secretary mail a copy of the same to the various Masonic lodges of the city for their endorsement. 35 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. August 7. The Parkland Methodist Church was given the privilege to use the hall for divine services on Sundays, day and night, and every Wednesday night at a stipulated rental. It was subsequently leased for one year. Bro. H. B. Grant delivered a very able lecture to the members present on "Lodge Discipline," which was entertaining and of great benefit. It was his purpose always to keep the lodge well in- formed on the duties of a Blue Lodge Mason, and on other kindred subjects. September 20. The Knights and Ladies of the Golden Rule were allowed the use of the hall for one meeting night free of charge. They afterwards secured it for one year and subrented to the Parkland Progressive Club for a meeting to be held every other night in the week during the year. In a lodge of Fellowcrafts, Mr. J. D. Hill, on whom the degree had been previously conferred, pre- sented the lodge with an historic gavel made of laurel wood that grew on the Lookout Mountain battlefield, and in appreciation of the gift he was tendered a vote of thanks. October 4. When the lease on Dixon Hall expired (November 17, 1889), the lodge decided to rent it by the meeting and at the same time it contemplated renting the Masonic Hall soon as the Temple was completed and which was then in course of erection. November 20. Bro. Perrin announced that D. H. Baldwin Co. would loan the piano free of charge for the dedication ceremo- ny, but the cost of moving it to the hall would be 6.00, which the lodge was willing to pay as that firm was generous always. The time for the dedication of the hall or lodge room in the Parkland Masonic Temple being at hand, the members assembled in called meeting with the officers present as follows: W. H. Perrin, Master. J. W. Drake, Acting Senior Warden. W. B. Tate, Acting Junior Warden. F. K. Lewis, Secretary. William Taylor, Treasurer. T. S. Redman, Tyler. S. L. Brashear, G. M. Crawford and W. T. Pyne, present. Grand Master Charles H. Fisk of Golden Rule Lodge No. 345, Cov- ington, Ky., and forty brethren of Louisville Commandery No. 1, were the visitors; their names failed to appear on the lodge register. J. A. Armstrong, Eminent Commander of Louisville Commandery No. 1, was present also by invitation. The lodge was opened at 7:30 o'clock p. m., on the Third De- gree, in the Baptist Church which it occupied by mutual agreement beforehand with the trustees of the church, till the hall could be 36 IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1890 properly arranged for the occasion which took but a short time. William Taylor acted as Master in the place of W. H. Perrin, who was not able to preside. After the usual proceedings at the church, the lodge closed and the members formed in procession and marched to the Masonic Temple where the hall was dedicated according to the ancient cus- tom. The ceremony being completed the lodge closed in due form. The brethren again formed in line and marched back to the church where it opened in the usual form. Short addresses were made for the good of the Order, and the brethren commented on what had been done for the lodge in the past and what might be accomplished in the future. The lodge was then closed in due and ancient form, to meet again in its new quarters when called together by the Mas- ter's orders. The Parkland Masonic Temple was erected by the building company under that name, and composed solely of Free and Ac- cepted Masons; the Parkland Lodge No. 638, F. A. M., having no especial interest in it whatever, with the exception of owning four or five shares of stock and in that way affiliated with it. The Baptist Church where the lodge met in called communica- tion just before and immediately after the dedication of Parkland Masonic Hall, was afterwards sold and converted into a railway barn, and later on it was transferred to the city of Louisville and modeled into an engine house for the Automatic Fire Engine for the protection of the town and its environments. When the Parkland Progressive Club reorganized for the second time in the history of Parkland, by its perseverance and determined efforts it secured from the city of Louisville another fire engine, of a different style and type, and more serviceable, and housed in a substantial engine house built especially for that purpose. The former house of wor- ship, after these changes were made became a postal station and remained so for some time. Since then it was occupied as a grocery store, and at present time it is rented as a bakery and confectionery. It can be seen by this statement, gained by authentic information and personal knowledge, that the now flourishing Parkland Masonic Lodge had at one time in its infancy held several meetings in this little Baptist Church around the corner of Amber avenue on Dumes- nil street, opposite the old Masonic Temple, or Hall, as it was gen- erally known. December 9. This was the first stated meeting held since the dedication of the Temple, although the lodge had occupied it for months, while the building was going up. A good attendance was expected but to the contrary it was anything but flattering, several members were in arrears with their dues, and the funds in the treasury were down to bed-rock and things looked squally for the time being. Bro. William W. Riggs acted as Master in the place of Bro. Perrin, who was ill. 37 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. December 27. As there was no other important business to come before the lodge the annual election of officers took place, which resulted as follows: John W. Drake, Master. Thomas C. Robertson, Senior Warden. Frank K. Lewis, Junior Warden. George W. Grant, Secretary. Isaac P. Miller, Treasurer. William B. Tate, Senior Deacon. Samuel L. Brashear, Junior Deacon. Thomas S. Redman, Tyler. Bro. H. B. Grant, of Louisville Lodge No. 400, duly installed the officers in their respective stations. January 7, 1891. Bro. Drake, as the newly elected Master and worthy successor to Bro. Perrin, began his term of office with little encouragement, but put forth his best efforts to build up the lodge as the Past Master had endeavored to do. He was ambitious and per- severing and took a deep interest in the work and management of the lodge. In order to enliven and encourage the members, it was sug- gested that an occasional essay, recitation, or poem be rendered by any of the brethren who felt so disposed. At this meeting and un- der the head of "For the good of the Order," Bro. William B. Tate started the ball rolling. He spoke very earnestly, impressively, and kindly to the brethren, and prevailed on them to be prompt in at- tending all the meetings and at the appointed hour, except in case of sickness or anything else unavoidable. At a succeeding meeting of the lodge, Bro. "Billy" Taylor de- livered an essay (his own composition), on "What Could Be Done For the Benefit of the Lodge." It was enthusiastically received by the brethren. At the conclusion of his convincing remarks as a further mark of brotherly appreciation, the Master requested of him to prepare a fifteen minute article on "The Relation of Masonry to the Church." The paper was prepared and read at the stated meeting of February 10th. It evinced study and care in the prep- aration of it, and was listened to with rapt attention. A rising vote of thanks was unanimously tendered him. The rendition by Bro. Taylor brought forth a similar request from one of the brethren, that Bro. Isaac P. Miller be prevailed on to write something for the benefit of the lodge. He finally con- sented to do so, and selected for his subject "The Northeast Cor- ner," a very appropriate theme indeed. He stated that he would be on hand at every stated communication, and if the meeting was well attended he would deliver his subject. This statement caused the members to be present, and when the proper time rolled around he was called on to deliver it, which he did in a manner becoming 38 IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1891 an experienced lecturer, and received the plaudits of the brethren with a rising vote of thanks and appreciation. March 10. On the 10th of March, Bro. H. B. Grant was at a stated meeting unanimously elected an honorary member of the lodge in accordance with the new by-laws. April 28. On the 28th of April, Bro. Grant entertained the lodge by reciting the famous Masonic poem "Our Vow," composed by the late Past Grand Master Rob. Morris and first recited by him at a meeting of the Grand Lodge, held in the old Masonic Temple, southwest corner of Fourth avenue and Jefferson street. This fa- vorite gem has become so popular among the Masonic fraternity everywhere that it is classed as one of the choicest effusions in Masonic literature. It has been rendered in all the Masonic lodges of the city from time to time by the venerable Bro. Charles A. Gipe, the present Grand Tyler of the Grand Lodge of Kentucky, "The old Reliable." It was also recited in several of the Masonic lodges of the city by the writer himself, and as Bro. Charles A. Wilson declared, "it was most admirably rendered; better than any he had ever yet heard." The practice drills which Bro. Grant frequently conducted were generally well attended, and in which the brethren seemed inter- ested. Bro. Grant, who had been a captain in the Federal army during the Civil War, was a skillful officer and knew how to keep men well in hand in a school of instruction. As an honorary mem- ber of the lodge he was deeply interested in its progress, and when- ever called on to assist in any way, he cheerfully responded and promptly, if it were convenient for him to do so. In his remarks for the good of the Order he had a good word for the upbuilding of the lodge. A called meeting of the lodge was held in the hall of the Masonic Temple for the purpose of paying the last sad rite to Bro. William H. Perrin, deceased. The meeting was called to order by Bro. John W. Drake, Master of the lodge, and he appointed the fol- lowing committee to make arrangements for the members to at- tend the funeral: Bros. George W. Grant, William W. Riggs, and W. N. Sills. The body of our worthy and highly esteemed brother was con- veyed to his last resting place and consigned to the grave with solemnity and Masonic honors, and with the parting words-"Fare- well my brother." September 15. At the stated communication, September 15th, the following members were present: Bros. John W. Drake, George W. Grant, William W. Riggs, W. N. Sills, Samuel L. Brashear, William T. Pyne, William B. Tate, Frank K. Lewis, George M. Crawford, F. M. Lansford, William Taylor, Herbert Harris, Hum- 39 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. phrey Marshall, Jr., and H. B. Grant, honorary member of the lodge, and W. H. Lansford. The Committee on Resolutions-Bros. Brashear, Crawford, Pyne, Tate, Marshall; and F. M. Lansford, having performed their duty presented the following memorial: WHEREAS, The allwise and unerring hand of the Most High has seen fit to call from earth our brother William H. Perrin, BE IT RESOLVED, That in his death we have lost a faithful brother, who was zealous in his devotion to the cause of Masonry and an honor to the fraternity, who having finished his work here below, has been called to the Temple on high. BE IT RESOLVED, That the bereaved family of our deceased brother have our sincere sympathy in their hour of affliction. BE IT RESOLVED, That this lodge set aside a page in its record book as sacred to the memory of our deceased brother, and these resolutions be spread upon the minutes and a copy be sent to the family. S. L. Brashear, 1 W. B. Tate, Committee. W. T. Pyne, J Bro. William H. Perrin was born March 27, 1834. Died Sep- tember 14, 1891. Age 57 years, 5 months and 18 days. He was the prime mover in starting a lodge of Freemasons in Parkland. He was appointed and installed Master of Parkland Lodge, U. D., June 28, 1888, in the Old Davison House in Parkland, and publicly installed Master of Parkland Lodge No. 638, F. A. M., when it was organized in the Parkland Presbyterian Church Sunday school room, October 20, 1888. December 27. At the annual election of officers for the year 1892, the result was as follows: Bros. Dr. John W. Drake, re-elected Master; William Taylor, Senior Warden; William B. Tate, Junior Warden; Brent Moore, Treasurer; William W. Riggs, Secretary; Samuel L. Brashear, Senior Deacon; Isaac P. Miller, Junior Dea- con; Francis M. Lansford, Tyler. Bro. Drake's first term was not as successful as was predicted, although he was an admirable officer of the lodge and strove hard to build it up, yet it appeared that little interest was manifested by the members at the time, and by a few ambitious workers who en- deavored to do their level best to hold the membership of eighteen in line of duty. Bro. Drake was a tireless worker, conscientious, persistent and withal painstaking. He was sociable and agreeable with everyone, and took a great interest in making visitors from other lodges feel at home, and so it was with the other officers all down the line and from year to year. He lived in hopes that his second would by far surpass his first term in point of numbers and efficiency, and the school of instruction which met once a week in fair weather was frequently coached by Bro. H. B. Grant. 40 January 1, 1892. The aspect of the meetings at the beginning of the year 1892 seemed more favorable for the first three or four months than those just past. Applications were being presented on an average of one a meeting which enlivened the membership a little, and very seldom would the rejection of a candidate occur. Those received were known to be men of good report and stood well in society. In this, as well as in the past three years and a half, the lodge made preparations and carried out the program for the St. John's Day Celebration which never failed to prove eventful and withal beneficial to the Order-the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home, where the lodge held divine services once every year regularly, as it continues to do, which is the supreme duty devolving on every Masonic lodge in the city. December 27. The lodge drifted along as usual with some hopes of a successful change before the end of the year when the following new set of officers were elected for the ensuing term. William B. Tate, Master; Samuel L. Brashear, Senior Warden; Francis M. Lansford, Junior Warden; William Taylor, Secretary; William W. Riggs, Treasurer; John W. Drake, Senior Deacon; Herbert V. Harris, Junior Deacon; Clark R. Gregory, Tyler. September 24, 1893. On Sunday, September 24th, Bro. John H. Weller conducted the services for the lodge at the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home and gave a very interesting and in- structive address to the boys and girls. October 5. The gaslights in the lodge room did not give the satisfaction desired, being of a very poor quality and it was always so. The tallow candles set in old fashioned candlesticks which stood on ordinary standtables at the head of each stairway were barely worth the candle, for the light they produced was just suffi- cient to guide one's footsteps up the stairway. Not having means enough in the treasury to spare for more gas and fixtures for a better illumination to the hall, the lodge purchased two medium size lamps (nothing fancy about them), and placed them in con- spicuous places on the walls along the stairway. Also five gallons of the best coal oil (supposedly, it wasn't headlight either) was purchased, which, in the long run, did fairly well. Parkland Lodge extended a most cordial invitation to the Grand Lodge in session in the old Masonic Temple, to pay it a visit, which was accepted with profuse thanks and fraternal ap- preciation, and very many of the brethren availed themselves of the opportunity and attended in a body. Suffice it to say, it was a most enjoyable occasion for all the brethren present. November 12. Several weeks before Bro. Tate was sent to the East the outlook seemed problematical, for it appeared that the IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1892 41 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. lethargy which enveloped the lodge could not well be shaken off. There were then about twenty-six members who were depended on to sustain it, but a certain number began to get discouraged at the slow progress it was making and manifested little or no interest in the work, and there was some talk of disbanding, which eventually would necessitate the surrendering of its charter, and, as it was, some had applied for demits while several others were delinquent in their dues. Fearing that the crisis was near at hand, the ambitious and determined brethren said such a state of things ought not and must not exist. The election of officers for the year 1894 being near at hand, and something had to be accomplished to pacify those who were weakening, and a consultation was held in which all joined to plan for the future good of the lodge, and in order to hold the dis- heartened brothers in line they had to settle on some brother for Master, possessed with a certain amount of magnetic influence, who could convince them of the propriety of remaining true to the ob- ligation they had taken and stand firm. That brother was William B. Tate, one of the three first petitioners for membership in Park- land Lodge when it held the first stated communication just after it was instituted under dispensation in the "Old Davison House" (which was used for some time as the lodge hall), on the north side of Virginia avenue, below 28th street. He was consulted on the question, and informed the brethren that he would accept the nom- ination providing the members would attend the meetings regularly and promptly, as they could conveniently do so, and assist him in the work, all of which they promised to do. Consequently he was elected by acclamation. Bro. Tate was magnetic, convincing in his remarks and em- phatic in the delivery of speech. He was a Mason in every sense the word implies. He foresaw coming events, as "coming events cast their shadows before." He urged the brethren to activity and impressed on their minds indelibly that, There's a good time coming brothers, There is a good time coming; Some of us may never see the day, Yet this lodge will glorify the way In the good time that's coming. My brother Masons, don't you shirk- But do your level best and work For the good time that's coming. We're travelling on the same old road To the good time that's coming; This young and deserving lodge must win; Now is the accepted time, begin- For the good time is coming; Our star of hope will surely rise 42 IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1894 In grandeur through Masonic skies For the good time is coming. Put your shoulders squarely to the wheel, For the good time is coming; Remember what you have sworn to do, Be faithful and diligent, and true- For the good time is coming; The Mystic tie do not sever, Stand for Parkland Lodge forever, The good time's surely coming. December 27. The prospects for a really growing lodge ap- peared brighter as the year 1893 was fast drawing to a close, for the words of encouragement imparted to the small coterie of breth- ren at the beginning of Bro. Tate's first term acted as a panacea for the discontentment and impatience that existed among them; and at the annual election of officers he was re-elected by acclamation. The officers for the year 1894 were as follows: January 1, 1894. William B. Tate, Master; William W. Riggs, Senior Warden; Herbert V. Harris, Junior Warden; William Tay- lor, Senior Deacon; Francis M. Lansford, Junior Deacon; Thomas S. Redman, Secretary; Samuel L. Brashear, Treasurer; Thomas S. Clyce, Chaplain; John W. Drake and George W. Grant, Stewards; W. F. Schneck, Tyler. In order to work up the membership of the lodge it was de- cided to give entertainments whenever it was considered expedient. They were gotten up with care and the selections were of the very best order. These concerts always proved beneficial to the lodge and interesting to the spectators as well. May 17. The meeting nights were changed according to an amendment of Sec. 2, Art. 1, of the by-laws, from 1st and 3rd Thursday nights to 1st and 3rd Saturday nights of each month. July 21. Bro. H. B. Grant addressed the members on "The Methods To Be Observed in the Building Up and Strengthening the Lodge." His talk on any subject pertaining to the welfare of the lodge was always instructive and of great benefit to the members and was partly instrumental in holding them together. August 18. On the 18th of August a communication was re- ceived from Chadwick Lodge No. 68, F. A. M., Coquilla, Coos County, Oregon, and with it a unique myrtle wood gavel. The writer requested the lodge to purchase it for its use. Bros. W. B. Tate and F. C. Cornell admired it so much that they bought it and presented it to the lodge as a memento of their friendship and brotherly love. The price of the instrument and a letter of appre- ciation were forwarded to the Secretary of the lodge. 43 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. A resolution of thanks was tendered to the donors as follows: WHEREAS, Bros. Tate and Cornell have so munificently pre- sented the lodge with this beautiful gavel, that the same be ac- cepted, and a resolution of thanks is hereby tendered them by this lodge, and the same to be spread on the minutes. The lodge held divine services at the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home, Sunday evening, September 23rd, and as formerly, on such an occasion a great many Masons with their wives and chil- dren and others were in attendance. After the program Bro. Jacob F. Weller, Superintendent of the Home, addressed the meeting and described how the widows and the orphans were cared for. September 19. At the regular meeting, September 19th, Bro. John W. Cowles, of Louisville Lodge No. 400, was present with fifty other visiting brethren representing various Masonic lodges of the city. He entertained the members in an appropriate address and in his usual pleasing style of delivery he praised the lodge for the progress it had made since it was organized and wished it con- tinued prosperity in the future as it had in the past. At the con- clusion of his remarks he was greeted with applause. The brethren present representing the other lodges, as they were called on in- dividually for a speech, responded with a few remarks of a like nature which brought a round of hand clapping as each one took his seat. It was one of the most enjoyable meetings the lodge had experienced for a long time. One of the features of the lodge was to establish a Nurse Fund. The money deposited therein was to be accumulated from the de- gree fees, amounting to not more than five dollars from each peti- tion. The total amount of the fund was not to exceed fifty dollars at any time, and disbursements to be made on the order of the Finance Committee. December 27. Officers elected and appointed for 1895: Herbert V. Harris, Master. William Taylor, Senior Warden. George W. Seymour, Junior Warden. Charles H. Dotts, Senior Deacon. Leonard M. Dow, Junior Deacon. David E. Caulton, Secretary. William W. Riggs, Treasurer. Thomas S. Clyce, Chaplain. Rupert T. Voreck, Tyler. December 29. The Secretary was ordered to set apart a page in the minute book for the resolution of thanks and appreciation voted by the lodge to Bro. William B. Tate, the retiring Master, for the efficient service he rendered it. 44 IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1895 December 31. To Our Retiring Brother, William Brown Tate. In accordance with a resolution adopted by this lodge, we re- spectfully dedicate this page to commemorate in some slight degree, our appreciation of the efficient service rendered by him during the past two years as Master of our lodge, during which time it has grown from an almost disbanded condition to one of strength and prosperity, to live-God willing-through the veiled centuries to come. A testimonial to his energy and zeal, guided and directed at all times by the fraternal teachings of Friendship, Morality and Brotherly Love; and that he may long be spared to work among us, is the earnest wish of Louisville, Ky., Parkland Lodge No. 638, F. A. M. December 31st, A. D. 1894, A. L. 5894. January 13, 1895. At 1 o'clock p. m., the lodge opened in called communication for the purpose of paying the last sad tribute to Bro. George W. Ringer, on the request of Mount Moriah Lodge No. 27, F. A. M., Farmington, Iowa, of which lodge he was a charter member and Past Master, having demitted therefrom in 1887. The officers and members adjourned to the home of the de- ceased brother, from whence the body was conducted to Cave Hill Cemetery for interment, where the last sad rites were held in due and ancient form. Bro. Ringer was a ready and willing worker in the lodge. At a previous 'meeting a nurse fund was established. The pur- pose of the fund was to engage a competent nurse to wait on a member when sick, when, in the judgment of the Master and War- dens the occasion requires it. June 1. A delegation from Falls City and Robinson Masonic lodges, also brethren from several other lodges of the Order were in attendance at the meeting. When the opportune time arrived the rest of the evening was taken up with interesting con- versations and occasional speechmaking until the hour for adjourn- ment was at hand. August 3. A communication was received from Bro. Jacob F. Weller, Superintendent of the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home, in behalf of the Board of Directors, inviting the lodge to conduct services at the Home on Sunday, September 22nd. He was notified that the invitation was gratefully accepted and that they would perform that duty with pleasure. It has been the duty and pleasure of Parkland Lodge once every year, during the respective terms of the Superintendents of the Home, Jacob F. Weller, Isaac A. Kelly and T. Jeff. Adams, to respond promptly to their invitations to conduct divine services there. 45 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. November 16. The lodge received the petition of A. W. Harris favorably, and he was made an Entered Apprentice, December 21, 1895. December 27. The annual election of officers for the ensuing year took place, and the following brethren were duly chosen: George W. Seymour, Master; William Taylor, Senior Warden; Walter P. Jobson, Junior Warden; David E. Caulton, Secretary; William B. Tate, Treasurer; Robert H. Carothers, Senior Deacon; H. Boone Ray, Junior Deacon; Thomas S. Clyce, Chaplain; Rupert T. Voreck, Tyler. On this occasion a motion was offered in the form of a resolu- tion, by William B. Tate, to extend a rising vote of thanks to the retiring Master, Herbert V. Harris, for the efficient service he had rendered the lodge during the past term, which he received unanimously. The resolution was ordered to be recorded on the minutes and a copy of the same be sent to him. February 1, 1896. The officers who officiated at this stated meeting were George W. Seymour, Master; William B. Tate, Act- ing Senior Warden; Walter P. Jobson, Junior Warden; Robert H. Carothers, Senior Deacon; Frank G. Cornell, Acting Junior Dea- con; David E. Caulton, Secretary; William B. Tate, Treasurer; Thomas S. Clyce, Chaplain; Rupert T. Voreck, Tyler. Alf. W. Harris, having proved himself proficient in the preceding degree, the Fellow Craft degree was conferred on him in due and ancient form. February 29. At this stated communication the following officers presided: George W. Seymour, Master; Walter P. Job- son, Acting Senior Warden; George W. Ringer, Acting Junior Warden; Robert H. Carothers, Senior Deacon; H. Boone Ray, Junior Deacon; David E. Caulton, Secretary; William B. Tate, Treasurer; Thomas S. Clyce, Chaplain; Rupert T. Voreck, Tyler. Before the conference of the Third Degree the Master stated that as it was the 29th of February and leap year, and are about to confer on the candidate Alfred W. Harris, the sublime degree of Master Mason, that it would be the pleasure of the lodge for the first time in its history that a candidate for the Masonic honors would be raised on this date,which was quite a surprise to the mem- bers, and which was accordingly proceeded with in due and ancient form, after which he received the congratulations of all the breth- ren and visitors present. August 1. At this meeting the lodge voted to join the St. John's Day League Library Association. September 13. On Sunday, the lodge, by an invitation from the Superintendent, Bro. Isaac A. Kelly, conducted divine services at the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home, at which a great 46 IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1897 many of the wives, widows, relatives, and friends were present. It was an occasion long to be remembered. November 12. The lodge met in called communication for the purpose of paying the last sad rites to our deceased brother, Samuel Claiborn Huston. The officers present were W. B. Tate, Acting Master; W. P. Jobson, Acting Senior Warden; S. L. Brashear, Acting Junior Warden; R. H. Carothers, Senior Deacon; T. S. Redman, Acting Junior Deacon; D. E. Caulton, Secretary; R. T. Voreck, Tyler. The members proceeded in a body to the residence of the de- ceased brother, and accompanied his remains to Cave Hill Ceme- tery where it was interred with Masonic ceremonies. December 26. As the date for the annual election of officers (Dec. 27th) happened to fall on Sunday it took place Saturday, the 26th of December, and resulted as follows: William Taylor, Master; Herbert V. Harris, Senior Warden; Robert H. Carothers, Junior Warden; George Ringer, Senior Dea- con; J. W. Stephens, Junior Deacon; David E. Caulton, Secre- tary; Walter P. Jobson, Treasurer; Rupert T. Voreck, Tyler. The officers were duly installed in their respective stations by Bro. H. B. Grant, Grand Secretary, Grand Lodge of Kentucky. January 16, 1897. A communication from Preston Lodge No. 281, in regard to celebrating St. John's Day, was favorably received and arrangements made accordingly. February 6. A communication from Mrs. G. A. Gallagher, Lock Box No. 436, Chicago, Ill., was read, in which she requested a donation to a fund to be used for building a Methodist Church at Dauphin Park, Chicago. Received and filed. One from J. H. McCall, Secretary of a committee, on a lecture to be given in the lecture room of the First Christian Church, Feb- ruary 12th. Received and filed. One from Bro. J. Speed Smith concerning the contemplated building of a Masonic Infirmary. Received and filed. April 3. A communication from the St. John's Day League, in which it described the plan of celebration adopted for the forthcom- ing St. John's Day, and requesting the names of Parkland Lodge representatives-Bros. Herbert V. Harris, George W. Seymour, and Robert H. Carothers. May 1. The Master announced that he received a copy of the by-laws presented by Bro. H. B. Grant, Grand Secretary, and re- commended by the Grand Lodge, for which he thanked the brother on behalf of the lodge, he being present. 47 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. May 15. The lodge gratefully accepted a number of valuable Masonic books neatly bound, from Mr. Henry Rivers Grant, son of the Grand Secretary, and with it his petition for initiation into the several degrees of the lodge. The favor was reciprocated by allow- ing him to retain the membership fee. Bro. Fred. A. Martens presented the lodge with a symbol letter "G", a unique and attractive design, for which he was tender- ed a rising vote of thanks. September 18. An invitation was received from Bro. Isaac A. Kelly, Superintendent of the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home and Infirmary, to conduct divine services there on Sunday after- noon, at 3 o'clock, October 10th. The lodge notified the brother that it was cordially accepted and would attend, if possible, in a body. October 2. The Master appointed a committee of three to ar- range for the Masonic entertainment to be held at the Liederkranz Music Hall, on Thursday, October 28th, consisting of Bros. Herbert V. Harris, Robert H. Carothers, and David E. Caulton; to which were added Seymour, Funk and Taylor. December 27. The following officers were elected and ap- pointed for the ensuing year, 1898: Herbert V. Harris, Master; George W. Seymour, Senior Warden; George W. Ringer, Junior Warden; J. W. Stephens, Senior Deacon; Henry R. Grant, Junior Deacon; David E. Caulton, Secretary; Robert H. Carothers, Treas- urer; Herman H. Erdman and Fred. A. Martens, Stewards; Wm. E. Keller, Chaplain; Rupert T. Voreck, Tyler. January 3, 1898. The officers were installed in the usual form by Bro. William B. Tate, Past Master of the lodge. January 18. Bro. H. B. Grant, G. S., presented the lodge with a Low Twelve bell, and according to instructions the Secretary con- veyed the thanks of the lodge to the brother for the very useful gift which was gratefully appreciated. March 5. A communication was received from our worthy brothers in Washington, D. C., concerning the establishment of a Masonic Temple in that city. It was ordered received and filed af- ter being read and debated on. March 19. An invitation was received from Bro. Isaac A. Kel- ly, Superintendent of the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home, to conduct divine services there on Easter Sunday, April 10th, at 3 o'clock p. m. It was cheerfully accepted, and an attractive program was arranged for the occasion. April 2. A communication was received from the Editor of "The Craftsman," Atlanta, Ga., asking for assistance for Masonic 4.8 IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1898 brethren in Cuba. The Secretary was instructed to communicate with Bro. President William McKinley for his advice on the sub- ject. May 21. A communication from the St. John's Day League was read, and the Master appointed a Special Committee on "Free Will Offering," composed of Bros. Robert H. Carothers, Rudolph A. Spitzer, and S. C. Hendren. Elaborate preparations were arranged to provide for and enter- tain the widows and orphans of the Home at the picnic to be given by the lodge. August 20. A resolution was offered by Bro. R. H. Carothers, that Sec. 2, Art. X, of the By-laws be so amended that after the word "elected" add "for advancement," that the ballot may be taken in the degree the candidate is to be advanced. It was ordered that action be taken on it at the second stated meeting in September. September 3. The Committee On Renting a Hall reported that written propositions were received from the Masonic Temple Co., and from the owner of Dixon Hall respectively; and they would suggest that the lodge accept the proposition of Steber Co., agents, on behalf of the Masonic Temple Co., and continue to rent as heretofore, but with a more satisfactory agreement, and that the committee has withheld the leasing of it until some future time. The report was received and approved. As to the Dixon Hall noth- ing could be accomplished. September 17. A communication from the Scottish Rite was received, read and filed. On motion of Bro. J. Thomas Funk, the resolution offered by Bro. Robert H. Carothers at the stated meeting, August 20th, that Sec. 2, Art. X of the By-laws be amended to read, after the word '"elected" "for advancement," was adopted. October 15. Bro. T. Jefferson Adams of Louisville Lodge No. 400, extended an invitation to the brethren to attend the communi- cation of his lodge to be held on the following Monday night, which was cheerfully accepted. November 5. On motion of Bro. J. Thomas Funk, seconded by Bro. Robert H. Carothers and carried, a rising vote of thanks was tendered Bro. T. Jefferson Adams, of Louisville Lodge No. 400, for conferring the Fellow Craft degree on the candidates, and for the interest taken at all times in the upgrowth of the lodge. December 17. The Master announced the death of Bro. Wil- liam E. Keller, and that in his demise the lodge has lost one of its truest and most devoted members. He then appointed on the Com- mittee on Resolutions Bros. Funk, Carothers, and Seymour. 49 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. A communication from Bro. Isaac A. Kelly, Superintendent of the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home, was received and read and a contribution of 5.00 was ordered, in favor of the institution. December 27. A communication received from the Grand Consistory, Scottish Rite of Kentucky, was read, inviting the mem- bers of the lodge to be present at an "Open House" at the Cathe- dral, on Monday, January 2nd, 1899, and the Secretary instructed to convey to it the thanks of the lodge for the timely invitation. The time having arrived for the annual election of officers for the ensuing term, it was proceeded with in the usual form and re- sulted in electing Bros. R. H. Carothers, Master; J. Thomas Funk, Senior Warden; J. W. Stephens, Junior Warden; Fred. A. Martens, Senior Deacon; Emil Anderson, Junior Deacon; Alfred W. Harris, Secretary; George M. Crawford, Treasurer; Herman H. Erdman and George Wilfred McFarland, Stewards; Francis M. Lansford, Tyler. January 7, 1899. All the officers were duly installed but Bros. Carothers and Crawford, who were unavoidably absent. Bro. Crawford, the newly elected Treasurer, whose business kept him away from the city most of the time, could not serve, and the Master appointed Bro. Harris, the Secretary, to act in his place. Bro. George W. Seymour was tendered a rising vote of thanks for the efficient service he rendered in performing the duties of Past Master during the previous year, which he gracefully accepted. February 4. The installation of the recently elected Master, Bro. R. H. Carothers, and also Bro. George M. Crawford, was an- nounced by Bro. J. Thomas Funk, Acting Master of the lodge. Bro. Carothers, being present, was duly installed as Master of the lodge for the ensuing year by Bro. H. B. Grant, the Grand Secretary. Bro. Crawford was not present on this occasion. Bro. Grant and other visiting brethren received the thanks of the lodge for their pres- ence and kindly assistance in the work. February 18. During the meeting one of the lamps at the outer door which was defective, failed to hold out to burn, and at- tracted the attention of the Tyler who reported it to the lodge; whereupon Bro. Funk suggested that it be replaced by a more reliable one, which was put in the form of a motion, carried and so ordered. A rising vote of thanks was tendered the Committee on Enter- tainment for the perfect arrangement of the bountiful spread in the banquet hall at the close of the last regular meeting. March 4. Bro. J. Thomas Funk, Chairman of the Committee on Hall, reported that there seemed to be no possibility of securing another hall in this locality, but as the committee had not yet abandoned all hope of success they would make one more effort to so IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1899 better our condition, and secure a more comfortable and respectable lodge room somewhere. The report was received and approved. On motion of Bro. George W. Seymour, that the bill of Steber Co. be held up until the hall is put in a satisfactory condition; and that the Secretary be instructed to again notify them of the cheer- less situation the lodge is in, it was seconded, carried, and so or- dered. Bro. Robert H. Carothers recommended very highly Miss Min- nie Beatrice Brooks, a Mason's daughter, and a talented young lady cultivated in the art of music, and deserving the patronage of the brethren. He hoped they would put forth every effort to secure her a position, which they promised to do. Bro. John Maas, of Preston Lodge No. 281, was greeted with thanks by the Master for the able manner in which he conducted the proceedings of the meeting. He also tendered his thanks to Bro. Thomas Floyd of the same lodge for his kindly assistance in performing the duties of Senior Deacon, and to the other visiting brothers for their presence and the interest they manifested in the work of the lodge. March 18. The Special Committee on Hall, to which were added Bros. Taylor and Seymour, received an invitation from Steber Co., agents, to meet them at their office at their earliest con- venience, which they condescended to do. Bro. Isaac A. Kelly, Superintendent of the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home, extended an invitation to the lodge to conduct divine services there on Easter Sunday, April 2nd, at 3 o'clock p. m. It was received with thanks and the brother was notified that many of the members would be in attendance, and a neat program would be arranged for the occasion. Bro. Funk offered a resolution that an amendment to the By- laws, Sec. 2, Art. I, to change the meeting nights from the 1st and 3rd Saturday nights to the 1st and 3rd Friday nights of each month, which was adopted, and the Secretary instructed to notify the mem- bers individually to that effect. April 7. Bro. Funk, Chairman of the Committee on Hall, made a report of their visit to the agents of the Masonic Hall and exacted from them a promise to renovate the lodge room at an early day. He also gave a brief account of his interview with brethren of the lodge on the prospects of building a hall of their own. The re- port was well received. Bro. Caulton as one of the committee, stated that he called on the manager of Dixon Hall for the purpose of renting it, and was informed that it could not be secured for lodge use, and in fact it was not arranged for that purpose. Bro. Seymour, also of the committee, said that he made reason- able and timely suggestions in regard to the committee's expecta- 51 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. tions in trying to rent a hall, or the prospects of erecting one of our own. Bro. Taylor, committeeman, gave his views on the subject in question and said that he was greatly in favor of the project, and that the lodge should make an effort to find a suitable location and purchase the lot, and in due course of time erect a substantial build- ing as the lodge is now in a prosperous condition and can well afford to start the ball rolling. Bro. Carothers being a far-seeing committeeman, briefly ad- dressed the lodge and said that while he was strongly in favor of making an effort to possess a home of our own choosing, but ad- vised against being too hasty in well-doing and to wait a little while longer. But the lodge by this time had grown weary of being tossed about on the waves of despair by promises which, like pie-crusts were easily broken, and nothing would suit the majority of the members but to have a hall of their own wherein may reign lasting peace and harmony, and care-free from an undesirable lodge room. The members were so engrossed with the subject that they hadn't the spare time to hear Bro. "Billy" Taylor tell the side-split- ting story of his visit to a country Masonic lodge, until after the Master had declared an intermission of about fifteen minutes, when Bro. Lansford, the Tyler, produced a box of fine La Masonica cigars which he distributed among the brethren to regale themselves with. Bro. "Billy" was then prevailed on to tell his story, which he did in his inimitable style, and was received with vociferous hand- clapping. The lodge resumed order at the sound of the gavel. The Mas- ter then requested the members to express their opinions concern- ing a hall that we could rightfully call our own, which he predicted would be a perfect success if properly carried out, but he contended, as he did at a previous meeting, in substance, that the time was not ripe for it yet. The talk of the brethren was business-like and rea- sonable and resulted in their unanimous approval. It was then moved that two committees be appointed, one to be known as the Building Committee, and the other as the Ways and Means Committee, which was so ordered. Bros. Seymour, Taylor, and Caulton on the former, and Bros. Funk and Erdman on the latter. Bro. Taylor moved that the lodge meet in called communica- tion Friday, April 14th, at 7:30 p. m., for the purpose of debating on the purchase of a lot that would be favorable to the members and to confer on the plans proposed for the building contemplated by the lodge. It was so ordered. The Secretary was instructed by the Master to mail a postal card to each member in the city stating the object of the next meeting. Bro. Carothers moved that the lodge give an entertainment on that night after the business of the meeting was disposed of, and 52 IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1899 53 that experienced musicians and singers be engaged for the occa- sion. A committee was then appointed composed of Bros. Caulton and Erdman. The action of the lodge being favorable. April 14. At the opening of this meeting the Master stated that the real purpose of assembling together was to hear the report of Bro. Seymour, Chairman of the Building Committee, and Bro. Funk of the Ways and Means Committee, and to get the sense of the lodge on the subject of lot and building thoroughly. On ac- count of some of the members being belated a recess of fifteen min- utes was ordered by the Master. At the expiration of that time the meeting was again called to order with a good representation of its membership. Bro. Seymour gave a fair account of the efforts of the committee in trying to se- cure a suitable site and a lot of the right proportions and at a rea- sonable price, and also in making its calculations on the cost of a building beforehand. As the figures mentioned in the report were beyond the expec- tations of the members no inducement was offered to suggest the purchase of a lot, so the committee was continued. Bro. Funk, Chairman of the Ways and Means Committee was not ready to make a report, but it would be forthcoming at the next regular meeting. Bro. Caulton made a plain statement of his views concerning the purchase of a lot, and then submitted to the lodge his plan and style of the building in question. The architectural design being somewhat elaborate and not favorable with many of the brethren, he was therefore requested by the Master to modify the design, and if he so desires, to lay it before the lodge at its next meeting. Bro. Funk, after explaining his views and making some impor- tant suggestions moved that the brother's report (which it really was), be received, and it was therefore ordered with the Master's instructions. Bro. Funk also suggested that in the event of erecting a build- ing, let it be solely for the use and benefit of Parkland Lodge, and have it so arranged that the lower part of it (that is the second floor, if it be a three-story building) could be rented as a lecture, concert, or dance hall, or for any legitimate amusement whatever, which would bring into the coffers of the lodge a neat income in due course of time, and aid in paying off the debt that may have been contracted. He was strictly opposed, he said, to having the first floor occupied as a place of business, giving his reasons there- for. He further suggested that the committee report the lowest value of lots, the location and the actual cost of putting up a build- ing according to the plans and specifications, not to exceed 3,000, and report at the next meeting. Bro. Taylor's remarks were well defined and reasonably sug- gested. He, like Bro. Carothers, approved of the idea, but con- PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. sidered it advisable to ponder well on the proposition and proceed cautiously, and be deliberate in both thought and action. Bro. Carothers remarked, with emphasis, that it was a responsi- bility some of the members may not realize the magnitude of, that while we stood in need of more cheerful and comfortable apart- ments where the members and our brother visitors could come and enjoy each others company, and feeling with a source of pride that we could call it our own fraternal domicile. He believed that pre- paredness first should be our motto. Bro. Funk stated that a subscription of 2,500.00 from the mem- bers who could afford it together with smaller donations would give us the amount to begin with in the course of a year. The money thus collected would, in the future, be returned to the mem- bers who subscribed towards the building fund. Having consumed more time in debating on the subject than was expected, it was moved that the meeting be closed. The Mas- ter then proceeded to close in the usual form, after which he in- vited the brethren to repair to the banquet hall and accept the hon- ors of the occasion in the enjoyment of refreshments, music, sing- ing, recitations and speaking. At the close of the entertainment Bro. H. B. Grant, G. S., hon- orary member of the lodge, addressed the musicians, singers, and others who took a prominent part, and then suggested a rising vote of thanks be tendered Bros. Gebhart and Huber for producing such excellent music and singing, also to the others who regaled the brethren with recitations, humorous anecdotes and speeches, which was unanimously accorded them. Bro. Carothers also im- parted to them words of congratulation. April 21. Bro. Seymour, Chairman of the Building Committee, reported that he had looked at several lots and recommended that the lot owned by Mr. J. T. Burkhart, on the northwest corner of 28th street and Grand avenue, 33 feet fronting on 28th street by 92 feet in depth, at a cost of 396.00, be purchased by the lodge, as it is the cheapest and most suitable in every respect. Bro. Funk moved to close the deal for the Burkhart lot, and the lodge pay the full amount by June 1st, or longer if necessary. The motion was seconded, carried and so ordered. Bro. J. T. Ford was authorized to examine the title. The committee was instructed to draw on the Treasurer for 100.00 when required, according to the action of the lodge. The report of Bro. Caulton, Chairman of the Entertainment Committee, was received and committee discharged. A very interesting letter was received from little Charlie An- derson, the precocious son of our worthy Bro. Emil Anderson; Senior Deacon, and read to the amusement of all the brothers pres- ent which brought forth a round of applause. In it he said, "I'm going to be a Mason too, when I get to be a big man." 54 IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1899 May 5. Bro. Seymour, Chairman of the Building Committee, made a favorable report, and on motion the committee was dis- charged. Bro. Erdman, Chairman of the St. John's Day League Commit- tee, reported favorably concerning the selection of the grounds for the St. John's Day Celebration. May 20. Bros. Mitchell, of Beaver Dam Lodge; Robinson, of Lewis Lodge; Drevenstedt, of Willis Stewart Lodge, and Woods, of Louisville Lodge, entertained the members with their interesting remarks which were thankfully received, and with the Master's in- vitation to visit the lodge again. June 2. On motion of Bro. Taylor, seconded by Bro. Erdman, that the Tyler be instructed to furnish ice and lemonade every meeting night during the excessive warm weather; so ordered. June 16. The resolution offered at a previous meeting to create a Board of Trustees, had its last reading with amendments, Sec. 1, Art. XVII, and adopted. July 7. Bro. Funk made a motion that an order be drawn on the Treasurer for 148.00, payment on the first note on the Park- land Lodge lot 28th and Grand; seconded, carried and so ordered. July 28. Bros. Jeff Adams and Len Varilla, of Louisville Lodge No. 400, were present and cheerfully assisted in the work for which a rising vote of thanks was tendered them. August 4. Bro. Seymour, Chairman of the Building Commit- tee, reported that he made a payment on the first note, principal and interest on the Parkland Lodge lot, corner 28th street and Grand avenue, amounting to 151.51. On motion of Bro. Taylor, that a sufficient number of corncob pipes and a quantity of first rate smoking tobacco be purchased right away, for the pleasure of all brothers in attendance, and that the Tyler see to it during the recess. Seconded, carried and ordered. Bro. Emil Anderson offered a motion that the Tyler be in- structed to attend to having the lodge room put in better condition, and everything kept clean and in the proper place; also to furnish an extra key for the book-case, and present his bill for the same. Seconded, carried and so ordered. As the lodge had no janitor the Tyler was depended on to see that it was kept in perfect order. Several lodges from over the river were represented at this meeting which added greatly to the prominence of Parkland Lodge. Bros. M. H. Cook, C. F. Montgomery, and W. R. Waltz, of New Albany Lodge No. 39, F. A. M., and J. S. Hill and J. Wright, of De Pauw Lodge No. 338, F. A. M., were in attendance, and as- sisted in the work; and before the close enlivened the lodge with entertaining speeches. The Master complimented them on the effi- 55 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. cient manner in which they performed the duties of the various offices, and thanked them for their kindly assistance, and extended an invitation to them and to members of their respective lodges to visit Parkland Lodge whenever they could conveniently do so, which they appreciated by inviting the lodge to do likewise. Bro. Funk moved that the lodge tender the visiting brethren a rising vote of thanks for their presence and fraternal aid, which it did unanimously. From the beginning of the hopeful life of the lodge down to the present time, innumerable invitations to entertainments, lec- tures, and such like, from various Masonic lodges, institutions, and chapters, have been received and acknowledged and very many of them were well attended and greatly enjoyed, and cordial thanks extended in return. Throughout the months of September, October, and Novem- ber, the meetings were tolerably well attended, now and then a peti- tion was presented, and in due course of time the conferring of the several degrees. With these additions the brethren were bent on having a hall of their own as the old building now occupied by the lodge, and which was erected by the Masonic Building Association (and not by Parkland Lodge members as it was generally sup- posed by some), was in more ways than one not exactly suitable. The lodge at that time did manage by strict economy and stint to save enough to invest in several bonds of a small value and drift along with the Association. This Masonic building was somewhat imposing on the outside, yet, the hall was not perfectly suitable for lodge purposes as it was intended to be. The preparation room was barely large enough for a sleeping apartment, and the closet in which some of the paraphernalia was kept was small, and everything that was put in it when not in use, had to be crammed into it regardless of appearances when brought out. The reception room, though passable, was nothing to boast of, yet both these rooms suited our purposes fairly well. The lodge room was about suitable for our work for there was a goodly bunch of 43 to brag on for future success. The banquet hall opposite the lodge room, was plenty large to serve refreshments in and enter- tain one another in a laudable way. There was one great need we were deprived of, that probably was one fault of the architect, a lavatory. There were no water conveniences throughout this building. The roof leaked in several places at every downfall of rain and kept the walls damp and caused the plaster to crack and fall off. The lodge appealed time and again to the landlord for re- pairs and as often he refused and instead raised the rent every now and then, and that is why the lodge made such strenuous efforts to secure a commodious hall of its own. We had our factional dif- ferences in those days, 'tis true, but there was no institution without them; even the churches had them. Since then things have changed considerably, and for the best. 56 IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1900 December 27. The lodge met in stated communication and opened in the usual form on the M. M. degree, and after transacting such business as usually comes before it went into an election of officers with the following result: R. H. Carothers, Master; J. Wm. Stephens, Senior Warden; H. H. Erdman, Junior Warden; Emil Anderson, Senior Deacon; James Leigh, Junior Deacon; George Wilfred McFarland, Steward; L. M. Dow, Secretary; Henry R. Grant, Treasurer; F. M. Lansford, Tyler; Geo. W. Seymour, Olof Anderson, J. W. Drake, Trustees; J. J. Huber, Member Board of Relief. January 5, 1900. The hope of building a hall in the near future had been under consideration and discussion ever since the last note was paid on the lot. At a stated meeting of the lodge the question of building came up for an expression of opinion, and it was suggested by several of the brethren that we proceed to build on the site at once, which precipitated a general discussion all around, and there were pros and cons on the subject. Several sites were suggested as being more conveniently located than the one the lodge owns, which could be disposed of and purchase some- where else in Parkland, or buy the old building in which they were, and that was out of the question entirely. A majority of the members were strenuously opposed to selling the lot and to let well enough alone. One of the brethren growing weary and impatient arose and said, "we have been parleying on the proposition to buy and build until it has become almost threadbare; now come right down to brass tacks and let us do something or throw up the sponge and stay where we are." With that it was moved and seconded that we begin to make arrangements to build on the lot soon as possible; carried and so ordered. January 12. Bro. William Taylor made a motion to accept the terms of lease of the Parkland Masonic Temple or Hall, for one year from February 1st, 1900. One of the brethren offered an amendment to the motion, to make it two years. The amendment was seconded and carried unanimously. The Trustees were then instructed to put the Hall in first class condition, not to cost over 300.00. January 26. At a called meeting a motion was made to thank the committee for their faithfulness and efficiency in fitting up the lodge room in the old Masonic building; seconded, carried, and a rising vote of thanks was extended to them. February 2. On this day the lodge continued to occupy the hall. Bro. Henry Lewis West presented a unique gavel to the Mas- ter, and emphasized his remarks "that it was a personal gift and not a gift to the lodge." The manner in which it was expressed so 57 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. amused the brethern that, after the lodge had adjourned they had quite a little fun at the good brother's expense in which he joined most heartily. April 6. The last payment was made to Mr. J. T. Burkhart on the lot, amounting to 158.00. June 15. An invitation was received from Solomon Lodge No. 5, F. A. M., Shelbyville, Ky., to attend its 100th anniversary to be held at the Fair Grounds, July 10th; accepted. August 17. The Secretary's report to the Grand Lodge showed that the number of members by the last return totaled 78. Initiated since, 25; admitted, 3; reinstated, 1; total, 107. Members died since last return,3; suspended,1; demitted,5; total,9; deducted from 107, left 98 members on August 31st, of which 90 were Master Masons, 3 Fellow Crafts, and 5 Entered Apprentices. December 27. At the close of the election of officers for the year 1901, the retiring Master, R. H. Carothers, presented the lodge with a set of valuable books entitled "History of Freemasonry." The gift was received with many thanks. The election of officers began with Bros. Edwin J. Wright and Leonard M. Dow as Tellers and resulted as follows: Bros. J. Thom- as Funk, Master; Herman Hugo Erdman, Senior Warden; Emil Anderson, junior Warden; Leonard M. Dow, Secretary; Jacob H. Wahl, Treasurer; Rev. Randolph Bryan Grinnan, Chaplain; Fran- cis M. Lansford, Tyler; Dr. John W. Drake, Trustee for three years. January 8, 1901. Bro. Robert H. Carothers, Past Master of the lodge, before vacating the chair which he held for two consecutive terms, 1899 and 1900, addressed the brethren very feelingly and thanked them for the assistance they had given him during the past two years, and complimented them on the good work that had been done. When Bro. J. T. Funk arrived, Bro. H. B. Grant conferred on Bro. R. H. Carothers the Past Master's degree, and then installed the officers who were elected and appointed. -Before closing the lodge Bro. J. T. Funk, the newly elected Master, on behalf of Park- land Lodge No. 638, F. A. M., presented the retiring Master, Bro. Carothers, with a beautiful gold ring bearing the Masonic emblem upon it, the square and compass, and as he did so made a neat congratulatory speech, which was responded to by the Past Master in a very graceful manner. The Master then invited all present to remain after closing the lodge as a sumptuous feast of oysters, coffee, ground-hog sandwiches, and Havana cigars were awaiting them in the banquet hall. January 18. On behalf of Hiram Chapter, Bro. E. J. Wright extended to the lodge an invitation to attend a pig-roast to be 58 IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1901 given by it at their hall Tuesday night, Feb. 5th, which was appre- ciated and the Chapter notified accordingly. March 1. The Master appointed a Committee on Entertain- ment, composed of Bros. Jacob H. Wahl, Emil Anderson, Thomas S. Redman, Francis M. Lansford and B. F. Kimbrel, for the purpose of having an open meeting at which each member, his wife or sweetheart, and friends could be present. March 26. Form of Invitation. Parkland Lodpe No. 638, F. A. M. requests the presence of yourself and lady at their hall 28th and Durnesnil streets Tuesday evening, March 26th, 1901 at 7:30 o'clock April 19. An invitation from Bro. Isaac A. Kelly, Superintend- ent of the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home, to hold divine services Sunday afternoon, May 5th, at 3 o'clock. Committee of Arrangements: Bros. R. H. Carothers, W. A. Groves, B. F. Kimbrel, G. H. Groves, and E. J. Wright; also six other brethren to act as ushers, clothed in white gloves and aprons: Emil Anderson, H. H. Erdman, G. H. Groves, Edward Gottschalk, N. T. Darnell and Jacob H. Wahl. May 3. The Master reported that the children of Bro. George W. McFarland, deceased, Luther and Vivian, were received into the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home on Monday, April 22nd. May 17. Bro. Carothers made a motion that the lodge send a letter of thanks to Rev. Bro. Harlan K. Fenner and others who par- ticipated in the services at the Home. Seconded, carried and so ordered. June 7. Bro. T. Jeff. Adams being present, and on behalf of Parkland Lodge No. 638, F. A. M., presented to the Master, Bro. J. Thomas Funk, a Knights Templar emblem, after which Bro. Funk responded to Bro. Adams' elegant speech in glowing terms and then invited the brethren to partake of the refreshments pre- pared for the occasion. 59 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. September 20. A communication from Bro. Neville S. Bullitt, chairman on advertisement, was read, showing a movement on foot to have a directory of Masonic lodges with date of meetings, etc., hung in a suitable place on the inside of the entrance of the princi- pal hotels of the city, requesting the lodge to co-operate with other Masonic lodges in regard to the project which was accordingly agreed to. Gen. Bro. William E. Woodruff who was a Mason for fifty years, being present gave the lodge a very interesting address which was entertaining throughout and greatly appreciated as he was so well versed in Masonic lore and acquainted with Masonic work. October 18. Bro. J. T. Funk, representative to the Grand Lodge, made a report of their action, after which Past Master Bro. Carothers offered the following resolution, seconded by Bro. E. J. Wright and unanimously carried and adopted: RESOLVED, That the action of Bro. J. T. Funk as representa- tive of this lodge in voting for the erection of a Masonic building be and is hereby approved; and that we approve of the action of the Grand Lodge in determining to erect a suitable building for a Masonic Home in this city. November 15. A communication was received from the Grand Lodge Building Committee; read and referred to the Trustees. Bro. Carothers was added to the committee. December 6. Bros. Olof Anderson and R. H. Carothers made their. reports on building, repairs, and lease of lodge room, which expires soon. The matter was laid over until December 27th, when it will be taken up for consideration. The proposition of the landlord was as follows: 1st. Will make repairs asked for. Rent to be 15.00 per month, and three years' lease signed. 2nd. 10.00, no repairs and same conditions as old lease. 3rd. 11.00 per month and same conditions as present lease. The lodge given the privilege of making its own improvements, and he will contribute 20.00 towards paying for sewer connections. A communication was received from the Grand Lodge in re- gard to bonds being issued for the erection of a new Masonic Tem- ple. It was agreed that this lodge subscribe for 500.00 worth of bonds. December 27. The subject of Hall was brought up for final action, and on motion, duly seconded and carried, the Trustees were instructed to rent the Hall at 10.00 per month, but before being carried it was amended to read "lease for one year as under present lease; terms not to exceed 10.00 per month." The lodge then went into election of officers for the ensuing year (1902) with the following result: 60 IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1902 Bros. Theodore Burger and Jacob H. Wahl, Tellers. Bros. J. Thomas Funk, Master; Edwin J. Wright, Senior Warden; Emil Anderson, Junior Warden; Leonard M. Dow, Secretary; Jacob H. Wahl, Treasurer; Francis M. Lansford, Tyler; Robert H. Caroth- ers, Trustee for three years; Rev. Samuel M. Bernard, Chaplain; Harry Boegerhausen, Senior Deacon; B. F. Kimbrel, Junior Dea- con; William A. Groves and Theodore Burger, Stewards. After the installation the brethren proceeded to the banquet hall where they partook of some light refreshments. January 17, 1902. The Treasurer's report for the year 1901 showed a cash balance of 691.20. The Trustees requested a pur- chase of a safe for holding dishes and other utensils for the banquet hall; also that an order be drawn on the Treasurer for 504.20, being the principal and interest on bonds subscribed on Dec. 6th, 1901, for the erection of a new Masonic Temple. February 7. A warrant was ordered to be drawn on the Treas- urer for 52 cts., being a difference on bonds for which a warrant had been drawn for 504.20. The Finance Committee made their report for the year end- ing Dec. 31, 1901, showing a cash balance on hand of 690.06, and all bills paid. December 27. Election of officers for the ensuing year (1903): Bros. Will J. Semonin and Elmer Buyer, Tellers, and resulted as follows: Bros. R. H. Carothers, Master; Harry Boegerhausen, Sen- ior Warden; William A. Groves, Junior Warden; Len. M. Dow, Secretary; Jacob H. Wahl, Treasurer; Francis M. Lansford, Tyler; Rev. Randolph Bryan Crinnan, Chaplain; W. H. Young, Trustee for three years; G. S. Lunt, and Peter Schneider, Senior and Junior Deacons; I. N. Nall and Frank Maas, Stewards. The lodge donated 20.00 to the Old Masons' Home, Shelby- ville, Ky., and 20.00 to Mrs. F. M. Lansford for kindly services for the benefit of the lodge and for which she sent a letter of thanks and appreciation. February 6, 1903. Bro. R. H. Carothers, Master of the lodge, made three reports of sick and distressed: one of these he men- tioned as an old man, Bro. J. P. McWhorter (not a member of Parkland Lodge) and his wife, in want, and he immediately helped them financially, and also ordered a load of coal sent to them. Also the family of our deceased Bro. Arms, which needed assistance, and was immediately attended to. He also reported that the widow of our deceased Bro. George Wilfred McFarland and her two children, Luther and Vivian, had to be looked after as they were now the wards of the lodge. April 3. Bro. William A. Groves of the Standing Committee, reported that the Masonic Picnic would take place at Fontaine 61 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. Ferry Park, June 24th, but the children of the Home would not be with us as Louisville Lodge had made arrangements to give them an outing on the river. December 26. As the date for holding the annual election of officers happened to fall on Sunday the lodge. met on Saturday night and proceeded with the election after appointing Bros. E. D. Kings- ton and H. R. Grant, Tellers. It took some little time to prepare the ballots and more time was consumed in the election of the fol- lowing officers for the ensuing term: Edwin J. Wright, Master; William A. Groves, Senior Warden; Emil Anderson, Junior War- den; Leonard M. Dow, Secretary; Jacob H. Wahl, Treasurer; Francis M. Lansford, Tyler; Dr. John W. Drake, Trustee; E. D. Kingston, Senior Deacon; Theodore Burger, Junior Deacon; Cal- vin F. Thomas and Eugene J. Mueller, Stewards, and Robert H. Carothers, Chaplain. February 19,1904. The lodge received an invitation from Mar- ion Commandery No. 24, Knights Templar, of San Francisco, Cali- fornia, enclosed in a letter which stated that any Blue Lodge Masons who wish to attend the Triennial Conclave in that city can do so by taking the route marked out in the letter, which also gave the approximate cost of the trip. May 20. Bright Star Chapter No. 16, 0. E. S., sent a letter of thanks to the lodge for the use of the Hall. The Secretary was instructed to compile a list of all members who died since the lodge was instituted and arrange in alphabetical order. The attention of the lodge was called to the fact that Miss Minnie Beatrice Brooks, an orphan, who was raised and educated in the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home, has entered the Busi- ness Woman's Popularity Contest, to compete for a prize offered by the Louisville Times, with the request that the members assist her by subscribing for the paper. August 5. The Master declared a recess for a short while when Miss Minnie Beatrice Brooks, who had sent in a message to the lodge requesting a little talk to the members, was admitted and then introduced to the brethren individually. She gave a very en- couraging account of her chances for winning the prize with the ef- forts of the Masonic fraternity. She gave a brief sketch of her life in the M. W. 0. Home, which was a pleasing picture, and of her education and training while there. She thanked the members in ad- vance for the aid she expected to receive from them, and after con- versing awhile, she made a courteous bow and then departed with a smile and "good bye." The Louisville Commandery Drill Team applied to the lodge for assistance in defraying the heavy expense to California where it was going to compete for a prize. The lodge donated 25.00. 62 IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1905 August 19. A committee composed of Bros. Alexander Gysel, Eugene J. Mueller, and Nathaniel T. Darnell, reported favorably on having a sanitarium built on the grounds of the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home. They stated that it would be of great benefit and saving to the fraternity. December 27. The lodge went into an election of officers for the year 1905. Bros. Thomas Dryden and W. H. Young as Tellers with the following results: Emil Anderson, Master; George R. Yancey, Senior Warden; Theodore Burger, Junior Warden; Leon- ard M. Dow, Secretary; Edwin J. Wright, Treasurer; Francis M. Lansford, Tyler; George W. Seymour, Trustee; Dr. Harry J. Phil- lips, Senior Deacon; Phillip Rosenberger, Junior Deacon; Luther J. Bachus and Michael Haller, Stewards; Robert H. Carothers, Chaplain. Installed by Past Master Edwin J. Wright. Bro. J. Thomas Funk was elected an honorary member of, the lodge. A communication was received from Lexington Lodge No. 1, F. A. M., asking all Masons to lend their influence to have the State Legislature restore the statue of Past Grand Master Henry Clay, which was destroyed July 22, 1903, to its former life-size and position. January 6, 1905. Before the lodge opened, members of Bright Star Chapter No. 16, 0. E. S., appeared in the lodge room, and Bro. R. H. Carothers on behalf of the Chapter, presented to Parkland Lodge No. 638 a handsome chair for the Master's station. Bro. Emil Anderson on behalf of the lodge responded in a neat impromp- tu speech and thanked the Stars for the privilege to occupy it dur- ing his first term in office. February 3. The Secretary's report showed that the lot on 28th street and Grand avenue belonging to Parkland Lodge was free from all debt, except for taxes, 1905. Cash on hand 1,748.85. April 7. On motion of Bro. Carothers, seconded by Bro. Drake and unanimously carried, that the lodge donate 50.00 to help pur- chase the lot on the northeast corner of Virginia avenue and 28th street, to be used for a branch library. May 6. A communication from the George Washington's Mother's Lodge, in which it sends greetings to Parkland Lodge, and that Bro. George E. Farnsworth had paid it a visit, was received. A BIRTHDAY STAG PARTY June 26. The members of Parkland Lodge and their friends had a most delightful time at the old Masonic Temple, Twenty- eighth and Dumesnil streets, at a stag party given by the Worship- ful Master Bro. Emil Anderson in honor of his fortieth birthday and as a joyous treat to his many friends to whom he sent the fol- lowing unique invitation: 63 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. On the enclosed card was the following: Address Side. EMIL ANDERSON, 2201 Twenty-elhth St., Louisville, Ky. Correspondence Side. June, 1905. Dear Sir and Brother: I will hbe present Monday, June 26, 1905, and will brinj friends with me. Thanking you for the Invitatlon, I remain, Yours truly, Louisville, Ky., June 20, 1905. Dear Brother. You are cordially Invited to attend a STAG PARTY to be held In the Masonic Temple Twenty-elphth and Dumesnil streets, Monday, June Twenty-sixth, from 8 to 10 p. m. and you are requested to bring with you one or two friends that are not Masons and that you would like to see become Masons. Please fill out the enclosed card and return by mall as soon as convenient, not later than the twenty-third. Emil Anderson. Speakingk Music and Light Refreshments will be the features of the evening. 64 IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1905 This was Bro. Anderson's first year as Master of the lodge and the members naturally felt proud of him, for he drew around him a host of admiring friends who did honor to his fortieth birth- day. There were many prominent Masons present and members from various Masonic institutions of the city. Bro. Anderson spared no time nor expense in making the anni- versary one of the grandest events of the season, for every cent that went towards making it a most enjoyable affair was paid out of his own pocket. His generosity was bounded by his kindness. The sweet music rendered, and blended in with the sociability of the brethren (which is characteristic of Masons "everywhere dispersed about the globe"), made everybody present "Feel just as happy as a big sunflower That nods and bends in the breezes; For their hearts were as light as the wind that blows The leaves from off the trees-es." Speeches and complimentary remarks were profuse. After lis- tening to the orations and responses of a number of the brethren and visitors the party were cordially invited to proceed to the ban- quet hall where they would partake of some, Andersonian refresh- ments. They were accordingly arranged in order and marched to the long tables with spotless white covers, decorated with nu- merous choice bouquets, exquisite designs of evergreens and flow- ers, while sprigs of smilax gracefully adorned the center of the long tables, and by the side of each plate a souvenir flag. Potted plants were dotted here and there about the hall, and flags and bunting artistically displayed along the walls of the lodge room and banquet hall that were equally beautified, and gave the scene an air of true Masonic happiness. It was an evening well spent, And ev'ry Craftsman there content; Had many pleasing things to say For Emil's Fortieth birthday; Compliments flowed freely, faster, He was the Worshipful Master- Months after that he did appear Our Master for another year; Success has crowned him many ways, May he see many more birthdays. October 28. Among the visitors to Parkland Lodge was Bro. 0. Z. Saibaya, of Tien Tsin, China, Past Master of Rising Sun Lodge No. 1401, Kobe, Japan; and Past Grand Master of Turkey, China, and Japan. He gave the lodge a very interesting talk on "Masonry In The Oriental Country." December 15. On motion duly seconded and carried, a rising vote of thanks was tendered Bro. Emil Anderson for the gift of a 65 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. beautiful frame suitable for photographs of Past Masters. Also to Bro. Leonard M. Dow, Secretary, for a complete and systematic rec- ord of all worthy petitioners to the lodge since it was instituted. December 27. The lodge opened at the usual hour on the Master Mason's Degree, and after reading the minutes of the previ- ous meeting and the transaction of other routine business, the Sec- retary prepared for the annual election of officers. The brethren chosen for the various stations were as follows: Emil Anderson, re- elected Master; George R. Yancey, Senior Warden; Dr. Harry J. Phillips, Junior Warden; Leonard M. Dow, Secretary; Edw. J. Wright, Treasurer; Phillip Rosenberger, Senior Deacon; Clarence L. Herzer, Junior Deacon; Ancel D. Woods and McClelland H. Fullenlove, Stewards; Robert H. Carothers, Chaplain; Francis M. Lansford, Tyler. January 19, 1906. A communication received from Miss Jen- nie Wallace on behalf of City Union of the King's Daughters and acted on, and by a motion seconded and carried; donated 10.00. February 2. A communication from the Grand Lodge had its second reading concerning the Old Masons' Home of Shelbyville, Ky., and on motion of Bro. Carothers duly seconded and carried. That it is the wish of the lodge that our representative on the St. John's Day League use his utmost power to have the entire pro- ceeds of June 24th go to the Old Masons' Home. April 6. A communication was received from the Commercial Club in regard to members of Parkland Lodge not living in the city, was read, and the Secretary instructed to furnish the Club with a list of their names and addresses. December 27. The time for the election and appointment of officers to serve for the year 1907 being at hand, the Master ap- pointed as Tellers Bros. Thomas Dryden and George W. Grant, and the result was as follows: George R. Yancey, Master; William A. Groves, Senior Warden; Harry J. Phillips, Junior Warden; Leon- ard M. Dow, Secretary; Robert H. Carothers, Treasurer; Francis M. Lansford, Tyler; Clarence Herzer, Senior Deacon; Homer Wahking, Junior Deacon; Rev. G. W. Nutter, Chaplain; Thomas Lansford and Ancel D. Woods, Stewards; John H. Sullivan, Trus- tee for three years; Herman H. Erdman, Masonic Board of Relief; William A. Groves, St. John's Day League. Past Master Herbert V. Harris installed the officers. On a motion duly seconded and carried, a rising vote of thanks was tendered Past Master Emil Anderson for the duties he so faith- fully performed during the two consecutive terms as Master of the lodge. January 18, 1907. The Master announced that an open meet- ing and an entertainment would be held in this hall Thursday night, 66 IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1907 February 7th, at 8 o'clock. Rev. Bro. G. W. Nutter was appointed to wait on Rev. Bro. E. L. Powell, and secure his services as one of the entertainers; and Past Master Bro. John M. Perkins to wait on the Rev. Bro. Carter Helm Jones as the other. Bros. Nutter and Carothers were appointed to assist the Wardens, Deacons and Stewards at the entertainment that night. The lodge invested in a 500.00 bond. At a stated meeting on January 4th, a motion was made, sec- onded and carried, that the lodge have an open meeting where the families of the brethren can have a delightful time. The Master ap- pointed a Committee on Invitation composed of Bros. R. H. Caroth- ers, Dr. Robert Wallace, and William B. Kuinz, to visit and confer with the sisters of Bright Star Chapter, to assist in making it all the more enjoyable. The Master also appointed the Wardens, Dea- cons and Stewards as a Committee on Arrangements. February 15. A communication from Bro. John H. Page, noti- fying the members of the lodge that on Tuesday, March 12, at 7:30 p. m., a testimonial dinner will be tendered Bro. H. B. Grant, Grana Secretary of the Grand Lodge of Kentucky, at the Galt House, it be- ing the seventieth anniversary of his birth, and in recognition of his long and faithful service as a brother and Grand Lodge officer. A good program, an excellent menu, and a delightful time assured. Tickets 1.50 each. A letter was received from Mrs. Julia Cope expressing her thanks to the lodge for the kindness shown her father (our de- ceased brother D. C. Evans) in life, and sympathy shown the family in their bereavement at his death. On motion duly seconded and carried, the Master appointed a Special Committee composed of all Past Masters and present Trus- tees of the lodge to devise ways and means to build on its lot on the corner of 28th street and Grand avenue. Past Master R. H. Carothers, Chairman. April 5. Past Master R. H. Carothers made the following re- port as Chairman of the Special Committee: "Your committee to devise ways and means of building on our lot would respectfully report that we have considered the matter and submit the following as our conclusions: "1st. We believe that now is an opportune time to take up the matter of raising funds to utilize our property and to provide a suitable home for Parkland Lodge. "2nd. We believe that an earnestly united effort will enable us to erect a hall during the coming year 1908. "3rd. We earnestly advise that no steps be taken to build until the necessary funds are in the treasury. "4th. We suggest as a means for raising funds, that the stock be issued in shares of 10.00 each; said stock to be non-assessable, 67 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. non-negotiable, and non-interest bearing; and every member be re- quested to take as many shares as his means and circumstances will permit. To make the burden easier, we advise that 20 per cent. of the amount subscribed to be paid at the time of subscription; and 20 per cent each two months thereafter until the whole amount is paid. By this plan the whole amount of the subscription should be in the treasury by April 1st, 1908. "5th. The amount necessary cannot be stated definitely until plans for a building have been adopted; but we suggest as mini- mum, 7,500. "6th. This fund should be kept inviolate, and be known as the building fund. "7th. A sinking fund should be created for the redemption of this stock. We believe that under this plan the entire amount of stock can be redeemed within ten years, without imposing any burden upon the lodge, and within the time stated the lodge will own its own home free from all debt and incumbrances whatever. "8th. In case the report is adopted, either the powers and du- ties of this committee should be enlarged, or a new committee ap- pointed to carry these recommendations into effect without un- necessary delay. Respectfully submitted, R. H. Carothers." On motion duly seconded and carried, the above report was accepted and the committee instructed to proceed to carry out its provisions. Bro. Herman H. Erdman of the Masonic Board of Relief made a report and asked for an appropriation for the visiting members of the United States and Canada Masonic Boards of Relief respec- tively. April 17. A communication from Bro. Isaac A. Kelly, Super- intendent of the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home, was read. in which it stated that the new Chapel would be dedicated with Masonic ceremony, Sunday, May 19th, and invited the members of the lodge, their families and friends to be present on that occasion. June 7. A card was received from Mrs. Hattie Tardy Kelly, expressing her appreciation for the kindness and sympathy ex- tended her in her bereavement over the loss of her beloved hus- band, Bro. Isaac A. Kelly, late Superintendent of the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home. September 6. A letter from Mrs. John W. Drake, extending her thanks to the lodge for the beautiful and appropriate floral de- signs, and for the very impressive Masonic ceremonies at the grave of her dear departed husband, Dr. John W. Drake. Bro. Drake was the second Master of Parkland Lodge. 68 IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1908 December 20. A communication was received from Bro. John H. Cowles, Grand Master of the Grand Consistory of Kentucky, Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite Masons, informing the lodge that in accordance with their usual custom, they would keep open house at their Cathedral on Sixth street near Walnut, on Wednes- day, January 1st, 1908, from 2 to 5 o'clock p. m., all Masons of any degree are invited to attend. Also a special request that the Mas- ter and Secretary of Parkland Lodge be represented if possible and assist in the introduction of brethren with whom they may be and become acquainted. December 27. The lodge went into the annual election and appointment of officers and the following brethren were chosen for the year 1908: William A. Groves, Master; Harry J. Phillips, Sen- ior Warden; Clarence Herzer, Junior Warden; Richard R. Dean, Senior Deacon; James M. Paul, Junior Deacon; Leonard M. Dow, Secretary; Robert H. Carothers, Treasurer; Francis M. Lansford, Tyler; Rev. Eben G. Vick, Chaplain; George Fisher and James Eskridge, Stewards. Olof Anderson, Robert H. Carothers, and John H. Sullivan, Trustees. George H. Groves, William A. Groves, and Harry J. Phillips, St. John's Day League. Herman H. Erdman, Masonic Board of Relief. Past Master Isaac T. Woodson, of Daylight Lodge No. 760, installed the newly elected officers. May 1, 1908. Bright Star Chapter No. 16, 0. E. S., presented to Parkiand Lodge for the Building Fund 100.00, for which a rising vote of thanks was extended, of its assurance that their financial gift was accepted with great appreciation and that their kindness and liberality would never be forgotten. The question of building was brought up again, and on motion duly seconded and carried, the old committee was discharged. Bro. Frank M. Harris made a very interesting and convincing address in regard to raising funds for the erection of a hall as the Building Committee had previously planned. He started it off by subscrib- ing for two shares of stock, followed by R. H. Carothers, five shares; Harry J. Phillips, five shares; Jesse M. Eskridge, two shares; Rich- ard R. Dean, two shares; Francis M. Lansford, two shares; James M. Paul, two shares; Martin L. Forcht, two shares; John B. Wathen, two shares; George H. Groves, two shares; H. T. Brooks, two shares; Alfred W. Harris, one share, and 2.00 previously paid besides. Clarence L. Herzer, one share; Richard T. Dowdell, one share; Alexander Gysel, two shares; Maurice S. Wilson, one share. On motion duly seconded and carried, the Master appointed ten brethren of the lodge to solicit subscriptions from its members only and report at the first meeting in June; also on motion it was agreed to hold over the above subscriptions until the first meeting in June. The Master then appointed a new Building Committee as follows: R. H. Carothers, Chairman; Emil Anderson, John Hawks, 69 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. F. M. Harris, R. R. Dean, George H. Groves, and H. T. Brooks; and a Soliciting Committee composed of F. M. Harris, M. S. Wilson, of Phoenix Lodge of California; Charles C. Ligget, Harry J. Phillips, Clarence L. Herzer, George Fisher, Sr., Jesse M. Eskridge, John H. Sell, Herbert F. Brenton, Maurice S. Wilson, William B. Kuinz, and L. W. Campbell. This committee was requested to meet at the lodge room Tues- day night at 7:30 o'clock, and receive the names and addresses of the members from the Secretary, L. M. Dow, and prepare to get square down to business. The Master, William A. Groves, who was unavoidably delayed, informed the brethren that Bro. Herman H. Erdman died this even- ing, and sometime before his death he requested that his remains be cremated. He announced to the lodge that the funeral service would be conducted at the residence Sunday, May 3rd, at 3 p. m. He also stated that himself and Bro. Clarence L. Herzer would ac- company the body to Cincinnati where it would be entered into the crematory to be reduced to ashes which would be received here Tuesday, May 5th, and conveyed to Cave Hill Cemetery for inter- ment with Masonic ceremonies, and by the deceased brother's re- quest Bro. Isaac T. Woodson, of Daylight Lodge No. 760, would conduct the services. May 15. A letter of thanks was received from the family of our deceased brother thanking the lodge for its sympathy and con- solation, and appreciation for the beautiful and appropriate floral designs tenderly placed on his casket. June 5. Bro. H. B. Grant, Grand Secretary, informed the lodge that one Daniel Richard Cotton is having published by the Globe Printing Company on Seventh street in this city, a book entitled "Freemasonry In A Nutshell," and to govern ourselves accordingly. December 26. According to the regular custom, the an-nual election and appointment of officers should have been held on the 27th of December, but, as it fell on Sunday this year, the election took place on Saturday night, December 26th, when the following officers were chosen for the year 1909: Harry J. Phillips, Master; Clarence L. Herzer, Senior Warden; Theodore Burger, Junior Warden; Jesse M. Eskridge, Senior Deacon; George Fisher, Sr., Junior Deacon; John Schneider and Maurice S. Wilson, Stewards; Leonard M. Dow, Secretary; Robert H. Carothers, Treasurer; Eben G. Vick, Chaplain; Francis M. Lansford, Tyler; William A. Groves, Trustee. Bro. Isaac T. Woodson, of Daylight Lodge No. 760, installed the officers. June 4, 1909. Bro. Carothers, Chairman of the Building Com- mittee, reported that the estimated cost of the building according to the present plans would come to 14,000, and as that was far 70 IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1909 beyond the expectations of the committee, the brother asked for further time. The Master then instructed the committee to draw up plans not to exceed 8,000. September 3. At this meeting the brother reported in regard to the progress he was making, and on motion duly seconded and carried, he was requested to negotiate further and report back to the lodge. Bro. Stephen S. Jones was then added to the committee. A communication from Bro. Clarence R. Howard of the Wash- ington Masonic Memorial Association was read, thanking the lodge on behalf of Fredericksburg Lodge No. 4, for its cheerful donation. September 17. The Secretary was instructed to express to Bro. Emil Anderson and wife in their bereavement over the loss of their dear and only son the heartfelt sympathy of the lodge. October 1. Bro. Anderson communicated to the lodge thank- ing it for the deep sympathy extended to him and his dear wife in their sorrow over the death of their dearly beloved son in his young manhood. December 17. A communication from Bro. John H. Cowles was read, notifying the lodge that on Saturday night, January 1st, 1910, at the Scottish Rite Cathedral, the Masonic Board of Relief would organize for the year, and that it is essential the representa- tive of Parkland Lodge be present. Another was received and read, announcing that the one hun- dredth anniversary of the birth of General Albert Pike, one of the grandest Masons of the fraternity, would take place December the 29th, and be celebrated by the Scottish Rite bodies of Louisville, with appropriate ceremonies at their Cathedral on Thursday, Jan- uary 6th, 1910, at 8 o'clock p. m. Also one from De Molay Commandery No. 12, K. T., extending an invitation to all Masons and their families and those who have sweethearts to be present at their reception Saturday night, Jan- uary 1st, 1910. And one from Bro. E. B. Beard, Secretary of the Old Masons' Home, Shelbyville, Ky., acknowledging the receipt of 10.00 do- nated by the lodge. December 27. At the regular meeting of the lodge the annual election and appointment of officers for the ensuing term came off with the following result, after the Tellers were announced and the business proceeded with; Bros. George H. Groves and De Witt A. Moon, Tellers; Clarence L. Herzer, Master; Lynn Alexander, Sen- ior Warden; Stephen S. Jones, Junior Warden; Leonard M. Dow, Secretary; William A. Groves, Treasurer; Emil Anderson, Trustee; Francis M. Lansford, Tyler; Rev. C. B. Althoff, Chaplain; L. W. Campbell, Senior Deacon; Arthur Hover, Junior Deacon; Edwin S. Barnett and Herbert F. Brenton, Stewards; Bro. William Fron- miller of Excelsior Lodge No. 258, installed the officers. 71 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. January 21, 1910. Past Master Emil Anderson of the Special Committee made his report, after which a motion was made, sec- onded and carried, that the Trustee be empowered to purchase this building (in which the lodge has been regularly holding meetings) if sold at the Court House steps, and at a reasonable sum, or take out a lease on the hall for one year with option of renewal. The committee that was appointed with the view of renting Dixon Hall, changed their minds and concluded to remain in the "Old Masonic Hall," and were then discharged. Dixon Hall was in every respect unsuitable. February 4. Application was made to this lodge to grant cer- tain Masons of high standing with the fraternity, permission to organize Shawnee Lodge on the northwest corner of 38th and Broadway streets, and to work as a lodge. On motion duly sec- onded and carried, it was so ordered; whereupon Bros. George E. Stopher, Charles A. Erdman, Albert T. Townsley, Everett M. Atherton, and S. A. McGee applied for provisional demits, they having complied with the law, they were then granted to them. Demit in effect to May 1st, 1910. April 15. Bro. William A. Groves made a motion that the lodge give its moral and financial support as much as possible to the undertaking of building a Masonic hospital in Louisville, which was seconded by Bro. Emil Anderson, but at the request of the Sen- ior Warden the motion was changed to read as follows: "Moved that the members of Parkland Lodge believe in the possibility and necessity of building a Masonic hospital in Louisville; and that we promise to lend our support both morally and financially, to the best of our ability to such an undertaking, and further, that the Master appoint a committee of three or more to meet with a similar committee from all the lodges in the city and State, for the purpose of forming a permanent organization; to provide ways and means for the erection of a Masonic hospital." The motion was duly seconded and carried, and a committee was appointed com- posed of Bros. Emil Anderson, William A. Groves, Clarence L. Herzer, and Harry J. Phillips. May 6. Bro. Harry J. Phillips reported that the Committee on Masonic Hospital attended the General Committee to form a per- manent organization, and about seventeen lodges were represented, and a permanent organization was formed, as follows: Rev. Bro. Edw. L. Powell, Chairman; Bro. Alfred T. Struck, 1st Vice Chairman; Bro. John C. Strother, 2nd Vice Chairman; Bro. Charles B. Frick, Secretary; Bro. J. Thomas Funk, Treasurer. Instructions were given the Committee on Masonic Hospital to find a suitable location and also get information regarding the number of rooms. Bro. Phillips stated further that the idea of a Masonic hospital first had its origin and birth in Parkland Lodge 72 IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL. 1910 No. 638. Bro. William A. Groves, President of the St. John's Day League, stated that he would turn over all moneys made this year to the proper authorities for the erection of the proposed Masonic hospital, and urged upon all Masons to attend the annual outing of the League. The committee then adjourned to meet at Bro. Joshua B. Lukens, two weeks from this night. The Master then appointed Bro. Lukens an additional member of the committee. May 20. Bro. Leonard M. Dow offered an amendment to the By-laws, signed by himself, Bros. Peter Schneider and Carl G. Wil- liam. The part of the By-laws to be amended was Section 1, of Article XIV, which reads as follows: "No member shall be granted a life membership in this lodge." To be amended so as to read as follows: ARTICLE XIV. "Section 1. Any member contributing dues to this lodge for twenty consecutive years, shall on application become a life mem- ber. "Section 2. A life member shall not be charged any more than is charged by the Grand Lodge for dues and assessments, but said dues and assessments shall be payable not later than the last regular meeting in August of each year; and any life member who has not paid his dues and assessments at that meeting, shall be notified by the Secretary to appear before the lodge within one month, and show cause why he should not be suspended for non-payment of dues." Bro. Dow stated further that he had heard from twelve out of seventeen lodges in the city which had life memberships. The amendment was read and then laid over to take the regular course. Some of the members and visiting brethren made the meeting very interesting by their entertaining talks and speeches. Most prominent among the visitors from other lodges was the Worthy Grand Master Bro. John H. Cowles, whose remarks were deeply in- spiring and enjoyable. He stated that he was particularly gratified with the manner in which Parkland Lodge was doing its work. He complimented the Junior Warden, Bro. Stephen S. Jones, on the efficiency in which he conferred the floor work of the second sec- tion of the Fellow Craft Degree. A communication was received from the Masonic Hospital Committee and read, asking that Parkland Lodge donate the sum of 10.00 towards the building of a hospital. A motion was made that the request be complied with, which was duly seconded and carried, and so ordered. June 3. At the request of Bro. William A. Groves, President of the St. John's Day League, the Master appointed a committee of twelve members to take charge of the tickets at the annual cele- bration at River View Park as follows: Bros. Arthur Hover, Wil- 73 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. liam Taylor, Wallace M. Coulson, Richard L. Hammond, Albert Simpson, Clarence L. Herzer, Clarence Cunningham, John H. Sell, Joseph R. Miller, Errett C. McCorkle and Mason A. Chambers. The Master also appointed a committee of three members on tickets: Bros. Stephen S. Jones, Arthur Hover and Herbert F. Brenton. The proposed amendment to the By-laws, Art. XIV, Sec. 1, passed the second reading, and a motion was made by Bro. George R. Yancey that the resolution be tabled, seconded by Bro. John H. Hawkes, and on being put to a vote was lost. A motion was then duly made and seconded, that the proposed amendment become a law and was lost. Bro. William A. Groves made a motion that a committee of three be appointed to go over our By-laws and change them accord- ing to the By-laws of the Constitution of the Grand Lodge. Sec- onded by Bro. George W. Seymour and was carried unanimously. July 1. Bro. Stephen S. Jones made a report on the celebration recently held at River View Park, in which he told of the work done by Parkland Lodge, in a very complimentary manner. July 15. Bro. R. H. Carothers, of the Building Committee, re- ported that he had received plans for the building, but too late to call the committee together. He has since called the committee to meet at the hall on Friday night, July 22nd, at 7:30 p. m., and in- vited the Master and Wardens to meet with them, as it would be necessary for them to be present. September 2. Bro. L. W. Campbell, Acting Chairman of the Building Committee, in place of Bro. Carothers who was absent, reported that the committee had entered into an agreement with Bro. Wm. T. Whitman, Sr., to make plans for the proposed edifice, which would be a two story red brick with the first floor partitioned off by a brick wall, and suitable for two store-rooms, with a base- ment and concreted. The second floor to be the lodge-room, closets, and two toilet rooms. Bro. Campbell said that Bro. Whit- man already had the plans completed, and deposited with the Secre- tary, Bro. Len. M. Dow. Bro. Lynn Alexander then made a motion that the plans be accepted, and a committee be appointed to devise ways and means of raising the balance of the money necessary for the erection of the building according to the proposition agreed to. After general consideration it was decided to go about it in a different way; then Bro. Alexander withdrew his motion when it was decided that each and every brother should be notified of the proposed action of the lodge, whereupon Bro. Wm. Kuinz made a motion that the Secretary notify every member of this lodge to be present at the next stated communication, to act on the plans as reported by the Building Committee which was duly seconded. Bro. Charles B. Chappell offered an amendment to the motion to the effect that a meeting be called early in the following week, to con- 74 IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1910 sider the proposition, but he withdrew his motion however, and the vote was then taken on Bro. Kuinz's motion which was lost; the result was 10 yeas and 13 nays. Bro. William A. Groves then made a motion that the report of the Building Committee be accepted and adopted and the committee be discharged with thanks. A vote was then taken on it and it was declared lost. Bro. Arthur Hover made a motion that the Master call a meeting for Friday night, September 9th, to consider the plan for building, and that each and every brother of the lodge be notified to that effect; a vote was then taken which resulted in two dissenting votes being cast, one brother failing to cast his ballot, and the others voted in favor of it and it was so ordered. September 9. Bro. Clarence L. Herzer, Master of the lodge, explained the real object of the meeting and then called on Bro. L. W. Campbell, Secretary of the Building Committee, to make a re- port of its proceedings. Bro. R. H. Carothers of the committee be- ing absent from the city, he acted in his stead. Bro. Campbell sub- mitted the plans adopted by the Building Committee and explained them as follows: They consisted of first and second floor drawings for a two story building, with two stores on the ground floor, 50x75x17 feet each. The lodge room proper to be 36.10x50.6. The entrance to the lodge to be on Grand avenue. The basement to be excavated suitable for a furnace. On the second floor in rear of the Hall will be lockers, ante room, lecture room, preparation room, and the building would be plain, solid, but not cheap; of red brick; also, that there would be no fancy fixtures put on the building, such as a pressed brick front but would be made substantial. The esti- mated cost to be about 8,000.00 or 8,500.00. He also stated that the plans were prepared by Bro. Whitman, Sr., after an agreement had been made with him to make them, and he had contributed much free advice. After hearing the report of the Building Committee, Bro. Herzer stated that he was ready to listen to suggestions that any brother might have to make, but requested that in so doing the brethren would confine their remarks to a general discussion of the subject before they offered any motions, which was fully complied with. Bro. Yancey suggested that the plans be unrolled on the Secretary's table for general inspection by the brethren, and the Master ordered a recess for the purpose. After recess Bro. Whitman stated for the benefit of Bro. Wil- liam Kuinz that excavation has been made to permit of a furnace being installed at any future date. Bro. Darnell made a motion that the plans be accepted, which was duly seconded by Bro. Len. Dow, and by a vote the motion was unanimously carried. Bro. George H. Groves, after a suggestion by Bro. Whitman, made a motion that the building be set back five feet from the side- walk. It was duly seconded and carried unanimously. 75 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. Bro. William A. Groves, Treasurer of the lodge, reported that the funds of the lodge amounted to 1,500.00 in cash, and a 500 bond which could be converted into cash at any time; also a lot with a frontage of 33 feet on Grand avenue and 28th street, valued at 27.50 per foot, which he thought might readily be disposed of. He also stated that a donation of 100 was forthcoming. Bro. Dow stated that stock subscriptions to date amounted to 1,920.00, 29.00 of which has been paid into the treasury, leaving a total of 1,491.00 yet unpaid; and in summing up the assets, he stated that the lodge funds, including all the funds mentioned above, amounted to 4,537.00. Bro. Will A. Groves made a motion that a committee be appointed to devise ways and means for raising the balance of the funds necessary for the erection of the building, which met with a second but was immediately withdrawn. Bro. Harry J. Phillips made a motion that the Master appoint a committee (the number he desired), to do the canvassing in order to raise funds for the erection of the building. It was duly sec- onded, and carried unanimously. The Master then appointed the Senior Warden, Junior Warden,. Senior Deacon, Junior Deacon, and the two Stewards, to serve on the committee. He left it to the dis- cretion of the Chairman to appoint any others who would be willing to assist him in carrying on the work. Bro. Arthur Hover made a motion that Bro. W. T. Whitman, Sr., make the specifications, which was duly seconded and carried unanimously. Bro. Wm. Kuinz then made a motion that the Build- ing Committee act in conjunction with the Trustees. It was sec- onded by Bro. W. A. Groves and carried unanimously. Bro. Groves then made a motion that the Building Committee be authorized to take bids, and report back to the lodge; also recommending the best, lowest and most responsible bidder, seconded, carried and so ordered. Bro. Groves also moved that a meeting be called for Fri- day night, September 30th, to consider bids and other business pertaining to the building; duly seconded and carried; and so ordered. September 16. Bro. Lynn Alexander reported for the Commit- tee on Funds, and had enlisted other brethren in the service for a thorough canvass in and out of the city. Bro. Len. Dow made a motion that stock be sold to all Masons -which was amended by Bro. Will A. Groves, to include members of the Order of the Eastern Star; which was duly seconded, car- ried, and so ordered. Bro. Len. Dow, Secretary of the lodge, sent out the following notice to every subscriber of stock in the lodge for one or more shares. This one the writer received. September 19. "Plans for the building to be erected on the lot northwest corner of 28th street and Grand avenue, have been adopted by Parkland Lodge, and this communication sent out that 76 IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1910 work may commence as soon as all the bids are in and the contract let. "Your subscription for one share of stock was received; and we would be pleased to have you take up your bond now, or as soon as possible, as it will be necessary to make an early payment." September 27. The Secretary sent out the following to every member in the city: "Parkland Lodge No. 638, F. A. M., will meet in called com- munication, Friday, Sept. 30th, at 7:30 p. m., for the purpose of receiving and acting on the report of the Building Committee on bids for erecting the new Hall." September 30. Bro. R. H. Carothers, Chairman of the Build- ing Committee stated that the committee met on Monday evening, Sept. 29th, to open and receive bids submitted for its consideration in regard to erecting a building on 28th street and Grand avenue, which he hereby reported that the committee received five bids as follows: 8,750.00; 8,634.00; 9,301.85; 8,300.00, and 9,700.00, and that the committee decided to recommend the 8,300.00 bid as being as good and equal to the best bid suggested to the lodge for its adoption; it being the bid of Bro. William T. Whitman, Sr., and he also stated that all bidders had based their bids on the plans and specifications adopted by the lodge. Bro. Will A. Groves then made a motion which was seconded by Bro. Kuinz, that the lodge accept the report of the committee, also the bid of Bro. Whitman, and receive the same, which was carried unanimously. Bro. R. H. Carothers, Chairman of the Building Committee, made a motion that the Trustees be instructed to enter into a con- tract with Bro. Whitman for the erection of a building, which was seconded and carried unanimously. Bro. Carothers then made an- other motion, that the Trustees be authorized to sell the unused part of our lot northwest corner of 28th street and Grand avenue, as they deemed advisable, which was also duly seconded, and carried unanimously. The Master (Bro. Clarence L. Herzer) then asked for a report of the Committee on Subscriptions, and of Ways and Means, which was responded to by its chairman, Bro. Alexander, who said in part, that the committee had been working, and had received reports from only a part of the members and that he had secured new sub- scriptions to the amount of 380.00 and that the committee had written to all old subscribers urging them to pay their stock ac- counts as soon as possible; and had also communicated with the members who are out of the city, and who had not yet subscribed to lend their support by contributing to the fund as liberally as they can. He stated further, that in his judgment there could be at least 1,000.00 raised from their subscriptions. 77 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. Bro. John H. Hawkes made a motion that the lodge borrow 5,000.00 and go ahead until the building was completed which was seconded by Bro. W. A. Groves, and lost. Bro. R. H. Carothers then made a motion that the Committee on Funds be authorized to collect all moneys and obtain same from subscriptions of stock when same is offered for payment. The motion was duly seconded by the Rev. Bro. C. B. Althoff and car- ried unanimously, after a few suggestions and remarks from the brethren. October 14. After all the necessary arrangements were made, Bro. William T. Whitman, Sr., the architect and builder, was noti- fied to proceed with the work at once, which he did, after making all preparations. On Friday morning, October 14th, the ground was first broken for laying the foundation. A light rain began to fall, and before noon merged into a steady downpour which delayed the work lor several days, and after that the weather turned out favorably and continued to the end of the month and nearly all of the next with the exception of two days of inclement weather, cold and raw, which did not seem to hinder the progress of the work. The build- ing advanced steadily the balance of the month and nearly all of November. The Building Committee received many nice compliments from the members of the lodge, and from brethren of other Masonic bodies, for the efficient management and performance of the duties which it held in hand, and to Bro. Whitman, the architect and builder of the new Parkland Masonic Hall, much praise was ac- corded him for his perseverance and painstaking efforts in pushing the work to a finish when the opportunity offered. The liberality of the members of the lodge in subscribing for the bonds is praise- worthy and has secured to them a beautiful and substantial edifice. Other Masons who may have aided received thanks. Bro. Carothers, Chairman of the Building Committee, reported that the work on the new hall was progressing nicely, and the building was nearly ready for the roof to be put on. He therefore made a motion that Bros. Harry J. Phillips, Emil Anderson, and James M. Perkins engage an automobile on the 24th of November and proceed to the Seelbach Hotel and receive Grand Master Rob- ert R. Burnham, Deputy Grand Master Dave Jackson, and other distinguished Masons, and escort them to the new hall where they will proceed to lay the corner-stone of the new building. This was seconded, and carried unanimously with an amendment, that Bro. Carothers take Bro. Perkins' place as the brother suggested. November 18. The Secretary was instructed to write to the Grand Secretary, Bro. H. B. Grant, and thank him for the donation of a Trestle Board, a book of Constitutions and a History of Free- masonry (all to be deposited in the corner-stone), and to invite 78 IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1910 him to be present at the laying of it on November 24th (Thanks- giving Day), at 10 o'clock a. m. The Secretary was also instructed to write a personal invita- tion to our distinguished brethren, Deputy Grand Master David Jackson, Past Grand Master John H. Cowles, Past Master J. Thom- as Funk, and Past Master Isaac T. Woodson, to be present on the auspicious occasion. It was suggested that Past Master George R. Yancey be placed in charge of the procession going from the Old Hall to the New Hall that morning after lodge meeting, and after the ceremonies back to the old lodge room, which the Master so ordered. A motion was duly made and seconded that the Master and Wardens constitute a committee in charge of the arrangements which was carried unanimously. A motion was duly made and seconded that a stone tablet be set in the front wall of the new building up over the door with an inscription thereon to read as follows: PARKLAND MASONIC HALL 1910 The motion as seconded was carried unanimously. A motion was made, seconded and carried, to refer the size of the stone to the Building Committee, which was accordingly done. A motion was made and seconded to send a letter of thanks to Messrs. Stonestreet Ford for surveying our lot free of charge, and invite them to the laying of the corner-stone, unanimously carried. Bro. William A. Groves, the Treasurer of the lodge, suggested that the Building Committee be instructed to say when 80 per cent. of the building would be completed, as said committee was in a better position to know than he, in order that he could more intel- ligently pay out the money of the lodge. Bro. Lynn Alexander, Chairman of Committee on Ways and Means, reported that some money had been collected, and that new subscriptions had been added to the list also, and urged the breth- ren to pay up their subscriptions as promptly as possible, in order that the work on the building may go on without delay. A motion was duly made and seconded that the Secretary be instructed to issue a voucher to Bro. William A. Groves, Treas- urer of the lodge, for 1,000.00 to cover a payment of 1,000.00 previously made by him to Bro. W. T. Whitman, Sr., contractor and architect of the new building. It was carried unanimously and so ordered. November 24. The lodge met in called communication at 9 o'clock p. m., in the old Masonic Hall, 28th and Dumesnil streets, 79 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. for the purpose of making arrangements for laying the corner-stone of the new building, 28th street and Grand avenue. The following officers were at their respective stations, having opened in due form on the Master Masons Degree: Clarence L. Herzer, Master; Lynn Alexander, Senior Warden; Stephen S. Jones, Junior War- den; Arthur Hover, Acting Senior Deacon; George Fisher, Sr., Act- ing Junior Deacon; Leonard M. Dow, Secretary; William A. Groves, Treasurer; Joseph Henry Habig, Acting Tyler. The Master stated the purpose of the meeting (before men- tioned) and then requested Bro. George R. Yancey to begin the rehearsal of the formation of the procession before proceeding to the new building where the corner-stone was to be laid. After the rehearsal an alarm sounded at the door of the lodge, and in reply to the Master's inquiry, it was announced in the usual man- ner that the Most Worshipful Grand Master Robert R. Burn- ham, Deputy Grand Master David Jackson, Past Grand Master John H. Leathers, Grand Treasurer Charles A. Gipe, Grand Tyler and Grand Secretary Henry B. Grant, desired admission, and on being admitted, were received by Parkland Lodge No. 638, F. A. M., with words of greeting from Bro. Robert H. Carothers (three times Master of the lodge), and hailed with the customary grand honors. The Master of the lodge then presented the gavel to the Grand Master who immediately assumed charge of the meeting, and then appointed the Grand Secretary, H. B. Grant, to fill the station of Grand Marshal; Bros. John H. Cowles, as Grand Senior Warden; Isaac T. Woodson, as Grand Junior Warden; John H. Leathers, Grand Treasurer; Henry B. Grant, Grand Secretary; Charles A. Gipe, Grand Tyler; William T. Whitman, Sr., Assistant to the Tyler, and the Rev. Eben G. Vick as Chaplain. After some remarks by the Grand Master in regard to the arrangements for the occasion the lodge closed in the usual form and the brethren left the hall, and at the entrance formed in line of procession clothed in white gloves and aprons, and then began the march along the west side of 28th street to the new hall on the northwest corner of 28th street and Grand avenue. There were present on this auspicious occasion besides the Masonic brethren, about seventy-five or more persons in the as- sembly, friends and neighbors, young and old, and a number of children, attracted to the scene out of curiosity. The passengers in the electric cars that passed in and out Twenty-eight street looked and wondered what was going on. Pedestrians passing to and fro halted and gazed as the ceremony was being performed. The Grand Lodge officers proceeded with formality of laying the corner-stone. In the copper box which was presented by Bro. George Fisher, Sr., of Parkland Lodge, was deposited the following valuable articles: 80 IN THE OLD MASONIC HALL, 1910 Proceedings of the Grand Lodge of Kentucky from the year 1800 to 1900 inclusive. Book of Constitutions of the Grand Lodge of Kentucky. Grant's Vestpocket Trestleboard. By-laws of Parkland Lodge No. 638, F. A. M. Roster of members of Parkland Lodge No. 638, F. A. M. Roster of members of Bright Star Chapter No. 16, Order of the Eastern Star. Names of the Building Committee of Parkland Masonic Hall. Masonic Home Journal of November 24th, 1910. Louisville Herald of November 24th, 1910. Louisville Courier-Journal of November 24th, 1910. Two Grand Lodge Medals, and several small coins. The box was then properly and securely sealed, and placed in the hollow square of the corner-stone, and there to remain with the edifice as a living memorial to the surviving and to the deceased brethren of Parkland Lodge No. 638, F. A. M., forever. After the ceremonies were concluded, the brethren returned to the old hall, where appropriate addresses were delivered by Grand Master Robert R. Burnham, Past Grand Master John H. Leathers, Deputy Grand Master Dave Jackson, Grand Secretary Henry B. Grant, Past Grand Master John H. Cowles, Past Masters Isaac T. Woodson, J. Thomas Funk and members of the lodge. Their remarks for the prosperity of Parkland Lodge were enthusi- astic and encouraging. November 29. The weather continued fine until the 29th of November, when moderately cold weather set in, and on Monday morning, December 5th, a light snow began to fall and continued all day and through the night, and on Tuesday morning, December 6th, the earth around was carpeted with the beautiful snow to the depth of six inches which made walking and street travel extremely difficult. Outside work was delayed for several days until the weather moderated sufficiently so that the work on the building was resumed. Bro. Whitman took every advantage the weather afforded, and he pushed the work forward in all earnestness. At a previous meeting Bro. Carothers, Chairman of the Build- ing Committee, reported that the work on the new building was progressing rapidly, and he also stated that Bro. John H. Leathers made a request that the lodge extend him an invitation when it was ready to dedicate the new hall. As a matter of course he reminded the brother that the lodge could not get along very well without his services and would mail him a written invitation. December S. Bro. Carothers made a motion at this December meeting that the lodge give Bro. George Fisher, Sr., a rising vote of thanks for the substantial copper box which he so kindly do- nated to the lodge in which was deposited the various articles for 81 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. preservation and remembrance. It was duly seconded, and unanimously carried. A motion was also made by Bro. Carothers to extend a rising vote of thanks to Bro. John H. Sells, for the copper box which he made and offered to the lodge as a gift, to be placed with various articles (before mentioned) in the corner-stone, which was not ac- cepted on account of it not being exactly suitable for the purpose. The motion was duly seconded, and carried unanimously. December 27. The election and appointment of officers for the ensuing year came off with the following result: Lynn Alexander, Master; Stephen S: Jones, Senior Warden; Leonard W. Campbell, Junior Warden; Len. M. Dow, Secretary; William A. Groves, Treasurer; Edwin S. Barnett, Senior Deacon; Herbert F. Brenton, Junior Deacon; Brady V. Winslow and Wallace M. Caulson, Stewards; Francis M. Lansford, Tyler; Rev. C. B. Althoff, Chap- lain; Emil Anderson, William A. Groves and Olof Anderson, Trus- tees. Past Master R. H. Carothers installed the officers. January 6, 1911. A motion was made that the Trustees be authorized to create a mortgage or other lien on our lodge property to secure the Columbia Trust Company in the loan of whatever moneys they may lend us for the purpose of completing the new building. It was carried unanimously. January 19. The building was well nigh completed, and it was the hope of the Building Committee to have the hall dedicated on February 3rd (it being the first meeting night in the month), with- out waiting for the new carpet (which was ordered) to be laid. The brethren were anxious to occupy it as soon as possible, in order to avoid remaining in the old hall any longer as the lease would expire before that time. In the meantime Bro. Dow, the Secretary, communicated with the Grand Master, Bro. Robert R. Burnham, to that effect, he being in Washington City, attending the Masonic ceremonies at the anni- versary of Alexandria Lodge, of which President George Washing- ton was a prominent member and Past Master. Owing to this fact, Grand Master Burnham's request was for the lodge to fix another date for the dedication of the new hall, which was for March 14th, which was satisfactory to the Grand Master. At a succeeding meeting it was moved, seconded, and carried unanimously, that the lodge move into its new quarters on Friday, March 3rd, prepared to hold its first stated communication on that night, and so ordered. January 20. A motion was duly made, seconded, and carried by a unanimous vote, that the Secretary write a letter to Bright Star Chapter No. 16, 0. E. S., asking it to move with us into the new hall. 82 IN THE NEW MASONIC HALL, 1911 February 3. Daylight Lodge No. 760 informed Parkland Lodge by letter that it would pay the expenses of the Grand Mas- ter's visit to Parkland to lay the corner-stone of the new building, and that the lodge should apply the amount to the building fund. Bro. William A. Groves stated that 5,000.00 had been secured from the Columbia Trust Company with which to finish the new building; that it charged only 20.00 for appraisement, which he considered quite reasonable. Bro. Alexander called a meeting of the Soliciting Committee for Wednesday night. Bro. Carothers also called a meeting of the Building Committee for the same night. Bro. Robert R. Burnham, Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Kentucky, sent a communication to the lodge stating that it would be impossible for him to be present on the 22nd of the month, but if arrangements could be made before the 20th or after the 1st of March, he would be pleased to be with us and perform the cere- monies. A motion was made that the next stated communication of the lodge in this month be the last in the old hall, and that the first stated communication of the lodge be held in the new hall on March 3rd. The motion was seconded, carried, and so ordered. A motion was made that the Master and Wardens be a com- mittee of three to arrange and fix date and make such other ar- rangements as are necessary for moving into the new hall. It was seconded, carried and so ordered. A motion was made, seconded, and carried, that the Stewards be required to arrange for refreshments on that night; so ordered. February 17. A motion was duly made and seconded that a rising vote of thanks be given Bro. Charles E. Seng for the dona- tion of a fine clock for the new lodge room, which was carried unanimously, and the brother notified of the action of the lodge. This was the last meeting the lodge held in the old Masonic hall in Parkland. The lodge made all preparations to hold its first stated com- munication on the night of March 3rd, which was to be the begin- ning of a new assurance of the continued prosperity of the lodge. IN THE NEW MASONIC HALL FIRST MEETING, MARCH 3rd. The lodge was opened in the usual form on the Third Degree Friday night, March 3rd, a month later than was expected, amid the glare of the electric lights and the display of beautiful furniture and paraphernalia, which were the source of many complimentary remarks from the visiting brethren. Before proceeding with the regular order of business it was decided to have some plain verses appropriate for and commemora- 83 tive of the occasion, and in response to the request of the brethren of the lodge, the writer contributed some lines of cordial greeting on the first meeting held in the ne hall, which he recited for the pleasure of the members and other brethren of the Order present. GREETING Dear brothers of the Level, The Plumb, Compass and the Square, The first time as a body We have met here to prepare- And work in our new station, In this grand and spacious Hall, Before the Dedication- That shall happen after all. This Parkland Lodge of Masons, And brothers with faces bright, Have emerged from the cavern And are entering the light. Behold your Master standing, With smiles of Masonic cheer, To welcome you with gladness In a purer atmosphere. Welcome, welcome, welcome, all, To our new Masonic Hall. There were about two hundred brethren present on this occa- sion, representing nearly every Masonic lodge in the city, one from a lodge in Shelbyville, Ky., several from county lodges, and one representative from Indiana, one from Ohio, and one from Texas. They expressed themselves as being perfectly delighted with the new hall and also in love with "Old Kaintuck," where the latch- string hangs outside the cabin door, takes the shine off Texas, and that he was loth to leave it and thought he would tie up here for good. The gentleman from Indiana was a Past Master and assisted in the work of the lodge. He remarked that his visit was one of great pleasure and profit, having learned much. The brother from the Buckeye State, like the other two, was profuse in his remarks and commented on the beauty and convenience of the hall and the work so well done, which was cheering to the members of the lodge. Five candidates being in waiting, they were admitted to the lodge room and the Master Masons Degree conferred on them in due and ancient form, assisted by the visiting Past Masters of other Masonic lodges, who received the kindly thanks of the Master in return. There were present on this occasion two prominent members of the Order, old reliables, "Young Old Men," who have labored incessantly for many years in the cause of Freemasonry- The Old Masonic Hall. PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. 84 IN THE NEW MASONIC HALL. 1911 the Grand Secretary, Capt. Henry B. Grant (a veteran of the Civil War), the efficient custodian of the proceedings and archives of the Grand Lodge of Kentucky, and the ever faithful Grand Tyler, Bro. Charles A. Gipe (always on deck), who makes his grand rounds to all the Masonic lodges of the city. The Master appointed a com- mittee to meet the Grand Lodge on Tuesday night, March 14th, and escort them to the new hall, which they will proceed to dedicate. A motion was duly made and seconded that a rising vote of thanks be extended to Bro. Emil Anderson for the gift of a beautiful altar adorned with the several emblems of the Order, unanimously carried, and the duty performed. March 14. The Dedication. The lodge met in called com- munication on Tuesday night at 8 o'clock, for the purpose of dedi- cating the new Masonic hall. The following officers took their re- spective stations: Lynn Alexander, Master; Stephen S. Jones, Sen- ior Warden; Leonard W. Campbell, Junior Warden; Edwin S. Barnett, Senior Deacon; Herbert S. Brenton, Junior Deacon; Brady V. Winslow, Steward; Leonard M. Dow, Secretary; William A. Groves, Treasurer; Joseph H. Habig, Acting Tyler; Rev. C. B. Althoff, Chaplain. It was arranged that, as the lodge opened on the Master Masons Degree, the writer was to recite his poem composed espe- cially for the occasion, but somehow or other amid the enthusiasm and excitement of the hour it was overlooked by the Master. How- ever, the writer recited it at the next regular meeting by special re- quest of the lodge. It was as follows and entitled DEDICATION VERSES We have met tonight with prospects bright, In answer to the call- And greet with cheer each brother dear In this commodious hall, Hail with delight, this joyous night, Our Master in the chair; Upon the whole, with heart and soul, We meet him on the square. He welcomes you, and you, and you; With right good will, and clever; As we appear, true Masons here, In Parkland Lodge as ever; Fond ties renew, with reverence too, In this new hall of ours; And trust we may from day to day Bring sunshine with the hours. 85 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. We've bade adieu (thanks be to you), A lasting, fond farewell To the old hall that sheltered all- For one continuous spell. No more shall we-for we are free From all the dust and din; The dingy walls, and outside squalls, No more we'll enter in- So we shall meet in this retreat, Our secret hopes confide- And feel more free to happier be, With Mason's love and pride. Good brothers all obey the call! Come at your Master's will, And prove that you are constant, true, All duties to fulfill. With Christian will Masons instill Into the minds of others, That charity-a rarity- Is practiced by our brothers- So shall we give-long as we live, And never seek to dodge; Or deign to shirk Masonic work; Make this the banner lodge! So near yet far, the Eastern Star- A beacon light before us, That brightly shines along our lines Its constant rays beam o'er us. Fair, kindly hands, by love's commands, In sickness or distress, Attend with care, our sorrow's share, Make Masons' sufferings less. Let us in this grand edifice, Preserve all things with care And give it praise in many ways, While acting on the square; Masons sincere, with conscience clear, Respecting wisdom's ways Keep well intact your every act, And live true lives always. Before we part, with hand and heart, Brothers congratulate, And honor all, this splendid hall Which we shall dedicate- 86 IN THE NEW MASONIC HALL, 1911 Do not refrain-but come again, In foul weather and fair; As Masons meet on the level, greet, And part upon the square. INVOCATION We now beseech, Thy precepts teach, Grand Master, Lord above! And guide aright our minds this night In fellowship and love; And bless this hall, and Masons all, Be with them night and day; And when they die, take them on high To Thy Grand Lodge we pray. After the verses were read, Bro. R. H. Carothers made a mo- tion that a copy of them be sent to the Masonic Home Journal for publication. It was seconded, carried unanimously and so ordered. On this Tuesday night the new hall was dedicated with deep impressiveness and according to the ancient Masonic form and usage by the Grand Master, Robert R. Burnham, and the other Grand Lodge officers assisted by the Master and ten members of the lodge. There were fully two hundred brethren present to wit- ness the beautiful and impressive ceremonies of dedication and consecration. Grand Master Robert R. Burnham was assisted by Deputy Grand Master David Jackson of London, Ky.; Past Grand Master John H. Cowles, as Senior Warden; Past Master of Park- land Lodge, J. Thomas Funk, as Junior Warden; Past Grand Mas- ter John H. Leathers, Grand Treasurer; Leonard M. Dow, as Secre- tary; Rev. E. L. Powell, as Chaplain; three times Past Master of Parkland Lodge, Robert H. Carothers, bearing the Great Lights; Past Masters of Parkland Lodge, Emil Anderson and William A. Groves, as Senior and Junior Deacon; Brady V. Winslow and Her- bert F. Brenton of Parkland Lodge as Stewards; Charles P. Crow- der, of Lewis Lodge; Past Masters George R. Yancey and L. W. Campbell, of Parkland Lodge, and John M. Perkins, affiliated P. M. of Parkland Lodge, bearing the Badges; and Grand Tyler Charles A. Gipe. When these officers entered the lodge room, the Master, Lynn Alexander, received them with appropriate Grand Honors, and briefly addressing the Grand Master, requested him to take the gavel and proceed with the ceremonies. Grand Master Burnham fittingly responded. The procession was formed and the hall was dedicated in the usual solemn and impressive manner. The Rev. E. L. Powell then delivered an address that was not only a gem and in harmony with the occasion, but was heartily appreciated by every brother present. 87 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. It made such an impression on the brethren that the Grand Master said, that after such an interesting and instructive talk, he thought it unwise to call on anyone else to speak, and would pro- ceed to close the lodge. Past Master R. H. Carothers who had served Parkland Lodge three terms as Master, arose and asked if he might say a few words. This modest request was granted him, and in a short, but eloquent speech, he presented Grand Master Burnham, as a token of affection and esteem of Parkland Lodge members, with a fine ivory gavel with a suitable inscription en- graved thereon. The Grand Master was visibly affected and feel- ingly responded to Past Master R. H. Carothers' appropriate re- marks. Before the lodge was closed the brethren were invited to the banquet hall and there partook of a sumptuous repast prepared by the worthy Stewards. The lodge then closed in the usual form in peace and harmony. There were nineteen Masonic lodges in the city at the time Parkland Masonic Hall was built and only two of that number own halls, Preston Lodge and Lewis Lodge. Since then Shawnee Lodge, which is many years younger than Parkland, built its own hall not many months ago. Parkland Masonic Hall is a beautiful pressed-brick edifice with stone lintels over the high and wide windows which are beautified with large French glass panes. The building is two stories high, the lower floor being divided in two store-rooms fronting on 28th street. One of them has been occupied ever since the hall was completed, by our worthy brother of the lodge, Oscar C. Bardo, who keeps a fancy up-to-date grocery; and the other is used as the ban- quet hall for the lodge and is solely in charge of the Parkland High Twelve Club, which attends to the renting of it on certain occasions to churches and organizations, and donates part of the proceeds to the lodge. The entrance to Parkland Masonic Hall proper from the street is through double doors into a vestibule in the rear of the banquet hall. A broad stairway, with easy tread, and covered with a blue velvet carpet, leads to the second and into the lodge room; adjacent to the lodge room is the reception or Tyler's room with closets where the paraphernalia is kept; outside this room and to the right is the lavatory, conveniently arranged. As you enter the reception room to the left is the preparation room, and nearby the toilet, and next to it the robe room wherein is carefully stored away for lodge use the costumes of the Craftsmen. The lodge room is wide and cozy with large windows of sanded glass, and the floor is covered with a heavy, rich, blue carpet. The furniture is in keeping with the surroundings, and the rows of electric lights overhead presents a grand appearance. A beautiful stained glass window in the east of the hall above the Master's chair adds considerably to the beauty and splendor of the lodge room. It was a donation from our worthy Past Master, Emil An- derson, who has an abiding faith and interest in the welfare of the lodge and Order. 88 IN THE NEW MASONIC HALL, 1911 The cost of the building amounted to 8,874.69. The cost of the furniture and carpets, with incidental expenses, 952.57. Cash and notes 8,700.52, making a total of 9,653.09. March 17. A motion was duly made and seconded that the lodge tender Bright Star Chapter No. 16, 0. E. S., a letter of thanks for the donation of 111.00 towards paying for the beautiful new carpet that adorned the spacious floor of the new hall. The motion was unanimously carried, and the Secretary was instructed to write to the Chapter to that effect. A motion was duly made and seconded, that the lodge extend a rising vote of thanks to Bro. George Fisher, Sr., and Bro. Olof Anderson, respectively, for their substantial donations and for the amount of work performed by them for the benefit of the lodge. The motion was carried unanimously, as much praise was due them. A motion was duly made and seconded, that the lodge extend a rising vote of thanks to the Trustees, the Building Committee, and the Finance Committee, for their untiring efforts in pushing along the work on the new hall to a successful completion. The motion was unanimously carried, and the brothers were notified of the action of the lodge. Bro. Alfred W. Harris, Past Secretary-elect, and Past Treas- urer pro tem, having served a full term as such, recited a poem to the lodge, which was written by himself, and which showed that he was still ripening into those truly Masonic principles, and whose reflection was cast by the beautiful sentiments expressed in every sentence of the poem dedicated to Masonic fraternity and to the Order of the Eastern Star. A motion was duly made and seconded that Bro. Harris be requested to send his poem to the Masonic Home Journal for pub- lication. The motion was unanimously carried and the brother re- sponded favorably to the request. The verses appeared in the issue of the Journal, March 23. A motion was duly made and seconded, that the lodge extend to Bro. William T. Whitman, Sr., the architect and builder of the hall, a rising vote of thanks for the efficient and progressive man- ner in which he managed the work so successfully. The motion was carried unanimously, and the brother was informed of the ac- tion of the lodge with its compliments. May 19. Bro. William A. Groves, President of the St. John's Day League, and Bro. Emil Anderson, one of the committee, made very encouraging reports. They said that they felt confident that the celebration this year would be the largest ever held, and would according to their views prove a great financial success and benefit to the Order, and that they were still boosting the picnic to be held at Fontaine Ferry Park on the 24th of June, and urged the brethren 89 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, P. A. M. to attend and take along their babies (those who have them), to the great Baby Show early in the morning of that eventful day. Bro. Robert H. Carothers, Chairman of the Building Commit- tee, made a report which had been somewhat delayed by various circumstances; but as the committee had done its work he would make a final report. He then made a motion that 377.37 be paid Bro. William T. Whitman, Sr., as a balance due him; and included in this amount is the pay for the sidewalk, and he asked that the re- port of the committee be received, and the committee be discharged. The motion met with a second and was unanimously carried, and so ordered. A motion was duly made and seconded, that the lodge give the committee a rising vote of thanks for its efficient and arduous du- ties. It was unanimously carried and the honor conferred. Annually on Easter Sunday the lodge is given the blessed privilege to conduct divine services at the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home. Bro. Emil Anderson, a Past Master of the lodge, and a member of the St. John's Day League Committee, in his report, stated that they anticipated fine weather for the 24th of next June, and should it happen to rain on that day, the picnic would be held on the fol- lowing Saturday, providing the weather proved fair. July 7. Bro. Anderson reported the success of the St. John's Day picnic. It has always proved so both finanically and otherwise. October 6. A motion was made, seconded and carried, to give Bro. Emil Anderson a rising vote of thanks for the loan of 200.00 for lodge purposes. November 17. On a motion duly seconded and carried, the lodge donated to the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home the sum of 5.01 for the benefit of the children, and also for the widows of the Home, whereby they may be made happy. The lodge never fails to have the welfare of the widows and orphans at heart as regularly as the years come and go. December 27. A communication was received from De Molay Commandery No. 12, inviting the members of the lodge and their ladies to attend a reception at its headquarters Monday, Jan- uary 1st, 1912, from 8 to 12 o'clock p. m. The time for the election of officers for the ensuing term being announced by the Master, the lodge proceeded to that duty with the following results: Stephen S. Jones, Master; L. W. Campbell, Senior Warden; Edwin S. Barnett, Junior Warden; Leonard M. Dow, Secretary; William A. Groves, Treasurer; Lindsey R. Hurst, Senior Deacon; William T. Whitman, Jr., Junior Deacon; John A. Irwin and Alex. M. Carson, Stewards; William B. Kuinz, Tyler. Emil Anderson, 90 IN THE NEW MASONIC HALL. 1912 William A. Groves and Olof Anderson, Trustees. Past Master William Taylor, one of the oldest members of the lodge, installed the officers. January 1, 1912. William A. Groves, Treasurer, read his re- port of the expenditures on the lodge building and incidental ex- penses. February 2. A communication was received from the Park- land High Twelve Club, with check enclosed for 50.00. A motion was then made to appreciate the donation by a rising vote of thanks. The motion was seconded and carried unanimously. The Secre- tary was instructed to notify the Club of the action of the lodge and wished it continued prosperity. July 19. A motion was made, seconded and carried that Park- land Lodge give its consent to the formation of a new Masonic lodge on Shelby street and Burnett avenue. It was accordingly granted and the charter members notified of it. August 2. A motion was made, seconded and carried, that Parkland Lodge give its consent to the formation of a new Masonic lodge in Highland Park. It was so ordered and the charter mem- bers notified that it was granted. A communication was received from Highland Park Lodge, U. D., in which it expressed many thanks to Past Master Emil Ander- son and Parkland Lodge for their kindness in presenting it a sub- stantial altar. September 20. Bro. J. Arthur Gibson of Louisville Lodge No. 400, F. A. M., paid a visit to Parkland Lodge and when called on for a speech he brought up a subject beneficial to a great many Masons. He requested that a committee be appointed to co-oper- ate with other Masonic lodges, to form an employment agency; whereupon a motion was made that a committee be appointed for that express purpose. The motion was then seconded and carried unanimously. The Master at once appointed Bros. Lindsey R. Hurst, Charles F. Morton, and George R. Yancey as the committee, with instructions to act accordingly with other Masonic lodge com- mittees. October 4. Bro. Herbert V. Harris, the fourth Past Master of the lodge, being present, was called on for a talk and made a very interesting and encouraging address on the wonderful strides the lodge had made since 1895, when it felt proud of its forty-three or forty-five members. October 18. Bro. Stephen S. Jones, Master of the lodge, and its representative to the Grand Lodge, made quite a lengthy and interesting report of its proceedings. 91 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. December 27. Bro. Emil Anderson, Past Master of the lodge, as a committee of one appointed by the Master to look after the welfare of the widows of deceased members of the lodge, reported that they were doing very well and are perfectly contented. When he had finished his remarks a motion was made that he be retained as the committee for the ensuing year. It was seconded, carried unanimously, and so ordered. Bro. William A. Groves, Trustee of the lodge, read his report of the work performed by him for the year 1912. It was therefore moved that it be accepted and filed; seconded, carried unanimously, and so ordered. Bro. Stephen S. Jones, Master of the lodge, read his report of the work performed by him as Master for the year 1912, which showed the continued prosperity and forward movement of the lodge. On motion, it was duly seconded, and carried that it be ac- cepted and filed. It was moved and seconded that the Master appoint a com- mittee of three to consider the advisability of establishing a sinking fund to take care of the mortgage. The motion was carried and so ordered. The Master then appointed Bros. Emil Anderson, R. H. Carothers, John M. Perkins. It appears from the records that there must have been an amendment to the motion as the Master also named two others to serve on the committee: Bros. Harry J. Phillips and Lindsey R. Hurst. Before the newly elected and appointed officers were installed in their respective stations by Bro. R. H. Carothers (three times Past Master of the lodge), he approached the East and addressed the retiring Master, Bro. Stephen S. Jones, in a very neat and ap- propriate speech; and then, on behalf of the lodge, presented the brother with a beautiful diamond stick pin. He was also the re- cipient of many cheerful compliments from the brethren present. The following officers were chosen to serve for the year 1913: L. W. Campbell, Master; Edwin S. Barnett, Senior Warden; Lind- sey R. Hurst, Junior Warden; Herbert F. Brenton, Senior Deacon; Brady V. Winslow, Junior Deacon; Leonard M. Dow, Secretary; William A. Groves, Treasurer; William R. Edds, Tyler; Ross Red- dish, Chaplain; Maurice S. Wilson and Sterling P. Bell, Stewards; Emil Anderson, William A. Groves and Olof Anderson, Trustees. The officers were installed by Bro. R. H. Carothers. On a motion duly seconded and carried, a rising vote of thanks was extended to Past Master Carothers for the able manner in which he installed the new officers of the lodge. On a motion duly seconded and carried, an "old Master's apron" was presented to Past Master Stephen S. Jones by the lodge; the full history of which we have no detailed account. January 3, 1913. It was moved and seconded that the report of Past Master Stephen S. Jones for the year 1912, and read to the 92 IN THE NEW MASONIC HALL, 1913 lodge on the night of Dec. 27, be printed in pamphlet form, and every member of the lodge to receive a copy; carried and so ordered. He gave a splendid account of his services. May 2. Bro. Emil Anderson, Past Master of the lodge, and Chairman of the Special Committee on the Twenty-fifth Anniver- sary of Parkland Lodge, made a favorable report. He stated that the committee considered its plans the best arranged for the occa- sion. They were adopted unanimously by the lodge. May 9. The Master of the lodge announced that Past Master Bro. William A. Groves was elected a member of the Board of Di- rectors of the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home and Infirmary. It was therefore on motion duly seconded and carried by a unan- imous vote that the Master appoint a committee to write a letter of congratulations to Bro. Groves on behalf of the lodge. The fol- lowing brethren composed the committee: Past Masters Robert H. Carothers, Emil Anderson and Stephen S. Jones. The lodge took great pride in knowing that such a high honor had been conferred on one of its ablest members. June 6. Past Master Stephen S. Jones, Chairman of the Spe- cial Committee, under the head of "For the Good of the Order," ex- pressed the hearty congratulations of Parkland Lodge to Past Mas- ter William A. Groves, on being elected a member of the Board of Directors of the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home and Infirm- ary. He reported thlat the committee had fulfilled its duty to the fullest extent. Bro. Emil Anderson, Chairman of the Committee on the 25th Anniversary of the Lodge, reported progress. He, also, with Bro. Arthur Hover made a separate report, favorably, on St. John's Day Celebration. Bro. Len. M. Dow, Secretary of the lodge, reported the receipt of 100.00, a donation from Bright Star Chapter No. 16, Order of the Eastern Star. A motion was made and seconded, that a rising vote of thanks be extended to the Chapter for the very generous gift; a unanimous vote was accorded Bright Star and Bro. Caroth- ers was instructed to report to it the action of the lodge. June 30. Bro. R. H. Carothers gave a brief history of the lodge beginning from June 30th, 1888, to June 30th, 1913. He said, on this night twenty-five years ago it came into existence and first saw the light. Bro. Carothers related the hardships it had to under- go in early life, and the wonderful change that has taken place be- tween Then and Now. The pleasures linked with the prosperity enjoyed now, is far beyond comparison with the misgivings and struggles of then. The lodge was honored with some fine selections from the Male Quartette composed of Mr. Arthur Dent, 1st Tenor; Mr. Earl 93 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. Hedden, 2nd Tenor; Mr. Joseph Mitchel, Baritone; Mr. Philip Woods, Basso. The quartette is familiarly known as the 22nd Walnut Street Quartette. Bro. Walter P. Jobson, one of the living charter members of the lodge and its first Secretary, was called on to narrate his remem- brance of the ups and downs of the new lodge in its struggles for existence in Parkland. He gave a graphic and humorous descrip- tion of its striving hard to maintain its equilibrium. He was ap- plauded for several minutes, and at the close of his historic re- marks was accorded a general hand-shake in honor of his having been the first Secretary of Parkland Lodge. The quartette then gave another one of its fine musical selections. Bro. Thomas Jefferson Adams, Superintendent of the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home and Infirmary, was the next speaker on the program. He eulogized the lodge for its perseverance from the outset of its noble career and overcoming all obstacles on its forward march to prosperity. He was greeted with a round of hearty applause. Bro. Charles A. Gipe, the grand old brother, gave a splendid talk for the benefit and in praise of Parkland Lodge for stemming the tide of adversity to reach the goal of success. At the close of his remarks a general hand-clapping ensued for several minutes. The seventh Past Master of Parkland Lodge, Bro. Robert H. Carothers, then read letters from each of the following brethren, expressing their sincere regrets in being unable to attend the 25th Anniversary of Parkland Lodge. Grand Master Joseph K. Ewalt, Deputy Grand Master Orin S. Ware, and Past Grand Master James Garnett, Grand Treasurer John H. Leathers, and Grand Sen- ior Warden Geo. B. Winslow, also from William B. Tate, third Past Master of Parkland Lodge, and one of the first petitioners for membership at the first regular meeting held in the "Old Davison House"; Past Masters George W. Seymour and William Taylor, and Edwin J. Wright; one from the first Tyler of the lodge, Frank K. Lewis, a charter member, then connected with Golden Rule Lodge No. 145, Covington, Ky. Past Master Harry J. Phillips gave a very entertaining talk after which Past Master Stephen S. Jones, the Treasurer of the lodge, made a very stirring speech for the progressiveness of the lodge, and just before the close of his interesting remarks presented the lodge with the first 1,000 bond redeemed, which made the brethren feel good to know that the lodge owed 1,000 less on its new building. After another cheering selection from the Male Quartette a silver offering was suggested by one of the humorous brethren who slyly sneaked out of the lodge room and in a few minutes brought in a tin pan and took up a collection among the audience to the amount of 16.00. The Master then requested all present to repair to the banquet hall where refreshments would be served them, and 94 IN THE NEW MASONIC HAL, 1913 each one presented with a small souvenir appropriate for the occa- sion. It was really a celebrated entertainment; instructive, beneficial and enjoyable throughout. Parkland Lodge has always been known as one of the most sociable lodges in the State of Kentucky; and its reputation as such since the 25th anniversary was celebrated is world-wide. It has had representatives from lodges in England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales, and from nearly every State in the Union as the records of the lodge will show. It has at the present time over three hundred members, mostly young men in the prime and vigor of manhood. It has a first class degree team. As a prom- inent visitor from a New York lodge said to the writer on one meet- ing night after the lodge had closed: "I have had occasion to visit many Masonic lodges throughout the United States and elsewhere, and have seen the 3rd degree work put on and well done too; but I must say that this lodge can't be beat. The work was done to per- fection and the degree team did its part exceedingly well. The rais- ing of the candidates was dramatic and perfectly natural. The New York lodges can't equal it." July 4. A communication was received from the Grand Lodge containing a report of the Committee on Lodges Under Dispensa- tion adopted by the Grand Lodge. It was read and filed. From this time on to August 23rd, no business beyond the work in the several degrees was transacted. Petitions were being presented, two, three and five at a time, and now and then examinations of candidates were in order, and in fact the lodge was prospering finely and has continued so ever since the new hall was completed and the attend- ance at all the meetings was greatly encouraging, though not to be wondered at, for the lodge has been growing in numbers quite steadily all along and showing up nobly. November 7. A communication under date of Oct. 20th, was received from Bro. T. Jeff. Adams, Superintendent of the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home and Infirmary, thanking the lodge for a check of 50.00 to be used in purchasing furniture for one room in the institution. He informed the lodge that Mrs. Scoville and daughter would be received into the Home Oct. 27th. He also called the attention to the approaching Christmas holidays and asked for a cash donation to be used for the benefit and enjoyment of the widows and orphans and how to send it. Ac- cording to a motion duly seconded and carried, the sum of 5.00 was allowed. On motion, duly seconded and carried, the notice of meetings be changed from the Evening Post to the Herald. The motion was reconsidered, and withdrawn, and another offered to discontinue having notices of meetings inserted in any paper the balance of the year, except called meetings; so ordered. 95 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. Bro. Stephen S. Jones, representative to the Grand Lodge, made a report of his services and proceedings of the session. November 21. A communication from Rev. Bro. Edward S. Doan, rector of St. George Episcopal Church, 26th and Oak streets, was received and read informing the Craft that, on Dec. 28th he would preach a sermon that would be helpful and beneficial to Masons and the fraternity in general, and extended a cordial invi- tation to the members and their friends. December 19. A communication received from the Masonic Board of Relief was read, in which the lodge was notified that the annual meeting of the board would be held January 8th, at 8 o'clock p. m., in the Scottish Rite Cathedral and that the lodge representa- tive should be present. It also contained a report of the work done by it during the year, and extended thanks to the officers and mem- bers of the lodge for the assistance rendered it this year. A communication from Past Master Bro. Harry J. Phillips, containing a check for 35.00, was received. It stated that the check was from Mrs. Scoville with her request that it be returned to the lodge, it being for nurse fee which the lodge had previously paid. A communication received from Rev. Bro. Edward S. Doan was read, pertaining to his sermon on Masonry. December 27. The following officers were elected and ap- pointed for the ensuing year: Edwin S. Barnett, Master; Lindsey R. Hurst, Senior Warden; Herbert F. Brenton, Junior Warden; Brady V. Winslow, Senior Deacon; Sterling P. Bell, Junior Deacon; Leonard M. Dow, Secretary; Stephen S. Jones, Treasurer; Harry D. Edwards and Walter Trinkle, Stewards; Rev. Edward S. Doan, Chaplain; William R. Edds, Tyler; John M. Perkins, Trustee; James C. Butts, Masonic Board of Relief; George H. Groves, St. John's Day League. Past Master William A. Groves tendered his resignation as Trustee of the lodge, having one year more to serve. It was ac- cepted and Past Master Harry J. Phillips was elected to succeed him. On motion a rising vote of thanks was unanimously extended him for his faithful and efficient services during his term of office for the two years. The report of the Secretary, Bro. Leonard M. Dow, for the year ending Dec. 31, 1913, showed a cash balance of 3,686.89. On motion duly seconded, and carried unanimously, a rising vote of thanks was extended to Rev. Bro. Edward S. Doan, for his fine sermon to Masons on Dec. 28th, and that a copy of it be sent to the Masonic Home Journal for publication and so ordered. Bro. Doan was the Rector of St. George's Episcopal Church, corner 26th and Oak streets. His subject was Masonry and Religion. February 6, 1914. A communication was received from the Grand Lodge which requested the Master to appoint one or more 96 IN THE NEW MASONIC HALL, 1914 brethren as a committee to compile the unwritten history of the lodge. The Master thereupon appointed Past Masters Emil An- derson, John M. Perkins and Stephen S. Jones. Bro. Alfred W. Harris was afterwards added to the list, and in due time a con- densed history was sent in to the Grand Lodge by him as he had it compiled beforehand and endorsed by the committee. A communication was received from the Masonic Board of Relief asking the lodge to incorporate under a special order of busi- ness at each meeting the following: "My brethren: We have several brethren in this and sister lodges out of employment. Does any brother here know of a vacancy If so, the lodge will appreciate it if he will immediately notify the Secretary." A motion to comply with the communication was made, seconded and carried and the Trustees were instructed to purchase a book to be used as a register for employment. A report was made by one of the brethren that a Mr. Wade Salvage, who had lost both legs and an arm, was greatly in need of assistance, whereupon a motion was made, seconded and carried to have the contribution box brought in and opened and the contents be donated him; it was so ordered. After that the hat was passed around and a collection was taken up which amounted in all to 8.15. It was then turned over to the Trustee of the lodge for the unfortunate man's benefit. Not a Mason, but a mendicant. May 29. This meeting was called for a Lodge of Instruction and for the good of the Order. The program began with some in- teresting remarks by the Master, Bro. Edwin S. Barnett, followed by Past Master Robert H. Carothers whose subject was, "What Is Masonry " It was very instructive and beneficial. Rev. Bro. Alfred L. Crawle spoke on "Brotherly Love and Relief." Rev. Bro. Edward S. Doan gave a talk on "Morality." Bro. Alfred W. Harris recited that beautiful Masonic poem, "Our Vow." Bro. Past Mas- ter Stephen S. Jones, who was to give a lecture on "Silence and Cir- cumspection," was out of the city, and in consequence the lodge missed a good lesson. Bro. Charles H. Wilson responded to a call for a speech, and gave a very interesting talk. Bro. Past Master Emil Anderson, whose subject was down on the program, "Our Working Tools," gave a very nice talk. Bro. Charles A. Gipe, the grand old guard, and Senior Warden Bro. Lindsey R. Hurst, donned the ancient official robes becoming to a Mason, and a lodge of in- struction was formed for the Master Masons Degree, and the work gone through with was well done. At the close the brethren all proceeded to the banquet hall and partook sumptuously of some light refreshments prepared especially for the occasion. June 5. Communication was received from Bro. Philip L. Becker, of Preston Lodge, Secretary of the St. John's Day League, in which he stated that the Grand Master, Bro. Orie S. Ware, has offered a prize of a full set of silver coin lodge jewels, to be pre- 97 sented to any Masonic lodge in Jefferson County, Ky., purchasing the greatest number of tickets for the celebration on June 24, in proportion to its membership. December 26. The Past Master, Bro. Stephen S. Jones, pre- sented to the retiring Master, Bro. Edwin S. Barnett, on behalf of the lodge, a handsome gold watch, and a chain and charm on behalf of his wife. The Master responded in a very appropriate speech. The officers having been elected and appointed before the pre- sentation took place, were afterwards installed by Past Master Bro. R. H. Carothers, assisted by Past Master Bro. George R. Yancey, Acting Marshal, as follows: Bros. Lindsey R. Hurst, Master; Herbert F. Brenton, Senior Warden; Brady V. Winslow, Junior Warden; Len. M. Dow, Secre- tary; Arthur Hover, Treasurer; Sterling P. Bell, Senior Deacon; Harry D. Edwards, Junior Deacon; Walter Trinkle and George A. Skelton, Stewards; William R. Edds, Tyler; Walter P. Denton, Board of Relief; Lindsey R. Hurst, Herbert F. Brenton and Brady V. Winslow, Finance Committee; Emil Anderson, St. John's Day League; Henry H. Lowe, Emil Anderson and Walter S. Smith, Sick and Distress; Walter P. Denton, Jonathan Davis, Lutz H. Combs, George D. Gates and Martin Luther Forcht, on Reception and Refreshments; James C. Denton, Henry C. Schuhman, Roder- ick H. Combs and William R. Kuinz were also appointed on the above committee; John A. Irwin and George H. Groves, to assist the Tyler; Emil Anderson, Harvey M. Buckley and Daniel Metzler, Employment Committee. Bro. Dr. John G. Clem presented to the lodge a rough Ashler and a perfect Ashler which were placed on the Master's rostrum, one on the right hand corner and the other on the left, and they make a very attractive appearance. He also presented the lodge with an ancient English Bible printed and issued in the year 1611, and at this time was 303 years old. On presenting it he empha- sized his remarks when he said "That it is now the property of Parkland Lodge No. 638, F. A. M., to keep and to hold, so long as it holds its charter, and in the event that the lodge should surrender its charter at any time, the Bible must be transferred to the Grand Lodge of Kentucky." It is a perfect curiosity and is highly valued by the lodge and is used only when conferring the Third or Master Masons Degree or on special occasions. A motion was offered, duly seconded and unanimously carried to extend thanks by a rising vote to Bro. Dr. John G. Clem for the invaluable gift. Every brother rose to his feet in thanksgiving to their worthy brother. The book is unique, curiously wrought and weighty. Brother Clem is a valuable member and officer of the High Twelve Club as well as a working member of Parkland Lodge to which he is so devoutly attached. His library is immense. January 1, 1915. On motion duly seconded and carried, a ris- PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. 98 IN THE NEW MASONIC HALL, 1915 ing vote of thanks was extended to Bro. Walter P. Denton for four cast-iron holders which he so generously presented to the lodge for the purpose of holding the staffs of the two Stewards, Senior and Junior Deacons. The vote was unanimous. The report of the Treasurer for the year ending December 31st, 1914, was as follows: Jan 1, 1914, to balance ................................... 1,179.52 Received from Secretary during the year, fees, dues, etc ................................... 4,466.00 Received from High Twelve Club .............................. 200.00 Dividend from Commercial Bank Trust Co ......... 107.85 Total receipts for year ................................... 5,953.37 Disbursements- Paid vouchers 1-152 inclusive, omitting voucher No. 46, marked "void" ............................... 4,777.34 Jan. 1, 1915, cash in bank ............................. ... 1,176.03 Balance due from Commercial Bank and Trust Co .107.87 On motion duly seconded and carried that the report of Bro. Stephen S. Jones be accepted and a rising vote of thanks be ex- tended our retiring Treasurer. The vote was unanimous. March 5. On motion duly seconded and carried a rising vote of thanks was extended to the proprietors of the Crystal Laundry for attending to the table linen free of charge. The Secretary was instructed to inform them of the appreciation by its action which was unanimous. March 19. The committee on The McKinley Memorial Asso- ciation Fund, reported progress and turned over to the Secretary a neat little sum. , April 2. Bros. Yancey and Barnett made a partial report each, on the National McKinley Birthplace Memorial Association. April 16. Bro. Walter P. Denton of the Masonic Board of Re- lief reported 71 applications for positions; out of that number 38 positions were secured, 12 were women and 26 were men, 9 of them were over 60 years of age, 12 were members of the Order who lived outside the city. Had 10 vacancies that the applicants were unable to fill, and 12 calls for relief. July 2. Bro. Emil Anderson of the Standing Committee made a report on the St. John's Day Celebration, and that the outlook seemed very favorable for a prosperous day. Bro. A. C. Humphries, Master of Lewis Lodge, in an impromp- tu speech, presented Bro. Lindsey R. Hurst with a beautiful ivory 99 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. gavel that he (Hurst) won at the St. John's Day Celebration in Fontaine Ferry Park, having received the greatest number of votes as being the most popular Master of any Masonic lodge in Jefferson County, Ky. Bro. Hurst, after accepting the gavel called Bros. Trinkle, Irwin, Edwards and Clem, officers of the High Twelve Club, and of the lodge and Emil Anderson, Hover, Forcht and Kuinz, mem- bers of the same, to the East, and then proceeded to christen the coveted prize by having each brother give the accustomed raps of the Order. When the last brother had used it, he returned it to the Master who made some very pleasing remarks in regard to it. The Rev. Bro. W. H. Hopper, of the Parkland Presbyterian Church, and Bro. A. C. Humphries, Master of Lewis Lodge, took an active part in speech making. Past Master Bro. R. H. Carothers, on behalf of Bro. Clarence L. Warren, presented the lodge with a silver loving cup. Bro. Judge Charles A. Wilson was called to the East and pre- sided for the time being and called for remarks from any of. the brethren who desired to speak. Bro. Charles P. Crowder, Past Master of Lewis Lodge, gave a very interesting and instructive talk followed by Bro. Charles J. Friedl of the same lodge, whose remarks were complimentary to Parkland Lodge and its officers; small talks were forthcoming from Bros. Clem, Hover, Hopper, and Phillips of Parkland Lodge, and John R. Austin, of Excelsior Lodge. Bro. Harvey M. Buckley, Superintendent of the Newsboys Home, one of the Employment Committee, reported that he had received 363 applications for positions and out of that number he secured places for 153 of them. Before the lodge closed the Master called on Bro. Hopper to lead the lodge in prayer. He offered up a fervent prayer for the guidance of all mankind and the Masonic fraternity in general. August 20. A motion was offered by Bro. Harry D. Edwards, that a rising vote of thanks be extended to Bro. Alfred W. Harris for his beautiful piece of poetry an "Acrostic, a Tribute to Parkland Lodge No. 638, F. A. M.," published in the Masonic Home Jour- nal, August 16th, and read to the lodge by the Secretary, Bro. Leon- ard M. Dow, and that a printed copy be attached to the minutes. It met with a second and was unanimously carried. October 29. The Master announced to the lodge that Bro. Walter P. Jobson, Sr., Past Secretary of the lodge, died at his late residence, 47th and Broadway streets, on the 29th of October, at 12:30 o'clock a. m., and, as his remains would be taken to Memphis, Ind., for burial Sunday, he called a meeting for Oct. 31st, to pay the last sad tribute of respect. October 31. The lodge opened in called communication at 10:35 o'clock a. m., with the following officers present: loo IN THE NEW MASONIC HALL, 1915 Bros. Lindsey R. Hurst, Master; Herbert F. Brenton, Senior Warden; Harry D. Edwards, Acting Junior Warden; Walter Trinkle, Acting Senior Deacon; Orron A. Vandeventer, Acting Jun- ior Deacon; Leonard M. Dow, Secretary; Arthur Hover, Treasurer; William R. Edds, Tyler; Martin Keller, Acting Chaplain; Karl H. Cinnamond and George D. Gates, Acting Stewards. The Master then appointed as Pall Bearers, Past Masters Bros. Emil Anderson, George R. Yancey and Edwin S. Barnett, and Past Secretary Bro. Alfred W. Harris, Bro. Dewit A. Moon and Bro. George D. Gates. The casket was placed in a special car at the Interurban Station, accompanied by the pall bearers. The officers and members of the lodge and others occupied the front car with the family of the de- ceased brother Mason. His remains were then taken to Memphis, Ind., and from thence to the family burying ground two miles and a half west of the town, and there deposited in the grave with the usual Masonic ceremonies and honors. Bro. Walter Paxton Jobson, Sr., was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, June 4th, 1858, and was, at the time of his death, aged 57 years, 4 months and 25 days. He was the senior member of the Jobson Printing Company. He was initiated an Entered Apprentice Mason in Lewis Lodge No. 191; passed to the degree of a Fellow Craft, and raised to the sublime degree of a Master Mason. He demitted at the time the petition for Parkland Lodge was granted and was its fifth charter member and first Secretary, having been appointed by the first Master, Bro. William H. Perrin. He served one term, and was succeeded by Bro. William W. Riggs, the tenth charter mem- ber of the lodge. November S. The Master appointed a committee to draft re- solutions of respect on the death of Bro. Walter Paxton Jobson, as follows: Bros. Emil Anderson, Arthur Hover and Harry D. Ed- wards. The following resolutions were read and made a part of the minutes: November 19. WHEREAS, The Supreme Architect of the Universe has seen fit in His providence to remove from our midst Bro. Walter P. Jobson, who departed this life on Oct. 29th, 1915, and, WHEREAS, Bro. Jobson was a charter member and the first Secretary of our lodge, a devoted member of the same for more than twenty-seven years, and WHEREAS, His life work is ended and he has gone to his reward, be it RESOLVED, That in the death of Bro. Jobson, this lodge has lost a worthy member, the family a kind and loving husband and father, and the community a good citizen; be it further 101 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. RESOLVED, That these resolutions be spread upon our min- utes, and a copy be sent to the bereaved family of the deceased. Arthur Hover, Harry D. Edwards, Emil Anderson, Committee. December 27. Officers elected and appointed for the ensuing year, 1916: Herbert F. Brenton, Master; Brady V. Winslow, Sen- ior Warden; Harry D. Edwards, Junior Warden; Walter Trinkle, Senior Deacon; Allen H. O'Brien, Junior Deacon; Leonard M. Dow, Secretary, and Arthur Hover, Treasurer; William R. Edds, Tyler; Martin Keller, Chaplain; Fred. B. Stewart and Jonathan Davis, Stewards; Emil Anderson, Stephen S. Jones, John M. Perkins, Board of Trustees; Arthur Hover, George H. Groves, Emil Anderson, St. John's Day League Committee; Harvey M. Buckley, Masonic Board of Relief. Bro. T. Jefferson Adams, Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Kentucky, installed the officers with the exception of Bro. Winslow who was absent on account of the death of his wife. He was duly installed at a subsequent meeting. Bro. Harvey M. Buckley, of the Employment Committee, re- ported that during the ten months beginning with March 1st, 1915, and ending Dec. 25th, 1915, he received 483 applications for posi- tions and from that number he secured 272 places. Besides Bro. Buckley, the committee was composed of Bros. Hurst, Dr. Clem, Barnett and Gernert. March 3, 1916. Past Master Bro. Lindsey R. Hurst, made a very interesting report concerning the Employment Bureau and its work; also in regard to advertisements in the Masonic Home Journal. Bro. John G. Clem called the attention of the lodge to the "Greater Louisville Masonic Directory," which is being compiled under the direction of Kosair Temple, and will be an Annual Direc- tory for the Craft. The subject of building was brought up for discussion, either to add arother story to the present building or sell it and purchase a site in a more suitable locality. The Master, after hearing the opinions and suggestions of the brethren, appointed the following Committee on Building and Improvement: Bros. L. R. Hurst, W. H. Groves, E. S. Barnett, J. E. Sikking, L. M. Layer, J. A. Irwin and F. Nelson. April 21. Past Master Bro. Lindsey R. Hurst, Chairman of the Committee on Building and Improvement, reported that the present hall could be enlarged and altered for 6,312.00, and by 102 IN THE NEW MASONIC HALL, 1917 building on our lot adjacent to this building and adding a third story it would cost 13,197.00. October 6. Bro. Past Master Lindsey R. Hurst of the Special Committee reported on heating the lodge room with gas heaters. On motion duly seconded and carried, that the Trustees be allowed to spend 160.00 for heaters, and 20.00 for ventilators; so ordered. Bro. Past Master Emil Anderson, Chairman of the St. John's Day League Celebration, made his final report to the lodge in which he stated that the proceeds amounted to 12,000. Bro. Arthur Hover, Treasurer of the lodge, made a fine report, and on behalf of the Parkland High Twelve Club presented 250.00 to Parkland Lodge. The Secretary was then instructed to write a letter of thanks to the Club in grateful acknowledgment of the generous donation. December 27. This, the last stated communication of the lodge this year (now in the twenty-ninth of its existence, from June 30th, 1888), held a very interesting meeting with a large at- tendance of both members and visiting brethren from other Masonic lodges of the city and from elsewhere, on account of it being the annual election of its officers. The Master announced that the lodge would proceed to elect its officers for the coming year, 1917. The result was as follows: Brady V. Winslow, Master; Harry D. Edwards, Senior Warden; Walter Trinkle, Junior Warden; Arthur Hover, Treasurer; Leon- ard M. Dow, Secretary; Allen H. O'Brien, Senior Deacon; Fred- erick D. Stewart, Junior Deacon; Jonathan Davis and John M. Cade, Stewards; Martin Keller, Chaplain, and William R. Edds, Tyler. These officers were duly installed in their respective stations by Past Master R. H. Carothers, and Past Master George R. Yan- cey, Acting Marshal of the ceremony. March 2, 1917. At the stated meeting, the subject of lodge history was brought up for consideration by Bro. W. A. Groves who described the work in regular detail. Bro. Groves made a motion to extend a rising vote of thanks to Bro. Harris for his kindness and forethought, and devotion to Parkland Lodge by writing its history, and presenting and dedi- cating it as a memento of its past and present success. It was sec- onded, and unanimously carried, which was accorded him. June 24. It has been the custom for years for Parkland Lodge to hold its annual religious services at the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home on every Easter Sunday, the year 1917 being an exception to the rule on account of considerable illness among the children, the services were postponed indefinitely. Several months thereafter the lodge received an invitation from Past Grand 103 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. Master Bro. T. Jeff. Adams, Superintendent of the Home, that he would be pleased to have Parkland Lodge hold its services there on Sunday, June 24th, at 2 o'clock p. m., which was cheerfully ac- cepted. The weather was propitious for the occasion, and conse- quently there was a very large attendance. The program which is always a select one was finely rendered. As all Masonic lodges are required to display the national colors, "The Star Spangled Banner," after the opening of their re- spective meetings, Parkland Lodge, through the kindly influence of Bro. Walter Trinkle, the Junior Warden of the lodge, and the Worthy Patron of Bright Star Chapter No. 16, 0. E. S., the lodge was granted the privilege to use the Chapter's large and beautiful silk flag as long as it desired to, or until it was prepared to pur- chase one of its own. In appreciation of this act of courtesy, the lodge by a motion extended a rising vote of thanks to the Chapter which was made unanimous, and Bro. Trinkle was instructed by the Master to convey to it the action of the lodge. Bro. George D. Gates offered a motion which was seconded by Bro. A. W. Harris, that any member of this lodge who has enlisted or may hereafter enlist in the United States Army in the war against Germany, shall be exempt from paying all fees and dues during his whole term of service. Bro. Will A. Groves then took the floor and briefly stated that he would be heartily in favor of the motion, which was a patriotic one, but it could not be allowed according to the Constitution of the Grand Lodge of Kentucky and a request of that kind must be made in writing by the applicants and submitted to the Grand Lodge for action. Since then the Grand Lodge has had it under consideration. September 28. At a special meeting of Parkland Lodge on Fri- day night, the letter "G" won by the lodge at the St. John's Day Celebration for the largest number of tickets sold for the benefit of the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home, was awarded it. The presentation speech was made by Bro. A. R. Kimmerling, of Willis Stewart Lodge No. 224, F. A. M., and President of the St. John's Day League, in which he was profuse in his compliments to Park- land Lodge for having secured the beautiful prize, and for its devo- tion to the M. W. and 0. Home. Among some of the prominent members of the fraternity present were: Bros. Fred. J. Drexler, President of the Masonic W. and 0. Home; John H. Leathers, Grand Treasurer of the Grand Lodge, and Charles A. Gipe, Grand Tyler of the Grand Lodge; Past Masters J. T. Funk and Charles P. Crowder, Charles A. Wilson; and State Senator Theodore H. Diehl of Parkland Lodge. They enthused and enlightened the lodge and other members of the order present with Masonic speeches in praise of the M. W. and 0. Home. Major Leathers and Judge Wilson, each, eulogized the defenders of the honor of free America and the 104 IN THE NEW MASONIC HALL, 1917 grand old flag in the war against Germany, which were received with great applause for several minutes. The lodge was honored with the presence of thirty-five members of the 42nd Michigan Am- bulance Company, a fine body of soldier Masons and Knights Tem- plar, in khaki uniforms. They organized themselves; 90 per cent. of the whole company were Masons, and a little more than 60 per cent. Knights Templar and the others hope to be in the near future. They were eager to be sent to France. Their talks were really entertaining and instructive. They expressed themselves as being greatly delighted with their visit to the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home, and that "it is a grand institution indeed." After all that was said and done, a surprise was sprung on the lodge, when Bros. William A. Groves and Alfred W. Harris in the lead, George D. Gates and Henry Schuhman in the rear, entered the spacious hall with "Old Glory" unfurled. Bro. Gates was the standard bearer. They approached the altar on which laid the Holy Bible, Square and Compass, and facing the Worshipful Mas- ter in the East, gave the sign of a Master Mason, and then Bro. Harris began his presentation speech as follows: Worshipful Master, Officers and Members, and Visiting Brethren: It is the established rule and custom with Masonic lodges throughout our fair State of Kentucky and elsewhere, on opening their respective meetings to display the grand old Flag; sing the soul-stirring song of 'The Star Spangled Banner,' or 'America,' and then honor it with the national military salute; thereby showing it profound reverence; and now, with respect to that patriotic cus- tom, I have the honor and the pleasure, on behalf of the Parkland High Twelve Club to present to Parkland Lodge No. 638, F. A. M. This flag of our nation, Most perfect and true, With its stars and its bars, The red, white and blue; That waves over our land, And floats on the sea, This ensign of freedom For you and for me; Accept it, and keep it, Preserve it with care, This beautiful emblem Displayed ev'rywhere; In palace and cottage, And in halls of fame; So take it and honor Its heaven-born name. 105 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. October 5. At a regular meeting of the lodge, on motion, a rising vote of thanks was unanimously extended to the Parkland High Twelve Club, for their generous gift to the lodge of a large and beautiful silk flag, the "Star Spangled Banner," at a special meeting Friday night, September 28th. Another motion was made to extend to Bright Star Chapter No. 16, 0. E. S., a unanimous vote of thanks for the loan of its splendid flag until the lodge could procure one of its own which was accordingly done. December 27. Past Master Emil Anderson offered a motion, "That, as the lodge had won the electrifiable letter 'G' (a prize se- cured by the sale of the largest number of tickets for the benefit of the Masonic W. and 0. Home, at the St. John's Day Celebration at Fontaine Ferry Park, Saturday, June 23rd,) it make a donation to Plumb Lodge No. 862, F. A. M., as a gift, the letter 'G' Parkland Lodge has had in use for a long time, as that lodge needs assistance in some manner or other." The motion was seconded, unanimously carried, and so ordered. Since then Parkland Lodge has received a communication from Plumb Lodge extending its grateful acknowledgment and heartfelt thanks for the beautiful present so generously donated, and holds Parkland Lodge in lasting remembrance. The officers elected for the ensuing term are mentioned on page 5. May 3, 1918. At a regular meeting of the lodge, held in their hall this Friday night, for business and examinations, under the head of "New Business," the question of publishing the lodge his- tory was brought up by Past Master Will A. Groves for considera- tion, and having the manuscripts on hand he explained to the lodge the necessity of having it in print, and invited the brethren to scan the pages at the close of the examination of applicants. Past Mas- ter Emil Anderson, another old reliable member of the lodge, en- dorsed the remarks of Bro. Groves and also spoke of the history and favored it being published in a neat form at this opportune time when the thirtieth anniversary of the birth of the lodge may be celebrated June 30th, next. Bro. Anderson then made a motion that the lodge have a certain number of copies of the history pub- lished, which was seconded by Bro. Groves. The question was put, there was no dissenting voice, but Past Master Edwin S. Barnett suggested that seven hundred copies be issued, which was left to the Committee on History. A vote was then taken and the motion was unanimously carried, so ordered, and the Master, Harry D. Ed- wards, appointed a Committee on Lodge History as follows: Bro. Will A. Groves, Bro. Emil Anderson, and Bro. Alfred W. Harris, to proceed to make the necessary arrangements for publishing it. Under the head of "For the Good of the Order" Bro. Will A. Groves arose, surprisingly, and the sum and substance of his re- marks were that, "We have among us one of the oldest members of 106 IN THE NEW MASONIC HALL, 1918 this lodge, who was initiated into the full mysteries of the Order twenty-four years ago tonight, and ever since he has done a con- siderable number of charitable deeds and many little acts of kind- ness. I refer to Past Master Bro. Emil Anderson who is too modest even to intimate that he has done much good; he doubtless believes in the scriptural saying: 'Let not your right hand know what your left hand doeth.' Although he feels it his pleasure (and he is proud of it) to let the brethren know that he is tonight twenty- four years old in the lodge, and that he has traveled that number of Masonic miles since he first saw its light, and in view of that fact," Bro. Groves said "Bro. Anderson feels that he should treat the crowd on the square," and amid the plaudits of the brethren Bro. Groves produced a box of fine cigars and distributed them among the brethren along the four sides of the hall, as this poetic thought no doubt entered their minds, or something to this effect: And so now we will take By Will Groves' invite, And for Anderson's sake "The Mason's delight"; Puff away with a sniff, Then blow at our Will- For every good whiff Is for our Emil. THE THIRTIETH ANNIVERSARY 1918 June 21. At the regular communication of the lodge, held this Friday night, Past Master William A. Groves arose and stated that the Thirtieth Anniversary of the Lodge would be on next Sunday, June 30th, and in view of that fact he offered a motion that we celebrate the event on Saturday, June 29th next. It was sec- onded, and the question put; there being no remarks the yeas and nays were called for; it was unanimously carried and so ordered. The Master then appointed a Committee of Arrangements for the forthcoming event. Since then a meeting of the committee was called, and after debating on the propriety of having a celebration at this time, it was decided that on account of the existence of a world war in which our country was precipitated, and to observe the rules governing United States Food Conservation "the purchas- ing of Liberty Bonds and War Savings Stamps," and besides, as forty or more of the young members of the lodge have nobly re- sponded to their country's call to arms and entered the service, some in cantonments, and a number in the trenches and on the firing line in France and other parts, are deprived of the privilege of en- joying such a grand event as it would have been had it taken place; but the winning of the war for liberty, truth, and justice are the es- 107 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. pecial objects of our desires, and for these reasons the Thirtieth Anniversary Celebration was called off for this time. Emil Anderson, E. S. Barnett, Committee B. V. Winslow, on Wm. A. Groves, Arrangements. H. F. Brenton, These verses were intended to be recited by the writer at the celebration which was called off by the committee on account of U. S. Conservation of Food, etc. We've met on this auspicious night, Our faces beaming with delight; Hearts full of love and joy elate, Old Parkland Lodge to celebrate, Hail brothers all in unity Our thirtieth anniversary. When Perrin first conceived and planned, And drew to him his faithful band Of Masons true, and tried, and good, In honor bound they nobly stood. Hail brothers of the Mystic Three- Our thirtieth anniversary. The Charter members did espouse- And promptly met at Perrin's house To devise ways expostulate- A petition to formulate. Hail brothers all and cheery be, Our thirtieth anniversary. They then and there decided to Carry the proposition through; And for their own and Parkland's sake, Those Masons all were wide awake. Hail brothers all, and thankful be- Our thirtieth anniversary. The Grand Lodge 'lowed the petition, With the Master's admonition To go forth and take its station 'Mong the lodges of the nation. Hail brothers all in harmony, Our thirtieth anniversary. The Past Grand, Leathers came forthwith As proxy to Grand Master Smith; 108 IN THE NEW MASONIC HALL, 1918 With other officers astute, A lodge U. D. did institute. Hail brothers all and merry be- Our thirtieth anniversary. In an impromptu oration Declared it under dispensation; To work as a lodge, firmly pledged, And to all purposes full fledged, Hail brothers all, of each degree, Our thirtieth anniversary. In due time the Charter 's granted, And the U. D. was supplanted, -Christened number Six-thirty-eight That Parkland Lodge appreciate. Hail brothers all most joyfully Our thirtieth anniversary. The Craftsmen labored manfully To reach the goal, 'till 'ninety-three, When all at once a flash of light Burst through the shadows of the night. Hail brothers true, this jubilee! Our thirtieth anniversary. And as the faithful band increased, Larger apartments sought, and leased The famous "Old Davison House," Therein true Masonry espoused. Hail Craftsmen, tried and true, and free- Our thirtieth anniversary. Since first we sought the mystic tie, Days, weeks and months, and years rolled by; And all along wise plans were laid- As we went straggling up the grade. Hail brethren all, joyous and free, Our thirtieth anniversary. We now look back upon the scene, In this good year nineteen-eighteen, With a glad smile and proudly prate Of our birthright in eighty-eight. Hail brothers all of each degree Our thirtieth anniversary. 109 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. SERVICE FLAG PRESENTATION _ J T the regular communication of Parkland Lodge, Septem- ber 6th, 1918, a splendid service flag with sixty blue stars in the center which represent that number of members now serving their country in the war with Germany. It is three feet in width and five feet in length. Bros. Martin Luther Forcht, Emil Anderson and Fred. H. Bourne, the committee, made the selection of the flag. It was presented to the lodge by the Park- land High Twelve Club. After the lodge opened (at 7:30 p. m.) and the ceremony of displaying and saluting the "Star Spangled Banner" was over, the Presentation Committee, Past Master Bro. Emil Anderson, Bro. Fred. H. Bourne and Bro. Alfred W. Harris, immediately entered the lodge room with the service flag and stood at the altar facing the East, and after giving the sign of a Master Mason, Bro. Harris then began his presentation speech which was as follows: Worshipful Master, Officers and Members and Visiting Brethren: It is an historic fact, that the American army fighting under that grand old flag, the "Star Spangled Banner," has never yet been defeated by any nation on earth, on land or on the sea; beginning with the war of the American Revolution on down to the present time. I fought under "Old Glory," as the veterans of the war of the "Great Rebellion" were pleased to call it, and on the 19th of this month, in 1863, fifty-five years ago, at the age of twenty, I was captured in a hand-to-hand fight in the hotly contested battle of Chickamauga, in the Army of the Cumberland. Thirty-three years after the close of the war our country became involved in a War with Spain, in which the sons of the ex-Union and ex-Confederate veterans united and fought gallantly shoulder to shoulder in that conflict, and came out of it more than conquerors; and fourteen years after that, they were engaged in the fight with Mexico which is still unsettled; and today, while the United States of America are at war with Germany, the men of the South and the men of the North are responding nobly to the call to arms, and hosts of them are now over there in France fighting in line side by side with their comrades, the French and the English, in their great drive "On to Berlin." Among those of our brethren who have gone to join the 1,600,000 of our troops already over there, are sixty gallant young members of Parkland Lodge, and now, on behalf of the Parkland High Twelve Club, I have the honor to present to Parkland Lodge No. 638, F. . A. M., with sincere affection, this splendid service flag, next to the Stars and Bars, gotten up in honor and to the glory and memory of its sixty brave and patriotic brethren who have given their lives to the service of their country, and for the sake of Liberty, Truth and Justice. 1 10 IN THE NEW MASONIC HALL, 1918 Give it a place near the Master's chair, And keep it in sight with perfect care, With hopes they'll return-tho' some may fall- Still they are earth's heroes one and all. Bro. Harry D. Edwards, the Worshipful Master, responded in his usual attractive style and feelingly complimented the brother on the impressive manner in which he presented the flag, and paid a high tribute to the brethren who are now serving in the cause of freedom. He also praised the committee of the High Twelve Club for selecting and securing for the lodge such a beautiful service flag which will be an honorable mention to the brave boys who went over-seas to sacrifice their lives for the reputation of their country. TIME The following beautiful gem was written by a favorite poetess of Kentucky, Mrs. Sarah C. Harris Thornton, an aunt of Bro. A. W. Harris. What is time A priceless thing, Nor gems nor gold, Nor all the treasures earth can bring, Or seas unfold Can tell its wondrous work, or stay The moments as they fleet away. Time! 'tis a swiftly gliding stream That bears us on To the dark lonely tomb, a dream Scarce told ere gone. Mortal, a warning voice to thee, The prelude to eternity. III L i MEMBERS OF PARKLAND LODGE IN THE UNITED STATES ARMY Adair, William Grafton. Ball, Morgan. Barry, Clarence C. Bensinger, Raymond C. Blackburn, Derwood C. Bond, James Malone. Brashear, Richard Helm. Caldwell, William Smith. Chappell, Chas. E. Cinnamond, Bailey. Clausen, Antone S. Clem, Dr. John G. Collins, Marcus D. Comstock, Clarence E. Creager, James Milton. Crowell, Leon. Curry, G. C. Davis, Richard Calvert. Day, Otto Lea. Dewitt, Chas. C. Drake, Ray Vernon. Farley, William E., Jr. Ford, John Isadore. Gernert, Elmer P. Gernert, George Frank. Glickstein, Silas. Gousha, Elrod Ray. Harlamert, John Calvin. Harlow, H. S. Harris, Thomas A. Heilenman, George J. Jones, Stephen S. Kluth, Fred. B. Knapp, G. L. Korb, Louis Frederick. Lovelach, Harry. Luckhardt, John M. Mathias, Coda L. Miller, Hiram. McCorkle, Errett C. Nairin, Nathaniel F. Prinz, Clarence. Probeck, Fred. J. Riehl, Harry. Ropke, Frank A. Rose, James William. Salmon, Richard Horner. Schaus, Carl P. Schooler, Rodney B. Seaver, Oscar S. Sharp, C. J. Simon, J. J. Slack, Gussie J. Snellen, Harold G. Speiss, Erick R. Starke, Belton J. Thomas, Robert H. Tressler, John H. White, William C. Wilkes, George. Willett, W. H. Woertz, Louis G. Yancey, George R. )J S one among the many Masonic Lodges throughout the State of Kentucky, Parkland Lodge like all the others of its standing, having assisted in caring for the widows and the orphans financially and otherwise, the writer feels that this history would be incomplete without a brief sketch of the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home. On the 23rd of November, 1866, several prominent Masons of Louisville met in the room occupied by the Grand Secretary as an office in the south end of the old Masonic Temple, southwest corner of Fourth and Jefferson streets, to consider the propriety of establishing a Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home. On January 15th, 1867, the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home and Infirm- ary was incorporated, and on February 1st, 1867, the Home was organized under the charter, and the first Board of Directors was elected. On September 24th, 1868, Brother Thomas T. Shreve do- nated four acres of ground and the Board of Directors purchased five acres adjoining for the building site. The building was started, and on October 24th, 1869, the corner-stone was laid by the Grand Lodge of Kentucky, in the midst of a fierce mid-winter snow-storm. The sound of the mallet and trowel was heard and the Grand Mas- ter proclaimed the work well done, and on October 20th, 1870, the north wing of the building was dedicated. The first child admitted into the Home was Minnie Williams, a ward of Falls City Lodge No. 376, who was brought to the insti- tution by Brother John H. Leathers, May 23rd, 1871. In the summer of 1875 the work was progressing rapidly to- wards completion when, on June 2nd, about 5:30 o'clock p. m., the entire center or main building and the towers were destroyed by a severe storm. Fortunately no one was hurt. There are two widows in the Home today, Mrs. Mary Fossett and Mrs. Martha L. Jones, who were residents in the Home at that time, and one of them, Mrs. Jones, saw the building fall, but this circumstance seemed only to push the Masons of the city and State to renewed energy, and soon every brick and stone was replaced. In less time than twelve months the Home was rebuilt, and thus was completed the first Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home on the American continent, a place to dry the widows' tears and to hush the orphans' wail. On October 23rd, 1878, the Home was dedicated, and it has been said that the occasion was one of the most imposing that ever occurred in the history of Masonry in Kentucky. a-OUR MASONIC WIDOWS' I AND ORPHANS' HOME PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. The first individual to make a financial donation to the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home was Brother C. Henry Finck, of Willis Stewart Lodge No. 224, giving first 1,000 and later 5,000; and Brother Alfred W. R. Harris of Louisville Lodge No. 400 (the father of the compiler of this work), made a cash donation of 1,312.46 towards the completion of the building, and in his will he gave to the Home an interest in some real estate, and to the In- dependent Order of Odd Fellows an equal share. He was a prom- inent member of both, and also of the Knights Templar. He was the 98th on the roster of De Molay Commandery No. 12, Louisville, Ky., Red Cross Knight. He became a member March 8th, 1870; Red Cross Knight, October 29th, 1872; Knight, December 3rd, 1872. Died in Chicago, Ill., August 13th, 1880. He was City Tax Assessor of Louisville for seventeen years consecutively, and was one of its oldest inhabitants. The first subscription to the Home by a Masonic Lodge was by Preston Lodge No. 281, May 15th, 1867, purchasing three life memberships for 300. The Ladies' Aid Society of Louis- ville worked nobly to assist in the great work without compensa- tion, raising over 12,000, which they presented to the Board of Directors. The first President of the Home was Brother James D. Guthrie of Louisville, and Brother Fred. J. Drexler is now the President. Brother John L. Wheat, a member of the present Board of Directors, has served continuously since his election thereto at the organization meeting February 1st, 1867. Since the first child was admitted into the Home, 2,626 widows and orphan children have been taken in and cared for, including those in the Home at the present time, 29 widows, 158 girls and 158 boys. This is only a rough estimate. -The Masonic Lodges of the city hold their divine services at the Home on certain Sundays of each year where everybody is wel- comed. Parkland Lodge conducts its divine services there on every Easter Sunday regularly as the years roll by, and at all the meet- ings the Chapel is filled to overflowing. Brother William A. Groves was one of the most energetic members of the Board of Directors of the Masonic Widows' and Orphans' Home, and enjoys the enviable honors of having been President of the St. John's Day League for ten years, and has been an active member of the League for seventeen years. Brother Groves was made a Blue Lodge Mason January 8, 1901; is a member of Parkland Lodge No. 638, and Past Master of his Lodge. When the St. John's Day Hospital organization was in active service he was elected its Secretary. He is a member of Hiram Chapter, No. 129. He has the reputation of being a hustler in whatever he undertakes. Brother Groves is connected with the Cumberland Telephone and Telegraph Company, and is one of the best all-around good fellows and progressive men in Louisville. 114 THE PROSPECTS FOR AN ARMY LODGE X -T is a pleasure to note that, at a meeting of the Masons at Camp Zachary Taylor, held in the Scottish Rite Cathedral in Louisville, on December 1st, representatives of Louis- ville lodges present pledged the soldier brethren that, if they wanted an army lodge at the camp, the Kentucky Masons would guarantee them a hall for meeting purposes. The soldiers voted unanimously in favor of establishing such an army lodge. It is understood that the Grand Master is willing to grant his dispen- sation for such a lodge whenever the brethren shall be ready. Bro. Fred. W. Hardwick of Louisville Lodge No. 400, is chair- man of the committee in charge of the work. Bro. Hardwick was himself an officer of Army Lodge No. 1, the only army lodge organ- ized by Kentucky in the Spanish-American War. He informed the Craft that ground could be secured for a hall for Masonic lodge pur- poses on the edge of the camp, and that a building thereon would cost from 3,800 to 4,000. A number of Louisville lodges have subscribed towards a building fund, among them Parkland Lodge has donated 100. There is a possibility of three lodges-one of Illinois, one of Indiana, and one of Kentucky Masons-being organized at the camp before the division sails for France. All these lodges would meet at different times in the Scottish Rite Cathedral. When the pres- ent troops leave for the battle line the next draft will occupy the cantonment at Camp Zachary Taylor and the building will be ready for new army lodges with the next draft. The Craft in Kentucky cannot let our brethren go to France without facilities for Masonic intercourse if it is in our power to assist them. This we can do by erecting a hall, one that will be an honor to the city and State as well as to Camp Taylor, in which to conduct their meetings and wear with pride the MASONIC APRON Spotless and white as the beautiful snow, That falls from the clouds to the earth below; Pure as the soul of a seraph, and plain As her spirit robe, devoid of a stain; "More honorable than the Garter and Star," Or the jewel crown of a King or Czar, Or the gems of a Queen in regal state, Or the signet ring of a potentate; "More honorable than the Golden Fleece," This badge of innocence, love, joy and peace. J AN HISTORIC OLD LODGE X T is with pleasure and profound interest that one takes on looking over old historical records to find that some an- cestor had performed in his lifetime some noble deed or worthy act that may be treasured up in the minds of his descendants with that family pride inherited from a long line of ancestry. In getting up this history of Parkland Lodge, the compiler has in mind his maternal grandfather, General Washington Johnston, an early settler of Vincennes, Indiana, born in Virginia, and a Mason of high degree, who always took a prominent part in Masonic affairs, and was an active member of Vincennes Lodge. This old lodge is a daughter of the Grand Lodge of Kentucky and one of the founders of the Grand Lodge of Indiana. In November, 1806, the Grand Lodge of Kentucky was peti- tioned through Abraham Lodge No. 8, of Louisville, Kentucky, for a dispensation to form a regular lodge in Vincennes, Indiana Terri- tory. On August 27, 1807, the Grand Lodge of Kentucky granted a dispensation to install officers and set the Craft to work. The dispensation of 1807 was allowed to lapse, but was renewed at a session of the Grand Lodge of Kentucky, September 1, 1808. On March 13,1809, Jonathan Taylor, P. M. of Abraham Lodge No. 8, installed the officers of Vincennes Lodge, with Bro. William Jones as Worshipful Master. On March 17, 1809, Parmenas Beckes (after whom a son of General W. Johnston, Parmenas Beckes Johnston was named) was initiated, passed and raised, the first Mason made in Indiana. He was killed July 15, 1813, and was the first to be buried with Masonic ceremonies. The Lodge was chartered by the Grand Lodge of Kentucky on August 31, 1809, as Vincennes Lodge No. 15, with George Wallace as Worshipful Master. The first steps toward organizing the Grand Lodge of Indiana originated in this lodge on the 17th day of July, 1817, when a com- mittee with General W. Johnston as its head was appointed to con- fer with other lodges. At Madison, Indiana, on January 12th, 1818, the Grand Lodge of the State of Indiana was organized, Captain Benjamin V. Beckes representing this lodge. On January 13th, Captain Beckes surrendered the charter of Vincennes Lodge No. 15, and one for Vincennes Lodge No. 1, un- der the Grand Lodge of Indiana was received. General W. Johnston was appointed proxy of the Grand Mas- ter by the Grand Lodge to institute the new Vincennes Lodge, AN HISTORIC OLD LODGE which duty he performed, installing Elihu Stout as the first Wor- shipful Master. On March 13th, 1909, the lodge gave its public Centennial Cele- bration in appropriate form, with William M. Willmore as Wor- shipful Master. There were present on this occasion many distin- guished visitors, including Most Worshipful Charles N. Mikels, Grand Master of Indiana, and Most Worshipful Virgil P. Smith, Grand Master of Kentucky. The compiler of this work has in his possession the Masonic charm, a unique silver shield with all the emblems of Masonry engraved on both sides, which was worn by his maternal grand- father, General W. Johnston, who presented it to his son-in-law, Alfred W. R. Harris, who was also a prominent member of the fraternity, Louisville Lodge No. 400, and he to his son when he became a Mason. He is doubly proud of the historic old jewel which is kept sacred to the memory of his ancestors and to be handed down to the next nearest relative who may follow in line of Masonic duties. PARKLAND LODGE BUILDING COMMITTEE We are obliged to refer again to the New Building Committee appointed by Bro. William A. Groves, Master of Parkland Lodge, on May 1, 1908, and served from start to finish, and of which the name of one of its members was omitted (probably by copying), that of Bro. Charles B. Chappell who first suggested building a Masonic Hall for the Lodge. He realized that something had to be done in order to move away from the old hall which was incon- venient, uncomfortable and besides expensive. So in a quiet way he made known his project to Bro. Wm. T. Whitman, Sr., an architect and builder, who drew a plan which did not suit their ideas. So he made another, and with it drew up specifications and figured that it would cost not less than 8,000 or more than 10,000 to put up a building of the kind proposed. Bro. Chappell was about to aban- don the idea altogether, but soon changed his mind and brought the matter before the lodge. He put his suggestion in the form of a motion which met with a second, was debated on and finally carried. The contract was then let to Bro. Whitman, who was notified to proceed soon as convenient to begin work. The members of the New Building Committee were: Bros. R. H. Carothers, Chairman; Charles B. Chappell, Emil Anderson, John Hawks, Frank M. Harris, George H. Groves, Richard R. Dean, H. T. Brooks, and L. W. Campbell, Secretary. Bro. Chappell is entitled to a great deal of credit for his fore- sight and perseverance. Bro. Carothers for his efficiency and at- tentiveness, and Bro. Anderson and the others of the committee for their untiring efforts and valuable assistance in the work, and Bro. Whitman for his ability in constructing such a beautiful and imposing edifice. 117 Al R ROBERT BURNS I I I POET AND MASON AJtS an admirer of the immortal poet and Mason of high de- gree, the writer, whose maternal ancestors were Scotch people in Annandale, Dumfrieshire, in the south of Scot- land, has copied some extracts from "In Bonnie Scotland," by John Corson Smith, Past Grand Commander Knights Templar and Knights of Malta, Illinois, himself of Scotch ancestry, as he states in The American Tyler, which will be interesting to every Craftsman to learn something of Scotland's greatest bard and an honored member of its lodges. The Freemasonry which Burns was so devoted to is one of the foremost agencies in hastening the time "That man to man the world o'er, Shall brothers be for a' that." The good our brother did while living far outweighed any frail- ties he may have had, while his works have been worth countless lives more to humanity than all his alleged frailties. The village of Tarbolton was made memorable by reason of Burns' membership in its Masonic Lodge. The minute book of St. David's Tarbolton Lodge No. 174, in which the poet was brought to light in Freemasonry, shows the following record: St. David's Lodge, No. 174, Tarbolton-"Sederunt for July 4 (1781), Robert Burns in Lockly, was entered an apprentice." (Signed) R. Norman. "Sederunt, October 1, 1781, Robert Burns in Lockly was passed and raised, Henry Cowan being Master, James Humphrey being Senior Warden, and Alex. Smith, Junior; Robert Wadrow, Secre- tary, and Jo. Manson, Treasurer, and John Tannock, Tyler, and others of the brethren present." In the minutes of the record book of St. Abb's Lodge at Lye- mouth, is the following: "At a general encampment of St. Abb's Lodge, the following brethren were made Royal Arch Masons: Robert Burns from the Lodge of St. James, Tarbolton, Ayrshire; and Robert Ainslie, from the Lodge of St. Luke, Edinburgh. Robert Ainslie paid one guinea admission dues, but, on account of Robert Burns' remarkable poetic- al genius, the encampment agreed to admit him gratis, and con- sidered themselves honored by having a man of such shining abil- ities for one of their companions." Thus it will be seen that Burns was exalted to the Holy Royal ROBERT BURNS, POET AND MASON Arch together with his warm friend and admirer, Robert Ainslie, of Berrywell, while on their border tour to Jedburgh, Melrose, Dry- burgh Abbey, and Carlisle, England. Although the poet was called Burns, and his name was so writ- ten by others, yet it was properly "Burness," and the poet so wrote it, as the minute book of St. James' Lodge shows, and in which twenty-five or more of his signatures are to be found. John Wilson, the Dr. Hornbook of the poem, was its secretary at the time, and here is shown the manner in which the poet signed his name, and it fixed the date, as no other record does, of the time the poet dropped the "ess" and wrote his name "Burns." "Mauchline 1st Decm'r, 1785. "Sed'r. St. James' Lodge, Dept Master Senr. Junr. Wardens Masters present. The Lodge proceeded to Pass Brothers Morrison and Tannock and also raised them to the dignity of Masters- "Boure also granted his promisary note and caution for Twelve shillings and six pence sterling as his entry money, and Brother Alex Dove paid his entry money being Twelve shillings and six pence sterling unto the Treasurer. Robt. Burness, D.M." "Tarbolton 29th July 1786. "This evening the Lodge met ballanced the Books Robt. Bums, D.M." When Bums was made a Mason, an Entered Apprentice (also a Fellow Craft and Master Mason), July 4, 1781, St. David's Lodge was then composed of two consolidated lodges, St. David's No. 174 and St. James' No. 178. The following year, 1782, the lodges again separated and each took its own charter, the first as St. David's Lodge No. 133, which is now held in the adjoining village of Mauchline, and the second as St. James' No. 125, which is still holden at Tarbolton. Each of these charters conveys the privilege of meeting at three different places, Mauchline, Tarbolton, and Katrine. Bro. Burns being one of the brethren active in bringing about this separation, was elected to retain membership in St. James' Lodge No. 125. St. David's Lodge No. 174, in which Burns was made a Mason, was on the upper floor or garret, the dormer windows from which look out from the back of the house which is now a dwelling. Farther up the street and on the other side is the building now occupied by St. James' Lodge No. 178, in which he was Depute Master. It is but one story in height, the lodge room of which is used in the day time for a village school. In an adjoining room are kept the lodge records, regalia, furniture, and jewels, and when but few of the members are present the meetings can be held in the small room. For years R. W. Bro. Burns was a constant attendant on this lodge, its Depute Master, and member until his death. It was for this lodge that his best Masonic song was written just prior to 119 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. his intended leaving for Jamaica, West Indies, and it was for the brethren of this lodge he expressed the glad hope that "Within your dear mansion may wayward contention Or withering envy ne'er enter; May secrecy sound be the mystical bound, And brotherly love be the center." All through the bard's writings we find strong evidence for his love for his "Brethren of the mystic tie," and the enjoyment he found with them in the lodge room. In his ballad "The Cure For All Care," was read the following: "Then fill up a bumper and make it o'erflow, The honours Masonic prepare for to throw; Make every true brother of the compass and square Have a big-bellied bottle when harrass'd with care." The Masonic poems and songs of Bro. Burns are not numerous, and when we consider how many are dedicated to or written about the brethren he had met with in lodge and formed a love for, it could not be expected that he should duplicate the same. More than a score of the brethren's names are to be found in his writings, and it was of Bro. John Wilson, Secretary of St. James' Lodge, he wrote his "Death and Dr. Hornbook." The brother, though a good fellow, had annoyed "Rob" by a long-winded speech in the lodge, and Burns got even with him in that poem. In his amusing "Address to the Deil" appears: "When Mason's mystic word and grip In starms and tempests raise you up Some cock or cat your rage maun stop, Or, strange to tell! The youngest brother ye wad whip Aff straught to hell !" And closes with: "An' now, Auld Cloots, I ken ye're thinkin' A certain bardie's rantin', drinkin', Some luckless hour will send him linkin' To your black pit; But, faith! he'll turn a corner jinkin', An' cheat you yet." The 24th day of June is very generally observed by the lodges in Scotland, and Burns, being anxious to have a large attendance of members of St. James' Lodge when meeting in Mauchline, June 24th, 1786, sent the following humorous notice to Bro. John Mac- Kenzie, an eminent surgeon: 120 ROBERT BURNS, POET AND MASON "Friday first 's the day appointed By our right worshipful anointed To hold our grand procession; To get a blad of Johnnie's morals And taste a swatch of Manson's barrels, I' the way of our profession. The master and the brotherhood Would a' be glad to see you; For me, I would be mair than proud To share the mercies wi' you. If death, then, wi' skaith then Some mortal heart is hechtin', Inform him, and storm him, That Saturday you'll fetch him." In Cannongate Kilwinning Lodge No. 2, there hangs on the wall an historical painting of the inauguration of Robert Burns as the poet laureate of that lodge in 1787. The facts are well known that Burns was a regular visitor in this lodge the winter of 1786-7; and became an affiliate honorary member, February, 1787. The Grand Master Mason of Scotland called him the "Caledonia Bard," and the lodge members their "Poet Laureate." July 21, 1796, the poet died, and on June 8, 1815, the lodge voted twenty guineas and took up a subscription among the members to aid in the erection of a mausoleum to the memory of Robert Burns, "who had been the poet laureate of the lodge." This much is in the minute book of the lodge, but, because no rec- ord has been found of the appointment, and the Grand Lodge had not authorized the appointment of such an officer, it is claimed by the few that Burns could not have been the poet laureate of the lodge. Suppose a lodge should want some brother to write its his- tory, would it be necessary to ask the Grand Lodge to create such office, or would not the Master appoint, or the lodge do so by resolution If so with an historian, then why not so with a poet But there is still further evidence of this fact. Burns had been dead but twenty years when a sum of money was voted for his monu- ment, and a subscription circulated among its one hundred and more members. Had the statement not been true we submit that half the members would have known it and denied it at the time. That the statement was true cannot be doubted, did we take the following alone for evidence: The Secretary of the Subscription Committee, Past Master George Simpson, wrote Bro. George Burnet, the W. M. of Canon- gate Kilwinning Lodge, January 2, 1817: "I beg leave to report to you that having been furnished by your secretary with the sum of twenty guineas, voted by the lodge, as a contribution towards the erection of a mausoleum to the memory of our late poet laureate Burns, I, in obedience to the instructions of the committee, re- mitted that sum to the Rev. Dr. Duncan, Dumfries." PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. Lodge meetings in other lands are far greater seasons of rest and refreshment than in our own, for mingled with lodge work is a season of social enjoyment within tiled doors which every brother may enjoy. The first and last verses of the poet's farewell to the brethren of St. James' Lodge, Tarbolton, is here given: "Adieu! a heart-warm, fond adieu! Dear brothers of the mystic tie! Ye favor'd, ye enlighten'd few, Companions of my social joy! "And you, farewell! whose merits claim, Justlyl that highest badge to wear! Heav'n bless your honor'd noble name, To Masonry and Scotia dear! A last request permit me here, When yearly ye assemble a', One round-I ask it with a tear,- To him, the bard that's far awa'." Robert Burns was born on the 29th day of January, 1759, in a small house about two miles from the town of Ayr in Scotland. He died July 21st, 1796. The family name which the poet modernized into Burns, was originally Burnes or Burness. His father's name was William and his mother's name was Agnes (Brown) Burns; they had four sons, Robert, William, James, and Wallace. This poem composed by the writer of this book, was read by Rev. J. H. Morrison before the "St. Andrew's Society of Scotch- men," at the celebration of the one hundred and thirtieth anniver- sary of the birth of Robert Burns, poet and Mason, in Falls City Hall, January 29th, 1889, and by the writer himself before the "Southern Literary Society," in the Commerce Building, May 19th, 1891. TO "BOBBY" BURNS IN HEAVEN Immortal bard who sang to cheer The humble people living near The banks of Ayr. In ev'ry cottage thou art read, In palace too most honored dead, They know thee there. The "banks and braes of bonnie Doon" Thy many beauteous poems croon Of love and mirth; From Annan's stream and Solway's tide, And fair old Scotland's borders wide, Sweet strains go forth. 122 ROBERT BURNS, POET AND MASON From bright green fields and flowery vales, From Ellisland and Annandale's- Thy songs arise In sweetest melody and love, To greet thee in thy home above, Beyond the skies. Thou spirit-bard of world-wide fame, In every heart lived thy dear name For ages past; Mortals of earth will worship thee And sing thy songs so pure and free While time shall last. And up around the heav'nly throne, The angels mingling voice and tone, Their cymbals ring; While bards of earth, as thy reward, However skilled-with one accord Thy praises sing. Grand monuments are reared to thee, To perpetuate thy memory By loyal hands; In song and story, thou'rt revered; In ev'ry heart thou art endeared, And in all lands. Long years ago thy dirge was sung- But still thou sing'st as sweet and strong, Dear sainted one; The lovely, sparkling poems of thine Will live as long as stars shall shine, Or moon, or sun. 123 OBITUARY The first death to occur among the members of the lodge happened two years and six months after it was instituted, and from that time to the present, forty-seven brethren have passed with full Xasonic honors to the Grand Lodge above, where the Grand Master of the Universe presides. T. W. Blackhart,. January 19, 1891. W. H. Perrin,. September 14, 1891. James D. Hill, February 6, 1895. Sam. C. Huston, November 12, 1896. Wm. E. Keller, December 4, 1898. James M. Todd, February 7, 1900. Orin E. Fisher, July 17, 1900. George W. McFarland, May 25, 1900. Fred. Wenzel, July 27, 1901. S. L. Brashear, March 9, 1902. H. H. Branch, June 28, 1902. Charles Gebhard,. November 12, 1902. J. W. Arms, February 2, 1903. Sidney Foss Bell, May 18, 1905. David Culley Evans, January 27, 1907. Robert A. Zoemish, August 16, 1907. Dr. John W. Drake, August 31, 1907. W. H. Bagby, November 16, 1907. Herman H. Erdman,. May 1, 1908. James H. Bacon, February 12, 1909. Francis M. Lansford, March 9, 1911. C. B. Doll, March 29, 1911. C. G. Wood,. May 30, 1911. Ed. Pulliam,. June 3, 1912. Charles H. Peake, July 10, 1912. James L. Lee, August 14, 1912. Rudolph A. Spitzer, September 15, 1912. Rev. Eben G. Vick, December 15, 1912. Robert Meeks, June 30, 1913. Horatio S. Fullenlove,. July 1, 1913. George Luther Scoville, August 23, 1913. P. E. Mitzlaff, January 8, 1914. C. E. Farnsworth, February 10, 1914. James Leigh, April 5, 1915. J. M. Solomon, September 23, 1915. Walter P. Jobson, Sr., October 29, 1915. Ansel L. Thomas,. March 26, 1917. James S. Marshall,. April 6, 1917, William C. Hoffmeister, May 10, 1917. Edward G. Stetzel,. October 12, 1917. Otto Ambrosius, October 12, 1917. Maximilian Cerf, October 29, 1917. Ben. R. Houghlin, February 28, 1918. John Thomas Funk,. March 20, 1918. Martin Keller, May 22, 1918. Nathaniel J. Borden, May 25, 1918. Allen H. O'Brien,. June 6, 1918. I - PARKLAND HIGH TWELVE CLUB 1911-1918 PARKLAND HIGH TWELVE CLUB PRESENT OFFICERS Dr. John G. Clem, President. Alan M. Barker, Vice President. Edwin S. Barnett, Secretary. Fred. B. Stewart, Treasurer. X N the Hall of Parkland Lodge, the Parkland High Twelve Club was organized by a certain number of the most pro- gressive members of the lodge in the year 1911, for the pur- pose of promoting the social and financial interest of the lodge. Past Master Bro. William A. Groves was chosen as its first President; Past Master Bro. Emil Anderson, Vice President; Bro. William 0. Hays, Secretary; Bro. Howard L. Light, Treasurer. Soon after the club was organized it began a career that has been notable for its splendid work and assistance to the lodge. Numerous functions have been conducted that have provided many enjoyable treats, not only for the lodge membership but also for the wives and children of Parkland Lodge Masons. A series of oyster suppers and entertainments are given every winter that have aided all along in many ways to build up the lodge life. The first sunset excursion was given June, 1912, and proved so successful that it has become an annual event, and the club has prospered wonderfully ever since. Past Master Bro. Emil Anderson was elected President, Octo- ber, 1912, and the following Christmas holidays produced a delight- ful entertainment that will long be remembered by the children. Having mentioned the first successful trip up and down the placid Ohio, on a beautiful and commodious boat in 1912, on June 13, 1914, the club gave another excursion to Fern Grove on the two best pleasure boats on the river, the Carmania and the Corona, and everybody on board enjoyed themselves to their hearts content. The third annual tacky and character party given by the club was held in Dixon Hall, corner of 28th and Dumesnil streets, from 8 to 12 o'clock p. m., March 11, 1915. It was gotten up by the High Twelve Club and Bright Star Social Club, 0. E. S. Music, singing, and dancing was the order of the evening, and other entertaining features. The Stars shone bright all over the hall until high twelve when they finally went out. The cast of characters in the tacky party were as follows, and created much genuine merri- ment: Kernel Obadiah Shucks, a wealthy farmer from Frogtown, J. D. Pettingill Parson Dominee Jaggs, a superannuated minister ........ G. E. Parrott a H TPARKLAND C HIGH TWELVE CLUB PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. Coren Shucks, only son and heir of Kernel 0. Shucks, Walter Trinkle Miss Daisy Diggs, niece of Dom. Jaggs (engaged) ........ L. R. Hurst The following rhythmical effusion describes the situation as it really was: The High Twelve Club gave a party, And the Bright Star Social-too; All were tacky, gay and hearty, Decked in red, and white and blue. It was most delightful surely, Old and young, content and spry; An up-to-date party, purely; In Dixon Hall, high and dry. Folks came in by twos and dozens, Smiling faces, full of cheer, Fathers, mothers, aunts and cousins, Sweethearts, too, with jularks dear. There was lots of music, dancing, On the light fantastic toe; Skipping to and fro, and prancing, Like a moving picture show. And the music that was tendered By two High Twelve members, and It was truly grandly rendered, For they played to beat the band. All the characters displayed there Were most comical and tony; The marriage of the verdant pair An attractive ceremony. Parson Jaggs from Happy Hollow, Spick and span, spruce and supple, Bade the modest pair to follow, Bride and groom, blushing couple. Grand old 'Kernel' Shucks the wealthy, Jolly farmer from Frogtown, Strutting 'round and grinning, stealthy, In the dance hall up and down. The pleasure of that occasion Was indeed superb and fine; Equal to any ovation That ever came down the line. 128 PARKLAND HIGH TWELVE CLUB 'Twas a gala night most certain, When fairies and brownies delve In the moonlight; and the curtain Dropt at witching hour of twelve. Once a year they give a party, In this town, a charming sub-, For good folks, lean, fat, and hearty, -Bright Star Social-High Twelve Club. When again they give another, Just about his time next year, Fetch your sweetheart, sister, brother, Hubby, wifey,-children dear. The High Twelve Club gave another one of its enjoyable excursions up the river on Wednesday evening, May 12th, 1915. The charming steamer Princess, one of the most accommodating boats that floats the Ohio, shoved out from the city at 8 o'clock p. m., with 800 pleasure seekers aboard. Another moonlight excursion was given on Thursday evening, May 18th, 1916. The elegant Island Queen rang her signal bell indicating the departure for Twelve Mile Island; this time there were upwards of 900 gay and happy souls on board this capacious and reliable steamer, which was privileged by the U. S. Government Inspector to carry 1,000 persons. In a year or two after it was organized the club presented Parkland Lodge with handsome robes for its officers and outfit for twelve Craftsmen. It now numbers more than one hundred mem- bers. The officers and members of the club hope that the members of Parkland Lodge who have not affiliated with the club, will not think that their presence and support are not needed, for every bro- ther is requested to do his duty by the lodge and connect himself with the organization whose only aim is to accomplish those things which will add to the social and financial welfare of the lodge and will result in great good for the Craft in general. On Christmas in each year, Parkland Lodge and the High Twelve Club jointly give an entertainment for the benefit of the children of Parkland Masons and to those outside of the Masonic fold, and they enjoy the feast of good things prepared especially for them. The lodge and the club work hand in hand together and deal out to the needy poor of Parkland from their banquet hall on the lower floor, many needful articles such as shoes and other wear- ing apparel. To make them feel happy, contented, and free, As the birds that sing in the spring merrily; Nuts, candies and cakes, and some pretty nice toys, For good little children, the girls and the boys. This spirit of charity Masonry takes In its kindness of heart and never forsakes. 129 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. On December 30th, 1916, the club sent out baskets to thirty- two needy families, and in the evening entertained the families of Masons and of those who were not and the children of the com- munity. Refreshments were served, and each child received a pretty toy and a nice assortment of candies and cakes put up in fancy boxes. Music was furnished by the band of the Newsboys' Home, under the supervision of Bro. Harvey M. Buckley, member of Parkland Lodge. Every one present enjoyed the entertainment immensely, and the High Twelve Club has been commended for the Masonic spirit which prompted such good work which is con- tinued once every year. Its sociability, standing, and purposes are known every- where among the fraternity. What is said of the club means the lodge also, for its charter members came from it. It is composed of members of Parkland Lodge and other Masonic lodges in the city of Louisville. It has had a good year, and is starting in 1918 with the brightest prospects. The chief event of the club is the annual moonlight excursion which is the biggest occasion of its kind in the Masonic calendar of Parkland Lodge. The two organizations mentioned herein (the Parkland High Twelve Club and the Bright Star Chapter No. 16, 0. E. S.) have been a source of great benefit financially and otherwise to Parkland Lodge ever since they were born in Parkland Masonic Hall, the writer, on behalf of the lodge desired to show its appreciation in a way that would in this particular respect, perpetuate their names as living memorials to their charitable and praiseworthy institutions, and therefore have honored them in a word picture, one on the right hand, and the other on the left, as it were, joined hand in hand with their most worthy sponsor Parkland Lodge No. 638, F. A. M. The banquet hall on the first floor of the new building was let to the club free of charge by Parkland Lodge. A kitchen was ar- ranged in the rear of the hall and furnished with the necessary cooking utensils and the sideboard was replete with ordinary table- ware, and a medium quality of table linen was stowed away in one part of the cupboard, and an oil stove on hand ready for use; be- sides this there is a good size heating stove in the hall, tables and chairs are arranged in order throughout the hall. The club has profited financially by renting it to other organizations for suppers and entertainments which is its privilege to do, as some of the pro- ceeds are donated to the lodge for various purposes. The rank and file of Parkland Lodge have been faithful to the call for work from the club, and-the membership has steadily in- creased, and it has all along been self-sustaining. The club is sup- posed to be the largest of any of the Masonic clubs in Louisville, and is progressing finely. It is, has done and is still doing a great deal of good. The first donation by local clubs for the erection and furnishing of a Masonic building at Camp Zachary Taylor was 130 PARKLAND HIGH TWELVE CLUB made by the Parkland High Twelve Club, Tuesday night, Novem- ber 13th, 1917, when 100 was voted for that purpose by the mem- bers at the regular business meeting. The sixth annual stag social was given by the Parkland High Twelve Club in the Masonic Hall, 28th street and Grand avenue, on Tuesday night, April 2nd, 1918. Each member was requested to bring one or two intimate friends along with him, who were not members of the fraternity, and by that clever move the hall was filled to its utmost capacity, and this occasion, like previous ones, was greatly enjoyed by all present. Quite a number of visitors were on hand, and among those prominent in Masonic circles were Bro. Dave Jackson, Grand Secretary of the Grand Lodge of Kentucky; Bro. Charley Gipe, Grand Tyler of the Grand Lodge of Kentucky, and Past Master Bro. Charley Wilson, the instructive and enter- taining speaker, and Superintendent of Fontaine Ferry Park. They are, as every one knows, a trio of first-class entertainers and im- pressive exhorters devoted to the true cause of Masonry. The officers of the Club are to be congratulated on their success in mak- ing it a most enjoyable occasion. Dr. John G. Clem, President; Alan M. Barker, Vice President; Edwin S. Barnett, Secretary; Fred B. Stewart, Treasurer, and the Committee on Arrangements, Emil Anderson, Arthur Hover, Walter Trinkle, John A. Irvin, Alexander Carson. The members who had charge of the culinary department in rear of the banquet hall will always be in the minds of the many visitors who partook of their menu: John E. Sikking, Jonathan Davis and Mart. L. Forcht, and their assistants also have their reps. made. The sixth annual excursion was given by the Parkland High Twelve Club on Thursday night, May 16th, 1918. It was a night just suitable for the occasion, and the crowd was the largest and most enjoyable the Club has ever experienced, and the beautiful steamer Island Queen from Cincinnati is the finest and most com- modious boat for excursions that floats the placid Ohio. Capable of, and licensed to carry 3,000 passengers with perfect safety. It shoved out from the Fourth street wharf at 9:15 o'clock with exactly 2,232 excursionists aboard, the greatest number Parkland High Twelve Club has had on any previous occasion, moonlight or day- light up-river trips. The gay gathering of young and middle-age folks was made up of the wives, mothers, daughters, sons and friends of Masons, and there were sweethearts, too, many of them, and the beaux, every one of them, primped, spick and span, some in plain clothes and not a few in soldier uniforms, and gallants all were they. There was a sprinkle of hale and hearty old folks among them and everybody appeared to enjoy themselves immensely. It is always so, for whenever the Club gives anything of the kind it is up-to-date and on the square. No intoxicants of any description were allowed on board the elegant steamer, and perfect order pre- 131 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. vailed throughout the trip. The various committees did their duty manfully on this as well as on other excursions the Club has gotten up. LEST WE FORGET We tread the city's crowded thoroughfares With cheerful hearts, seeming content, Though tempting snares beset our ev'ry way; We heed them not-with good intent And noble purposes withal; but yet, Be careful what we do or say, Lest we forget. In Mason's Lodge we made a solemn vow On the wide open Sacred Book, To guide aright our hearts in woe or weal; The binding pledges that we took- So let our minds be firmly, truly set Like adamant. For e'er conceal- Lest we forget. Let not prejudice, envy or deceit Our righteous thoughts to sway, or drain Of all that's pure and holy in our souls; The base intruders-clandestine Who seek in conniving ways to upset Our obligations, which controls- Lest we forget. There is a heartfelt and sincere desire- That all true brothers' love imparts- Sweet charity and friendship permeates All sympathetic Masons' hearts; Let no evil thought or direful regret Distract our minds without our gates, Lest we forget. Guard well our ev'ry act throughout this life And ev'ry honest deed and thought, With a Christian hope for a life beyond- And keep in mind the lessons taught In Mason's lodge where we have often met; Look straight ahead and ne'er despond, Lest we forget. 132 BRIGHT STAR CHAPTER No. 16, 0. E. S. 1902-1918 BRIGHT STAR CHAPTER No. 16, 0. E. S. PRESENT OFFICERS Anna M. Evans, Worthy Matron. L. Verne O'Brien, Associate Matron. Edwin S. Barnett, Worthy Patron. Loveday R. Hadden, Secretary. M. Ellen Groves, Treasurer. Minnie Yates, Conductress. Jeannette Reynolds, Associate Conductress. Thaddeus McHugh, Sentinel. Jessie Lowther, Chaplain. Ella Morrison, Marshal. Ellen Moffet, Warder. Lillie E. Lutz, Organist. POINTS OF THE STAR Mamie Erhart, Adah. Louise Hadden, Ruth. Sarah V. Stephens, Esther. Mamie Cozine, Martha. Gladys Hover, Electa. X N the old Parkland Masonic Hall, northwest corner of 28th and Dumesnil streets, Bright Star Chapter No. 16, 0. E. S., was organized on June 7, 1902, under the Jurisdiction of the General Grand Chapter with 28 charter members, nine of whom are still active members of the Chapter: Bros. R. H. Carothers, Len M. Dow and Louis Wolff, and Sisters Flora Leis- inger and Carrie Waller, Bro. and Sister Harry Boegerhausen, and Bro. and Sister William A. Kuinz. It received for its number 33, but when the Grand Chapter of Kentucky was formed, it was re- numbered 16. Some of the Chapters having become defunct before the Grand Chapter was organized, all the Chapters then in good standing were renumbered in June, 1903. When Bright Star Chapter entered the organization of the Grand Chapter of Kentucky, having voted in the affirmative for it, and stood the sixteenth in line, hence her present "No. 16." Sister Lilly Boegerhausen was the first Worthy Matron of the Chapter, and Bro. Robert H. Carothers the first Worthy Patron, and was also honored with the high office as the First Worthy Grand Patron of the Order in Kentucky, and re-elected at the meeting of the next regular session, an honor worthily bestowed on one of the most in- fluential members of Bright Star Chapter, which has been in the ascendancy from the start. Masonry alone has stood unique among the institutions of men, the patron and parent of all organizations fraternal. The Order of +he Eastern Star holds a similar relation to similar Orders. Some may seek to change it, to suit the whims of time and place, but this Order, built on all that is elemental in good character, emphasized those virtues which lie at the good of all well-thinking, and from which spring all rectitude of conduct. It has been said that the foundation of the Eastern Star is the Holy Bible. Its theological virtues are Faith, Hope and Charity; its tenets are Brotherly Love, Relief and Truth. Its cardinal virtues are Temperance, Fortitude, Prudence and Justice. Its heraldic virtues are the zeal of Adah, the patient industry of Ruth, the cour- age of Esther, the prayerful faith of Martha, and loving kindness of Electa. Its commendable virtues are the adoration of the highest duty in life, consistency and devotion to God. As it now stands, it seems to have been built upon a rock, and it will take more than opposition to overthrow it, for its member- ship is rapidly reaching the million mark. BRIGHT STAR CHAPTER No. 16, 0. E. S. PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. The grip was invented by accident. A meeting was being held in Concord, New Hampshire, when Bro. W. S. Wolfe, of New York City, was conferring the degree at a lecture in 1862. A lady whose husband was a Mason, "rose up in meetin'" and said aloud, "Bro. Wolfe, you have forgotten the grip." It was a dilemna, but Bro. Wolfe was equal to the occasion and gave the grip now so generally used, a Council of the Eastern Star lecturers having adopted it in 1863. In all fields of progress of the Order, Bright Star Chapter has been most active. It was the first Chapter to organize a social club, and introduced to Kentucky the Floral Degree, and the Drill Team, and was the first subordinate Chapter to use the Memorial Service and the National Flag. In the organization of the Rob. Morris Day League, and the Past Matrons and Past Patrons Association, its representatives took an active part. In the latter the Chapter was again complimented by having Sister Emma Kuinz chosen as the first president. The Chapter was particularly honored by having such promi- nent Masons as members as Henry B. Grant, the Grand Secretary of the Grand Lodge of Kentucky (now deceased); Robert H. Carothers, three times Past Master of Parkland Lodge of Masons, and the first Grand Worthy Patron of Kentucky, 0. E. S.; Samuel Veach, Past Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Kentucky, and David Jackson, present Grand Secretary of the Grand Lodge of Kentucky. In 1911 it exemplified the Floral Degree and the Drill before the Grand Chapter of Kentucky, and in 1916 it was requested to repeat this work before the General Grand Chapter which met in Louisville in triennial session the latter part of October and the fore part of November of that year. Sister Loveday R. Hadden, the worthy and efficient Secretary of Bright Star Chapter, says in her very complimentary remarks, "I feel that I must say something about those who have helped us to be the large and progressive Chapter that we are. Parkland Lodge No. 638, F. A. M., has always held out a helping hand to us, advising and encouraging, and a large majority of our member- ship is drawn from the members of this Masonic Lodge and their families. Then, too, our own Past Matrons and Past Patrons have not felt that their work was done when they put aside the mantle of power and authority, but have given to their successors and to the Chapter the benefit of their wisdom and experience gained through the work of their different offices." In 1914 Bright Star became the largest Chapter in the State of Kentucky, having initiated 161 candidates. On October 5, 1914, the Eastern Star Hospital Circle was or- ganized in the Bright Star Chapter rooms by representatives of all the Chapters in the city, and the first president of this organization was chosen from Bright Star's membership, Sister Emma Kuinz. 136 BRIGHT STAR CHAPTER No. 16, 0. E. S. The Thirteenth Anniversary of Bright Star Chapter No. 16, 0. E. S., was celebrated June, 1915, Miss Mildred C. Harris, Worthy Matron, presiding. The Chapter showed up remarkably well. Many visitors from sister Chapters were present, which made the event all the more delightful. Sister Neva Garrettson Piper, the Worthy Grand Matron, being the Guest of Honor, the Floral De- gree was conferred on her with a display of choice fragrant flowers, selected especially for the occasion. It was followed by the fancy drill performed by the Bright Star Chapter Drill Team of twenty- four shining stars, commanded by the leading star in the galaxy, Capt. Sister Elizabeth Bussy, guided by the sweet strains of mar- tial music rendered by Sister Lillie E. Lutz, the Bright Star pianist. A profusion of flowers and the dainty white gowns of the sisters added greatly to the splendor of the occasion. The most prominent members of the Order present besides the Worthy Grand Matron, guest of honor, were Sister Sarah H. Terry, Past Grand Matron and present Grand Secretary; Sister Mayme Romeiser, Past Grand Matron and present Grand Treasurer; Sisters Catherine Watts Clark and Sadie M. Quigley, Past Grand Matrons, and Bros. Robert H. Carothers, William H. Bartholomew, George R. Peak and Will- iam A. Keller, Past Grand Patrons. The exercises of the evening concluded with a delightful spread, and The joyous talk and merry laugh went 'round The festal board of Bright Star-long renowned; There, gallant men, some portly and some lean, And women fair graced the enchanting scene. At the regular meeting of Bright Star Chapter held in Parkland Masonic Hall, Monday night, September 20th, 1915, a beautiful silk flag, "The Star Spangled Banner" (which has been greatly honored at all its meetings, and recently the courtesy to use this flag at the opening of its meetings has been extended to Parkland Lodge No. 638, F. A. M.), was presented to Bright Star Chapter No. 16, O. E. S., by Past Worthy Matron Sister Mary J. Deicks, on behalf of Bright Star Social Club, in an appropriate speech, followed by Bro. Alfred W. Harris, who recited a poem which he composed especially for the occasion and entitled, "Our Flag-Take Off Your Hats." The hall was filled to overflowing and everybody seemed to take in the situation with that old time patriotic feeling that stirred the minds and thrilled the hearts of their ancestors, and when Dr. W. H. Bartholomew and Prof. R. H. Carothers described the glory and lasting tributes paid to the flag of our Union, the enthusiasm was as intense as ever. 137 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. OUR FLAG-TAKE OFF YOUR HATS! Fraternally Dedicated to Bright Star Chapter No. 16, 0. E. S. Behold the Banner of our land! Our Nation's pride and glory; The Standard of our grandsires, and Long since revealed in story. Take off your hats when you pass by- And bow to it most rev'rently. A woman's hand designed the stars, (And likewise she suggested Five-pointed), and she sewed the bars In silence unmolested. Take off your hats when you pass by- And bow to it most rev'rently. The cherished name of Betsy Ross We greet with true affection; And laud the deeds of Washington With fondest recollection. Take off your hats when you pass by- And bow to it most rev'rently. The starry field for heaven's blue; The red for gore of battle; The white for patriots, brave and true, Who faced the muskets' rattle. Take off your hats when you pass by- And bow to it most rev'rently. Triumphant on many a field- (Inscribed on history's pages); The grand old Flag refused to yield, Through all our wars for ages. Take off your hats when you pass by- And bow to it most rev'rently. And here it stands! The Flag so dear, That waves on the land and sea; The joy of all Americans, Emblem of our liberty. Take off your hats when you pass by- And bow to it most rev'rently. 138 BRIGHT STAR CHAPTER, No. 16, 0. E. S. The very able and instructive address of Prof. W. H. Barthol- omew, Past Grand Patron, 0. E. S., of Kentucky, was full of patri- otic fervor, also that of Prof. R. H. Carothers, first Grand Patron, 0. E. S., of Kentucky. Their graphic description of the flag ("Old Glory" as the veterans of 1861 loved to call it) was very impressive and brought to the minds of all present the "Spirit of 1776." The Worthy Matron of Bright Star Chapter, Miss Mildred C. Harris, conducted the proceedings on this occasion admirably, as- sisted by the Worthy Patron, Bro. Lindsey R. Hurst, Sister Love- day Hadden, the efficient Secretary, and the other officers of the Chapter performed their duties with equal regularity. "Old Glory" was never more honored than on this eventful oc- casion, which will long be remembered by those who witnessed the presentation ceremonies. On Monday night, April 17th, 1916, Bright Star Chapter con- ferred the Floral Degree upon Bro. Alfred W. Harris, the esteemed father of the Worthy Matron, Miss Mildred C. Harris, and upon Sister Mayme Pettingill, Past Worthy Matron of the Chapter. The poem is Mr. Harris' response to the same on the eventful occasion: The lady moon rose full and soon, And cast a mellow light Along the grade, as good folks strayed To Parkland Hall that night. It was a pleasing sight to see Them stroll along in perfect glee. And women fair assembled there, 'Mid splendor of the hall; True men and brave fond greetings gave, With courtesy to all. It was a charming sight to see, For they were happy as could be. The Banner grand and staff in hand Borne by a fair one true, While song was sung with tuneful tongue- The Red, the White and Blue. It was a lovely sight to see. The daughters of our liberty. The Chapter scene, superb, serene, Bright as the Eastern Star, Whose silver light pervades the night, Among the planets far. It was a joyful sight to see The folks in peace and harmony. (Sister Mimie Cozine.) 139 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. The way was cleared, when two-appeared For Floral honors drest; As in a dream, the Degree Team With fragrant tributes blest. The Patron's charge and wise decree- The Matron's, too, most worthily. The organist and choir assist- With song and music sweet, Timed the display in white array, -Five points of Star complete. Delightful 'twas to hear-and see The work in its entirety. Then came the Drill, glad hearts to thrill, Like soldiers on parade; In spotless white, soft steps and light, By sweetest music made. It was the grandest sight to see. In beauty's realm and chivalry. With beaming eyes, elated hearts, And smiles that came and went, As each bright star performed her parts, Were cheerful moments spent. It was a glorious sight to see The stars shine in the galaxy. A RED ROSE TRIBUTE To Catherine Watts Clark, Worthy Grand Matron, 0. E. S., on the occasion of her official visit to the 14th Anniversary of Bright Star Chapter, held in Parkland Masonic Hall, 28th street and Grand avenue, Monday night, June 19, 1916. Miss Mildred C. Harris, Worthy Matron, presided. First Sister: Accept of me this emblem of love and peace, And may your life be all of health, joy and ease. Second Sister: This rose betokens hope to thy Christian soul, For a gem-decked crown in the heavenly goal. Third Sister: Take this-the pride of a garden of posies, May your pathway be strewn with choice red roses. 140 BRIGHT STAR CHAPTER No. 16, 0. E. S. Fourth Sister: As fragrant as all other flowers combined, A just tribute to thy intelligent mind. Fifth Sister: Wear this charming red rose next to thy kind heart, For our true love for you shall never depart. Sixth Sister: A cheerful reminder of all that is pure On earth and in heaven-the good shall endure. Seventh Sister: Here's another ideal-the joy of thy dreams- Bright hopes for thy future, with glory it beams. Eighth Sister: There's a smile for thee in this fragrant red rose! So bright its true color, soft petals disclose. Ninth Sister: I offer this rose as love's fondest token- More firmly unites our friendship, unbroken. Tenth Sister: Another fresh rose from love's garden you see, And sweet as Dame Nature has grown it for thee. Eleventh Sister: My heart's fond souvenir, soft zephyrs have kissed, May it live in your mem'ry-never be missed. Twelfth Sister: This beautiful red rose completes the bouquet With Bright Star's affection and honor alway. Both the celebration of the anniversary and the reception of the Worthy Grand Matron were perfect in every detail. Miss Mildred C. Harris, the Worthy Matron of Bright Star Chapter, was highly complimented for the efficient manner in which she performed her duties on that auspicious occasion. It was a charming scene in which each one of the twelve sisters of the Chapter carried in her hand a large and beautiful red rose, and as they marched forward by twos in true military style and order, attired in snow-white dresses and shoes, were the cynosure of all eyes. On reaching the rostrum where the Worthy Grand Ma- tron stood in waiting, each sister in rotation, gracefully presented her with a charming red rose and at the same time recited a couplet that corresponded with the number of the rhyme above, and with 141 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638. F. A. M. elocutionary effect. The verses were composed by request especial- ly for the occasion by the writer. Bright Star Chapter, like Parkland Lodge and the Parkland High Twelve Club, has progressed slowly but surely since it first started out on the high road to prosperity until it has reached the height of its ambition. It has seen several of its oldest and most prominent members attain the highest offices in the Order of the Eastern Star, by steadfast adherence to duty, mutual sociability and constant devotion to the organization. Bright Star Chapter had as usual an interesting meeting Mon- day, September 18, 1916, which drew a very large audience. After the business of the evening was concluded, the officers-elect were installed. Bro. R. H. Carothers, Past Grand Patron of Kentucky, was in the East. Sister Mamie Cozine as Grand Marshal, and Sister Mary J. Diecks, Grand Conductress, as Grand Chaplain. Bro. Carothers, Past Grand Worthy Patron, did his work in a very im- pressive manner and was ably assisted by the other past officers. Sister Sarah H. Terry, Grand Secretary of the Grand Chapter, delivered a lecture on the Five Points of the Star. This lecture showed much research work, and it made a very favorable impres- sion on the audience. Miss Mildred C. Harris, the retiring Worthy Matron, who served two terms consecutively, was presented with a beautiful wrist-watch by the members of Bright Star Chapter for the efficient manner in which she conducted her office and for her unswerving and loyal devotion to the Chapter. Bro. Carothers, in his usual pleasing style, made the presentation speech. Sister Harris re- sponded in words of appreciation and closed her remarks with the following touching lines of affection: Dear Sisters and Brothers, and admiring friends, This present from you sweet memory attends; With bright thoughts of Bright Star Chapter No. 16, The most charming jewel I've ever yet seen; I'll keep it and wear it-time cannot sever The love I have for you, now and forever. Sister Catherine Watts Clark was present, and being called on made a very beautiful and impressive speech for the good of the Order. Sister Mary J. Diecks presented Sister Sarah H. Terry with a bunch of American roses as a token of love and regard from the members of Bright Star Chapter. Sister Catherine Watts Clark, Worthy Grand Matron, was taken ill some days ago and her illness was such that her physi- cians ordered that she be taken to the infirmary, Sunday, Septem- ber 24, for an operation. The operation was performed at St. Jos- eph's Infirmary, Monday, September 26th, and the patient is doing well and prospects are bright for her recovery. Her physicians 142 BRIGHT STAR CHAPTER No. 16, 0. E. S. stated that she could not leave the infirmary for three weeks, and this prevented her from presiding over the Grand Chapter, which convened at Dawson Springs, October 10, 1916. Sister Clark, herself, as well as the members of the Grand Chap- ter, were sadly disappointed. Sister Clark may be assured that there are many prayers ascending to the throne of our Heavenly Father for her speedy restoration to health. Sister Clark has won her way into the hearts of her sisters and brothers as a wise and sympathetic leader, and for this reason her absence from this meeting of the Grand Chapter was keenly felt. The Triennial Meeting of the General Grand Chapter, Order of the Eastern Star, was held in the Armory, 6th and Walnut streets, on Tuesday, October 31st, and Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, November 1, 2, and 3, 1916; and on Monday night, October 30th, on the occasion of the reception of the General Grand Chapter, officers and visitors, Bright Star Chapter No. 16, 0. E. S., under the direction of Miss Mildred C. Harris (who was for two years con- secutively Worthy Matron of Bright Star Chapter), conferred the Floral Degree on Sister Emma C. Ocobock, Most Worthy Grand Matron, Bro. George A. Pettigrew, Most Worthy Grand Patron, and Sister Lorraine J. Pitkin, Right Worthy Grand Secretary. The conferring of the degree on these Grand Officers was most praise- worthy. The rehearsals for the degree, including the music, were under the direction of Miss Mildred C. Harris, the Junior Past Matron of Bright Star Chapter, and by her faithful efforts and business quali- fications, she secured some of the best vocalists and experienced musicians, assisted by Bro. Lindsey R. Hurst, the Junior Past Worthy Patron of Bright Star Chapter, and Past Master of Park- land Lodge of Masons. Too much praise cannot be awarded Sister Harris and Bro. Hurst for the very active part they took in making the meeting a grand success. The Floral March of the Bright Star Chapter Drill Team, of which Sister Elizabeth Bussy was the Cap- tain, followed the conferring of the Floral Degree. The maneuvers of the team were equal to that of a company of soldiers, and moved about gracefully and with the regularity of clock-work as the com- mands were promptly given by Captain Bussy, who managed the Stars skillfully. Sister Lillie E. Lutz, the pianist of Bright Star Chapter, and for the occasion, played for both the Floral Degree and the Floral March Drill most beautifully. This meeting of the General Grand Chapter, Order of the Eastern Star, is said to have been one of the grandest and most enjoyable of all their gatherings, and will long be remembered by those who witnessed it. The fifteenth anniversary of Bright Star Chapter No. 16, 0. E. S., was appropriately celebrated on the evening of June 18, 1917. Sister Emma Menefee, Worthy Grand Matron, paid her official visit to the Chapter at this time, and other Grand Officers present were: Sister Mary J. Diecks, Associate Grand Matron Sister Mamie Rom- 143 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. iser, Grand Treasurer; Bro. William A. Keller, Grand Sentinel; Sister Sadie M. Quigley, Past Grand Matron; Sister Mary Bart- man, Grand Representative of Arizona, and Bro. Edward Schoppen- horst, Grand Trustee. Many visiting Matrons and Patrons and members were also present, so that before the Chapter was opened the "Standing Room Only" sign was hung up. Sister Menefee was escorted into the Chapter room by a Guard of Honor, composed of twelve young ladies, who also accompanied her through the introduction and to the East, where each one, in turn, presented her with a red rose, reciting an appropriate verse of poetry composed especially for such memorable occasions by the writer. The degrees of the Order were impressively conferred upon a class of eighteen candidates, and after the regular order of business was dispensed with, an enjoyable program of music, recitations and addresses was rendered. A short history of the Chapter was read by the Secretary, Sister Loveday R. Hadden, and an Eastern Star song, composed by the experienced pianist of Bright Star Chapter, Sister Lillie E. Lutz, and dedicated to its Worthy Matron, Sister Minnie Lee Barnett, was sung by Sister Marguerite Bennett. Cor- sage bouquets and buttonhole bouquets were presented to the dis- tinguished guests, and a silver bowl was presented to Sister Mene- fee by Sister Diecks on behalf of Bright Star Chapter. The addresses were interesting and inspiring, and after the Chapter was closed the Drill Team, under the command of Sister Elizabeth Bussy, Captain, gave a fine exhibition of the drill. Re- freshments were served in the banquet hall below, and the favors were patriotic dolls made of clothes pins and dressed in red, white and blue tissue paper, fastened to small paper boxes filled with candy. The meeting was a success in every way. This Chapter now ranks first in numbers in the State, having at the present time a membership of 543. The meeting was a grand success and much credit is due the Worthy Matron, Sister Minnie Lee Barnett, for the splendid pro- gram. Miss Mildred C. Harris, Past Worthy Matron, who had served two terms consecutively, and by her untiring efforts assisted in making the Chapter a prosperous and prominent one, did her part as a faithful and devoted member and active worker of the Chapter, and is alert on all questions pertaining to the good of the Order. The meeting of Bright Star Chapter which was held in Park- land Masonic Hall, October 15, 1917, at 7:30 P. M., was indeed a happy occasion. It assembled to welcome and honor Sister Mary Jane Diecks, Past Matron of Bright Star Chapter and newly elected Worthy Grand Matron of the Grand Chapter of Kentucky, 0. E. S. Many distinguished visitors were present; Past Matrons Mary Bartman and Emma Hagman; Lillie Cohen, Grand Marshal; Mamie Romeiser, Past Grand Matron and Grand Treasurer; Sadie 144 BRIGHT STAR CHAPTER No. 16 0. E. S. M. Quigley, Past Grand Matron, and Bros. Edward Schoppenhorst, Grand Representative; Harry Barker, Grand Sentinel; W. A. Kel- ler, Grand Trustee of the Eastern Star Home Fund; William H. Bartholomew and George R. Peake, Past Grand Patrons, and Sister Emma Knapp, Past Matron of Brilliant Star, No. 153. "Old Glory," the Chapter's splendid flag, was displayed in a novel manner at this meeting. The Marshal, as the standard bearer, entered the hall accompanied by Adah, Esther and Electa, the three points of the Star, attired in their robes of red, white and blue, and escorted by the Conductress, Associate Conductress and Chaplain to the altar, facing the East; the Marshal holding the flag while the members, standing, sang "The Star Spangled Banner." The flag was saluted in the usual military manner by all present. It was then placed in the holder; the escorts returned to their stations, and the members all seated. Sister Diecks was greeted with prolonged applause and when escorted to the East was conducted through an arch formed with large white chrysanthemums and held by the Worthy Matrons of the nine Sister Chapters of the city and Bro. Walter Trinkle, Past Worthy Patron for Bright Star Chapter. The flowers were then presented to Sister Diecks with the best wishes of each Chapter. After a short business session, a most enjoyable program was ren- dered. The address of Sister Diecks was interesting and instructive. Miss Mildred C. .Harris, Past Worthy Matron of Bright Star Chapter, who has served two terms consecutively, and by her earn- est efforts assisted in making the Chapter a most prosperous one, was the first on the program. She recited in an able manner a poem entitled, "The Legend of the Rose," composed for the occasion by Sister Mollie Richardson Posey, the Kentucky poetess. During the recitation the room had been darkened, and when the lights were turned on again it was found that a garden of roses had suddenly bloomed in the West. This garden of roses was composed of twelve members of the Chapter in green and red costumes and each one holding a red rose. They made charming "Roses." Sister Diecks was invited to advance to the West and gather the roses, which she did, escorted by the Conductress, while each "rose" recited a little verse of greeting and love. In her response, she said that she could find no thorns among her roses and hoped that she would find it so in all her work during the coming year. Sister Grace Hollis sang two beautiful solos, "The Nightingale and the Rose" and "At Part- ing," both of which were most appropriate for the occasion. All the visitors made interesting addresses and congratulations were showered upon Sister Diecks and upon the Chapter. An alarm was heard at the door, and upon investigation, it was found to be a fairy who desired admission. This was granted her, and she advanced to the East, dancing and waving her wand. She greeted the Worthy Matron, Sister Anna Evans, and asked per- mission to present flowers to the distinguished guests; lavender 145 PARKLAND LODGE No. 638, F. A. M. chrysanthemums to the Sisters and white carnations to the Broth- ers. The Worthy Matron thanked her for her remembrance and she then retired. Sister Meta Krauth, attired in a beautiful pink silk frock, made a most acceptable "fairy." Bro. Keller then presented a lovely basket of ferns to Sister Diecks in behalf of Bro. and Sister Orton. Sister Diecks thanked them for the beautiful symbolic gift, and she also thanked Bright Star Chapter for the gift of silver that had been presented to her at the Grand Chapter meeting, and the other Chapters of the city for the handsome traveling bag that had been presented to her at the same time. The Chapter was then closed, and Sister Diecks, escort- ed by Bro. Bartholomew, led the grand march to the banquet hall, where refreshments were served. During the supper, Bro. Barthol- omew acted as toastmaster, and responses were made by the vis- itors. This brought to a close another enjoyable meeting of Bright Star Chapter, and it was the hope of all present that the coming year will be full of happiness and success for Sister Diecks and those who assisted in making the affair a joyful occasion. Bright Star Chapter is proud to have reached the height of her ambition, to be the largest Chapter in the State of Kentucky, and that she has abided faithfully by the rules and tenets of the grand and prosperous Order of the Eastern Star. A SERVICE FLAG PRESENTATION At a regular meeting of Bright Star Chapter, Monday, February 18, 1918, held in the new Masonic Hall, 28th street and Grand ave- nue, at 7:30 P. M., and after the transaction of regular business, a beautiful service flag, bordered with a broad stripe of red silk which enclosed a white field of the same material with a bright red star in the center that represented a noble brother of the chapter who enlisted in the service of his country and is in France fighting for truth, justice and right. Since then six more stars have been added to the flag, and other young men of the Chapter expect to be called on to rally around our grand old flag of liberty in a short while. This splendid emblem is a unique design and the handiwork of Sister Mamie Pettingill, Past Worthy Matron of Bright Star Chap- ter No. 16, 0. E. S., and the Associate Grand Matron of the Grand Chapter of Kentucky. It was presented to the Chapter in an appro- priate speech by Bro. Alfred W. Harris, a member, and a veteran of the Civil War, in behalf of Sister Pettingill, the donor, as follows: "Patriotism and religion are essential to the peace and happi- ness and prosperity of all nations, and without these benefactions they cannot succeed, but Germany, under the pretense of being in the right, and in her eagerness for greater power by the accumula- tion of more territory, and being better prepared than all the other nations, including these United States of America, by intrigue 146 BRIGHT STAR CHAPTER No. 16, 0. E. S. forced her into the world war. It is certain that there can be no peace without victory for the right- "'For right is might since God is God, And right the day must win; To doubt would be disloyalty, To falter would be sin.' "Hundreds of thousands of America's noble sons are now on foreign soil, standing shoulder to shoulder with the French troops on the firing line, and in the trenches, engaged in fierce conflict with the enemy, and many thousands more are rallying around "Old Glory," the flag of our country, and expect to see active service in France with the descendants of the gallant men like LaFayette and other heroic Frenchmen who gave their lives and fortunes for American Independence in the Revolutionary War. America, France and England are standing solidly together and will always remain so. As a fitting memorial to our boys, the service flag, next to the Stars and Bars, is displayed in every patriotic home and in- stitution throughout our glorious land. This Service Flag we now unfurl, In honor to our Brothers; And should they ever go to France, May they return with others- Heroes who freedom's cause espoused, With victory stamped upon their brows. As the brother began to recite the above stanza, Sister Pet- tingill slowly unveiled the flag by raising it to the top of the staff. She then made a few remarks concerning the beautiful ensign, which were very interesting. The presentation speech was responded to by Sister Mary J. Diecks, Past Worthy Matron of Bright Star Chap- ter No. 16, 0. E. S., and Worthy Grand Matron of the Grand Chap- ter of Kentucky, eulogizing the American Army in France and pre- dicting for our arms a most glorious victory all along the line and at the close of the great conflict. The hall was filled to its utmost capacity and every Chapter in the city was represented. Sister Anna Evans, the Worthy Matron of Bright Star, and Bro. Edwin S. Barnett, the Worthy Patron, expressed their appreciation on re- ceiving the beautiful emblem. The Sixteenth Anniversary of Bright Star Chapter No. 16 was celebrated on Monday evening, June 3, 1918, with Sister Anna M. Evans, Worthy Matron, presiding, and Bro. Edwin S. Barnett, Worthy Patron, assisting. The guest of honor was Sister Mary J. Diecks, Worthy Grand Matron, on whom the Floral Degree was conferred during the evening. Many Grand Officers and General Grand Officers were present; among them were Major McDaniels, Right Worthy Grand Associate Patron of Texas. Sister Martha PARKLAND LODGE No. 638. F. A. M. Gilbert made the address to the Past Matrons and Past Patrons of Bright Star Chapter. Miss Mildred C. Harris, Past Worthy Ma- tron, made the address to the charter members, nine of whom re- main on the list: Bro. William Kuinz, Sister Emma Kuinz, Bros. R. H. Carothers, Louis Wolff, Harry Boegerhausen, Sisters Lilly Boe- gerhausen, Flora Leisinger, Carrie Waller, and Bro. Len M. Dow. Among other notables present were Bro. Charles J. Sutton, Worthy Grand Patron; Sister Mamie Romeiser, Past Grand Matron and present Grand Treasurer; Sister Sarah H. Terry, Past Grand Ma- tron and present Grand Secretary; Sisters Catherine Watts Clark and Sadie M. Quigley, Past Grand Matrons; Bros. George R. Peak, William A. Keller and William H. Bartholomew, Past Grand Pa- trons. The exercises of the evening were concluded with light re- freshments, every available space was occupied, and the Stars had a general good time all around. Sister Lillie Lutz, the pianist, en- livened the scene with her delightful music, and Bright Star Chap- ter is proud of her as its musician. LINES. In response to a call for a speech by the Worthy Matron, after being initiated into Bright Star Chapter, February 1st, 1915, the writer made a few pleasing remarks, to which he added the follow- ing: I am glad I am an Eastern Star, To prove a shining light; To be true and faithful as you are In this Star Chapter Bright. I admire the work that has been done To-night, within this hall; And I hope to prove myself as one Bright Star among you all. So I thank you for your gentle ways, And instructive manner, And may you prosper all your days Under the starry banner. Mrs. Carrie E. Waller, a member of Bright Star Chapter, the originator and organizer of the "Waller Doll Club," has been doing a vast amount of good work among the orphans of Louisville. Regularly once every year she makes it her duty to visit all the orphanages of the city during the Christmas holidays, and distrib- utes to the little children all kinds of beautiful dolls, toys and can- dies. The fountain and seat and sun-dial in Shawnee Park was con- tributed by many enterprising citizens of Louisville in her honor and was dedicated in the name of the club in the presence of a large assembly of people on Sunday, June 23, 1918. She is known everywhere as the "Good Samaritan." 148 AFTERWARDS There appeared in the Louisville Herald, Friday morning, July 19th, the date on which Parkland Lodge met in stated communication, the following beautiful poem full of thought and meaning, and alludes to the world war. It was composed by one of the oldest members and twice a Past Master of the lodge, Bro. Herbert V. Harris, of Louisville, Ky., and entitled "Afterwards." Coming as it does from the fluent pen of one of the master builders of the lodge in its early days, we take the liberty, and it gives us pleasure to publish it in this volume. The world is filled with the noise of war, With the flame and smoke and the cannons' roar; Death from the air and death from the sea; What will it bring to you and to me, Afterwards We bid farewell to husbands and sons As they cross the ocean to fight the Huns. If we lose those whom we hold most dear, What will be left our hearts to cheer, Afterwards And what of this land of the brave and free What will peace bring to you and to me Will we all be content to settle down To the humdrum life of the country and town, Afterwards And what of our allies in the fight; Today the victims of might over right When they think of the arson, murder and rape, Will they willingly let the chief culprits escape, Afterwards It is hard to tell what peace will bring, But at least we are sure of one good thing, For Kaiser Bill and all his crew Will have good cause their crimes to rue, Afterwards. As for ourselves and our allies brave, While our problems will be hard and grave, "In God We Trust," so we'll have no fear, But these problems leave for him to clear, Afterwards.