You have found an item located in the Kentuckiana Digital Library.
Louisville fifty years ago : a souvenir issued on the occassion of the Louisville Board of Trade luncheon on March 9th, in honor of firms that have been in business fifty years or more, 1873-1923. Louisville (Ky). Board of Trade. 400dpi TIFF G4 page images University of Kentucky, Electronic Information Access & Management Center Lexington, Kentucky 2002 b92-116-28170935 Electronic reproduction. 2002. (Beyond the shelf, serving historic Kentuckiana through virtual access (IMLS LG-03-02-0012-02) ; These pages may be freely searched and displayed. Permission must be received for subsequent distribution in print or electronically. Louisville fifty years ago : a souvenir issued on the occassion of the Louisville Board of Trade luncheon on March 9th, in honor of firms that have been in business fifty years or more, 1873-1923. Louisville (Ky). Board of Trade. Dearing; Morton, [Louisville] : 1923. 108 p. : ill., ports. ; 28 cm. Coleman Microfilm. Atlanta, Ga. : SOLINET, 1993. 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm. (SOLINET/ASERL Cooperative Microfilming Project (NEH PS-20317) ; SOL MN03205.04 KUK) Printing Master B92-116. IMLS This electronic text file was created by Optical Character Recognition (OCR). No corrections have been made to the OCR-ed text and no editing has been done to the content of the original document. Encoding has been done through an automated process using the recommendations for Level 1 of the TEI in Libraries Guidelines. Digital page images are linked to the text file. Kentucky Economic conditions. Louisville (Ky.) History. i l 'ill-, :X , "L s--,+ i AGO sOunfl This page in the original text is blank. LOUISVILLE FIFTY YEARS AGO 27\ souvenir issued on the occasion of the Louisville Board of Trade Luncheon on March 9th, in honor of firms that have been in business fifty years or more. 1873-1923 Louisville Fifty Years Ago An old Wood Cut, showing ealy Main Street (From Cohin's History of Kentucky.) A Notable Event Perpetuated L OUISVILLE, foremost city of the South in commerce, finance and industry, is a place of exceptional historical associations. Its whirring factory wheels, progressive commercial establishments and solid financial institutions are fit- ting monuments to pioneers who braved the wilderness to establish the foundation of the city's present greatness. It is particularly appropriate that a city with Louisville's traditions should be the home of so many firms that have been in business continuously for fifty years or more. To honor these pioneer firms, whose progress has paralleled that of the city, and whose faith in the future of Louisville has been so convincingly justified, the Lou- isville Board of Trade conceived the idea of a meeting where the representatives of these firms might come together and recall the events of other years. To commemorate this event, as well as to gather into one volume some of the history of a great city's financial, industrial and commercial development, this book is published. H. C. GRISWOLD, W. G. SIMPSON, Jr., THOMAS H. STARK, D. B. G. ROSE, A. L. HAMILTON, Committee. 2 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Board of Trade Organized in 1862 FIFTY years ago, the Louisville Board of Trade had reached its eleventh birth- F day. It dates back to the second year of the Civil War, having been organized in 1862, according to J. Stoddard Johnston's Memorial History of Louisville, "by leading merchants, manufacturers and business men of Louisville who had be- come convinced that it was necessary for their mutual protection." The original organizers were Thomas 0. Carter, Charles Buchanan, Henry Burk- hardt, B. F. Cawthon, Abraham F. Clark, Abner Cooper, B. du Pont, R. H. Cockrill, B. F. Guthrie, James Kennedy, S. M. Lamont, W. A. Robinson, J. L. Smyser and J. E. Weller. At the first meeting, held March 25, 1862, the charter granted by the General Assembly of Kentucky was formally accepted and a number of firms admitted to membership. A week later, the historian continues, sixty-eight members and firms were added and the first board of directors and officers elected. These members paid a fee of one dollar. The first officers elected were George W. Morris, President; Jacob L. Smyser, B. du Pont and H. Burkhardt, Vice Presidents; James S. Wallace, Secretary, and B. F. Guthrie, Treasurer. The original purpose of the organization was given as "dealing primarily with transportation of commodities." First market reports were obtained in 1863. Survivor of Three Wars. The Board of Trade survived three of the nation's wars, the last of which served to unify its membership more closely into a body working loyally for the triumph of the Allies. The war between the States, however, seems to have had an opposite effect. "The dissensions naturally incident to the Civil War," the historian relates, "retarded the growth of the Board of Trade and impaired its usefulness, resulting in several changes in officers and directors." In connection with the Board of Trade, a Merchants' Exchange was organized in 1864. For a number of years, while keeping up its organization, the Board "was not as active nor as vigorous as was demanded by its objects," according to the historian. "However," he adds, "it was reorganized in 1879 and started on a new career of usefulness." John B. Castleman at that time became chairman of a canvassing committee, which aroused new interest among the business men of Louisville, New Albany and Jeffersonville, the other Falls Cities having been included in the territory of mem- bership. Under the reorganization, F. D. Carley became President, William A. Robinson, H. Verhoff, Jr., B. du Pont and P. R. Stoy, Vice Presidents; and J. H. Lindenberger, treasurer. The executive committee was composed of John M. Atherton, W. A. Robin- son, J. B. Speed, John B. McFerran and John T. Moore. About this time, an amend- ment was adopted increasing the Board of Directors to twenty-five. June, 1879, was marked by the acquisition of the building at Third and Main Louisville Fifty Years Ago Board of Trade Presidents, 1877 to 1903 - : rifs, fI 0 A: S of And, . . t f t-00 t F. D. CARLEY, JOHN B. McFERRAN, JOHN E. GREEN, 1880 1881 1882 to 1885 HARRY WEISSINGER, 1886 to 1888 WM. CORNWALL, JR.,CHARLES T. BALLARD, 1889 to 1890 1891 to 1894 MORRIS B. BELKNAP, 1895 and 1896 :Wl LOUIS STEWART, 1900 MARION E. TAYLOR, 1901 to 1903 C. C. MENGEL, 1897 to 1899 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Board of Trade Presidents, 1904 to 1923 [0 ---X Off : f..S 777a.ib.0-t _00 : : THEODORE AHRENS, E. H. BOWEN, W. W. HITE, 1904 1905 and 1906 1907 to July, 1908 F. C. NUNEMACHER, GEORGE L. DANFORTH, July, 1908 to 19111911 and 1912 LOGAN C. MURRAY, THOMAS FLOYD SMITH, 1913 and 1914 1915, 1916 and 1919 FRED M. SACKETT, a. W. OLIVER, JOSEPH BURGE, January to August, 1917,August 1917 to 19191920 and 1921 1922 to date 5 Louisville Fifty Years Ago streets which the Board of Trade now occupies. It was purchased at a cost of 100,000. In 1890 it was enlarged and modernized, Exchange Hall at that time being on the second floor, the quarters now occupied by R. (I. Dun Co. Exchange Hall was described by the historian .as "an elegant exchange hall, of sufficient capacity to meet all demands for current business, as well as for public meetings on matters of general interest." Factor in Commercial History. Major M. Wright was elected superintendent of the Board of Trade in 1879. "Under his vigorous management," the historian relates, "the Board of Trade be- came the important factor in the commercial history of Louisville that it has since continued to be." "Through its active exertion," he continues, "the Louisville Southern Exposi- tion was inaugurated in 1883, with extensive buildings, rivalling in the completeness of its display the largest held in this country up to that time. The exposition was re- peated annually for several years. It redounded greatly to the prosperity of Louis- ville and Kentucky in the advertisement of the resources of the state and the trade and manufactures of the city." Twice during its history the Louisville Board of Trade has been privileged to mobilize its resources to relieve the suffering caused among citizens of this locality by great disasters. In the memory of present members, specifically onl March 23, 1917, a cyclone swept New Albany, taking a toll of thirty-eight lives, injuring one hundred and fifty, rendering twenty-five hundred homeless and causing a property loss of more than one million dollars. "The executive committee of the Board of Trade met at eleven o 'clock that night," the Board of Trade Journal relates, "when a relief fund was opened and an appeal issued to citizens of Louisville. A special meeting of the directorate was held at 9:30 o'clock the following morning. At that session, the Louisville Board of Trade New Albany Relief Committee was created. Hundreds of contributors swelled the Board of Trade's relief fund to 52,000, more than the amount fixed as Louisville's part. Incidentally, Louisville's subscriptions were the largest of any city helping in the work of relief and in newspapers all over the country one read of the remarkable assistance given by Louisville, Ky., under the direction of the Louisville Board of Trade. " This was history repeating itself, for Mr. Johnston's narrative of the Louis- ville tornado had this to say about the Board of Trade's part in the relief work: "In 1890, when the city was swept by a destructive tornado, the Board of Trade came promptly to the relief of the suffering and at a meeting held the morning after the disaster, headed a subscription with a donation of 3,000, which was increased in a few minutes to 20,000 by individuals and firms present. Relief committees were appointed and in a few days 150,000 were raised by subscription, which enabled the Board to decline the generous proffer of aid from other cities. Every person entitled to relief was succored from this fund, food and clothing were furnished to the needy and the work was not suspended until all who had suffered were again safely housed and restored, as far as possible, to the condition of comfort en- joyed by them before the storm." Louisville Fifty Years Ago Louisville's Half Century Firms Aufenkamp, Frank Avery Sons, B. F. Bacon Sons, J. Baird Son, David Bannon Pipe Co., P. Barbee Castleman Bayless Bros. Co. Belknap Hdw. Mfg. Co. Bensinger Outfitting Co. Bickel Co., C. C. Bittner's Sons, G. Blatz Co. Blum Bros. Florsheim Bosse Son, H. Bourbon Stock Yards Co. Bradas Gheens Bradley Gilbert Co. Bradstreet 's Mercantile Agency Brandeis Son, A. Brinly-Hardy Co. Brocar, Thomas A. Bryant Stratton Business College (Caummisar Sons, T. C. Callahan Sons Caron Directory Co. Chambers Seed Co. Christian Observer Citizens Union National Bank Cohen Sons, M. Courier-Journal Co. Cowan Co., Andrew Crutcher Starks Cuscaden Ice Cream Works Danforth Co. Dearing Printing Co., C. T. Denunzio Fruit Co., Jos. Dolfinger Co., J. Doll Sons, J., Drummond Mfg. Co. Dun Co., R. G. Duncan Sons, T. B. Edinger Co. Embry Box Co. Engelhard Sons Co., A. Epping Bottling Works Falls City Buggy Top Co. Farmers Home Journal Falls City Tin Tag Litho- graph Co. Fink Son, Philip, Fischer-Leaf Co. Fritschner Co., Geo. Fulton-Conway Co. First National Bank Gatchel Sons, W. D. Geher Son Grainger Co. Harbison Gathright Hegan-Magruder Co. Hidden Co., Otis Hilliard Son, J. J. B. Hodapp Miller Ilubbueh, Jos. Sons. Irion Sons, Matt Imorde, B. W. Johnston Bros. Co. Kendrick's Sons, Wm. Kentucky Louisville Mutual Insurance Co. Knadler Lucas Lemon Son, James K. Levy Bros. Liberty Insurance Bank Louisville Cincinnati Packet Co. L. N. Railroad Co. Louisville Anzeiger Louisville Cement Co. Louisville Grocerv Co. Louisville Gas Electric Company Louisville Herald Louisville National Bank Mansfeld Son, R. Marcus, Edw. II. Mathews Sons, Inc., W. S. Miller, John H. Morton Co., John P. National Bank of Kentucky. National Seed Co. New M1uldoon Monument Company -Nock Snyder Otter Co. Peaslee-Gaulbert Co. Pearson Son, L. D. Pilcher's Sons, H. I'eter-Neat-Richardson Co. Price Lucas Priest Co., W. C. Robinson-Pettet Co. Rosenheim Co., Chas. Robert Rowell Electrotype Company Rogers Church Goods Co. Rosenbaum Son, I. Sabel Sons, M. Schulten Co., John J. Schildt Sons, C. Schulz Co., Jacob Security Bank Smith's Son, Gran W. Snead Architectural Iron Works Standard Sanitary M1anu- facturing Co. Stewart Dry Goods Co. Stier Son, J. T. Stratton Terstegge Straus Sons Co., Herman Stueky-Quest Co. Swann-Abram Hat Co. 'rimberlake Trueheart Thornton Co., R. J. Todd, Olive G. Verhoeff Co., H. Vissman Co., C. F. Walsh, P. F. Walton Son, C. J. Waters-Garland Co. Weber's Sons, Jacob Wedekind Co., H. Weir Sheet Metal Works White Co., John Will Co., J. P. Zoll Son, J. Zubrod Co., Geo. Louisville Fifty Years Ago A Brief History of B. F. Avery Sons THE story of the progress of civilization is the story of the development of the plow. One might write the industrial history of America in writing the history of the plow. The history of B. F. Avery Sons is largely a history of the industrial progress of Louisville. Benjamin Franklin Avery was born in Aurora, New York, in 1801; started a plow factory in Clarksville, Va., with 400.00 capital, in 1825. Located in Louisville, Ky., in 1845, at Preston Main Streets, as B. F. B. H. Avery. Removed to Fifteenth Main Streets about 1850, under style Benjamin F. Avery. Later admitted his three sons into partnership as B. F. Avery Sons. The business was incorporated under the same name in 1877, and has continued under that name ever since as a corporation. From 1825 until 1911, when George C. Avery, last surviving son of B. F. Avery, died, the business had been continuously and uninterruptedly under the management of the founder or one of his sons, a period of 86 years in which the parent, or one of his sons, was at the head of the business. The old plant at Fifteenth Main Streets, after occupying all available ground in that vicinity, could not accommodate the growing business, hence in 1909-1910 an entirely new and greatly enlarged plant was built at Seventh Mix Avenue. This plant was recently enlarged to accommodate the expanding business, including the addition of the Champion Lines of Harvesting and Haying Machinery. The Designing Department, along with all other departments of the business, has always been progressive, so that from the one-horse cast iron plow, on which the business was founded, there have been added chilled iron and steel plows and com- plete lines of tillage implements, including harrows, planters, cultivators, and prac- tically all implements for tilling the soil and harvesting the crop, suited to the varying demands of every farming district on the globe. The factory and grounds occupy 57 acres, and in normal seasons employ nearly 1,000 operatives. Branch distributing warehouses are maintained in a number of agricultural sec- tions in this and foreign countries and the selling and warehouse forces thus em- ployed represent several hundred additional people. The Avery plows, tillage and harvesting implements are well known and popular with farmers and dealers in every part of the United States and elsewhere over the globe, and it may truthfully be said that the sun never sets on Avery plows and other agricultural implements made in Louisville. The officers of the Company, and indeed the entire staff of employees, are look- ing to 1925 with pleasant anticipations of participating in the memorable celebra- tion of the Centennial Anniversary of B. F. Avery Sons. Louisville Fifty Years Ago Seventy-eight Years in Business Under the Same Name TITHEN Jerry Bacon, Sr-, the founder AI Wof the present firm of J. Bacon WV Sons, started upon his career, he literally carried his business on his should- ers. His stock of goods was contained in a pack, while his show counter was any- where that a customer asked for a display. _.,,, A OS His first store, a modest building of two stories and attic was situated on Market, T i rew byleasand between Preston and Jackson Streets, and was opened in 1845. From that year, J. Bacon Sons date their existence, but reckoned from the day when the senior rad asoie member of the firm first ventured forth his smaltoexpnddntalagedrwith his pack, the age of the business might a ' gra dprtet tre t h dah ftbe set down as ninety-five years, for Jere- miah Bacon had been trading for seventeen years before he became established as a storekeeper. The business grew by leaps and bounds; hotest goods, honest trading princi- pies and honest profits made it grow, while enterprise did the rest. In a quarter of a century it had become the greatest store in the eastern part of the city. Jeremiah had associated with him in the firm, John, Edwin and Jerry, Jr., his three sons, as his small store expanded into a large dry goods business, destined later to become a great department store. At the death of the senior member, John Bacon, the old- est of the three brothers, succeeded his father in the assumption of the management of the firm's affairs. Through his keen judgment and foresight the business in creased so rapidly that before many years, a larger and more modern building was demanded, so that in 1901, the present store on Market Street near Fourth Street was opened. A few years later the Fourth Street Annex was added and in a few months the front on this main thoroughfa :e will be made almost as imposing as the main front on Market Street, since the ne 2essary property has been acquired and the plans for the enlargement have been completed. At the head of this establishment now stands Andrew H. Morris, who was employed in the old east Market Street store as a cash boy, more than thirty T years ago, and who has reached the top by un- remitting application and unflagging devotion to duty. The principles and methods of business that formed the corner stone upon which Jeremiah Ba- con so solidly built have remained the same to this day. 9 Louisville Fifty Years Ago An Unusual Record In The Insurance Field T HE insurance firm of Barbee Castleman was established fifty-six years ago when in 1867 John Barbee, who had been a successful distiller and mayor of Louisville, formed a partnership with his son-in-law, the late John Breckin- ridge Castleman, then just returned from service in the Confederate army after two years' exile in Europe. The first location of the firm was at No. 504 West Main Street. The firm at once became prominent and successful and before the consolidation of departments in a few sectional centers represented two great British companies as general agents in the South. Mr. Barbee died in 1888 and shortly afterward Arthur GE. Langham, office manager, was admitted to the firm without changing the title. James B. Smith Enters Firm. Without other change the personnel continued fourteen years until 1902 when James B. Smith, long connected with the firm, and who succeeded Mr. Langham as office manager, was admitted a member. Mr. Langham died from injuries received in a fireworks explosion July 4, 1909, and Gen. Castleman died May 23, 1918. His interest in the firm was assumed and con- tinued by Mrs. Castleman and yet remains, Mr. Smith succeeding to the active man- agement. In the meantime Austin Ballard had been admitted to membership Jan- uary 1, 1916. Still in the Family. The present firm consists, therefore, of Mrs. John B. Castleman, James B. Smith and Austin Ballard. The element of permanency in family and personal interest is represented by Mrs. Alice Barbee Castleman who as the daughter of John Barbee and widow of Gen. Castleman continues the original firm name, and by Mr. Smith who began his business career as an employe of the firm. It is an interesting incident of the Board of Trade history to quote its present sec- retary, William E. Morrow, who remembers Gen. Castleman telling him that he pre- sided over the reorganization meeting of the Board of Trade in 1878 when the present body was placed upon a footing of strength and influence. That meeting was held in the old Masonic Temple Theatre, Fourth and Jefferson, the site of the present Marion E. Taylor building. Since its first organization at No. 504 West Main Street, the firm had offices successively at the S. E. Corner of Main and Sixth, at No. 502 West Main, in the Co- lumbia Building, and at its present location, No. 434 West Main St. 10 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Almost A Hundred Years Selling Crockery WAS in the troublous days of John Quincy Adams, when the voice of Henry Clay of Kentucky, the Great Pacificator, rang through the halls of Congress, that a modest business was opened in Louisville that was destined nearly one hundred years later to be one of the largest institutions of its kind in the country. It was in 1827 that the firm, which is now known as Bayless Bros. Co., 700- 706 and 800-810 West Main Streets, was founded under the name of Cassedy Raney, importers and jobbers of china and glassware. It continued thus until 1871 when the concern was succeeded by McCarthy and Bayless, and in 1901 the firm was incor- porated under the name of Bayless Bros. Co. From the date of its incorporation in 1901 with George Bayless as president, the company has grown by leaps and bounds until it is now one of the largest im- porting and jobbing houses in the country dealing in chinaware, crockery, glassware. enamel ware, aluminum ware and holiday goods of every description. The American Doll Co. In 1917, under the name of the American Doll Company, Bayless Bros. Co. opened up one of the largest doll factories in the United States, doing a national business in dolls which are of unbreakable construction, of all sizes and styles and complete in every respect. The lines include the famous "Mamma" talking doll. In 1922 the doll output was the largest since the oranization of the company. The present officers are: President, J. L. Bayless; Secretary-Treasurer, J. M. Owen, and General Manager S. H. Brinton. 11 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Pipe Company Grows From Local Man's Invention HE P. Bannon Pipe Company, one of the oldest vitrified clay manufacturers in the United States, still bears the name of its founder. Seventy-oneyears ago the originator of P. Bannon Pipe Company, then in the ornamental plastering business, discovered that something more durable than plaster was needed in the manufacture of exterior window caps and cornices. By the proper mixing of various clays this was accomplished. It has led to the manufacture of sewer pipe which was an ancient material and to hollow building tile, the mod- ern building material-together with development of its uses-have increased our capacity until it has two of the largest plants located in this section of the country. The sewer pipe plant located at Thirteenth and Breckin- NON, ridge Streets stands on the same site where it was en ' founded which at that time was the outskirts of the city. Present pi" Plant. 12 PAT BAN rounds Louisville Fifty Years Three Belknap Executives in Eighty-three Years B. BELKNAP, 1840 to 1860; W. B. Belknap Company, 1860 to 1880; W. B. lWl] Belknap Company, Incorporated, 1880 to 1904 and the Belknap Hardware Manufacturing Company, 1904 to 1923, has had three executives. The first of these, Mr. Wm. Burke Belknap, was the son of Dr. Belknap of Pitts- burgh and started in business under his own name in 1840 as a very young man. He was also interested in blast furnaces on the Tennessee River at about the time that he started this business. The business was organized as a corporation in 1880 and its first President was William Richardson Belknap, who continued to act as its President until 1910. Since 1910 the President and chief executive has been William Heyburn, who came to the Company from Pittsburgh as Managing Buyer in 1886. The business was originally started in a building at the northeast corner of Third and Main. This building was demolished and replaced by a new structure- now an old building-many years ago. During the period of the Civil War, William Burke Belknap owned and resided in the house now occupied by the Pendennis Club. During the early history of the business a large proportion of the incoming and outgoing shipments were by river. There was associated with William Burke Belknap for many years his brother, Morris Belknap and for many years during the administration of William R. Belknap, his brother-in-law, Major C. J. F. Allen and Colonel Morris B. Belknap were officers of the Company. The present Officers and Directors are largely men who have grown up with the business and have been with it for many years. The business originally was done along the inland waterways, including the Mis- sissippi River, Kentucky River, Salt River, Green River, Cumberland River, Ten- nessee River, White River, Arkansas and other river connections in the South. Since the development of the railroads and the establishment of Louisville as a great railroad and industrial and commercial center, the business has extended East as far as Delaware Bay, North to the Takes, West to the Rio Grande and over the entire South. The present traveling force consists of 215 men and the total number of em- ployees is between 1,500 and 2,000. The lines originally carried consisted largely of heavy products, such as bar iron, plates, horse shoes and goods of this general character, but the present lines of the Company have been enlarged to include supplies for agriculture, manufactur- ing, mining, transportation and household purposes, except wearing apparel and food products. 18 Ago Louisville Fifty Years Ago Making Cigars In Louisville Fifty Years Ago HIS company, having been established in 1868, is now in its 55th year of continu- T ous service to the cigar and tobacco trade of Louisville and vicinity. The concern is the outgrowth of the life work of the late Mr. C. C. Bickel, who was recognized as one of the best judges of tobacco in this section and who de- veloped and perfected brands of cigars which have given the C. C. Bickel Company its standing throughout the country as dealers in high-grade goods. For a number of years Mr. Bickel and his associates spent their energies in developing fine cigars, and the re- sults of their work are to-day recognized in the famous brands of FILSON CLUB, HENRY WATTERSON, CHES- TERFIELD and DANIEL BOONE. The fact that the Dan- iel Boone cigar has been on the market for 54 years, Filson Club and Chesterfield, 32 years, and Henry Watterson 14 years, proves the quality of the goods. All of these brands are still being manufactured by this company and enjoy a distribution to all parts of the United States. Also in the Jobbing Business. In later years the company entered the jobbing busi- ness as wholesale distributors not only of its own product, but also supplying the demand for all brands of cigarettes C. O. BICKEL and tobaccos required in this section. The company is a Louisville institution in every respect, employing approxi- mately 120 people, all living here and spending their money on the Louisville market. The foreman of the Bickel factory, Mr. Al. Burger spent 22 years under the in- struction of Mr. Bickel, and has since remained in charge of this department with 27 years' experience. Mr. Burger is looked upon as an expert in the selection of high grade tobaccos. Many of the employees of this firm heave been with them from 30 to 40 years. Still in the Family. Two members of Mr. Bickel's family remain actively connected with the busi- ness as now operated, viz.: Mr. Virgil R. Bickel, Vice President of the Company and Mr. B. Everest Nofsinger, Head of the City Sales Department. Present officers of the Company-L. M. Render, President, V. R. Bickel, Vice President and J. P. Coleman, Secretary-Treasurer. 14 A go. Louisville Fifty Years Ago Cabinetmakers to Three Generations ii whi h GustaA Bittner estahlshed the bust ness wtich bears his namoe, just l it appeared siy-ninoe years ago, and still part of the plant of Gt. Bittuer's Sons GUSTAV BITTN WILLIAM C. BTR, 'who fonded the busnes Now Presdent axd Sxty-n e years ago General Manager. H ALF a century ago saw Gustav Bittner well established as foremost among H the cabinet makers of Louisville. At the head of a commodious and well- manned shop, he was doing a flourishing business in the prosperous period which came to Louisville after the war between the States. Nineteen years before, he had hung out his "shingle," still to be seen in its original position on the old building at 415 Brook Street, formerly known as "East." From the very outset, Mr. Bittner insisted on the very highest quality of ma- terials and workmanship-standards whieh have been made part and parcel of the operations of the firm and which account for its steady growth and the pre-emi- nence of Bittner Furniture today. Old ledgers in possession of the company read like a "Blue Book" of the days before the war, for the private customers of the house were the first families of the city and section. Their children and their children's children continue to rely on Bittner's for their home furnishings and interior decorations. The large new work shop of G. Bittner's Sons was completed and occupied nearly fifteen years ago, offices at 427 First Street. Hand work, as always, is the rule. William C. Bittner succeeded his father, after the latter's death in 1895, to the office of President and General Manager. John Berghaus, who entered the busi- ness in 1872, is vice-president; Joseph 73ittner, nephew of the founder, secretary. 16 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Blatz Company, 57 Years Old THE Blatz Company's business was started in 1868 by Valentine Blatz, father of Herman and Charles A. Blatz. In the year 1870 he formed a partnership with John H. Bates. They bought out Carl C. Brenner and the firm continued under the name of Bates Blatz, at 223 W. Market Street until 1881, when the partnership was dissolved and the business was continued until 1886 by Valentine Blatz. After the death of their father the business was continued by the sons, Herman Charles A. Blatz, under the name of Val. Blatz' Sons. In 1890 the business was moved from Market Street to 213 W. Main Street and in 1902 the business was incorporated under the name of Val. Blatz Paint Varnish Co., with factory at 319 S. Shelby Street. In 1905 office and salesroom were consolidated at place of business on Shelby Street. In 1918 the articles of incorporation were amended changing the name of Val. Blatz Paint Varnish Co. to The Blatz Co., Inc. The present officers of the Company are: Herman Blatz, President Treasurer, Charles A. Blatz, Vice President Secretary, C. G. Luckett, Assistant Secretary, Ethel Kraft, Assistant Treasurer. Charles V. Blatz, Second Vice President. 16 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Blum Bros. Written by Mr. Solomon Blum, just prior to his death, which occurred February 13, 1923. N February 11, 1866, my brother and I opened our business on Market Street, 0 between Fourth and Fifth, under the name of Blum Bros. Co., later changing the name to Blum Bros. Our stock consisted of high grade laces, trimmings and thousands of novelty items then known as "fancy goods." After eleven years we removed to what was then a modern building on Fourth Street, between Market and Jefferson, erected for us by Mr. R. A. Robinson. In this location the firm remained for nearly thirty-nine years. After moving to Fourth Street, we added a wholesale department, from which we distributed goods throughout the South and I Middle West, shipping as far as Florida and Texas. In 1897, Mr. Joseph Blum, my brother died, at which time my son, Jacob J. Blum, entered the business. In 1915, 4 0 \ ;0:having been in business continuously for forty-nine years, I I 2 ;t- sold the business to the firm of Blum Bros. Hilder, Mr. E. Hilder coming from New York City to take a partnership with my son. Mr. Hilder, though a young man, died in 1919, after which the house incorporated. with J. J. Blum as President, and Wilbur I. Florsheim, of Chicago and Nashville, as Secre- SOLOMON BLUM. tary-Treasurer. They both insisted that I take the Vice Pres- idency, which I accepted. The new organization removed to the wholesale district, 631 West Main Street in 1915, where it has since remained. I am not ashamed to say that our house was always noted for the excellence of its goods, for fair treatment to all and for the general high opinion bestowed on it by all who had any kind of dealings with us. I have lived in Louisville for fifty-seven years and am glad to say that the house I established still sustains its standards in all respects. 17 Louisville Fifty Years Ago The Semi Centennial of H. Bosse Son HIS institution was established in 1865 by Henry Bosse, Sr. and his brother, Joseph Bosse, father and uncle, respectively of Henry Bosse, Jr., the present owner. Both were cabinet-makers by trade and as was the custom of those days, made coffins by hand. They were also engaged in the retail furniture business-un- dertaking and furniture dealing having always been to a certain extent, related. This arrangement is still prevalent in most of the smaller towns. In 1863 and 1864, prior to actually engaging in the undertaking business, the two founders, named above, made coffins for the Government for the burial of soldiers who were brought to Louisville suffering from disease contracted, or wounds received in the Civil War, and died at the United States Marine Hospital, which still stands at 22d and High Streets. The methods used in burying the dead during the ear]y career of the institution were very crude. This was before the art of embalming came into use, so no efforts were made to disinfect and preserve the remains. All that was required was the making of the coffin and directing the funeral. In many cases, friends or relatives of the deceased took charge of the burial but this practice soon became obsolete and is now prohibited by a state law which provides that only a licensed undertaker may perform such duties. The little attention required of undertakers in those early days is in sharp con- trast to the many and varied duties of the modern funeral director who thoroughly disinfects and preserves the remains in a presentable condition, making it possible to ship the remains to any part of the world, if desired. He handles a complete line of caskets, garments and other supplies, furnishes high-grade motor funeral equip- ment, provides beautiful funeral parlors or chapels for the use of his patrons and relieves the relatives and friends of looking after the many little details connected with a funeral of today-all of which requires much expensive equipment and a good deal of time. An interesting and gratifying fact revealed in comparing the records of burials during the early days of the house and of recent years, is the decrease in the death rate among children and the reduction in the number of deaths from contagious dis- eases. This, of course, has been brought to public attention by the Vital Statistics Department of our Board of Health and the funeral directing profession takes pride in being recognized as having greatly aided the medical profession and other health agencies in promoting sanitary science by the scientific, sanitary care and disposal of the human dead. It has been the privilege and delight of the present owner of this business house to see our city grow to its present proportions and beauty and it is easy to recall when sections that are now composed of closely built-up residence streets seemed far out in the country. The institution has kept pace with this line of progress by changing its location in January, 1920, from 510 Fehr Avenue, where the business was established, to its present modern commodious establishment, known as The Bosse Funeral Home, on East Broadway at Hancock Street. Mr. Bosse's son, Robert G. Bosse, is now associated with him, and in addition, a staff of capable, trained as- sistants is employed. 18 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Ninety YearsI in Service ,TANE B3RIDAL a. s3DAIN GREWS T HIS firm was established by Peter Bradas in 1833 and continued until his death in 1881, when Mr. James Bradas took charge. In 1899, C. Edwin Gheens be- came associated with him under the name of Bradas Gheens. In 1920 Mr. James Bradas retired. However, the business is continued today under the same principles and name. MODERN PLANT AT 817-827 FLOYD STREET In 1840 the firm began the manufacture of cough drops out of a formula brought to this country by the famous singer, Jennie Lind, and has continued manufacturing this cough drop until today. In 1914 the firn began manufacturing chocolates from the chocolate bean-they being the only concern in this section to import chocolate beans and manufacture milk chocolate. Many of their employees have been associated with them for more than a quarter of a century, which fact has assisted in retaining the highest standard of quality for which their candies are noted. The Bradas Gheens factory today covers an area of more than Xt three and a quarter acres, making A NIGHTINGALE CHoCOLATES ANDI ANCHOR BRAND CANDIES H the same brands for ninety years. PLANT IN 1881 19 Louisville Fifty Years Ago The Bradley Gilbert Company Now 70 Years Old THE Bradley Gilbert Company's business is approximately seventy years old, 1 being originally established by James C. Gilbert and Thomas Bradley. The first plant was on Market Street where it remained approximately ten years. From there, on account of growth of business, it moved to the Northwest corner of Third Green Streets, where it remained practically fifty years. Again on account of growth, it moved to the present address on Seventh Street, into a modern factory building, built and owned by the Company. At present, on account of growth, it is necessary to build an addition, fronting sixty-five feet, adjoining the present factory building. JAMES C. GLNBIET, Founder The years 1920 and 1922 were the most prosperous in the history of the firm. At present the firm has 119 on the pay roll; ninety-three of whom have been with this firm ten years or over. The principal articles manufactured are record books of all kinds, for county and circuit clerks, bank ledgers and supplies, railroad printing of all kinds; set-up and folding paper boxes including railroad file boxes. The present officers of the Company are: E. G. Hamilton, President; A. L. Hamilton, Treasurer and Manager. 20 Louisville Fifty Years Ago 1849-The Bradstreet Company- 1923 HE oldest of its kind as well as the leader. The Bradstreet Company was founded by J. M. Bradstreet who operated for a number of years as J. M. Bradstreet Son, later incorporating under the style of The Bradstreet Com- pany. The Bradstreet Company investigates the financial condition and credit stand- ing of individuals, firms and corporations engaged in mercantile business. Estab- lished in 1849, its facilities have been steadily augmented and its organization ex- tended on this and other continents, with the result that it is now able to and does furnish information concerning mercantile persons throughout the civilized world. The Bradstreet service is available only to subscribers of acknowledged stand- ing and respectability, and on terms and conditions made known on application by letter or in person at any of the Company's offices. Subscriptions will not be solicited or accepted from those who are engaged in doubtful or irregular enterprises, or whose records give evidence even of a dis- position to disregard correct business methods or recognized standards of commer- cial honor. The Company's Executive Offices are at 346 and 348 Broadway, New York City. Its Louisville Office occupies the third floor of the Todd Building at Fourth and Market Streets, and James Edwin Pearson, Jr., is their Kentucky Representa- tive. 21 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Eighty-four Years in Business BRINLY-HARDY Company was founded in 1839 by Mr. Thomas E. C. Brinly at Simpsonville, Ky. Mr. Brinly's father was also a plow maker and black- smith, and -we have in our possession a plow that was made by him in the latter part of the 18th Century or early in the 19th Century. This plow was owned and used by Isaac Shelby, the first Governor of Kentucky, who became Governor in June, 1792, and was again elected in 1812. Our Mr. Brinly manufactured plows at Simpsonville until 1859. At that time he furnished nearly his entire output to W. B. Belknap Company of this city, from whom he purchased his steel and other materials. It was not an un- common thing for Mr. Brinly to walk from Simpsonville to Louisville, and the method employed in doing business in those days, was for him to send in a wagon load of plows, and haul back a wagon load of material, being promptly paid for all finished plows as delivered. The first plow factory established by Mr. Brinly in Louisville, was on the site of the present Armour Company stable on Main St., between Brook and Floyd. This plant was purchased by Mr. Morris Belknap of the firm of W. B. Belknap Company, and Mr. Brinly was induced to come down to Louisville to occupy same, and through the kindness of the Belknaps he was given terms of payment whielk he readily accepted. Later the plant was moved to the block above, and t present factory, office and warehouses, occupy more than half the block on Mfi Street between Preston and Floyd. In early days the firm here in Louisville was known as Brinly-Dodge Com- pany, afterwards, Brinly-Dodge Hardy, and later as Brinly-Miles Hardy. This last partnership was incorporated in 1879 and again in 1900 under the present name. The Brinly Line of Steel Plows and Cultivating Implements is known through- out the South, and the name "BRINLY" is familiar to every grower of cotton. Mr. T. E. C. Brinly, during his active career received over 800 premiums in various Expositions, State and County Fairs where competition was usually met in actual field tests. He never was defeated in a field trial, and Brinly Plows have always been manufactured with the idea of living up to the old Brinly tradition of building the best and most economical steel plow on the American market. Fifty years ago the personnel of the then existing partnership was composed of T. E. C. Brinly, A. D. Miles and James Edward Hardy all of whom were well- known citizens of Louisville, and interested in the welfare of the city and state. Mr. Brinly died in 1902 at the age of 80. Mr. Miles sold his interests about 1900 and removed to Massachusetts where he died some few years later at the age of 96. Mr. Hardy, the junior member of the old firm passed away March 16, 1922, in his 88th year. The present officers of the Company are, Wm. B. Hardy, Presi- dent, J. A. Mathews, Secy. Treas., and J. E. Hardy, (grandson of J. E. Hardy, Sr.) Superintendent of the factory. Louisville Fifty Years Ago Making Excelsior for Half a Century FIFTY-EIGHT years ago, in 1865, Thomas C. Caummisar, Sr., started making brooms in a stable at Hancock and Walnut. The town and business were both small and delivery was made by Mr. Caummisar by carrying one or two doz- en brooms on his shoulder. Five years later, in order to accommodate the growing business, the factory was moved to larger quarters at Bullitt and the river. The Excelsior factory was started in 1872 at Broadway and Logan Streets, and continued there for eight years, when a move was made necessary in 1880 to take care of the increased business. It was decided this time to move quite a distance out, in order to have plenty room to grow, accordingly quarters were obtained far from the heart of town, clear out in the "woods" at Third and Breckinridge Streets. The factory remained here, however, only two years and the next location selected was still farther from town, on the Eighteenth Street Road, known as River View on the Illinois Central Railroad. For the next two succeeding years, the business grew and prospered in this lo- cation and everything was satisfactory until the flood of 1884 washed the whole plant away. Then a factory was built at 20th and Griffith Ave., just south of Bank Street where they remained for eight years. A Moving Tale. The story of the Thomas C. Caummisar is surely a moving tale. A fire de- stroyed the plant at 20th and Griffith Ave. in 1892 and necessitated another move. Fourth Street just behind the Columbia Building, when Fourth Street had only wooden sidewalks, was the next choice. In 1901, Thomas C. Caummisar took his sons into partnership and the firm name was changed to Thomas C. Caummisar Sons, and a new location was found on Third Street near the river. The company is doing a flourishing business in the manufacture of excelsior and excelsior pads, for all kinds of packing and shipping from furniture to eggs. The Thomas C. Caummisar Co., in its fifty-eight years of existence, has wit- nessed many changes in the manner of doing business in Louisville. The Excelsior factory that made its first delivery by means of the old time ox teams, four ox teams taking care of the shipments, now makes deliveries in ten ton trucks. The business that began in a stable at Hancock and Walnut in 1865, is now housed in six large buildings on five acres of ground on the Illinois Central Rail- road, and operates twenty machines for making excelsior. Louisville Fifty Years Ago A Fifty-three Year Record THE Caron Directory Company deals with names, occu- I pations, residences, businesses, streets and numbers- accurate statistics of a city-absolutely correct from year to year. Little did Mr. Chas. K. Caron anticipate that his directory, small as it was in the beginning, would ever be the indispensable volume that it is today. The first Caron Louisville Directory was issued in 1871, and published at 104 West Green street, in the building shown below, which is still standing, and now known as 316 West Liberty street. At that time the population of Louisville was about 75,000. l l h e The last directory published shows a population of about 275,000. C. K. Caron died March 5, 1903. The present Caron Directory Company was organized and incorporated in 1903 by Stephen D. Smith, who had long been associated with Mr. Caron, Chas. L. Caron and L. S. Caron, sons of Mr. Caron. The first officers were: S. D. Smith, President; C. L. Caron, Vice-President; L. S. Caron, Secretary and Treasurer. This same organization continues today, which accounts for the success of the company. Louisville is not the only city that is served by the Caron Directory Company. This com- pany publishes, from its own plant in this city, directories for the following cities: Paducah, Frank- fort, Hopkinsville, Winchester, Henderson, and Maysville, Kentucky; New Albany, Jeffersonville, Anderson, Bloomington, Columbus, Hammond, Princeton, Crawfordsville, Seymour, Michigan City and Connersville, Indiana, and Xenia, Ohio. The Present Location of the Caron Plant. The Caron Directory Co. plant is now located at 127 South Third Street. Naturally the publishing of directories requires a tremendous amount of ac- curate type composition. For that reason the Caron people make a specialty of linotype composition, which branch of the business has grown to sufficient importance to develop considerable trade composi- tion for other publishers, such as catalogs, news- papers, magazines, briefs, etc. 24 Louisville Fifty Years Ago 25 i i I i I I I An Louisville Fifty Years Ago The Chambers Seed Company, Inc. Continuously In The Seed Business Since 1872 UR AMr. Samuel R. Chambers, Sr., began this business in July, 1872; the firm at ) that time was composed of John R. Watts, now deceased, and Samuel R. Cham- bers under the firm name of Watts Chambers, this style was continued until 1879; thenI Mr. Chambers bought out the interest of Mr. Watts and continued under the style of Samuel R. Chambers until 1891; when a consolidation was affected between the old firm of Lewis Hanford (Mr. Hanford having died), the new firm began business under the style of Lewis Chambers and continued under that name until August 1918, when that firm was dissolved. Mr. Chambers and his son formed the present Chambers Seed Company, which is located in a four story, stone front building of their own, on the southeast corner of First and Main streets and they are giving their -iz Godwhole time and attention to the grass seed trade. They have installed in their building the most com- plete equipment for cleaning and handling seeds that the city of Louisville has ever seen. Our slogan is, "First in quality, First in price, First in service, First and Main Streets," as we think this fits the case exactly. During the whole fifty years of business we have never had a "fire or failure" and we are I "touching wood" right now. We take great pleasure in the fact that we are now selling any number of people who are the grand children of some of our former customers. 28 Louisville Fifty Years Ago 1871-And Early Struggles to Popularize Tailor-made Clothes T HE firm of M. Cohen Sons, "Louisville's Largest Tailors," was established 1 over fifty years ago by the late Morris Cohen, when Louisville was in its in- fancy. His first location, 306 W. Market Street, which is four doors below that of the present, was commodious at the low monthly rental of 35.00. But business lagged as the talior-made suit in those days was classed as a luxury. This neces- sitated his moving into cheaper quarters. He then located at Sixth and Jefferson streets, opposite the present City Hall. The business soon outgrew this space and he was compelled to seek larger (quart- ers, finding what he thought would be a suitable location for many years at 1010 W. Market Street. The stupendous growth of his business continued for eleven years, from 1879 to 1890, when the cyclone of March 27, destroyed prac- tically every bullding in this section. 'Mr. Cohen was not discouraged, how- ever, and the following theyr he erected a new structure next door to the southwest corner of Tenth Market Srehipretlain dmdmnbuand Market streets, there ___irstore wslsdso ofhmseuuhe was far more success- with widwdsful and took into partner- The r hship his two elder sons, forming the firm of ir Cohen Sons. With the city's growt a they took the lead in the ors10 tailoring field and changed their location as business demanded, moving to 602-604 W. Market Street, where they remained until the con- solidation of the Western National Bank and the Commercial Bank and Trust Comn- pany. At this time the firmn purchased the lease at the southwest corner of Third and Market Street, their present location, and made many building improvements until their store was classed as one of the most beautiful of its kind in the entire South, with window displays of compelling attraction. The phenomenal growth of the concern permitted the two younger sons to be ad- mitted into the firm in 1908 and the father retired from active business. Today they are not only known as "Louisville's Largest Tailors" but conduct a large wholesale department, which furnishes merchandise to many of the leading tail- ors throughout the South. 27 Louisville Fifty Years Ago From a "Cabin of Coin" to a "Cathedral of Commerce'' HE Citizens Union National Bank is in its sixtieth year. It dates back to December 11, 1863, when the old Citizens Bank was brought into Louisville's financial, commercial and industrial life by an act of the General Assem- bly of Kentucky. The original stockholders were: R. Atkinson, C. Ripley, A. Rawson, G. H. Cochran, Z. M. Sherley, W. F. Barrett, John B. Smith, J. G. Barret, and W. B. Belknap. On the very day that 1863 passed into history-tragic with the strife between the states of the North and South-the Citizens Bank opened for business in the building that still stands at the North-east corner of Bullitt and Main Streets, and for a period of a half century and a half decade it there performed every function of progressively conservative banking, growing with the community, ful- filling the need of the hour. W. B. Belknap First President. The first officers of the Citizens Bank were: W. B. Belknap, president; W. F. Barrett, secre- tary; John G. Barret, cashier; with Messrs. Belknap, Sherley, Rawson and Ripley as direc- tors. The following employes constituted the original office force: R. H. Courtney, teller; B. L. McDougall, bookkeeper; A. L. Parsons, as- sistant bookkeeper and Thomas J. Wood, mes- senger-clerk. The Citizens Bank became a national in- stitution July 15, 1874, the name being changed to Citizens National Bank, and on November 21, 1875, it became a member of the Louisville Clearing House Association. Union National Begins Business. On October 2, 1889, the Union National Bank was organized with the following direc- tors: George W. Swearingen, Edward H. Conn, William P. Otter, Rudolph F. Balke, Benjamin p Wood, Joseph T. O'Neal, Sebastian Zorn, John A. Stratton, William T. Grant, John Doerhoe- fer, Charles G. Strater, Frederick Hertz and John G. Roach; Mr. Swearingen being elected president; Mr. Otter, vice-president, and Mr. Conn, cashier. The personnel of the first office force was: W. P. Frederick, teller; R. J. McCorkle, general bookkeeper, and E. R. Bates, individual bookkeeper. For 24 years the Union National Bank occupied the building at the Southeast a8 Louisville Fifty Years Ago corner of Sixth and Main Streets, moving to the first floor of the Inter-Southern Building, at the Northeast corner of Fifth and Jefferson Streets, October 14, 1913; the new home, with its massive marble columns and modern fixtures and mural decorations, then being Louisville's most artistic banking office. Merger of the Banks. The Citizens National Bank and the Union National Bank were merged Octo- ber 28, 1918, and January 2, 1919, dawned on a complete consolidation of the oper- ating forces and equipment in the quarters at Fifth and Jefferson-occupying both the first and the mezzanine floors of the Inter-Southern's original building. One month later-February 1, 1919-an affiliation between the Citizens Union National Bank and the Fidelity and Columbia Trust Company was effected. Im- mediately thereafter a contract was made with the Inter-Southern Life Insur- ance Company for enlarged quarters, resulting in the erection of an addition to the Fifth and Jefferson "sky-scraper," and the construction of a banking and trust company home conceded to be the most attractive in the entire country. The New Home Occupied. May 29, 1922, the Citizens Union National Bank moved into the new quarters, the vacated banking room being turned over to contractors for remodelling to con- form with the new. This work was finished early in October, 1922, and on the 9th of that month the Fidelity and Columbia Trust Company moved from the Colum- bia Building-Louisville's first big office structure-to the Inter-Southern Build- ing-Louisville's tallest office structure-joining forces, fortunes and future in phys- ical form with the Citizens Union National Bank-giving to the community "Com- plete Financial Service" within one magnificent, modern, capable, courteous office -a sturdy oak, whose roots, trunk and branches now spread over 49,000 square feet of floor space, grown from the modest acorn of near three score years ago at Bullitt and Main. Organizes Other Institutions. One limb of this Giant Financial Oak is "The Fourth Street Bank," in the Speed Building, south of Walnut, nearly opposite the Seelbach Hotel-with the strength of all the millions of resources and the efficiency of all the management of the Cit- izens Union National Bank rendering service to its every fibre. Organized in Au- gust, 1919, with 150,000 of capital in recognition of the need of a great retail district, it has become one of the chief factors in Fourth Street business life, un- til today, as the Fourth Street office of the Citizens Union National Bank, it has deposits in excess of 3,000,000. Two other limbs of this mighty Citizens Union-Fidelity and Columbia Oak are Joint Stock Land Banks-the "Louisville" serving with long-term loans the farmers of Kentucky and Indiana; the "Union" performing a similar service for the farmers in Kentucky and Tennessee. Thus a quarter of a million dollars in subscribed capital in '63 has grown ap- proximately to fifty million dollars in resources in '23. Louisville Fifty Years Ago A National Newspaper Since 1868 THE Courier-Journal, a national newspaper, came into existence November 8, 1868, through merger of the Louisville Daily Journal, established in 1830; the Louisville Daily Democrat, established in 1843, and the Louisville Daily Courier, established in 1844. The Journal, had, in 1832, absorbed the Focus, founded in 1826. As The Courier-Journal, that publication has added nearly five years to its golden anniversary. Its heritage of years dating from the Focus entitles it in 1926 to cele- brate its centennial. In its life the paper has occupied three buildings, the first at 110-112 Jefferson Street between Third and Fourth Streets. Although the Jefferson Street building, completed and occupied in 1869, was considered ample for future needs of the paper, property at the southeast corner of Fourth and Liberty Streets, then Fourth and Green, was purchased in 1874, and formal opening of the new Courier-Journal Build- ing was celebrated May 17,1876. Pres- ent quarters at Third and Liberty streets were occupied November 17, George D. Prentice established and issued the Louisville Daily Journal, November 24, 1830, in conjunction with A. S. Buxton, a Cincinnati printer. The appearance of the paper was greeted enthusiastically by its party, the National Republicans. andK________ WALTER N. HALDE3MANi in fewer than four weeks it became HENRY WATTEBSON circulated widely in city and state. The Louisville Focus. The Louisville Focus soon was acquired by the Journal, which assumed the name of the Journal and Focus, operating one year thus before resuming the orig- inal title. Beause of reverses in fortune early in 1868 an entire change in organi- zation and administration became necessary and a sufficient amount of stock was sold to Henry Watterson, to make him one-third owner. Mr. Watterson became business and editorial manager in May, 1868. In its early history the Louisville Courier passed through several "name" stages, appearing first, March 11, 1843, as the Daily Dime, which was published by a printers' association. The paper was not a success and on February 12, 1844, it came into the hands of Mr. Haldeman, who continued it under the same name until June 3 of that year, when it appeared as the Morning Courier. Between January, 1852, and June, 1854, Mr. Haldeman twice sold part interest in the plant, only to re-purchase. Three years later one-half interest was sold, pur- Louisville Fifty Years Ago chased subsequently by Walter G. Overton, when a corporation, the "Louisville Courier Printing Company," was organized, September, 1859. This arrangement continued until suppression of the Courier and seizure of its offices, September 18, 1861, by Glen. Robert Anderson. Mr. Haldeman went to Bowl- ing Green, where Gen. Albert Sidney Johnston and Gen. S. B. Buckner requested publication be resumed. Col. Robert McKee, who had been in chief editorial charge before the seizure, established offices as associate editor at Bowling Green, and the first issue appeared October 4 of the same year. It followed the fortunes and the armies of the Confederacy until after their sur- render, whereupon Mr. Haldeman returned to Louisville and resumed publication of the Courier, December 4, 1865. Within a year's time the paper's financial basis was established. The night of November 7, 1868, the mechanical fixtures on the Courier were moved to the Journal Building, an editorial corps was organized from the two offices and the following morning the first issue of The Courier-Journal appeared. The Democrat was bought at the same time, the 50,000.00 purchase price hav- ing been paid to get exclusive telegraphic news rights in this territory. During the subsequent years the names of Haldeman and Watterson stood out in the publi- cation of the Nation's great newspapers, ended only with the tragic death of Mr. Haldeman in 1902, and the retirement 16 years later of Mr. Watterson, crowned with all the honors of a patriarch in journalism, a paladin for half a century in the editorial knighthood. Bruce Haldeman, W. B. Haldeman and John Haldeman, sons of Walter N. Halde- man, participated in the management of the property, Bruce Haldeman succeeding his father as President of The Courier-Journal and The Louisville Times, which lat- ter paper was first issued May 1, 1884, as an afternoon publication. In August, 1918, controlling interest in the newspapers and their real estate holdings was purchased by Judge Robert W. Bingham, who some months later, be- came sole owner of the properties by buying the minority stock still held by Bruce Haldeman. In announcing the purchase and mission of The Courier-Journal, under its new ownership, Judge Bingham said: "Its power must be used justly and wisely. Its influence must be exerted unselfishly and honorably for the welfare of all those who come within its scope. It must and will be used to further the progress of our city, our state, our nation," 81 Louisville Fifty Years Ago. A Story of Men's Clothes Seventy-two Years Ago O LD Mozart Hall stood for many years on the corner _ of Fourth and Jefferson Streets, the present site of the Crutcher Starks Building. As far back as 1851, history mentions this building, for it was here in that year that P. T. Barnum presented Jenny Lind, the famous "Swedish Nightingale" to Louisville music lovers. It is recorded that her beautiful voice thrilled her listeners even as far awav as Fourth and Walnut. On the ground floor of Mozart Hall was a clothing store in the year 1851, which entitles Crutcher Starks to the distinction of being the oldest clothing house in the State of Kentucky. Just twentv vears later John Wanamaker opened a clothing store on this same spot, which he called Oak Hall. IOHIN WAIIAMAXR It was but one of several branch stores which Mr. Wana- maker opened at that time in various cities. In 1881, John Wanamaker sold Oak Hall to his brother, William, who with Na- than Brown, John Wanamaker's father-in-law continued the business under the name of Wanamaker Brown. The local business was managed by D. L. Anderson, known as "Praying Ander- son" of Philadelphia, assisted by John F. Hillman, the financial man for John Wana- maker. About 1887 or 1888, William Wanamaker decided to sell out some of his branch stores and Mr. Anderson sought out a buyer. Crutcher Starks had been in business, first at Versailles and later at Frankfort since 1871, so they were approached by Mr. Anderson. A deal was proposed where- by the Oak Hall business at Louisville would be turned over to the Frankfort firm at a stipulated price and Mr. Ander- son says that he was to remain with Crutcher Starks until sufficient merchandise had been sold to pay for the business. Crutcher Starks accepted and, due to the energy of Mr. Anderson, the sale was so successful that he was soon able to return to Philadelphia. The present building was erected in 1896. The business was later incorporated in 1901. In 1911 the Crutcher Starks business was sold to three of their employees, headed by Granville R. Burton. J. W. McGinn retired from the business in 1916 and M. H. Moise in 1918. Some five vears later Granville R. Burton with his two soIms, Granville L. and Ferrell Burton, acquired GRANVILLE B. BURTON 82 Louisville Fifty Years Ago. another third interest and two years later the entire stock of the corporation. Meanwhile the business continued to grow in volume and popularity on the same site that seems to be a perpetual clothing house corner. So it will be seen that the business known as Crutcher Starks is but a per- petuation of an old business, on an old site and owned now by men of the third and fourth generation after those who started it. The branch store of Crutcher Starks in the Seelbach Hotel Building is, of course, a modern institution opened in 1920, although not the first branch opened by Granville R. Burton Sons. There were two others opened during the war; one at Camp Taylor and the other in a specially constructed building at West Point for Camp Knox. Notwithstanding the age of Crutcher Starks, this store is regarded in the trade as one of the most up-to-date, progressive stores for men in the entire country. The Branch Store at the Seelbach Hotel has been proclaimed by "The Haberdasher", a recognized authority in the men's wear field, as the finest equipped store in this hemisphere. OLD MOZARTi L Em 15 fromn an old pit. CRUTOHR STARKS TDAY The Oldest Clthig gore In th State oft Kncky. 88 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Cuscaden's Ice Cream, Made In Louisville for Fifty Years G EORGE W. CUSCADEN, Sr., who is known as "The Ice Cream King," came G to Louisville from Cincinnati in 1866, more than fifty-five years ago. Louis- ville, Kentucky, then had a population of 65,000. In 1871 George W. Cuscaden and his mother opened a small confectionery and George made the ice cream. In those days ice cream was made by hand, and only during the summer months, and none was packed or delivered to the home. All ice cream was made by turning the freezer around and around until the cream was frozen to a stiff batter; then it was beaten or whipped with a paddle. Thirty gal- lons was a big day's work for a man. In 1880 the first ice cream machine was built. It was considered a wonder. It would make 20 gallons an hour. The First Ice Cream Factory. _______________In 1875 George Cuscaden opened one of the first ice cream factories in the United States. It was called an ice cream depot. It was a hard matter to educate the public to have ice cream sent home, but with a steady fight to win out, Mr. Cuscaden took to advertising through papers and circulars until his ice cream became known all over the State. He was the first man to ship ice cream on railroads and one of the very first to sell ice cream soda water. In the olden days Mr. Cusecadeii shipped ice cream as far as Virginia, down into Tennessee and all over Indiana. But today there are ice cream factories in almost every _______________-J small town from coast to coast. Today the ice cream busi- GEORGE W CIUCADEN, Sr. ness has become one of the biggest commercial industries of the country. There have been inventions of machinery for handling milk, cream and ice cream and today the farmers ship thousands of gallons of milk and cream on railroads, There was very little milk shipped on railroads forty-five years ago, and no machinery of any kind to handle it. There was no such thing as Pasteurizing milk and cream. Mr. Cuscaden Also An Inventor. In 1899 George W. Cuscaden invented a machine for making ice cream bricks in four colors and flavors. He had this machine patented and continued to use it for more than twenty years, until a year ago, when the Cuscaden Ice Cream Works discontinued the four-flavor brick. During this time it made thousands of gallons of brick ice cream. The manufacturing growth of ice cream has been remarkable when you con- sider that fifty years ago, when ice cream was a luxury, Mr. Cuscaden made from five to ten gallons a day, and now the same plant, with its additional facilities, can make more than 3,000 gallons per day. 84 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Danforth Company, Established 1 854 THE firm of Danforth Co. was established in 1854 by Mr. J. L. Danforth. In those early days, the business was fire and marine insurance. The fire rat- ing was done by officers of the Louisville Board of Fire Underwriters and was fairly satisfactory both to companies and assured. The pork packing, whisky and tobacco interests required protection in large amounts and the wholesale and re- tail stores carried much larger stocks than they do now, as goods were bought for the winter and summer trade at periods of possibly every six months. The steamboats at that time did a large business and marine insurance was a necessity. With a select clientele, the firm of J. L. Danforth Co. had its share of busi- ness and in a conservative way managed to conserve the interests of customers, companies and their fellow agents to the satisfaction of all. At the death of Mr. J. L. Danforth, his son, Mr. George L. Danforth, took over the entire business of the firm and in 1911 admitted to partnership Mr. Emile Pragoff. The firm name was then changed to Danforth Co. The methods of all business have greatly changed in the last twenty years and it is now necessary to get rates on all fire insurance carried from the Actuar- ial Bureau and it is also necessary to have expert engineers, thoroughly famil- iar with the Dean schedule, to insure justice to all parties concerned. Automobile business has taken the place, to some extent, of the lost river busi- ness, but when Louisville gets the nine-foot stage in the Ohio river, it is hoped and expected that the river business will come into its own again. Firm Has Same Policy. The present firm is endeavoring to keep up the tone of the business that has been adhered to since its inception, and to do everything necessary for the proper security of the public. To that end, it has employed an expert engineer, with recommendations from all bureaus as to his knowledge and ability, to figure rates and to show the public where they can get as low a rate as possible. Firm members at present are George L. Danforth and Emile Pragoff. In ad- dition, the firm has a full corps of clerks. The original location of the firm was in the basement of the building at the northwest corner of Bullitt and Main Streets. The building also was occupied by the Western Financial Corporation, which later became the Nation-l Bank of Com- merce and eventually was merged with the National Bank of Kentucky. Forty-two years ago, Danforth Co. moved to the firm's present location at the northeast corner of Third and Main Streets, where it hopes to be doing busi- ness for many years to come, being staunch friends of Main Street and its interests. 85 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Fruit Business Which Began Over Fifty Years Ago N 1870 Joseph Denunzio came to Louisville from New Orleans, on one of the large river boats plying the Ohio at that time, between New Orleans and Cincinnati. He had with him about fifty bunches of bananas. This consignment was the first large quantity of this tropical fruit to come as far north as Louisville, and its ar- rival was looked upon as quite an event. Refrigerator cars being unknown in those days, fruit had to come by river and frequently turned over-ripe before reaching destination. The fruit business was in its infancy, at that time, but it gradually grew in volume with improved transporta- tion facilities. Shortly after his arrival Joseph Denunzio established a fruit store on the south side of Market Street near Third Street. Hard work, though with frequent losses which did not, however, discourage him, looking for supplies and bringing them from the various producing sections, which were then comparatively few and far between, increased his business to such an extent, it became necessary for him to secure larger quarters and arrange for better handling facilities. In 1878 he purchased from the City of Louisville the old engine house on the south side of Jefferson Street between Third and Fourth Streets, and later built on the adjoining lot, adding one of the first cold storage plants in the city. Incorporated in '93. In 1893 the Jos. Denunzio Fruit Company was incorporated with Joseph De- nunzio as President, Chas. Scholtz, Jr., Vice President and General Manager, and Fred Scholtz, Secretary and Treasurer. Early in 1895 Mr. Joseph Denunzio died, when the following officers were elected: Chas. Scholtz, Jr., President and General Manager, Mark Denunzio, Vice President, and Fred Scholtz, Secretary and Treas- urer. Two years later the firm leased new quarters on Jefferson Street, near First Street, later adding adjoining buildings, and it now occupies a frontage of about one hundred feet on Jefferson Street by two hundred and ten feet thru to Liberty Street, with modern cold storage as well as heating rooms large enough to accommodate many car lots of fruit and vegetables, also, an up-to-date garage, housing a large fleet of trucks, commodious offices, and a working force of about eighty people, making pos- sible the prompt movement of the enormous volume of perishables they are hand- ling, which runs up into thousands of car loads annually. The officers elected in 1895 are still active and look back with pride at the progress made, and the standing the organization has attained in being recognized as the leading house of its kind in the South, with an enviable reputation throughout the United States, and in many foreign points of production, for square and honorable dealing. 386 Louisville Fifty Years Ago For Fifty-eight Years aT. DEARING, founder of the C. T. Dearing Print- in ing Co. was for many years a familiar figure about Atotown, and the corner of Third and Jefferson where, for so many years his firm was located, was a regular rendezvous for news. At that time there were a number of book stores -in Louisville, one of these was Redmond's (Methodist) Book Store on Third Street between Main and Market, and when C. T. Dearing graduated from selling papers he took a position as clerk in this store. At the-beginning of the war between the States, he purchased Frank Madden's Book Store and started in business for himself on Third Street between Market and Jefferson. The bookselling business prospered and in 1867, C. T. Dearing added a printing department, also a part- ner, and the business was known as Dearing Tingley C. T. DEALIIIG until 1870. In that year, C. T. Dearing acquired the Tingley interest and continued the busi- ness with J. W. Dickson in charge of the printing department. Shortly after buying out the Tingley interest, C. T. Dearing purchased the prop- erty on the corner of Third and Jefferson, now occupied by a clothing company, and for the next thirty-five years this corner was head- quarters for newspapers, magazines, books and sta- tionery, also printing and binding. Sixteen years ago, the company was incorpo- rated as the C. T. Dearing Printing Co., with Harvey j=-- C. Shanks as part owner and manager. A building was erected in 1906 at 427 South Third Street, which building is still in use today. In 1919 the company was purchased by the State Journal Co. of Frankfort, Ky., then controlled by Graham Vreeland and James L. Newman of that city. Since that time a program of expansion on a large scale has been carried out and today the plant __Xa stands as one of the best equipped in the South. A The present officers of the company are James L. Newman, President, and W. G. Simpson, Jr., Sec- = retary and Manager. Egos Fri'nting Quick-- 87 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Louisville Office of R. G. Dun Co. Established in 1850 IGHTY-TWO years ago a new type of business was inaugurated in a small E office on Exchange Place in the City of New York. It was styled by its founder The Mercantile Agency, and was the first institu- tion in the world for the systematic collection of credit information. Within a decade, so great was the success of the new project, that branch of- fices had been established at Boston, Philadelphia, Baltimore, Cincinnati, Louis- ville and St. Louis in the order named. In 1859 The Mercantile Agency issued its first Reference Book, a modest little volume of 519 pages, which contained 20,268 names. The number of names in the March 1923 Reference Book is over 2,000,000 and changes made during the year 1922 averaged 5,744 for each business day. The Mercantile Agency Reference Books are now issued quarterly and two hundred and twenty-nine offices of the Agency situated in the United States, Can- ada and foreign countries with their individual fields of operation constitute a system of commercial reporting that covers the whole world. The progressive policy of this institution, keeping its organization in touch with the most advanced ideas and methods of gathering and compiling financial statements, ledger experiences and statistics of a related nature, have brought universal recognition of its reports as a standard authority on mercantile credits. The Louisville office was established in 1850, has been closely identified with the progress and development of the commercial interests of Louisville, and the fa- cilities provided by its comprehensive organization and service have been an im- portant factor in the growth of the city. The following managers have been in charge of the Louisville office and dis- trict from 1850 to the present time. 1850, E. L. Seicrist, 1871, A. B. Wigley, 1868, August Barnes, 1874, W. T. Rolph, 1871, J. W. Wills, 1898, George Henderson, 1871, Alvin Wood, 1906, Jno. J. Saunders, 1920, H. E. Felshaw. a8 Louisville Fifty Years Ago T. B. Duncan Sons THE business was established in 1862 by Thos. B. Duncan, Sr. and Frederick Brooks under the name of Duncan Brooks. Both partners were first class Interior Decorators; but had a very limited capital. Shortly after the busi- ness was launched they realized that the war conditions were such that business was hard to get and perhaps they could do better elsewhere. Accordingly, Mr. Duncan started to Memphis to investigate conditions and to consider moving the business to X-of Forthat city. Just as his boat was leaving the wharf at foot of Fourth Street, 'Mr. 1)uncan saw Brooks running down the wharf with what Mr. Duncan thought must be an im- portant message. The boat had pushed away from her moorings and he had to jump about six feet to the wharf; and when Brooks reached him he informed him that thev had just received a big order that justified Mr. Duncan postponing his trip of investigating any other field. The business prospered under the enthusiasm and hard work of the partners. Mr. Brooks died in 1868 and Mfr. Duncan succeeded to the business and finally took in the two sons, Thos. B. and Scott MI. Duncan in 1890. Mfr. Thos. B. Duncan, Sr., died March 17, 1904. T. B. DUNCAN The concern is incorporated and the present officers are: Tom B. Duncan, Presi- dent; Scott M. Duncan, Vice President and Treasurer, and J. P. Daniell, Secretary. The best homes in this vicinity attest the quality of their work; and their long experience enables them to secure unusual decorative wall papers that are not shown elsewhere. 89 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Wholesale Flour Dealers in 1870 THE present firm of Edinger Company began busi- ness January 1870, when W. H. Edinger together with W. H. Bolimer and E. Gripp became partners under the firm name of Edinger, Gripp Bohmer, wholesale grocers, carrying a heavy stock of flour, located on Main near Second Street. W. H. Edinger bought out his two partners and conducted the business himself until 1880 when Andrew Edinger, his brother, becatre a partner under the firm name of W. H. Edinger Brother, whole- sale flour dealers. In November, 1886, a fire destroyed the, building and entire stock of flour located on Main near Brook. W. H. Edinger, then a director of the German Insur-_ ance Bank, was elected President in 1900, which compelled him to devote his entire attention to the banking business, ANDREW EDINGER at which time he sold out his interest to his brother Andrew. In the same year the hay and grain business was added and John D. Smith became associated, forming the firm of Edinger Company, Incorporated. Later Mr. Chas. H. Peter of Fort Madison, Iowa, also became a member of the firm. The increase of business necessitated an elevator and larger warehouse capacity, with better railroad facilities at which time the firm located at 14th Magazine streets, on the Pennsylvania Railroad, a location more central with an elevator ca- pacity of 70,000 bushels of grain, together with a large feed and grain warehouse. Mr. Peter died in 1907, at which time C. A. Edinger became Secretary. Mr. Smith died in 1912, and Oscar W. Edinger and William E. Edinger became mem- =-=--- bers of the firm. In 1914 Mr. Edinger, Sr., retired from _ the firm, disposing of his interest to his three sons. C. A. Edinger became President; Oscar W. Edinger, Vice Presi- I dent and William E. Edinger, Secretary and Treasurer. Mr. Andrew Edinger died at Sarasota, Fla., March 17, 1920, after an illness of two months. C. A. Edinger with- drew from the firm in November, 1920, and the business at present is conducted by Oscar W. Edinger and William E. A Edinger at Fourteenth Magazine Streets as the Eureka Elevator, at which location they carry on the wholesale grain, hav and feed business, as well as manufacturing Arrow Brands of poultry, dairy, hog, horse and mule W S E:Dni]EL feeds. 40 . . Louisville Fif ty Years Ago Making Boxes Half a Century Ago ONE of the oldest box manufacturers, as well as one of the oldest wood-working 0 plants in this section of the country, is the Embry Box Company, at 16th Maple Streets. This Company started in business in 1856 as the Bell Cog- geshall Company. Their first line of manufacture was that of steamboat cabins. Among the cabins turned out by them was that of the Robt. E. Lee, famous in song and story. An old wood cut of the factory is shown on this page. Louisville was then a river town, and the original plant was located on the "Point". As the town grew the Bell Coggeshall Company grew with it, adding to their line of steamboat cabins a general line of planing mill work; and many of the finer homes of the early days were built from material furnished by this Company. As Louisville became a manufacturing center, the natural development of this Company was the manufacture of boxes which were required to ship the products manu- factured in this City. By this time the Belll Coggeshall Company moved away from the river to Story Bu- chanan Streets to where the Stitzel Distilling Company now stands. Wooden boxes were at this time the main line of their en- deavor. Name Changes to Embry Box Co. In 1913 the name was changed to the Embry Box Company, and since then it has operated under this name, manufacturing nailed and lock cornered boxes. A few years later a new branch was added to the Company; this being the Embry Lum- ber Company handling retail lumber and building supplies. During the war another branch was added; this being the Embry Wire Bound Box Company. The Embry Box Company has grown considerably from its early start to the present time, and now employs about 250 men. During the past year a merger was effected whereby it became a member of the General Box Company, of Chicago, operating plants lo- cated from Brooklyn, N. Y., to Kansas'City, and from Sheboygan, Wis., to New Or- leans, La., thus practically covering the country and putting itself in shape to handle business to the best advantage wherever this business might be located. This arrangement offers great promise and those connected with the Company are anticipating an even more rapid development of the business than in the past. 41 Louisville Fif ty Years Ago The Record of a Time Honored Firm ALBERT ENGELHARD, SR., the founder of A. Engelhard Sons Co., whole- A sale grocers, established that business in 1855, when Franklin Pierce was President of the United States. Mr. Engelhard came to Louisville in 1854 and entered the employ of Peter Loewer Co., as bookkeeper. A year later Mr. Loewer died and Mr. Engelhard purchased the business, paying 1,999.76 for the stock and good will, 149.50 for the fixtures, and 45 for a horse, dray and harness. In December, 1855, he entered upon the conduct and management of the business on his own account, and from that time until his death, December 13, 1894, he was one of the city's prominent merchants. In the beginning the firm had three employees, as against forty-seven now; and its first year's payroll was about 1,440.00 while today the payroll for the year amounts to 47,183.54. Since its establishment the location of the firm has been changed four times. The first location of the concern was on Market Street, be- tween Brook and Floyd. At this time the employees were Mr. Loewer's brother, who served as porter, a drayman, and Mr. Engelhard. While at this stage the firm moved to Market Street, between Second and Third. The business had little progress until 1861, when the Civil War broke out and Victor Stein who had en- tered the business as a bookkeeper, and the porter entered the Union army, leav- ing Mr. Engelhard and the drayman to run the business. During the war money was scarce and business very poor. When Mr. Stein returned after the war and things became normal again busi- ness began to pick up. H. Kurkamp entered the business and made trips up and down the river as salesman. There had been no salesman up to this time, the trade coming to the store for their supplies. In 1879 George Engelhard entered the business, and was followed a year later by V. H. Engelhard. In 1882, feeling the needs of more spacious quarters, the business was moved to Main Street, between Second and Third. The next year the firm suffered a loss by fire, and it was in this year also that Albert Engelhard, Jr., entered the business. In 1890 the business was moved to Main Street nearly opposite to where the present firm is located. This building had just been remodeled after the memorable cy- clone, and it was thought best to move into these quarters. In this same year the three sons of Mr. Engelhard entered the business as partners. In 1892 Mr. Engel- hard retired from the business and Victor H. Engelhard became manager. Under this management the business grew very rapidly, and in 1897, the firm having out- grown its quarters, it was moved to its present site at 805 W. Main Street. In 1901 the business was incorporated at 125,000. At this time coffee roasting came into existence as a special line of business and it was added to the firm as a department. The wholesale end of the business was dropped in 1903 and the concern became a purely coffee importing and roast- ing business, and later spice grinding and tea were added. From a small affair employing but three men the firm has grown until today it is one of the largest coffee importing and roasting establishments in the South. 42 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Epping Bottling Plant Oldest in this Section THE oldest soft drink bottling plant in this section is the Epping Bottling Works, 1 712-718 Logan Street, Louisville. This business was established in 1863 at this same location by Mr. H. Epping and has been in continuous operation ever since, now being conducted by Mr. John G. Epping. From a beginning with one small room bottles washed and filled by hand and delivered in one small wagon the business has grown until now Mr. Epping has one of the most modern and sanitary establishments in the country, where the purest and most delicious of soda waters is produced and has a large distribution over all the surrounding territory. During the year 1922 a complete new outfit was installed at a cost of more than 30,000.00. A new two-story brick building was completed and a new fireproof garage built to house the seven trucks and one salesman car now used in conducting the business. A visit to the plant is interesting to the uninitiated. The business has increased so rapidly that today they have a model industry. Everything in the plant is kept scrupulously clean and it is the policy of the company to make merchandise that will not only pass inspection but be as near an approach to the acme of perfection as modern machinery and up-to-date methods will make it. The demand for the products of this bottling works is rapidly increasing. In this modern plant the bottle is hardly touched by hand until it is ready to be p11t in the case for delivery. The plant, a credit to the community, is open at all times to the inspection of the public, and the public is cordially invited. Few cities many tiumes larger can boast of such a mod- ern and scientifically equipped bottling works. 43 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Fischer-Leaf Company Founded in 1866 H ISTORY, it is said, repeats itself. If this historical sketch of the Fischer-Leaf H Company is carefully read it will sound like a romance, and may prove an in- spiration to the young man who without effort contents himself with saying the "poor boy" has no chance today. It will show him what determination, enthusiasm, energy and character will do when used as capital. Attention to business, exertion of every effort to excel, such was the determina- tion of the eight stove moulders who in 1866 were working for the Bridgeford and Lithgow manufacturers, when they formed the little Sixteenth and High Street Stove Foundry, known as Hare-Leaf Co., composed of the following: Sidney Hare, John Leaf, Charles C. Pfeiffer, Phillip Brecher, Jacob Boerner, Jacob Schmitt, Will- iam McDermott and John McDermott. Upon the death of Sidney Hare in 1870, John Fischer was admitted into the firm, the firm name changing to the present style of Fischer-Leaf Company. This was continued as a partnership company until April, 1884, when it was incorporated, with John Fischer, President; John Leaf, Vice President; C. C. Pfeiffer, Superintend- ent; Phillip Brecher, Asst. Superintendent. These men continued in office until 1886, when John Fischer died, and the fol- lowing were elected: John Leaf, President; C. C. Pfeiffer, Vice President, Phillip Brecher, Superintendent and Chas. Ochsenhirt, Secretary-Treasurer. The firm, continued an uninterrupted successful career in manufacturing stoves and marbelized mantels until 1891, when John Leaf died, and C. C. Pfeiffer was elected President; Philip Brecher, Vice President; Chas. Ochsenhirt, Secretary- Treasurer. These officers continued to hold office without change until 1895, when Phillip Brecher died, and his son, Chas. B. Brecher was elected Vice President. Officers are Changed. In 1896 Chas. Ochsenhirt died and George Young was elected Secretary-Treas- urer. In 1902 a change of officers was effected by the following being elected: Chas. C. Pfeiffer, President; Geo. G. Miner, Vice President; George Young, Secretary- Treasurer; Lee N. Pfeiffer, Superintendent, and Robert Pfeiffer, Manager. In 1906 George Young died, and Lee N. Pfeiffer was elected his successor as Secretary-Treasurer, and Robert Pfeiffer was elected Superintendent and Manager, and J. W. Hickman, Asst. Manager. Thus the officers remained until 1917, when Robert Pfeiffer resigned, and J. W. Hickman was elected General Manager. These men have continued in office, and at the annual meeting held in January, 1923, the election of officers resulted in the same men being re-elected: Chas. C. Pfeiffer, President; Geo. G. Miner, Vice President; Lee N. Pfeiffer, Secretary- Treasurer, and J. W. Hickman, General Manager. Mr. Charles C. Pfeiffer is the only one of the first eight that is now living, and 44 Louisville Fifty Years Ago he has been President of the company continuously since 1891, thirty-two years, and now in his eighty-sixth year is healthy and vigorous. The Vice President, Geo. G. Miner has been connected with the firm since 1880; Lee N. Pfeiffer since 1883, and J. W. Hickman since 1886. Have Wide Distribution. The business of the firm is confined to making the celebrated "Arizona" ranges, cooking and heating stoves, and grates. Their business has grown from a local insti- tution until they claim customers through Kentucky, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, as far East as the Carolinas and Virginia, in all of the Southern States, and as far West as California. Their motto has always been never to misrepresent, but always strive to please, and give full value, that the customer may be happy long after the price is forgotten. The business has always been conducted along the lines of thor- oughness, enthusiasm, and loyalty, as is evidenced by their never having had a strike, and having among their employees, also among their customers, even unto the third generation, showing their justice and appreciation. In all of their long business career they have made it a rule to pay cash, and never in the fifty-seven years of business have they ever allowed a bill to remain un- discounted whenever a discount was allowed. Although they are full grown in age, they are also mature in their knowledge of what is wanted and needed in their line, are young, progressive, and up to date as to the demands in latest improvements, efficiency, and economy. 46 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Falls City Tin Tag and Lithograph Company HARLES W. GERMAN founded in 18.59 what is now known as the Falls City C Tin Tag and Lithograph Company. It operated for more than twenty years as a partnership under the firm name of German Brother. For a number of years the business was located on Third Street, but it soon outgrew its original quarters and additional space was taken in, which was also abandoned on account of the rapid growth of the business. The company then located at 233 West Main Street. In 1880 the business was incorporated with E. C.. Bohne, cashier of the Third National Bank, as presi-i dent and Charles E. McBride, secretary. But the growthm and prosperity of the business were due to the ability l and personal efforts of Charles W. German, who rev- mained in active charge as manager. He was a practi-- cal lithographer who learned the trade before he was fifteen years old, and by his untiring efforts kept pacsi with the progress of the industry, and was always able, to compete with the largest lithographing houses in the country. A Big Bank Business. The company specialized in bank and coininer cial work. It was patronized by the larger banks in many Southern cities, and at one time practically all of the business houses in Louisville obtained their en- graved paper from the Falls City Lithographing Com- i HARLES W. GERMAN potmder of the Falls City Litho- pany.graph Comnpan y 1859. In 1906 the company was reorganized. Charles W. German became president and his son, 0. H. German, was chosen vice president. They operated the business until the death of Charles W. German, the founder of the business, who was succeeded by 0. H. German as president. In 1919 there was a consolidation of the Falls City Lithograph Company and the Louisville Tin Tag and Novelty Company, which operated as the Falls City Tin Tag and Lithograph Company until November 1, 1921, when David B. G. Rose purchased control of the business and merged it with The Standard Printing Company, of which he is president and general manager. Thus the Falls City Lithograph Company becomes the lithographing division of The Standard Printing Company. Many of the old employes remain with the organization. New machinery has been installed and modern processes adopted which assure that excellence of work which popularized the product of the old company. 46 Louisville Fifty Years Ago The Farmers' Home Journal JUST at the close of the Civil War in 1865, J. J. Miller launched at Lexington, Ky., The Farmers' Home Journal, giving it all the characteristics of a paper truly representative of Kentucky and the South. The Bluegrass section was then recognized as the headquarters in America for the breeding of thoroughbred stock-horses, cattle, sheep and hogs. To Lexington caine breeders from all over the country for sires to improve their herds. It is needless to say that The Farmers' Home Journal became a necessity to these farmers and breed- ers and in consequence its circulation grew rapidly throughout the West and South. For a number of years it enjoyed a place at the head of Journals of its kind. It passed through its early prosperity to darker days of strong competition and a contracted field. In the tenth year of its publication the owners found that it was not paying and sought a wider field. The Journal I was then moved to Louisville. One of the First Editors. About this time Col. I. B. Nall became editor, with Thos. S. Kennedy as business manager. In 1899 Cal. Nall was elected Commissioner of Agriculture of Ken- tucky and secretary of the American Saddle Horse Breeders' Association, when he was succeeded by M. W. COL. 1.I B. ALL Neal, as editor of the Journal, who filled the position One of the First d for mtany until 1910, when he resigned to accept a place on the r Editor Te F s Board of Public Works of Louisville, at which time Col. Nall again became editor of The Farmers' Home Journal. Mr. John Vreeland became the sole owner of the Journal in 1894, having been connected with the paper since 1884. He was succeeded by Hubert Vreeland as president and editor, who retained control of the paper until January 10, 1921, when it was purchased by A. F. Wolke. During Mr. Wolke's ownership the Journal was edited by Mr. L. S. Clampitte, assisted by Wallace McKay, John Newman, Jordan Owen and W. J. Harris. Mr. F. F. Gilmore, Sr., succeeded Mr. Clampitte as editor in 1922. In October, 1922, the present management under David B. G. Rose, president and general manager, purchased The Farmers' Home Journal, and its readers over- whelmingly elected Dr. Fred Mutchler as editor, who is now devoting his unusual editorial ability to the agricultural progress of Kentucky. The Farmers' Home Journal is now occupying a place in the palatial home of the Standard Printing Company, where it will be given ample opportunity to de- velop into a farm publication worthy of the profoundest respect of every enter- prising farmer in Kentucky. 47 Louisville Fifty Years Ago The First of its Kind South of the Ohio River F OR more than eighty years the name of Fulton has been associated with the eco- F nomic development of Louisville. It was early in 1837 that William Fulton, the founder of the present firm of Fulton, Conway Co., located at 819-821 West Main Street, came to Louisville. He came originally from Scotland to this country after a six-weeks' voyage at sea. From New York he journeyed to Louis- ville, the trip requiring nineteen days, that part from Pittsburg being made in a canal boat. Following the custom in vogue in the old country he was apprenticed at the age of 16 to a cabinet maker, for whom he worked five years. In 1860, while the debates on slavery were going on in Congress and the year in which Abraham Lincoln was elected President of the United States, Mr. Fulton formed a partnership with T. L. Clark. With a joint capital of 300 they started a small hub factory in the storeroom on the northeast corner of Twelfth and Main Streets, which building was later converted into the Arlington Hotel. Here these two sturdy Scotchmen started to work. They paid seventy-five cents a day for rent and employed two workers who cost them 18 a week. This was the first hub factory south of the Ohio River. They had no competition near at hand and the business developed rapidly, and by 1862 they had installed the first spoke machine used in the South. By this time the demand for other vehicle material was so brisk that they were forced to enlarge the plant, so in 1864 they bought the property now used by them as a warehouse, lo- cated on Nelson Street, between Eighth and Ninth. Two Scotchmen. Messrs. Fulton and Clark, the latter known as "Fiddling Tom" were familiar figures on the streets of Louisville forty years ago. All the older citizens of the city no doubt remember Mr. Clark, for he was an accomplished violinist of the old school. It was thought that no concert or dance would be complete without "a piece from Fiddling Tom." The Firm's Present Status. In 1870 the firm changed its name and was known as Fulton, Smith Co. Wil- liam Fulton died in 1870 and was succeeded by William J. and A. P. Fulton. As the city grew so this concern grew with it, and in 1874 a stock of heavy hardware was added. Twenty-five sets of axles, seventeen pairs of springs, a few clips and a whole barrel of bolts were purchased. Thus from this humble beginning there has developed the present prosperous firm which has a capital of 150,000, and which sends its salesmen throughout the en- tire South, besides into Southern Indiana and Illinois. They are extensive jobbers of iron, steel, wagon materials, blacksmith tools and supplies. This firm was in- corporated under the name of Fulton, Conway Co. in 1882, when Mr. Conway took the place of J. T. Smith, deceased. Mr. Conway died eight years later and G. P. Grigsby took his place. Ten years later he retired and was succeeded by A. G. Whit- ley. The present officers of this concern are A. G. Whitley, president; J. L. Gore, vice- president; and J. M. Fulton, secretary and treasurer. 48 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Local Firm Keeps Pace With the Growth of Photography DURING the Civil War and the years immediately following, the number of pho- D tographers was comparatively small throughout the South. In Cincinnati and in New Orleans were situated the only houses that carried a supply of materials, and it was the custom, by reason of limited transportation facilities, for the photog- rapher to come to the market, purchase sufficient supplies to last six months or more and to take them home with him as baggage in trunks and boxes. W. D. Gatchel had established a house in Cincinnati in 1862, and having de- veloped a trade along the lower Ohio and Mississippi valleys, established a house in Louisville in 1868 to supply the Southwestern trade. As improvements were made in materials and appliances, the number of avail- able customers increased and the Louisville house grew correspondingly. Competi- tion became keener as the possibilities and the rapid growth of photography became apparent, but the firm of W. D. Gatchel Sons maintained its leading position as the pioneer and most progressive house of its kind in the South. Stock is Enlarged. As the uses of photography broadened, the stock carried kept pace until now in addition to supplies for regular photography, they carry a stock of X-Ray ma- terials, photo-engraving materials, streopticons, portable moving picture projectors that are adapted for commercial and educational uses. The Kodak is now a family necessity and its use and popularity are still growing. The house of W. D. Gatchel Sons has established, through years of service and development, a broad business friendship among users of photographic products in its varied and increasing field. It has added materially to the reputation of Louis- ville as a distributing point for this line of goods, as it capably serves all of neigh- boring territory. While dignified by its age, it is still young, lusty ,And strong and honorably maintains the position it has won among Louisville's oldest business houses. 49 Louisville Fifty Years Ago. An Interesting Achievement In the Stove Business T be in business for 72 years in the same square is a distinction enjoyed by 1 few business houses in America. To have grown from an humble beginning to the leader in its line, and to retain that leadership for nearly half a century, speaks most eloquently of integrity and fair dealings. To have sold merchandise to three, and in many cases to four generations; to have survived the keen competition and many hardships of nearly three-quarters of a century and to still gloriously head the procession, with entire confi- dence of the community is an honor and distinction earned I only by the strictest observance of the golden rule. Such a firm must have been conceived in and carried on / j 2 n W with the highest ideals of honesty, fair dealing and service to the community. Business success, like other triumphs in which there is competition, comes to the "survival of the I fittest. " at . GEE= Founded by Anthony Geher. This survival of the fittest has been fully exemplified here in Louisville by the firm of Geher Son, who on July 5, 1923, will have completed 73 years of suc- cessful business. This firm was established July 5, 1850, by Anthony Geher, who died June 17, 1864. The business was continued by his widow, Mrs. Euphrosina Geher, who was left with three small children. With real courage and against many obstacles Mrs. Geher conducted the business, and educated her children until her son, Frank A. Geher, was old enough to assume active management and become a partner in the business in January, 1880. Business Managed by Frank A. Geher. Under the management of Mr. Frank A. Geher, Geher Son soon became the leading retail stove house of Louis- ville if not of the entire South. Mr. Frank A. Geher died on November 9, 1921, and the business at the present time is being carried on under the management of his sister, Miss Magdelen Geher and Will- iam, Louis and Clara Discher, children of a deceased sister. The present management is proud of the wonderful record of their firm, but they also feel that they have a solemn duty and responsibility to uphold the high standards of business that have made such a wonderful record possible. 60 FILANE A. GIEHER Louisville Fifty Years Ago Grainger Company Established 1 833 ON December 10, 1833, William H. Grainger established this business under the 0 name of Phoenix Foundry and Machine Shop. In 1888 Charles F. Grainger became a partner and the name was changed to Grainger Co. In 1891 the Company was incorporated. The firm has been on the same site and under management of father and son continuously for more than 89 years. During this long period of time the shops have never been closed except on holidays and five days during the Civil War, when Gen. Bragg's army threatened the city. OFFICERS: Charles F. Grainger, President, Van Buren Ropke, Vice President, A. B. Crowe, Secretary and Treasurer. DIRECTORS: Charles F. Grainger, James T. Shade, Edward D. Cross, V. B. Ropke, Boyd Martin A. B. Crowe. 51 Louisville Fifty Years Ago In Saddlery Business Fifty-nine Years JOSIAH B. GATHRIGHT laid the - foundation for the business in 1863, while in the Confederate Army. He was First Lieut., 8th Kentucky Cavalry, C. S. A., of Gen. John H. Morgan's Com- mnand. Later, he, thea acting Captain, was assigned as acting Brigade Quarteri master on the staff of Gen. Adam R. Johnson, and detailed his mechanics forr the manufacture of saddlery. He estab- lished in 1865 in Louisville, Ky., a busi- ness for the manufacture of the cele- brated Morgan Saddle-Tree. The next year, 1866, he formed a partnership with PRESENT OFFICE AND MAIN BUILDINGS his cousin, John T. Gathright, a Civil War veteran of the Federal Army, for the manufacture of a general line of saddlery, under the style of Gathright Company, located next door to the Louisville Hotel. John T. Gathright was Captain of Company H, 22d Kentucky Infantry, U. S. V. After the attack on Vicksburg, he resigned his commission on account of ill health, but after returning to Louisville was appointed Colonel of the 64th Kentucky Infantry. The Civil War records of the two cousins-one - - zk-y i in the Confederate and the other in the Federal Army -were singularly alike in many respects, and were il- lustrations of family experiences along the border be- tween the North and the South. (Both volunteered t as privates, and were promoted for service). In March, 1869, John J. Harbison succeeded John T. Gathright in the business, and the firm name became Harbison Gathright, under which style it has con- tinued for 54 years, or a total of 59 years since its foundation. This record, without change of style is jnot matched by any in the same line in the country and probably not by any manufacturing house in Louis- ville. Owen Gathright (then Jr.) entered the service of Gathright Company, January, 1869; became a partner in Harbison Gathright, January, 1876, and is the only surviving partner of the old firm prior to its incorporation in 1900. (John J. Harbison and Josiah B. Gathright remained at the head of the corporation until the death of the former in 1906 and of the latter 0oGIN HO NE TO in 1919.) John J. Harbison, was one of the group of LOUISVILLE HOTEL peace-loving Christians who gathered at the old Second Ua Louisville Fifty Years Ago Presbyterian Church on Third Street in 1853 and organized the first Y. M. C. A. in Louisville. The first factory building of the house, located east side of Seventh Street, between Main Market, had been erected by the U. S. Government for the joint use of the U. S. Christian Commission and the Y. M. C. A. for religious and social work amongst the Federal troops. This building continued as the finn's factory until its removal to the north side of Main Street, between Seventh Eighth, in 1877. The next factory building purchased by the firm-for the manu- facture of horse collars-was the oldest Methodist church building now standing in Louisville, located east side of Eighth Street, between Main and Market. The pres- ent office and main buildings of Harbison Gathright at Seventh and Main, occu- pied by them for more than 40 years, are on most historic ground-the site of old Ft. Nelson, erected under the direction of Gen. George Rogers Clark in 1782. A history of the Ohio Falls Cities, states in part: JOSIAH B. GATCRGT JOHN J. HARBISON OWEN GATHEIGHT, JR., 1873 "Ft. Nelson, named in honor of the third Governor of Virginia, was on the second bank of the river. The gate was placed opposite Clark's headquarters, on the line where Seventh Street approaches the river." The Colonial Dames of America, in the State of Kentucky in 1912, erected at the corner of Seventh Main Streets, close by Harbison Gathright's buildings, a rough stone column, with the following inscription on a bronze tablet: "On this site stood Ft. Nelson, built 1782, under the direction of George Rog- ers Clark, after the expedition which gave to the country the great Northwest." In 1914 the house added a department of automobile tires and motor car acces- sories on an extensive scale. The present officers are: Owen Gathright, Ch. Bd. of Directors; Jesse N. Gath- right, Pres.; Frank J. Kelly, First V. Pres.; Wm. T. Baker, Second V. Pres. and Treas.; W. A. Cochrane, Secy.; H. K. Solomon, Asst. Secy. Horse collar factory and warehouses, Nos. 115-121 S. Eighth Street and 718-722 West Pike Street. 68 Louisville Fifty Years Ago A Land Mark on lMain Street Over Fifty Years B ACK IN 1864 the present firm of The Otis Hidden Co. was established by B H. Herold, one of Louisville's foremost business men of that time. A very small building on the south side of Market Street, between Second and Third, housed office and entire stock. When Mr. Herold died in 1880 the firm was reorganized as Lounsberry, Hidden Campbell. A couple of years later, Mr. Otis Hidden, part owner of the firm Hid- den Lounsberry in Cincinnati, sold his interest in the Cincinnati house and bought the entire holdings of Lounsberry, Hidden Campbell. The firm was then reor- ganized, as The Otis Hidden Co., incorporated. This was in 1883. The following year the firm moved into new quarters, at old number 317 W. Market Street, until then tenanted by Zapp-Baker and Company. Several years later Mr. Hidden retired and sold the business to Wm. H. Donner, who resides in Buffalo, N. Y., where he devotes his time to the Donner Steel Co. Some time later Mr. Donner bought the building at 324-326 W. Main Street, and afterwards the company moved into these quarters. In 1910 Robt. E. Moody was elected Vice President and General Manager, and under his management the com- pany progressed rapidly. When Mr. Moody took charge the capital was 50,000. In 1913 it was increased to 300,000 and in 1918 it was further increased to 500,000. The Present Headquarters. The Otis Hidden Co. has occupied its present headquarters for about eight- een years. It now has also two large warehouses, one on Tenth Street near Main, the other fronting Sixth and Main streets. Part of the Tenth Street building is devoted to manufacturing the famous "Handi-Package" Shades, the company being one of the leading manufacturers of window shades, while the elaborate and complete displays of all merchandise handled, at 324-326 W. Main Street, compare favorably with any similar display rooms in the country. So, from a small beginning, this firm has grown into one of the largest of its kind in the Middle West and South. Its salesmen regularly cover eighteen states- Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Kentucky, West Virginia, Virginia, Tennessee, North Caro- lina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, Texas, Ok- lahoma, Arkansas and Missouri. Big Importers of Oriental. The Otis Hidden Co. ranks as the second largest importer in America of Japa- nese and China mattings and matting rugs, and maintains an immense warehouse in St. Paul, Minn., for redistribution of this class of merchandise. Then, there's old "Tom Hidden," Otis Hidden's famous big cat mascot. His picture appears on shipping labels, window shade wrappers, and in various adver- tising media, including a life-size portrait on the firm's yearly calendar. Requests for these calendars are continually received from nearly every state in the Union, and not infrequently from distant lands. 54 Louisville Fifty Years Ago In Banking and Investment Business Since '72 T HE private bank of A. I). Hunt Co., of which the T firm of J. J. B. Hilliard Son is the successor, was founded bv A. D. Hunt, J. J. B. Hilliard and Thomas Speed on January 1, 1872. The business of the bank in- cluded not only the ordinary transactions of a bank of de- posit but also the negotiation of investment loans and the handling of investment securities. There were frequent transactions in gold which was still selling at a premium as a result of the Civil War. Early in the eighties, the firm of A. D. Hunt Co. was dissolved and J. J. B. ffilliard took over and continued the investment business of the earlier firm until his death in J. A. 33. 1901. In the nineties, Byron Hilliard was made a partner .3. . BILLIARD and the name of the firm changed to J. J. B. Hilliard Son. Isaac Hilliard entered the firm in 1902, Edward H. Hilliard became a partner in 1906 and A. J. Howard, who had been connected with the firm for fifteen years, became a partner in 1921. The original offices of the firm were on the south side of Main, between Fourth and Fifth. Later, quarters next to the old German Bank, at Fifth and Market, on the present site of the Federal Reserve Bank, were occupied for some twenty years until the present offices at 130 South Fifth Street were taken. With the exception of the cessation of deposit banking, the character of business done by the firm has changed but little in the fifty-one years of its existence. The original advertisement, announcing the organization of the firm, carried the phrase "Special Attention to Investing Money" and that phrase has been the keynote of the firm's endeavor ever since. By specializing in Government, municipal and corporation bonds and the highest grade investment stocks, the firm has extended its clientele throughout Kentucky and southern Indiana and Tennessee and has an established BYRON T reputation for conservatism throughout the entire South. 55 Louisville Fifty Years Ago The Imorde's at Third and Ormsby for Fifty Years A half a century ago, anywhere south of Broadway was considered "out of A town, " that section had few streets, sidewalks and residences. Fourth Street cars turned at Oak Street, and Second Street cars at Breckinridge. The Taylor barracks, hospital and officers' cottages, built during the Civil War, stood at Third and Oak. Third and Ormsby was "way out," and in June, 1873, Joseph Imorde and his brother-in-law Ben Melter, under the name of Melter Imorde, opened a general store at that location. In 1875 Ben Melter retired and was succeeded by Henry linorde, brother of Joseph Imorde, and the name changed to Imorde Brother. In 1903 Joseph and Henry Imorde retired and were succeeded by Ben H. and William J. Imorde, sons of Joseph Imorde, who are now conducting a Modern Ser- vice Grocery Meat Market. For fifty years the Imorde's, in the same building, have been serving the public with the best of groceries, meats, poultry and vegetables. s6 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Kentucky Louisville Mutual Insurance Company THIS Company was chartered by the Legislature in the year 1839, and commenced T business in March of that year, at a time when the only insurance that was written was fire, hence the omission of the word "fire" in its name. Its Charter gives the privilege of writing fire insurance throughout the State of Kentucky, but in recent years, its operations have been limited to the City of Louis- ville, accepting risks of the preferred class, principally dwelling houses. While its Charter gives the privilege of writing insurance on stock of merchandise and contents of dwelling houses, this has not been exercised by the Company, its business being limited entirely to buildings. The first meeting of the Directors was held in the office of Guthrie Tyler on March 16, 1839, the incorporators being: Thomas Glass, John B. Bland, Thomas Coleman, Elisha Applegate, Minor W. Redd and John W. Tyler. At this meeting Mr. Glass was elected President pro. tem. and Mr. Tyler, Secretary pro tem. Those who have served as President are the following: John W. Tyler, J. W. Anderson, James Marshall, Willis Stewart, Thomas Coleman, W. H. Stokes, Joseph Monks, T. L. Jefferson, Thomas P. Jacob, John D. Taggart, John Stites, E. S. Tuley and W. Wallace McDowell. The present Board of Directors is composed of John Stites, W. Wallace Mc- Dowell, Attilla Cox, John D. Otter. John T. Malone, Arthur E. Mueller, Tom B. Dun- can, Joseph Burge and Gilmore Ouerbacker. The officers are: W. Wallace Mc- Dowell, President; Alex M. Woodruff, Secretary. During the eighty-four years of its existence, there have been thirty-seven as- sessments made on policy-holders to cover losses that have been sustained. 57 Louisville Fifty Years Ago A Very Old Firm in the Jewelry Business HE firm of Win. Kendrick's Sons dates back to the days when Louisville had a population of but 12,000. It was in 1831 that a young man of twenty- one, William Kendrick, entered into a partnership with a friend and they went into the jewelry busi- ness. This partnership continued for only a year 1and was then dissolved. Shortly after, another partnership was formed, and the place of business was located at the northwest corner of Fourth and Main Streets. This concern continued for many years, and the firm enjoyed success from year to year until the commercial storm of 1838, which storm continued through 1842, struck them as it did thousands of - other businesses. With a large stock of goods rapidly depreciat- ing in value, and with sales of costly jewelry al- WXM C. KMRIOK most suspended, this firm was forced into bank- ruptcy, and surrendered everything for the settle- ment of its debts. Mr. Kendrick even gave the house in which he then lived, al- though it had been built on ground belonging to his wife. Starts on Shoe Strings. In looking over some old records a present member of the firm found the following statement written in Mr. Kendrick's own hand-writing: "Commenced business with 20, a silver watch worth V, and a few tools, the whole amounting to about 150." This was in the year 1843. By close applica- tion to business, strict economy, and untiring ef- fort, he succeeded in establishing himself finan- cially so that in 1850 he was enabled to pay his creditors in full with interest. Although legally relieved from this obligation, Mr. Kendrick felt morally obliged to pay it. This letter shows what his creditors thought of him: "It is with great satisfaction that we reply to your favor in which you enclose a check for money to be divided amongst the subscribers as therein directed, being a payment in full of a claim with interest released by us some seven years since. GEO. P. KENDPICK 68 Louisville Fifty Years Ago "We are, sir, indebted to you for this evidence of sound and correct principles, and have read your letter with lively interest and much profit. "It is not often we are called upon to acknowledge the receipt of money sent to satisfy a claim upon which no creditor has a legal demand, and upon one which he can scarcely be said to have a moral one, and we most sincerely trust that the example now shown by you may be followed by all those who find themselves in a like situation. "As a testimonial of our regard, and as a keepsake to be pointed to hereafter by your descendants. we beg your acceptance of a piece of silver, suitably inscribed. WN "Wishing you every gratification that a good g action and just conduct may produce, we remain, your f riends, Fellows, Wadsworth Co., Fellows, Cargill Co., Francis Tomes Sons, The i fl lDowning Baldwin." A Medal lfor Virtue. TeKendrick family still has in its possession the silver pitcher which was sent Mr. Kendrick at this time. It bears the following inscription: "Pre- sented to William Kendrick, of Louisville, Ky., by Fellows, Wadsworth Co., Fellows, Cargill Co., Francis Tomes Sons, and Down- ing Baldwin, of New York, as a testimonial of their esteem for his integrity and moral worth. An honest man's the noblest work of God." The House of Spoons. Following his failure Mr. Kendrick opened a small shop on Fourth Street, from which he later moved to Third, between Main and Market, a building then located at the rear of the present establishment of Levy Bros. This house was known as the House of Spoons because of the fact that a set of six big spoons hanging in his win- dow served as his trade-mark. He remained here during the Civil War. Great prosperity came, and at length he found it necessary to secure larger quarters, which were obtained on Main Street, two doors west of the American-Southern National Bank. This was in 1870. He remained there for six years, then moved to a store specially built for him by Richard Robinson on the west side of Fourth Street, corner of the alley between Market and Jefferson. This was the location for thirty- five years. Son's Take Hold. In March, 1880, Mr. Kendrick died very suddenly, and from then on the business has been conducted by his sons, William C. and George P. Kendrick. It was in 1911 that the firm leased their present quarters at 460 Fourth Avenue, in the Selman Building. This concern is a high-class establishment, specializing in diamonds, silver, and jewelry. Their customers are to be found not only in Kentucky, but scattered throughout the entire United States. 59 Louisville Fifty Years Ago History of Lemon Son, Jewelers THE oldest retail firm in Louisville has nearly reached the century mark. The store of Lemon Son, jewelers, established in 1828, has a continuous business record under the Lemon name for ninety-five years. The founder of this house, James Innes Lemon, was born in Scott County in 1804, being the grandson of Capt. James Lemon, a Scotch-Irish patriot, who fell in action at the battle of Brandywine during the Revolutionary War. As a young man, Mr. Lemon settled in Lexington, and in 1825, when Lafayette visited this country, James I. Lemon was one of the committee to receive him. In 1828 he moved from Lexington to Louisville and established a jewelry store on Main Street, the site now occupied by the old American-Southern Na- tional Bank Building. Sterling Integrity. At that time Louisville had a Jpopulation of less than 9,000 souls. In 1832 James I. Lemon formed a partnership with William Kendrick onl the northwest corner of Fourth and Main streets, where now stands the Columbia Building. This firm JAMES 1NS L3Eh ON Founder of Lemon Son continued in active business tell Ja mads e Lae in 1828 years, until the panic of 1842, when Jamot lemon the firm of Lemon Kendrick went down in failure. Released by their creditors, these two men did not feel released by their conscience, as each, with less than 100.00 began alone the struggle for rehabilitation in business. The law had re- leased them from their financial obligations, but before 1850 each one of these young men, by industry, skill and integrity, became able to pay off his entire individual indebtedness, with interest. Upon the occasion of Mr. Lemon's making final pay- ment, with interest, of his part of the debts, long since considered settled, the creditors insisted upon his accepting a handsome testimonial to commemorate his act, but with his characteristic modesty he flatly declined the gift, saying he had done nothing more than his duty. Mr. Brainard Lemon is the proud possessor of some of these receipts of his grandfather's, in which the interest is nearly as large as the principal. Mr. James I. Lemon continued alone in business until 1862, when he admitted his son, James K. Lemon, into partnership with him, the style of the firm being James I. Lemon Son, until the death of the founder of the business in 1869. In 1889, Jas. K. Lemon admitted his son, Brainard Lemon, into partnership, which continued until the death of Jas. K. Lemon in 1907. After the death of Jas. K. Lemon, the firm incorporated. The officers to date are Brainard Lemon, Presi- dent; Nolte C. Ament, Vice President; J. L. Milton, Secretary and J. E. Whitney, Treasurer. 50 I Louisville Fifty Years Ago "At Your Service" for Sixty-two Years MOSES LEVY gENRY LEVY L EVY BROS.-like most institutions of its kind-had a modest beginning. The L history of the business is briefly summed up as follows: Established in 1861; growing greater ever since. The corner room of the first floor of the building shown below housed the orig- inal store. The early milestones of the store's progress were marked by the hectic conditions of the Civil War period and the years of readjustment which followed. Despite these difficulties, business grew until all the space in this building was required. On April 22, 1889, Levy Bros. acquired title to the property on which this building stood and three years later began the erection of what was proudly referred to in the Louisville Commercial of April 10, 1892, as, "Our Modern Trade Palace." This justifiable pride exerted itself in a way that is reflected in still greater growth in 1906. In that year an addition was made which increased the size of the store to what it is today. The founders of the business were actively connected with it right up to the time of their2f) deaths. Moses Levy's death oc- curred in 1905; Henry Levy's f death in 1912. 4 Sons of both founders, to- gether with men who have been with the firm since boyhood, now own and operate the business which is daily exerting its con- ii structive force upon the business life of Louisville. 61 1H61 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Liberty Insurance Bank, Founded 1854 IFTY years ago the Liberty Insurance F Bank had already served the people of Louisville through two decades. It was organized by the directors of the German Fire Insurance Company for the purpose of U investingtheir rapidly growing surplus funds. The name Insurance while synony- a a mnous with safety, protection and guaranty was given because of its affiliation with the Bgunderwriting company. In 1873 its banking house was at 73 West Market Street, near Third, a tall three-story structure, considered at that time, one of Louisville's beautiful buildings. Its officers were President, F. Reidhar; Cashier, J. J. Fischer, and Directors, F. iReidhar, J. Schmitt, P. Winkler, H. Wellenvoss, L. Eck- Ti'S-s crape r t was the o rastenkemper, G. P. Doern and J. Von Borries. of Fourteen years later the bank purchased the site of its present location, on the same square and but a hundred yards from the bank's birthplace. The tower which rises over the present building was built at that time, having been preserved when the new building was erected in 1919. The growth of the Liberty Insurance Bank has been most remarkable since 1917, at which time its deposits were about five millions. The slogan "Every Citizen a Saver" would have been derided but six years ago, and "The home of over 85,000 bank accounts" regarded as preposterous. During the World War and the Liberty Bond drives, millions of dollars in subscriptions were paid through this bank and the new name Liberty Insurance Bank was but a natural sequence. After the armistice the bank's growth was at the rate of a million new deposits every three months and today its total deposits are over 16 millions. The Liberty Bank has always been a factor in Louisville's progress-a staunch supporter of Louisville-made products-a believer in civic beauty. Its faith in savings has been justified. Daring displays of Louisville 's industries, flower shows and educational exhibits in its spacious _ lobby are so recent that their value to Louisville is well remembered. The bank has now branch agencies located in four quarters of the city, that bid fair to the upbuilding FrANZ REIDHA f First creendent of the 'Bank for and convenience of the communities they serve. the People." 62 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Louisville Cincinnati Packet Co. T HE Louisville and Cincinnati Packet Co. is the oldest steamboat organization in the United States, having been organized in 1821 by Thomas Sherlock, Z. M. Sher- ley, (grandfather of Honorable Swager Sherley) Jonathan Barker, Captain W. C. Hite and others. In 1887 their name was changed to the present, Louisville and Cincinnati Packet Company, as they had discontinued carrying the U. S. Mail. It operates daily between Louisville and Cincinnati, also operates one boat from Louisville up Kentucky River. The Steamer "America," one of the excursion boats of the Louisville Cincinnati Packet Co. The City of Louisville. The famous Steamer City of Louisville made the fastest time between Louis- ville and Cincinnati in 1894, having made the run of 150 miles in 5 hours and 58 minutes. This time has never been equaled. This company is now building two large steel hull boats to ply between Louis- ville and Cincinnati. They will each be 285 feet long, non-sinkable, having 16 water tight compartments in their hulls. This company also operates the Steamer America in the excursion trade during the summer season out of Louisville. The America is the largest excursion boat in the United States, having a capacity to carry 3,750 passengers. 68 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Cement, One of the Earliest Industries T HE manufacture of cement in this district was begun between the years 1825 and 1830, at the time of the building of the old Louisville Portland Canal. The excavations for the canal uncovered deposits of argillaceous limestone suit- able for the manufacture of cement, which was burned after the fashion in use for the making of lime, and ground in the flour mill built by Louis and John Tarascon, wealthy French brothers, who had spent some 150,000.00 in importing the most ex- pensive flour mill machinery from France, and had erected a six story flour mill and mill race in Shippingport. The mill did double duty, grinding cement for the con- struction of the canal, and grinding flour for the inhabitants of Shippingport and surrounding territory. The flour mill proved a losing venture, being too large for the requirements of the community, and passed out of the hands of the Tarascons, and was used thereafter exclusively for the manufacture of cement. The business grew steadily-as it passed from the ownership of the Tarascons to John Hulme and then to Speed Rhorer, a partnership, until in 1866 the Louisville Hydraulic Ce- ment and Water Company was incorporated by a special act of the Legislature, the shares in said company being 1,000.00 each. Milton H. Rhorer was elected President, and Joshua F. Speed, Secretary, the Louisville Savings Institution being designated as Treasurer of the Corporation. In 1869 James B. Speed was appointed Superintendent of the plant, the daily capacity at this time being approximately 150 barrels of hydraulic cement per day. Under his careful management the business was extended so that it became necessary to in- crease the output of the company by the erection of a larger mill in Clark County, Indiana, where the same quality of rock had been discovered, and by the purchase of another mill in that locality which had been built a short while previously. Ad- 64 Louisville Fifty Years Ago ditions to these plants were constantly made, so that at the high tide of the hy- draulic cement industry in this country, the Louisville Cement Company had a ca- pacity at its various mills of over 4,500 barrels per day, and was recognized as the leading company in the manufacture of hydraulic cement in the United States. Began the Manufacture of Portland Cement. In the year 1904 the Company began the erection of a plant for the manufac- ture of Portland cement, and on February 22,1916, the new mill was placed in opera- tion, with a capacity of approximately 800 barrels per day. This mill has been con- stantly enlarged until at the present time it has a capacity of 1,200,000 barrels of Portland cement per annum. A. While engaged in the manufacture of hydraulic cement, the Company took up the collateral line of the manufacture of lime, beginning in a small way at Utica, Indiana, and Florida Heights, Kentucky, both points located about six or eight miles above the city of Louisville on the Ohio River. In 1885 the discovery of a very high quality of lime stone in Crawford County, Indiana, led the Company to abandon its original lime works, and concentrate its energies on the manufacture of lime at Mill- town, where their present plant is equipped with the latest type of improved gas burning kilns, producing the highest quality of high calcium lime for chemical and industrial uses. By successive acts of the Legislature, the Company was authorized to change its name to "Louisville Cement Company" and increase its capital stock from time to time, until at the present time the authorized capital stock is 2,100,000.00. 65 Louisville Fifty Years Ago The History of a Public Utility THE Louisville Gas and Electric Company is the result of a consolidation, af- fected in 1913, of the Louisville Gas Company, the Louisville Lighting Com- pany and the Kentucky Heating Company. The Louisville Gas Company was incorporated by the Legislature in 1838 un- der the name of the Louisville Gas and Water Company. The company also had a banking privilege, but this was surrendered on March 6, 1854. During the existence of the Louisville Gas Company and its successor, the Louisville Gas and Electric Company, some of the most prominent citizens of Louis- ville have acted as officers and directors of the Company. The presidents of the company, in the order of their service, have been T. T. Shreve, L. L. Shreve, J. Lawrence Smith, Henry Whitestone, John J. Baxter, Geo. W. Morris, Udolpho Snead, Fred M. Sackett, Geo. H. Harries, Arthur S. Huey. The last two gentlemen are members of the firm of H. M. Byllesby and Com- pany, of Chicago, and during their terms as president the active management of the Company has been in the hands of Donald McDonald, of Louisville, with the title of Vice President and General Manager. For many years the Company's business was confined to the furnishing of artificial gas, which was sold at prices beginning with about 3.50 per thousand cubic feet and coming gradually down to 1.00 per thousand cubic feet. Natural gas was introduced in a small way by the Kentucky Heating Company in 1890. The supply soon became inadequate and that Company began the manufac- ture of artificial gas. This was added to until at the time of the consolidation the output of artificial gas by the Kentucky Heating Company far exceeded the output of natural gas. The Production of Electricity. The production and sale of electricity began in the year 1884. The business was attended by many difficulties, the principal one being that the apparatus was improved so rapidly that the best that could be bought in one year became obsolete two or three years afterward. Great difficulty was also ex- perienced in inducing people to use electricity. They were afraid of it, they did not trust it, and much missionary work had to be done before a steady demand for it could be established. At the time of the consolidation in 1913, electricity was being furnished by the Louisville Lighting Company and the Kentucky Electric Company. After the con- solidation, with a sure market and better credit, the consolidated company proceeded to supply the necessary machinery in order to furnish a more reliable supply of elec- tricity both for light and power. At that time the power business was in its infancy, but it has grown very rapidly, and at this time practically all manufacturing estab- lishments in Louisville drive their machinrv with electric power. In November, 1919, the Company began to offer Seven Per Cent. Preferred Stock to its customers and to the citizens generally. This policy was successful from the beginning. At present about 5,000 Louisville citizens hold stock in the company. 68 Louisville Fif ty Years Ago This has furnished to the company a reliable supply of the capital necessary to keep the business abreast of the growth of the city and it also gives a large num- ber of the citizens an interest in its affairs and its prosperity. The people who have made this investment are largely thrifty, saving persons, who have chosen to invest in a property in their own town which they can see and whose operations they can watch. The stock has proven very satisfactory, paying its dividends quarterly, and the number of shareholders is constantly growing. The Management of the Company. The management of the Louisville Gas and Electric Company has realized fully that its own prosperity depends oln the prosperity of the city in which it operates. It has therefore been foremost in helping all enterprises which tend to promote the general prosperity of the town. It was one of the first companies to subscribe to the Louisville Industrial Foundation, taking 25,000 worth of this stock. Its officers and employees were very active in the sale of this stock, and some repre- sentative of the company has constantly been identified with the management of the Industrial Foundation. The company has also supported the Louisville Board of Trade, the Welfare League, the Y. M. C. A., and in short all of the other enter- prises which exist for the general prosperity and welfare of the City of Louisville. The Company operates one of the largest and most up-to-date electric gene- rating stations in the world. Realizing that a reliable supply of coal was abso- lutely essential for continuity of operation, it purchased and operates an excel- lent coal mine at Echols, Kentucky, and owns 25 large hopper bottom steel cars for the transportation of its coal. During the war, when many electric compan- ies were obliged to curtail service for lack of coal, the company not only kept up its own supply, but it had coal to furnish to the public when all other sources failed. In the matter of gas service, the company has been able to furnish to Louis- ville as good service as any other city receives and much better than most of them. The gas is, however, so convenient that there is a constant tendency for the demand to outrun the supply, especially when coal is so expensive as to cost almost as much as gas. The most strenuous efforts have been made to maintain and in- crease the supply of natural gas. These efforts have been greatly hampered by the growth of the carbon black industry. A carbon black plant costs very little to build, it operates every day and every night during the year; it takes the gas at atmos- pheric pressure, while the gas company must have gas at about 300 lbs. in order to force it to the distant city. A single carbon black plant burns up during the year more gas than a large city. In 1922 the Legislature passed a law forbidding the use of natural gas for this purpose, but the law was vetoed by the Governor and the carbon black plants continue to increase. And whenever a new gas deposit is found they lease a few acres of land and begin the process of destroying the de- posit. The operation of these plants greatly hampers the gas companies in their efforts to supply cities and towns with gas. At present the supply of natural gas is ample for moderate weather. When the weather is cold artificial gas is made and the quantity required to supplement the gas supply is rapidly increasing. 67 Louisville Fifty Years Ago A German Newspaper Seventy-five Years Ago A MONG those Louisville enterprises which can look back upon a half century or more of useful existence, the Louisville Anzeiger takes its modest place. For the Anzeiger is indeed the oldest daily of the metropolis of Ken- tueky and the state at large that has gone along its path without change of name, without consolidation with other enterprises of similar character, and has kept to its standards unswervingly from its first appearance on the first day of March, 1849, until this hour, an American paper published in the German language, the organ of thought and expression of a highly valuable part of the community that has loyally helped to make Louisville what she is today, the proud city at the gateway to the South. The First Publishers of the Anzeiger. On March 1, 1849, Philip Doern and Otto Scheefer opened the first Anzeiger office. It was situated then in a building on the north side of Jefferson Street, one door west of Third Street. Conceived as a weekly, its success was so instantaneous that two months later it was made into a daily and has been a daily paper ever since. Philip Doern, born September 16, 1829, in Nassau, Germany, was the first President of the Anzeiger Company. He died November 11, 1878, and Martin Born- traeger became his successor, born May 22, 1828, in Kurhessen, Germany, who up to the date of his death, May 4, 1892, conducted the Anzeiger as its President. In the meantime other men had associated themselves with the flourishing enterprise, notable among them George S. Schuhmann and Henry S. Cohn, because in the years of their management and guidance the Anzeiger attained its growth and in full measure the standing in the community that it enjoys today. Mr. Schuh- mann became President of the Anzeiger Company at the death of Mr. Borntraeger and at the same time Mr. Cohn, later appointed on the staff of the Governor as a colonel, Secretary and Treasurer, and both served until their days on earth ended. Col. Cohn died March 18, 1903, and Mr. Schuhmann January 23, 1910. They were succeeded by their sons, who had already joined the Anzeiger some years before. Mr. Leo C. Schuhmann today is President and Col. Herman V. Cohn, Vice President of the Anzeiger Company, Richard J. Schuhmann, Treasurer, Edward Cohn, Secre- tary, and Joseph H. Nold, Superintendent of the printing department. They have upheld the fine, old traditions of the paper and followed in the path so splendidly laid out by the fathers and predecessors. The Anzeiger as it is Today. Today the Anzeiger is housed in its own building, 321 West Liberty Street, oc- cupying it with its newspaper and large job printing plant, and a numerous force of employes of whom several have been with the enterprise for many years. Only lately there retired a foreman after a service of fifty-five years with the paper. Some years ago another died after an equally long service, and a third departed this life after having started with the Anzeiger in its very beginning after having devoted his whole life to its service. These facts are worth mentioning, not in the spirit of vain, glorious bragging, but as an enviable record of which the Anzeiger Company may well be proud. es Louisville Fifty Years Ago More Than 50 Years of Consistent Public Service That is the Story of "Kentucky's Greatest Newspaper." Fie ch Mr-y Far 8,iA -rp. HE Louisville Daily Commercial, now The Louisville Herald, was established about the latter part of 1869, with its publication office at 102 West Green Street,-now Liberty Street-and in accordance with an announcement made in an issue of The Louisville Daily Commmercial of July 12, 1870, the claim was made that the Commercial was the cheapest daily newspaper in the United States, at only 6.00 a year, by giving more reading news matter than any of the New York papers published at that time at the same price. At that time, the four pages of the Daily Commercial were much larger than those of the present day Herald and the paper was issued every morning in time for the first mails leaving Louisville. An old file reveals that its pages contained full and carefully prepared telegraphic dispatches from all parts of the country, with news accounts of everything of interest transpiring around the Falls Cities at that time, as well as forcible editorials upon the current topics of the day and other interesting selections made from a large list of exchanges. Special attention being given to news matter throughout Kentucky, Indiana and to Southern affairs. Politically the Louisville Daily Commercial declared that while strenuously up- holding the principles of the Republican party, it would be no blind follower of party leaders and would take an independent view of all public measures and hold all inter- ested with position in the party in the country to a strict account of their steward- ship. Since the time of the change from the Commercial to The Louisville Herald this publication has made rapid strides and improvements, attaining a position which justi- fies the claim as to The Louisville Herald being "Kentucky's Greatest Newspaper." 69 Louisville Fifty Years Ago The Louisville National Bank HIS Bank was originally chartered by a special charter in February, 1867, as the Louisville Banking and Insurance Company. It opened for business on the second day of March, 1868. It was located on the South side of Main Street, two doors west of Fourth Street, and remained there for fourteen years. In 1880, the Insurance Department was separated from the Bank and the Bank was then known as the Louisville Banking Company. On April 1, 1884, sixteen years after its start in business it moved to the corner of Fifth and Market Streets, where it is still located in the building known as the "Bull Block" now known as the Louisville National Bank Building. We occupied the corner of the building, the entrance being by a winding stairway leading up from the outside and occupied a space of about one-third its present dimension. The move to Fifth and Market at that time was an ex- periment, and, it is understood, that not all of the Directors could see their way clear to leave Main Street, for at that time nearly every bank in the city was located on Main Street. But the move proved to be successful and after a little experience at Fifth and Market the Bank was "chesty" enough to make the following statement: "When the Bank was organized it required two persons to transact the business, one person really could have performed the duties. Now it takes eleven persons to do the business and no time is left for play." The Capital was then............... 118,633.00 The Surplus............... 165,000.00 Undivided Profits or "Contingent Fund" as it was then called... 19,826.44 Deposits.................................................... 429,638.90 And, the Bank was also "proud" enough to add this statement in capital let- ters; "This is the only bank in the State of Kentucky that could go into liq- uidation and pay its stockholders more than two dollars for every one they paid in. " The bank prospered in its new location, growing in popular esteem and fa- vor and greatly increasing its business. Mr. Theodore Harris was its President, Dr. John E. Sutcliffe of Sutcliffe Owen, Vice-president, and Mr. Wm. J. Duncan, Cashier, and the following were the directors: Mr. Alvin T. Wood, Mr. A. Gerst, Mr. Robert L. White and Mr. Jas. C. Gilbert, of the Bradley-Gilbert Co., all of them prominent and splendid busi- ness men and who have all since passed away. On the first day of April 1885, Major John H. Leathers was elected Cashier of the bank and has remained in its service ever since, covering a period of thirty- eight years. Major Leathers acted as Cashier until the death of Mr. Theodore 70 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Harris in 1909, when he was elected President, and served in that capacity until January, 1921, at which time Mr. Richard Bean who had been elected Active Vice-president in 1919, became President and Major Leathers was elected Chair- man of the Board. In December, 1898, when the Charter of the Bank expired as a State Insti- tution, it went into the National Banking System and was then known as the Louisville National Banking Company, and in November, 1920, it increased its capital and became known as The Louisville Nationai Bank. The Bank has had a highly honorable and creditable record. It passed through two great panics, 1893 and 1907, unscathed. In the panic of 1893, several of our most important banking institutions were compelled to close their doors. The Louisville Banking Company fought its way through these great trials and stood the stress and strain of these troublous times and made a record of which it has great reason to be proud. There are three officers now connected with the Bank who are "veterans" so to speak in its service, having been with the Bank for a period of more than forty years: Mr. Ben C. Weaver, first vice-president, Mr. Burton A. Duerson, assistant cashier and office manager and Mr. William MI. Charlton, assistant cashier and senior teller. These three men came into the Bank as "boys" just ready to enter upon life's work. For forty years they have been factors in its growth and its prosperity and in its present splendid record. I might also mention with great pleasure that Mr. S. Thruston Ballard, vice- president of the bank has been on its Board of Directors for more than thirty y'ears. The bank in the last two or three years has had a phenomenal growth. As the Louisville National Banking Company its deposits at one time reached close on to four million dollars. This was as high or nearly as high as any bank in the city could boast and, at that time there were twenty-three banks in Louisville, members of the Louisville Clearing House Association. With the consolidation of some of our leading banks the number has greatly de- creased and, naturally, the deposits of some of these merged banks have grown to gigantic proportions. The Louisville National Banking Company has since changed its name to The Louisville National Bank and has increased its deposits in the last two years to nearly seven million dollars, a record of which all who are connected with it can share in its achievement. It is a matter of pride with us also that its clientele is of the finest and of the highest grade and highest type of our city. The bank is progressive, wide awake and up to date and conservative in its growth and a greater future still assured. The present officers of the bank are: John H. Leathers, Chairman, B. A. Duerson, Assistant Cashier, Richard Bean, President, Chas. F. Leathers, Assistant Cashier, Ben C. Weaver, Vice President, Wm. M. Charlton, Assistant Cashier, Thruston Ballard, Vice President, J. W. Watkins, Assistant Cashier, Ben J. Metcalfe, V. Pres. Cashier, John V. Collins, Mgr. Bond Invst. Del). Dudley Winston, Vice President, 71 Louisville Fif ty Years Ago A Brief Historical Sketch of the L. N.R. R. N INETY-1THREE vears ago last week the corporate books were opened and sub- scriptions invited for the construction of the first railroad west of the Alle- gheny Mountains and postdating by only four years the first railroad in the United States. This road was the Lexington and Ohio, chartered January 27, 1830, and Louisville, Ky., was selected as its objective point. It was duly constructed but finally absorbed by the Louisville Nashville System and today passengers com- muting between Lexington and Louisville traverse, with slight exception, the iden- tical roadbed of that ancient enterprise. The Charter of the L. N. The Louisville Nashville proper saw the light of corporate day somewhat later, having been chartered with a 3,000,000 capitalization on Alarch 5, 1850. It initially ventured into the railroad field on April 13, 1853, by executing a contract for the construction of a 185 mile line from Louisville to Nashville. As Louisville then was strictly a river town of some forty-odd thousand population whose business was principally measured by its boat traffic, and Nashville a city of only 10,000 people, while between them stood a sparsely settled country, with rugged hills of- fering almost insuperable barriers, this project, at best a speculative enterprise, was considered a bold undertaking indeed. Nevertheless, after six years of effort in the face of undreamed physical, economic and financial difficulties, this huge task was completed and on November 1, 1859, the first through train was run to Nashville. With the completion by 1860 of this and two other lines to Lebanon, Ky., and a por- tion of the Memphis Line, totaling 269 miles, the progress of the L. N's upbuilding halted until after the Civil War. Many New Lines Added. During the decade or more following 1870 the L. N. accomplished its most constructive expansion. In 1871 it assumed the contract for the building of a rail- road between Decatur and Montgomery and in 1872 leased the line from Nashville to Decatur. In 1881 the line from Montgomery to Mobile and from Mobile to New Orleans became a part of the L. N., and later in the same year the road between Cincinnati and Louisville, including the original Lexington and Ohio, was taken over, thus completing the first through trunk line service between Cincinnati and New Orleans. In the meantime the branch to Memphis was added in 1872; the line to Pen- sacola taken over in 1880; the road to St. Louis included in 1881, and the link be- tween Cincinnati and Atlanta completed in 1905, which, together with the main trunk and numerous additions and extensions subsequently made, now combine to give the L. N. a permanent place among America's most important railroad systems. 72 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Thus from a nucleus of 269 miles, built up during the first seven years of its corporate life, it has today become a splendid property, perhaps exceeding the fondest dreams of those few public spirited citizens who 73 years ago began an enterprise destined to be of such incalculable value in enhancing the wealth and prosperity of the South. The L. N. Fifty Years Ago. Fifty years ago the L. N. was a struggling road 392 miles in length with a gross income of about 3,000,000 per year. Today its operations cover 5,000 miles and its business amounts to more than 120,000,000. It maintains a working force of nearly 50,000 employees, whose annual compensation aggregates 68,000,000, engaged in various railroad occupations in the 13 states through which it operates, who, by the value of their steady employment and the distribution of their wages among merchants and other industrial concerns, render themselves worth-while citizens and add very substantially to the economic prosperity of the community in which they live. By reason of its economical operation and conservative management the L. N. has es- tablished a record of stability, and it provides a most attractive security for the in- vestor. Since the year 1898 it has not failed to pay dividends. The Value of the L. N. to Louisville. The L N. is of inestimable value to the City of Louisville. Its general offices and principal shops are located here, and besides being perhaps the largest taxpayer, expends approximately 16,000,000 per annum for labor to its 11,000 employees work- ing at the general offices, the shops, and in and out of the terminals, who, in the purchase of their daily necessities, greatly benefit the local merchants, real estate owners, and various other classes of business men. In addition the L. N. pays out nearly 2,000,000 for materials and supplies purchased from concerns in the Falls Cities, making its total disbursements more than 18,000,000 per year, or approxi- mately 1,500,000 per month. 78 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Manufacturers of Store Equipment for Sixty Years MANSFELD SON, Incorporated, started under the name of R. Mansfeld on P March 15, 1862, the first location being a small store room on East Street AL between Green Walnut, the founder of this business being Robert A. Mans- feld, who was born April 26, 183.5, and died May 7,1912. The first work secured was done through the means of personal solicitation, with a tool box under one arm, a helper by his side, carrying miscellaneous materials for all sorts of odd jobs of manufacture. In 1865 Robert Mansfeld moved to Second Street between Market and Main, and his business had increased to such an extent that it was necessary to install machinery. This machinery consisted of one buzz saw, run neither by steam, electric- ity, nor water power, but having forF _its motive power, a large fly wheel in the basement, operated by a boy, and when it was necessary to in- crease the speed of the saw, the operator would stamp on the floor, which was a signal for the boy to turn faster. In 1870 the first modern plant was built on Main Street between Floyd and Preston. This plant was ashow place in its day, and the firm 1____ feld at this location until 1886, when the firm name was changed to R. Mansfeld Son, and Fred W. Mansfeld, son of Robert Mansfeld, was taken in as a partner. The business continued at this location until 1907, when a larger factory was built at Clay and Market Streets. In January, 1917, the Mansfeld interests were purchased by Carl L. Wedekind, grandson of the late Robt. A. Mansfeld, and is being operated at this date under his management. In 1920, the properties of the Louisville Leather Company were acquired on Brent Street opposite Ballard Mills, where a subsidiary factory addition was built and is now operated in conjunction with the main plant on Market Street. The growth of R. Mansfeld Son has run parallel with the growth of Louis- ville, starting in a small inconspicuous manner, it represents today one of the largest concerns of its kind in the country, with distributing points in all of the principal cities in the United States. The business is developing today with great promises for the future, and has caused Louisville to be recognized throughout the country as one of the foremost cities in the manufacture of Suggestive Sales Display Equipment and Show Cases. 74 Louisville Fifty Years Ago In the Paint Business for Seventy Years THERE is a paint business up on Market Street that has an unusual and interest- ing history. It is the business of Edward H. Marcus Company, a corporation only recently formed but which began way back in 1853. It is said to be the old- est establishment of its kind in Louisville and possibly the oldest in the State. whoThis house was established by Herman Marcus in 1853, who continued the business for thirty-sevenl years until 1890, when it was taken over by his son Edward H. Marcus, under which name is was continued until articles of incorporation were filed in 1923. Edward H. Marcus Co. not only distribute a number of nationally known paint and varnish products, but are also j obbers and dealers in their own brand of Marcus Paints. In addition to this they handle a full line of paints, oils, varnl- ishes, brushes, glass and such items as will be demanded from a business of this nature. The present officers of the company are, Edward H. US Marcus, President; Louisa C. Marcus, Vice President, and W. H. Marcus, Secretary and Treasurer. The business is transacted at a double store on East Market Street, near Floyd, Nos. 235-237. There are two things about this business in which this firm takes great pride. The first is quality and the next is service, in fact quality and service has always been the slogan of this very old firm. 75 Louisville Fifty Years Ago The Oldest Firm in the World in this Line of Business Wvr S. MATHEWS SONS were established in Louisville in 1862. Nat. F. Dorteh Sons were established in Nashville, Tenn., in 1896, and removed to Louisville in 1900. This firm's business was amalgamated with W. S. Mathews Sons in 1901 under the Corporate name of W. S. Mathews Sons. This is the oldest firm in the world doing a direct business of Specially Pre- pared Leaf Tobacco from the United States to the west coast of Africa, West Indies, South America and Central America. W. S. Mathews Sons maintain agencies in Great Britain, Germany and France for the sale of their tobacco. Under the following brands, well known in the countries where they are dis- tributed are, Eagle, Imperial Crown, Sans Rival, Red Seal, Elephant, Dragon, OK, Black Lion, Black Tiger, Black Bull, Black Tom, Yellow Label and Red Label. This firm also has factories at Dakar Senegal, west coast of Africa, Ancon, Re- public of Panama and also at Louisville. B. W. Dortch, President and A. G. Wuest, Secretary-Treasurer, have charge of the New York office. The Louisville office is under the management of Nat. F. Dortch, Vice President; W. H. Eggleton, Asst. Secretary-Treasurer, and C. E. Yager, Local Factory Manager. 76 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Father and Sons Give Fifty-four Years' Service as Funeral Directors and Embalmers CHEIST MILLER JOHN H. MILLER In brsiness 1869--1S90, Present Head 18901923 IN 1869 Christ Miller opened his undertaking establishment on Market Street be- tween Sixteenth and Seventeeth, moving after a number of years to Fourteenth and Market Streets. A few years later he built his own establishment, includiing undertaking rooms and residence, at 1509 West Market Street. His large stables here housed the six- teen horses and the carriages used in the conduct of his business. Mr. Miller continued at this location until he lost his life in the cyclone which swept over Louisville in 18 0. He was then succeeded by his three sons, John H., William C., and the late Charles Miller, the firm name being changed to C. Miller's Sons. The business continued under that head until the eldest son, John H. Miller, assumed entire charge in 1914 and changed the location to the present one at 1617 West Jefferson Street. The name of the firm was also changed at that date to "John H. Miller, Successor to C. Miller's Sons." CHRISTM. XILLER, C- 77 Louisville Fil ty Years Ago Over One Hundred Years of Continuous Service FROMI a careful examination of newspapers published in Louisville between the F years 1821 and 1831 on file in the University of Chicago Library and from other records still in existence, it is conclusively shown that the business now bearing the name of John P. Morton Company has been continuously in operation since the beginning of the year 1823, and, in fact, for at least three months previous thereto, when William W. Worsley and James Collins, Jr., formed a partnership to operate the Louisville Book Store which had been in existence for several years. For some time previous to January 1, 1823, Mr. Worsley was proprietor of the Lexington Book Store, John P. Morton at this time being employed in that store, and, having proved unusually capable, Mr. Worsley brought him to Louisville some time in 1824 to assist in the Louisville Book Store, as clerk and manager. On November 22, 1826, the first number of the "Focus of Politics, Commerce and Literature," a weekly newspaper, was published. The "Mast Head" of this paper reads as follows: "Published for the Proprietor by John P. Morton at the Louisville Book Store on Main Street." From an advertisement in the "Focus" it appears that, on December 18, 1827, William W. Worsley and John P. Morton became partners under the firm name of Morton Company. While the exact terms of this partnership are not stated, the natural inference is that the Louisville Book Store owned by Mr. Worsley, and the printing office, located at that book store, owned by John P. Morton, were combined in one business and have so continued ever since. In 1831 Mr. Worsley, who had decided to make his home in New Orleans, sold his half interest in the business of Morton Co. to William L. Smith, as announced in the "Focus" of July 11, 1831, the firm name then becoming Morton Smith and, under this name, it continued until January 1, 1838, when Henry A. Griswold, a brother of Mrs. John P. Morton, acquired a half interest in the business, the firm name becoming Morton Griswold. That the business at the beginning of 1838 was of considerable magnitude is revealed by Mr. William L. Smith 's agreement, dated Oc- tober 29, 1837, to sell his half interest in the business on January 1, 1838, for 22,500. In 1861 the firm name was changed to John P. Morton Company, Mr. Gris- wold having retired from the business to go with the Bank of Kentucky (now known as the National Bank of Kentucky), of which he was President at the time of his death. The members comprising the firm of John P. Morton Company were John P. Morton, Alexander Griswold, Howard Morton Griswold and John B. Bangs, the two Griswolds being the sons of Henry A. Griswold. In 1888 the partnership of John P. Morton Company was incorporated under the same name. John P. Morton became its first President and, as death made its claims, was followed, as President, by Alexander Griswold and Howard Morton Gris- wold, the present President of the concern being Howard C. Griswold, the son of Howard Morton Griswold. Thus, for one hundred years (four generations) has the business operated continuously without reorganization, weathering all financial storms. The business has grown steadily, keeping pace with the times. 78 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Andrew Cowan e Company, Incorporated 1866-1923 HE business of Andrew Cowan Company was founded July 1, 1866, by James 1 E. Mooney, Charles H. Mantle and Andrew Cowan, and was located on Third Street between Main and Market. The business at that time was confined to the handling of Hides, and the selling of Sole and Harness Leather, Shoe Makers Sup- plies, Mill Supplies and the Manufacture of Leather Belting. On January 1, 1871, the name of the firn was changed to Mantle Cowan, and the business continued under the management of Charles H. Mantle, and Andrew Cowan. Due to increasing business larger quarters were necessary and in the same year they moved to their present location, then known as 166 Main Street. In 1890 Saddlery Hardware and Harness Supplies were added to the business and the building adjoining was occupied to accommodate the expansion in business. June 1, 1890, the firm name was changed to Andrew Cowan Company, with Andrew Cowan and Albert A. Cowan, members of the firm. In 1900 Gilbert S. Cowan was admitted to the firm. In 1918 the business was changed to Andrew Cowan Company, incor- porated, with Andrew Cowan, President, Gilbert S. Cowan, Vice President, and F. A. Crush, Secretary and Treasurer. The Coming of the Automobile. With the coming of the automobile, it was realized what effect the auto would have on the harness business, and a complete line of Auto Accessories, Tires and Batteries was added. In 1920 the business increased to such an extent that more room was necessary, therefore a large and up-to-date Service Station was erected at 523 East Broadway between Hancock and Jackson Streets, known as "Acco Serv- ice " where Tires, Batteries and Magnetos are carried and Service given to the public. The present officers of Andrew Cowan Company, Incorporated, are: Gilbert S. Cowan, President; F. A. Crush, Vice President and J. W. G. Hughes, Secretary and Treasurer. The lines carried today are: Harness and Sole Leather; Harness Supplies and Shoe Findings; Auto Accessories, Tires and Batteries; Mill and Fac- 'tory Supplies and the Manufacture of Leather Belting. The locations of the stores and general offices are 421-423 W. Main Street, and "Acco Service" Service at 523 E. Broadway. 79 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Fifty-six Years of Constant Service and Business Integrity IN 1867 three men, Charles R. Peaslee, George Gaulbert, and J. W. Gaulbert, possessing the three essentials of success, name- ly: ability, character, and energy, founded the house of Peaslee- Gaulbert Company. A little later W.1F. Booker, a man of like, ability, joined these three men. These four men guided the policies of the Company until it became one of the best known concerns in the South. W. F. Booker died November 19, 190a7;9 GEORGE GAULdEreT Will Gaulbert on January 12, CPHAS. B. PEABLEE 1908, and his brother George, shortly after on March 26th. Mr. Peaslee had passed on some years earlier. Upon the death of these four men the Company control passed into the hands of another four men who had grown up with the Company and had been trained in its policies; L. R. Atwood, Joseph Burge, S. E. Duncan, and R. C. Judge. To accommodate its rapidly and constantly increasing trade, the two buildings adjoining the one in which the business was established were at first secured, but soon thereafter it was found necessary to build a larger factory and warehouses and other buildings were from time to time erected, until the Peaslee-Gaulbert Com- pany 's plants today occupy five solid city blocks. This does not include the fol- lowing properties: the Columbia Building recently purchased by the officers of the Company, the branch offices and warehouses at Dallas and Atlanta and the pres- ent executive offices and city de- livery department. The Company owns and oper- ates one of the largest individual ,paint factories in this country, a total floor space of about twenty- 'three acres being covered by th factory and adjoining buildings. Recent additions to the varnish Jr. W. GAULBERT factory and the naval stores yard W. F. BOOKER SO Louisville Fifty Years Ago. put both among the largest and most modern factory in this coun- 1 try. It has switching facilities for handling over 30 cars at one time. Its cooper shop turns out over 2,000 barrels per month for the Company's own use. It has a battery of large storage tanks for liquids in bulk with an aggregate capacity of nearly one million gal- lons. Every material used in the making of Pee Gee Paints and Pee_________- G pn dVarnishes is first submitted to s r B. ATWOOD expert chemists for an analysis S. Re DUNCAN and must satisfactorily meet the rigid tests to which it is thus subjected. This renders it impossible for inferior raw material to slip through and insures the perfect paints and varnishes that the pur- chasers of Pee Gee products always get. Pee Gee paints and varnishes are the result of years of experience and have long since become household words and synonyms for excellence. Their uniformity is as- sured by unremitting vigilance and constant testing by experts having a knowledge both practical and technical of everything entering into the making of paint. The best and most convincing evidence of their popularity is their ever increasing demand. The Company has branches at Atlanta and Dallas. In addition to being the largest manufacturers of paint and varnish in the South, the Company is the largest manufacturer of mirrors in the South, and one of the largest jobbers in the United States, of glassware, glass, brushes, heavy chemicals, insecticides, naval stores, bottles, painters' materials, elee- - trical supplies and automotive equipment and accessories and many other items. It sells goods throughout the United States. It employs 4,- - 000,000 in its operations, and has onits payroll over 700 people. The secret of this great bouse's success one does not have to seek far to find. Its spirit of progressiveness keeps it not simply abreast of the times but ahead of them. - JONAHx BOOKai JL U. a UD)4li Louisville Fifty Years Ago The House of Pilcher "One hundred years of organ building by one family is an achievement probably without precedent in this country." The Diapason N 1820 Henry Pilcher, founder of the "House of Pilcher" and grandfather of the present members of the firm, began his career as an organ builder in Dover, England, and for years conducted a business there. The new world, however, seemed to promise a more attractive field for opera- tions and in 1832, coming to this country, he established a factory in New York. Some years later his son, Henry Pilcher, the second, located in Chicago, where- he built many well known organs. He was there until the great fire in 1871, which for the time demoralized industry, and it was then that business friends in Louisville induced Mr. Pilcher to locate here. His sons afterward became associated with him and have built up a successful and extensive business, their organs now being widely and favorably known, especial- ly in the middle and southern States, where they have many large and notable instru- ments. Esse Quam Videri. A press notice in the "Diapason" congratulating the House of Pilcher on its centennial celebration in 1922, says, "There is no blare of trumpets attending the activ- ities of such builders as Henry Pileher's Sons, but nevertheless those who labor from year to year with high ideals are making for themselves monuments that will last." Pileher Organs are found in many prominent churches and cathedrals. There is a four manuel Pilcher organ in St. Andrew's Cathedral, Grand Rapids, Mich. "One more wonderful achievement for the House of Pilcher" was the verdict of the organ- ist who played at the opening recital, January 21, 1922-Pietro A. Yon of St. Xavier Church, New York. There is one in the Scottish Rite Cathedral, Shreveport, La., upon which Clar- ence Eddy says he had the honor of playing four inaugural recitals. Most of the Louisville churches; The Representative M. E. Church, South Washington, D. C.; First Presbyterian Church, Atlanta, Ga.; St. Mary's Cathedral, Galveston, Texas; First Church of Christ Scientist, Atlanta, Ga.; St. Matthew's Cathedral, Dallas, Texas, are a few of the widely scattered modern organs built and installed by the House of Pilcher. Henry Pilcher's Sons. A remarkable fact is that four grandsons of the founder of the "House of Pil- cher" are at the head of various departments of this establishment and they bring to their work the skill that comes from long and successful experience in organ build- ing, coupled with a knowledge of the best attainments of the profession in this country and Europe. Also two members of the fourth generation have become actively associated with the firm, after receiving musical and technical educations. OR Louisville Fifty Years Ago i.IOI3 Pl h(liER ESITABLLS.ED 1820 iSE QUAM VIDERI Louisville Fifty Years Ago Three Generations of Funeral Directors LD. PEARSON, founder of this concern and grandfather of the present owners, L E. Clarence and W. Edward Pearson, was born in Shelby County when the western world was young and, with scant educational advantages in his early years, he mastered the cabinet-maker's art, coming to Louisville in 1832 and open- ing a cabinet shop of his own. It was here that he began to develop the idea of the Funeral Home which, through his descendants, has borne fruit in the present modern establishment. People came to him to have wooden coffins constructed, in which to tenderly lay away their dead, and in a few years he had worked into a very successful undertaking business. During the first few years, the business was conducted at Second and Main Streets, next to the original Galt House, the first hotel built in Louisville, and was carried on by Mr. Pearson in partnership with James Courdrey. Later Mr. Cour- drey sold his interest to Mr. J. C. King, and the business was carried on under the firm name of Pearson and King, on Jefferson Street, between Second and Third Streets. Five years later the partnership was dissolved and the present firm of L. D. Pearson and Son was formed in 1848, with a location in the old Tyler prop- erty on Jefferson Street, where the business was successfully conducted for a period of fifty years, or until the year 1898, when it was moved to its present central lo- cation at the corner of Third and Chestnut Streets. F. H. Pearson, the eldest son, was taken into the business by the father in its incipiency but, after a few years, because of failing health, he was forced to retire, at which time E. C. Pearson, Sr., father of the present owners, entered ac- tively into its operation. There are probably few of the present generation who will recall that, in for- mer years, before the advent of present-day embalming methods, it was necessary for the undertaker to preserve the body in what was known as the "ice-box" un- til the day of burial. E. C. Pearson, Sr., was one of the first in the city to em- ploy the newer and more sanitary embalming methods. When we consider that the horse-drawn funeral is to-day exceedingly rare, it is rather difficult to believe that it has been only about seven years since the first automobile funeral was seen in Louisville. Once started, however, their popular- ity rapidly grew, and at the present time it would be almost impossible to find suf- ficient equipment to conduct an old-fashioned horse-drawn funeral. The stable which was formerly a part of every undertaker's equipment, has disappeared and in its place is the Funeral Auto Company, through which practically all the under- takers in the city are supplied with automobile equipment. E. C. Pearson, Sr., was a prime mover in the organization of this company, and was its first Presi- dent, which office he held until his death, in August, 1917. In this, as in all other professions, great progress has been made in the past fifty years. It would indeed be difficult to imagine a more vivid contrast than that between the little cabinet shop heretofore mentioned, where wooden coffins were made upon order, and the present modern Funeral Home, an establishment comprising residence, office, display rooms, with complete stocks of cloth-covered, steel and bronze caskets, and well-appointed parlors and chapel, and that these con- veniences and service are appreciated is evidenced by the increasing use that is being made of them. 8s Louisville Fifty Years Ago Times Have Changed in Drug Business PETER-NEAT-RICHARDSON Company, wholesale drugs, established 1817 and r incorporated 1897, is one of the oldest establishments in its line in the country, having been from the beginning operated upon ethical lines. For many years all the business came voluntarily. No solicitor was employed and yet the volume kept growing, until today every modern method is employed both to obtain and properly take care of customers and the same regard for the quality of goods obtains today that has made the label of this establishment mean the best guar- antee of the value of the article that bears it. Like everything else the character of this business has changed, and the methods of using and preparing for use the many remedies that were in use half a century ago are so altered as to make it seem like another business. For example, it was expected for many years that medicine should be nauseous. This, of course is not true today. Amid all the vicissitudes of time, this old institution has kept pace with improve- ments and maintained its place as worthy of the confidence of those who appreciate fair dealing. The firm handles everything that druggists need and sells to dealers only. Louisville Fifty Years Ago Eighty-one Years Old This Year THE old drug firm of Robinson-Pettet Co. originated prior to 1840 with William T .Pettet, father of Mrs. R. A. Robinson and Charles H. Pettet. The record shows that he sold his business which had been going on for some years to two of his young clerks, James George, and Arthur Peter, under the firm name of James George Co. Wholesale House in 1846. In 1-842 Mr. Robinson took over the interest in the drug house and the name was changed to Peter Robinson. The wholesale drug house as it now continues on Main Street was not opened until 1846, at which time George H. Cary entered the firm which became Robinson, Peter Cary. Four years later Mr. Peter retired and moved to the country and the firm was again changed to Robinson Cary. Later on in 1855 Mr. Cary retired and the firm became R. A. Robin- son Co., composed of R. A. Robinson, Henry Chambers and W. Wallace Powers. Charles H. Pettet, soit of the origi- nal founder of the house, William H. Pettet, began work with the house at the same time and later was admitted to FLA.ROBIWSON the firm. William A. Robinson and Worthington Robinson, sons of R. A. Robinson were ad- mitted to the firm later on, also Henry Tyler Robinson and Richard A. Robinson III, became partners. Charles P. Barton, J. Thomas Schorch, Charles P. Frick, now deceased, were active stockholders for a great many years and with the exception of Mr. Frick are still directors. In 1890 R. A. Robinson retired in his seventy-fourth year, and a corporation was formed entitled the Robinson-Pettet Co. The original directors of the corpora- tion were Charles H. Pettet, William A. Robinson, Worthington Robinson, A. Lee Robinson, Charles P. Barton, Henry TylerRobinson, and Charles P. Frick. Of the original directors, two are. still alive, A. Lee Robinson, and Charles P. Barton; Mr. Barton having been connected with the house for forty-five years and Mr. A. Lee Robinson for nearly forty years. The Present Officers and Directors. The present directors are A. Lee Robinson, president; Charles P. Barton, vice president and treasurer; J. Thomas Schorch, secretary; H. Guy Lyon, cashier; Wil- liam C. Robertson, assistant secretary. The career of this firm has been remarkable, indicating very able and efficient management and unusual success. It has gone on for many years at the same loca- tion. Old residents will perhaps remember the disastrous fire which occurred in this building in 1865. The entire fire department was called out, and successfully confined the fire to the one building occupied by the drug house. It is said that before noon the next day business was again actively resumed. 58 Louisville Fifty Years Ago In Business Since 1860 IN 1860 Charles Rosenheim established an importing and wholesale business, deal- ing in crockery, glassware, house-furnishings, toys and holiday novelties, on Mar- ket Street, between Sixth and Seventh. Some years later he took Moses Strauss into partnership and the firm became Chas. Rosenheim Co., which name it retained until December, 1903, when the Company was incorporated, with C. Rosenheim, as President; Jacob Rosenheim, Vice President, and Moses Strauss as Secretary and Treasurer. Upon the death of Mr. Strauss, Jacob Rosenheim became Treasurer and L. B. Judah was made Secretary; Charles Rosenheim remaining President. When Charles Rosenheim, founder of the company, died, the present officers, composed of Jacob Rosenheim, President and Treasurer, and L. B. Judah, Secretary took office. Since 1860 the Charles Rosenheim Co. has been contin- N ;nS: Oously in the same business, wholesaling imported and domes- tic queensware, china, glassware and kindred lines, toys and holiday novelties. Their salesmen cover the entire South and Southwest. The Cyclone of 1890. The company has occupied its present location at 724 West Main Street since 1884. The disastrous cyclone of 1890 destroyed this building. It was immediately replaced by a more spacious and modern building, giving a floor space of 32,000 square feet, to which a connecting warehouse on Eighth CHARLES ROSENHEIM Street was added in 1902, giving a total floor space of more than 50,000 square feet. Many new lines have been added to the original china line, glassware and queens- ware lines, and today the C(has. Rosenheim Co. is handling a complete line of china and glassware, table and pocket cutlery, holiday goods and house-furnishings, hotel and restaurant supplies. 87 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Electrotypers Since 1865 T HE history of the Robert Rowell Electrotype Co. begins immediately after the T civil war. The first Robert Rowell of English ancestry, was born in Canada, but grew up in Cincinnati. When war was declared between the States, he entered the army as a Union soldier. After the war he came to Louisville in 1865, and started the first foundry of this kind south of the Ohio river. His foundry was located on Jefferson Street between Third and Fourth, just about the site of the old Buckingham Theatre. His first product was steretoypes, but as advanced methods in electrotyping were developed, he took up this method of manufacturing printing plates, which the firm still continues to this day. /. 1 \ Thirty-Three Years at Third Market. Later on the plant was moved to the upper floors at Third and Market, over what was then known as the clothing store of Julius Winter and Co. Here it continued for thirty-three years, later moving to Fifth and Main, adjoining the National Bank of Kentucky. The plant is now in operation at Number 122 South First Street, under the direction of Robert T. Rowell, -his son. ROBERT ROWELL It is an interesting historical fact that while this firm has continued the same product under the same name for 57 years, the foreman of this plant, Mr. Charles E. Cope, has been connected with this company for 47 years. For this reason, the Robert Rowell Electrotype Co. certainly ought to know how to make first-class electrotypes. Raised in the Business. Robert T. Rowell, the present owner of the plant had also been in the business all his life, beginning with his father as a boy and continuing with the business all these years with the exception of about eighteen months while away during the war with Germany as Captain of Infantry. The product of the Robert Rowell Electrotype Co. of course includes, besides elec- trotypes, curved plates for automatic and rotary printing presses as well as those used on multigraphing machines. Thus it will be seen that the Rowell's, both father and son, have done their part not only in business but in "carrying on" both in peace and war. as Louisville Fif ty Years Ago Three Generations In M. Sabel e Sons THE business of M. Sabel Sons dates back to the years before the Civil War, having been established in 1856 by M. Sabel. The original location of the business was on Brook Street, between Market and Main. As the business grew, it became necessary to locate in larger quarters, and the firm removed to a building on East Market Street, near First, which it occu- pied for a number of years. When a second change of quarters became necessary, the business was trans- planted to 227-233 East Market Street, in quarters which have been occupied by the firm for about thirty-five years. The business now conducted by M. Sabel Sons always has been that of the purchase and sale of wool, hides, furs, etc. It always has been the policy of the concern to buy from growers and dealers and sell direct to mills, tanneries and man- ufacturers. The firm has always purchased on its own account and has never con- ducted a commission business. Mr. M. Sabel, founder of the business, died in 1881. Four sons, Samuel, Max, Joseph and Daniel have conducted the business since that time. Of these, only one, Mr. Joseph Sabel, survives. He has been connected with the firm for over fif- ty years, and is still active in the business. The present officers of the firm are Joseph Sabel, president; W. B. Dale, vice president; H. Daniel Sabel, a grandson of the founder, secretary, and Joseph B. Snadig, treasurer. The business of M. Sabel Sons covers the entire South. Throughout the sixty-seven years of the firm's history, it has adhered to the policy of honorable deal- ing, which has been reflected in a steady, healthy growth, and at the present time, the firm is doing decidedly the largest business of its career. Louisville Fifty Years Ago Pioneer Shoe House of the South E STABLISHEl) September 6, 1867, under the name of Quast Schulten and originally located on the northeast corner of Sixth and Main, the building later being occupied by the firm of J. M. Robinson, Norton Co. At this location we carried stock on the first floor and manufactured men's fancy morocco top boots and shoes on the upper floors, under the name of the Louisville Boot Factory. A few years later Mr. Quast resigned from the firm and since then, up to the present time, the concern has been known as .Jno. J. Schulten Company. After we gave up this location at the corner of Main Street, we moved to the north side of 'Main Street, a few doors below Fifth Street, and while there, we erected a building at 530 West Main ,Street, in which we are now located and have been in this building for about thirty-five years. Mr. John J.. Schulten, who organized this concern, had devoted his entire time to the business until the date of his death, which was about two years ago. His son, Alexis J. Schulten, was taken into the business on .January 1, 1901, and his son, Leo. E. Schulten, was admitted to the business January 1, 1910. Both of them are active and have full charge of tile business. Original Factory from Photograph We distribute our own make of taken in 1868. shoes, known as the "Ben Hur" Brand, a high grade line of men's dress shoes, "Mammoth Cave" Brand, a line of medium and high grade men 's work shoes, "Big Brother" Brand, a line of boy's sturdy shoes, "Bluegrass Belle" Brand, a line of ladies' fine shoes, "Gladmore" Brand, a line of misses' and children's medium and high grade shoes. All of these brands of shoes we stand back of and they give excellent satisfac- tion. The retailers who handle them find that they are amongst the very best values for the money on the market. We are also distributors for the Goodyear Glove Brand Rubber Footwear, which is the very highest qluality on the market. We have customers handling our different brands of shoes, who have been buy- ing fronm us regularly for over fifty years, which shows that we give our trade good treatment and value received. 90 Louisville Fifty Years Ago "Security" -Bank's Watchword Since 1867 BACK in the "Long Ago," before the Constitution of the United States was written in Philadelphia, Banking was first authorized by Act of Congress May 26, 1781, and in the same year, October 19, 1781, Cornwallis surrendered the Brit- ish Army at Yorktown. Eight years later in 1789, General George Washington was elected the first President of the United States, and three years later in 1792, Kentucky was admitted to the Union. Seventy-five years later, in the same year that Gen-- eral U. S. Grant was elected to the Presidency of the United States, the Security Bank was organized, April 17th, 1867, and has continuously occupied its present quarters, corner Market and Preston Sts., Louisville, Ky. Let us, in retrospect, consider the multifarious ad- vantages and comforts we now enjoy in comnarison to the hardships of pioneer days. The Prairie schooner has been superseded by the Gasoline Motor Truck, the Ox-cart by the Automobile, Horse-cars by Electric Rail- ways, the Stage-coach by the Pullman Palace Car. In the olden days they sat around the old fire-place, now we enjoy the comforts of the Hot-air and Hot-water Furnaces. Candle-light furnished illumination for the Home, while now Electric Lighting is considered an indisputable comfort. The "Old Oaken Bucket" is almost a dream of the past, and we now have only to take a few steps to turn on the running water, both hot and cold. The Spinning-wheel is rarely remembered, while at present our great Textile mills are supplying the increasing needs of this generation. Homespun or Jeans clothing was then woven by the thrifty housewife, now we have our large cloth and worsted mills, furnishing employment for the thousands. These ever-increasing improvements necessarily involved increased capital and investments, financed in great measure through the banking institutions of the day, and it will readily be seen that thev too had to increase their resources and banking facilities to keep pace with advancing conditions. The first published statement of the Securitv Bank showed deposits of 89,300.00, the last January 1st, 1923, 2,- 100,000.00. This bank has paid 111 consecutive semi-annual dividends since its or- ganization, aggregating 945,582.00. "Security" has been our watch-word, not for our stockholders alone, but for our customers as well, and while we have always been considered rather conserv- ative, we have at all times endeavored to give courteous, honest service consist- ent with sound banking. In testimony of the above we have fourteen customers and five business firms who have been doing business with this bank continuously for fifty years and over. 91 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Standard Sanitary Mfg. Co. Grew from Local Brass Foundry THE history of the Standard Sanitary Manufacturing _ Company in Louisville dates back to 1860, when Theodore Ahrens, Sr., began business here. His first venture was a brass foundry. He had practically no capital, he did his own work and by his knowledge and skill as a mechanic built the foundation of the business. In 1866, Henry Ott, who was a practical plumber, was taken into partnership and the firm became Ahrens and Ott. They were manufacturers of plumbers and steam brass work and in addition were in the contracting plumbing and heating business. They began business on Market street, between Preston I A_ E and Jackson. In 1880, they moved to Market street between THEObs Es AHRENS Fourth and Fifth, and became jobbers of plumbers, mill and factory supplies, as well as continued the manufacture of brass goods. At that time they also incorporated the Ahrens Ott Manufacturing Company, with a paid up capital of 100,000.00. In 1888 these men organized the Southwestern Iron Works, which was later merged into the Ahrens Ott Manu- facturing Company. This concern manufactured cast iron sanitary ware. In 1900 the Ahrens Ott Manufacturing Company went into a consolidation with ten other manufac- A turing concerns and organized the Standard Sanitary Manu- facturing Company. To Theodore Ahrens, Sr., and Henry Ott, therefore, must be given the credit for laying the foundation of an industry _ which, locally has become one of the city's greatest, and i_ _ addition has attained a national prominence that is a matter HENRY OTT of general knowledge. 93 Louisville Fifty Years Ago The History of a Great Merchandising Institution ished. Steadfastly have FROM a beginning as humble as any business in Louis- ville, to the proud position of one of the largest d- partment stores south of the Mason and Dixon line, is the record of the Stewart Dry Goods Co. now in its seventy seventh year. Founded in 1846 by Durkee, Heath Co., the business steadily grew until more than fifty years ago it was held to be the dominating factor in the retail trade of the gate- way of the South. Never since then have the successive heads of the firm allowed that shining record to be tani- they held to and observed the business principles which brought to them an ever increasing trade, necessitating a constantly growing force of employees and a number of increases in building capacity. In 1846 the number of mercantile establishments had grown to 162 but in spite of the growing opposition, the original Stewart Store mnaintained its high place, keeping pace with the growth of the city and the South. In the files of the old newspapers, are found statements that Louisville stores had no nearer rivals than New Orleans, and that not even in that city was there a store that surpassed those of our city. In 1862, the store moved from its Market Street location to the site now oc cupied by Childs Restaurant, on the east side of Fourth Street, between Jefferson and Market Streets. An old Methodist Church where the congregation had wor- shipped for years, was bought by S. Barker Co., and remodeled for their use. From this time, the concern repeatedly outgrew its quarters. Before long the building ad- joining was purchased to house the growing stock and shortly after a two story ad- dition was erected. And as Louisville grew and as the firm's prestige became greater, two business houses in what is now known as the Tyler Building were acquired. This gave the store entrances on Fourth and Jefferson Streets. Finally, still growing, the owners decided that no more make-shift enlargements would be countenanced. Then the site at Fourth and Walnut was bought and the present hand- some structure was erected. It was occupied on April 15, 1907. Then, as now it was Louisville's finest store building. This in brief covers the long career of the Stewart Dry Goods Company, an institution well known for the variety and quality of its merchandise and its honorable dealings with customers of three generations or more. 98 Louisville Fifty Years Ago The History of the Herman Straus Sons Company I N the year 1861, a cattle trader came to this country from Germany. He went from one city to another, finally locating in Louisville. This cattle trader was Isaac Straus, the father of the founder of this business. Two years after, his wife and eight children arrived, one being a lad of 12 years, named Herman Straus. This boy secured a position with Leopold Starr, at 2 a week. In a few years his salary was raised, but each week 2 was turned over to his parents and the balance banked. At eighteen he had saved 800 and opened a small store on / M a r k W i u i, Market Street, between Sixteenth and Seventeenth. A small room in the rear of the store was his sleeping apart- iment. Shortly after he took a partner, Sam Weis. This Ipartnership was dissolved in 1879 and he moved his busi- / ness to 422 Market Street-a store about twenty feet wide l and sixty deep. In this little building, with the aid of his wife, he built the present business. On March 29, 1889, the store was destroyed by fire. In the fall of the same year a new building was erected and this now constitutes a part of the present store. In 1894 and 1900 further addition were made on Market Street. Mr. Straus died in Germany on July 27, 1903. Mr. Straus had always looked forward to a Fourth Street entrance, and in 1905 this entrance was obtained. The Herman Straus Sons Company is a strictly close corporation, the entire stock being held by the sons of Herman Straus and Walter I. Kohn, his son-in-law. Improvements and progress has been the slogan since the founding. Each of the departments are headed by competent managers, some of whom have seen the business grow from one insignificant store to the massive department store now oc- cupying nine entire buildings. This store is now equipped with a complete printing shop for its own use. Suit and hat boxes are assembled here. A cabinet shop and machine shop have also been added. In 1915 an ice plant and cold storage room was installed. In 1903 this store was the first house to have motor delivery. In 1917 an em- ployees cafeteria was opened. Improvements are constantly being made and departments enlarged to meet the growing demand of the public. 94 A g o Louisville Fifty Years Ago A Page From the Past r-rAiHE original organization, which finally developed into the S Stratton Terstegge Company, was founded in 1862 by Jacob Thome, Jr. Shortly after, however, he was joined by W. A. Stratton and the firm became known as Thome / X WStratton. In the beginning the firm was engaged in manufacturing tinware and also conducted a retail and wholesale tinware and stove business. In August, 1883, Jacob Thome, Jr., died, and in 1884 was succeeded by Mr. Henry Terstegge, a man of broad experience and untiring energy. The firm name was then changed to Strat- ACO ton Terstegge. Upon the entrance into the business of Mr. TACO TR OM-, ar Terstegge, retailing was eliminated entirely and the firm of Stratton Terstegge became strictly a jobbing and manufacturing organization. Under the new policy and the wise direction of Mr. Henry Terstegge the busi- ness rapidly outgrew its original quarters and it was necessary to rent additional space but this only answered the purpose for a short while and it soon became evi- dent that new and larger quarters must be obtained. It is not necessary to go into details of the various expansions due to the continual growth of the business. Our present establishment, occupying an entire city block, tells the story-a story of busi- ness integrity and progressiveness, the story of a business built on a foundation of good will. In July, 1913, Henry Terstegge died suddenly in Chattanooga while attending a Convention of Stove Manufacturers. The loss of Mr. Terstegge was a great shock, not only to the firm which bore his name, but also to many other enterprises in which he was interested. He was recognized by all as a man of keen business conception and his opinions were sought after and highly respected. Mr. Stratton also had died since Mr. Henry Terstegge had become connected with the organization but the firm name had never been changed ano1 to this day remains the same. Shortly after his death Mr. Henry Terstegge was sue- ceeded as president by his son, Wilton H. Terstegge, who is El today the active head of the business, which, far from being the little tin and stove shop of 1862, is now represented in a jobbing way, over the entire South and the products of our factory go to every section of the United States. HIENY TBTEGIE. 96 Louisville Fifty Years Ago 1826-Stucky, Quest Company- 1923 THIS business was established in the year 1826 by Thomas Anderson and others under the firm name of Thomas Anderson Company, and is one of the oldest business houses in Louisville. The first house was located on Main Street near Sixth, a two story building sitting back some distance from the street. The stock was kept on the second floor, and let down to the auctioneer through a trap door in the ceiling. Later the business was moved to Sixth Street between Main and Market, while a four story building was being constructed on the old site for its future home. The Death of Thomas Anderson. At the death of Thomas Anderson, the business was conducted by his son, W. George Anderson, H. C. Stucky, T. J. Gretjan and J. L. Brent, under the same firm name. This continued until 1893. In the meantime T. J. Gretjan had withdrawn, and W. Geo. Anderson had died in 1892. The firm name was then changed to Stucky Brent Company, Successors, the members being H. C. Stucky, J. L. Brent, Geo. H. Stucky and Homer M. Stucky. Mr. Brent was the auctioneer, and was considered one of the best in the country. In December, 1894, they suffered a disastrous fire, the stock being almost a total loss, but within two months another stock was secured and regular sales resumed. In 1900, owing to the deaths of three of the members, (Geo. H. Stucky in 1896, H. C. Stucky in 1898, and J. L. Breit in 1899) the firm was succeeded by Stucky, Quest Company, Homer M. Stucky and E. S. Quest (who had been in the employ of the house for over thirty years), being the members. H. M. Stucky died in 1902, and the management of the business devolved upon E. S. Quest and J. W. Quest, who later became a member of the firm. J. W. Quest died in 1916. The present members of the firm are E. S. Quest and Fred Quest, both having had long experience in the business. Agencies in the East. The house has agencies in New York, Philadelphia and Boston for the solicita- tion of consignments, and is well known throughout the Eastern, Middle and Southern States. Consignments are received from Maine to California, and from the lakes of the North to the Gulf of the South. They do a strictly commission business, hand- ling goods consigned by manufacturers and jobbers, as well as retail and bankrupt stocks. The weekly sales of the house are attended by buyers from this and adjoining states, both North and South. The business is conducted on a strictly honorable basis, no by-bidding nor running of bids by the auctioneer being allowed. This fact has greatly contributed to the reputation and success of the house. Many persons now living will remember the earlier members of the firm, W. Geo. Anderson, H. C. Stucky, J. L. Brent, Geo. H. Stucky, and H. M, Stucky, who contributed greatly to its success and to the welfare of our city. 96 Louisville Fifty Years Ago A Very Early Business in Hat Making IN 1854, before the railroad had entered Louisville to give us our rapid service, the steamboats were bringing the first hats to Louisville to be distributed over til Southwest by a concern whose successor today is the Swann-Abrain Hat ('o. The first hats sold in Louisville came down the river by boat and were shipped out more by that way than any other. In 1870, Truman Bros. Swann was the style of the firm; in 1872 it was Swami Snoddy; in 1880, Swanm-Abramn Co. In 1890 the concern was incorporated as the Swann-Abram Hat Co. In the year 1907, hat manufacturing was started and in 1918 a cap factory was added to the organization. At present, the concern is the largest in the Southwest manufacturing hats and caps. T. M. Swann, founder, gained his first knowledge of the hat business as a clerk for Truman Bros., who afterward took him into partner- ship. The present officers are C. H. Porter, President, J. H. Venhoff, Vice Presi- dent, Arthur Board, Secretary and Treasurer, E. J. Snow, Chesley Swann. MI. P. L. Love. 97 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Louisville 's Oldest Insurance Agency IT was way back in 1853 that the oldest insurance agency, in point of contin- uous existence, was established in Louisville. In that year-when the warriors who brought Mexico to her knees in 1847-49 were still in the flush of youth-Henry H. Timberlake established his agency and conducted it until the late "sixties" when his son, the late Thomas C. Timberlake, succeeded him and continued for fifty-five years exclusively in the fire insurance business. Fifteen years ago he took "new blood" into his business when he entered into partnership with Charles T. True- heart under the name of Timberlake Trueheart. The Advent of Mr. Trueheart. The advent of Mr. Trueheart was marked by a wide expansion of the firm which began the writing of all forms of insurance except life, embracing the more modern and continually growing lines of liability, workmen's compensation, automobile, plate glass, burglary, accident and health, and fidelity and surety bonds. The addition of these lines has steadily increased the premium volume of the agency to a point where the new lines exceed the fire business. Five years ago Frank W. Witherspoon and Charles R. Trueheart were admitted to partnership but the firm name has continued unchanged. 98 Louisville Fifty Years Ago An Interesting Old Dressmaking Establishment-Madam C. Grunder I N this old house on East Green Street, as it was then called, was formally started the business of one, Chris- tine Johnson, by the hanging out of a tin sign marked "Dressmaking." Up to that time plain sewing had been done, but with the employment of twelve sewing girls, this other girl of sixteen entered upon a long and honorable business career. The impetus was given by the successful finishing of a blue silk dress for a bridal gown. After several removals, each a step up the ladder, (and marriage to George Grun- der) the youthful modiste arrived on the east side of Fourth Avenue, just south of Market, above Hupe's Hair Store. A year or two later she removed to the Beatty Block at A pirture of Madam C. 328 Fourth Avenue. Here, in the Tyler Building, and final- Grunder taken shortly after ly in the Bernheim Building, Madam C. Grunder has em- the Civil War. She iswearing a gown which was made in her ployed in busy seasons over a hundred girls. workroom at that time. Madame Grunder's List of Customers. The list of customers during these years reads like a social calendar, for among them were the wives, sisters and daughters of governors, mayors, senators and an un- ending list of ladies representing fam - ilies of every profession under the sun. Not only a city-wide or state-wide business was under her control, but a vast mail order business was carried on by correspondence and goods shipped to every state in the Union, and also to Mexico, Honolulu, Cuba, Havana, Japan and Canada. Not only was Madam Grunder well known to the dry goods and trimming firms of New York, but also in Paris and London, and the great French dressmaker Pa- quinl and his charming wife were her good friends, she having known them in the days before the name Paquin be- came known as a world-famed modiste. The Present Owner of Business. The business is conducted now by Miss Olive G. Todd, under the original A picture of the house in which Madam Grunder the Bernheim Building on Fourth Ave. started her dressmaking establishment. 99 Louisville Fifty Years Ago An Old Firm in the Fur Trade -OHN WHITE, a patriarch among the merchants of l Louisville and a most interesting representative of the l old school of merchants, was born July 23, 1822, in Cherry Street, New York City, son of Stephen and Alice (Hanna) White, both of whom were natives of New York. He came to Louisville in 1837 and until 1842 was the repre- sentative here of his older brother, L. J. White, of the firm of Van Winkle and White, the brother remaining in New York and making only occasional visits to Louisville. The firm of Van Winkle and White dealt in raw furs, and John White became connected immediately upon his arrival here with the business. In 1842 the firm Van Winkle White dissolved and was reorganized as John White k Company. JOHN WHITE Name and Personnel the Same. There are other business houses in Louisville today which are legitimate succes- sors of business houses in existence here in 1842, but in all these there have been either changes of names or disappearance of all the original partners, save in the firm of John White Company. When the house was first established there were hat makers in almost every town of consequence in Kentucky, Tennessee and Indiana, and of the fur purchased by Mr. White and his associates the beaver were sold to these local hatters. After a time these small manufacturers disappeared, the large Eastern Manufacturers of hats occupy- ing the field which had previously been theirs and John White Company continued the exportation of raw furs to Europe. About 1846, or perhaps 1848, John Wlhite Co. established an agency for the collection of furs at Fort Smith, Arkansas, and there were gathered furs from all parts of the West for many years, much of the peltry which came into their hands be- X ing obtained from the Indians of the West and South West. For thirty-five years Mr. White was also interested in a branch house at Memphis, Tenn. In 1892 he celebrated the fiftieth an- niversary of the organization of the firm of which he was still the head, entertaining at his home on that occasion a dozen or more of his oldest friends. The present business is conducted by John S. White, Lewis H. White and Clar- ence White, sons of John White, the found- er of the business. 100 Louisville Filty Years Ago Lumber Firm Contributes to Growth of Louisville F-ROM 1872 to 1923, a continuous supplying of the demand for building mate- r rials to the people of Portland and Jefferson County-That is the record of which the J. P. Will Co. is proud. Back in the year 1872, when only a small portion of our now wonderful city was in existence, when such territory that is now closely built up was only sparse- ly settled, J. P. Will, then a man in the early thirties began what was destined to be a landmark in the history of Portland and Louisville-"The J. P. Will Lum- ber Yard and Planing Mill." He continued to operate and enlarge the business until his death, which occurred in August, 1893. Subsequently, it was taken over by his sons, and conducted under the firm name of J. P. Will Co. This firm has, during a period of fifty years, placed lumber and building ma- terials for homes and other structures in almost every section of Jefferson County -and it may be truly said that it has steadily grown until today it stands out as one of the foremost concerns of its kind in the State of Kentucky and has done much toward the development and beautifying of Louisville and its suburbs. The J. P. Will Co. makes a specialty of supplying all the materials required in building homes and other structures and is prepared to finance them pending the acquisition of building association loans. The plant is located at 1901-11 Portland Avenue and 1900-08 High Avenue. 101 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Oldest Shoe Firm in State is in Louisville ZOLL SON, shoe store at Twelfth and Market X0 J Streets, is the oldest retail shoe firm in the State. V The firm was established by the late J. Zoll, August 10, 1867. He was succeeded by his son, George J. Zoll, who died several years ago, and who is succeeded by his sons, John G. Zoll and Carl A. Zoll, who now have charge of the business. They report that they have several customers who have dealt with the firm continuously for more than fifty years. "It is most gratifying," said Mr. Zoll, to fur- nish three and four generations with all their footwear." The name of the firm is the same, has never been JOHNJr. ZOLL ichanged in all these years-but the business is very dif- ferent. Mr. John Zoll and Mr. Carl Zoll are foot specialists. "The Science of the Foot" is a department of the business never dreamed of in years gone by. Both of the members of the present firm of J. Zoll Sons are graduates of the largest foot college in the world. They are experts in "foot comfort." First Customer Wore Size 3 Shoe but Took Size 8 Because She Got More for Her Money. It was way back in '67 in the good old days when they bought shoes not for style-there were only three or four styles; front lace, side lace, button and Con- gress, that the following story is told of their first customer of J. Zoll Son. A slender little woman entered the store to purchase a pair of shoes for herself. After measuring her foot a number three was fitted comfortably, and she decided to take the pair. In those days shoes were packed twenty-four pair to a large pasteboard carton, instead of the individual carton, as of today. The mates were tied together by a strong string. The littlei lady was about to depart with her purchase when she noticed a very much larger pair of shoes in the carton, which happened to be a size 8, and she inquired as to the price of the larger pair. When informed that the pair was the same as the number 3's which she had selected she said, "Well, if that's the case give me the largest pair." Away she went, leaving a perplexed shoe man to wonder what she was going to do with them. She never brought them back, and four generations of Zoll's have told the story and wondered what the little lady did with the big shoes. GEORGE J. ZOLL 102 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Fifty-two Years Under the Same Name M R. GEO. FRITSCHNER, who is still active, established the tailoring firm of ( Geo. Fritschner Co., Friday, September 1, 1871. The first store was opened in the old Walker's Exchange Building on the east side of Third Street be- tween Main and Market Streets. In 1876 the business was removed to the store previously occupied by Geo. Ken- drick, Sr., as a jewelry store, on the south side of Main Street between Third and Fourth, and about ten years later removed three doors west, occupying this store about thirty-seven years. In 1887 Chas. F. Freshe, and in 1894 Chas. H. Fritschner, were taken in as partners. Mr. Fritschner's oldest son, who had grown up in the business was taken in as a partner. In 1920 the business was moved to its present location in the Norton Building at 413-415 West Jefferson Street. Mr. Chas. F. Frehse died in January, 1921, and after his death the whole inter- est in the firm was then purchased by Chas. H. and Walter H. Fritschner, his brother, Chas. H. Fritschner as senior member. This firm has enjoyed the privi- lege of making clothes for four generations in a number of Louisville's oldest fam- ilies and has sent clothes to its customers in all parts of the world, as far south as South Africa and South America. It has its own work shops and the clothes are designed and built by the best and most experienced tailors in the craft. They are proud to say that they have three generations from grandfather to grandson that have been employed in their shops covering a period of over fifty years. The fabrics are purchased direct from the mills through foreign and domestic agents all over the world. They use the finest grade of Scotch wools and tweeds out of Peebles, Scotland, made exclusively for Lowe Donald Co. Canvas and linens direct from Irish mills. The dress fabrics and mohairs are manufactured in France and Germany, and silks by the famous Belding Mills. Geo. Fritschner Co. 's motto has always been to give you the best that money can buy at the lowest margin of profit. They will be glad to serve and convince you at their present location. 108 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Oldest Lumber Business in Louisville IN the year 1854, John Graham, pioneer dealer in lumber, established a lumber business at Eighth and Magazine Streets, where an extensive lumber business has existed to the present time. In 1863, Samuel Parker Graham, son of John Graham, became clerk in his father's oice. In 1863, Samuel Parker Graham, familiarly known as S. P. Graham, was taken by his father into partnership, and the firm continued its lhm- ber business under the name: "John Graham Son" until the death in 1880 of the senior member of the firm. In 1885 the firm name was changed to the S. P. Graham Lumber Co., with S. P. Graham as sole ow ner.l In the year 1897, Palmer Graham, son of S. P. Graham JOHN GRAHI and grandson of the late John Graham, became a member of his father's clerical force. In 1918 "The S. P. Graham Lumber Co." was incorporated with S. P. Graham, President, and Palmer Graham, Secretary-Treasurer and active Manager. The corporation is the oldest lumber business in Louisville and has remained in the same location for sixty-nine years. 104 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Joseph Hubbuch, Sr., Sons FOR half a century the House of Hubbuch has been furnishing Louisville homes with wall paper, rugs, carpets and other floor coverings, draperies and window shades, and there are not many housekeepers in the city who have not dealt with this firm in some way during that long span of time. The business was founded by the late Sebastian Hubbuch and his brother Joseph, now the senior of the firm, in 1873. The modest little store which they opened on Market Street, below Eleventh, soon proved too small and had to be enlarged to more than double its size. In less than two years after this another addition became necessary. Two younger brothers, Phillip and Otto Hubbuch, were taken into the firm, the style of which became S. Hubbuch Bros., to be changed later on into Hubbuch Brothers. After a long and successful career another change took place. Mr. Sebastian Hubbuch having died, the remaining partners separated, and Mr. Joseph Hubbuch associated with himself his sons, Sebastian 0. Hubbuch and John A. Hubbuch, under the firm name of Joseph Hubbuch, Sr., Sons, and opened the present magnificent store at 1124 West Market Street, with a front of 52 feet and a depth of 210 feet, one of JOB. HUBBUCH, SR. the largest in its line in the city. Death has robbed the firm of the services of Mr. John A. Hubbuch and the business is now under the management of Mr. Sebastian 0. Hubbuch. Mr. Joseph Hubbuch, Sr., is one of the honored veterans of the business world of Louisville. Always taking a keen interest in civic affairs, he served as a member of the commission to which was entrusted the building of Louisville's great Public Hospital, freely giving his time and his labor to this important task without compen- sation. It has often been said of this commission that the citv never had a better one and the hospital stands as a monument to the faithful work of its members. He rep- resents the highest type of public-spirited citizens. Always ready to support any civic enterprise, he has also never failed to lend his assistance to any worthy cause of a charitable nature and has been especially active in the philanthropic work of car- ing for orphaned children. Mr. Hubbuch belongs to a number of societies and insti- tutions, but in none does he take as much pride as in his more than fifty years' mem- bership in the St. Joseph Orphans' Home in Crescent Hill. Born in 1848 in Baden he came to Louisville when still a youth, and his rise to prominence in business and civic affairs has been achieved by hard work and dili- gent application of lessons learned in the practical school of hard knocks. His son and successor in the management of the great business he founded, Mr. Sebastian 0. Hubbuch, is treading in the footsteps of his father. He holds membership in a num- ber of clubs and societies, has held office in most of them and is at present at the head of Mackin Council, Y. M. I., one of the most flourishing institutions in the city. Louisville Fifty Years Ago One of Louisville's Pioneer Florist Establishments JACOB SCHULZ, the founder of Jacob Schulz Co., came to this country from Germany in 1863 and located in Louisville. He at once took charge of the es- tate of Colonel Alexander, at that time one of the show places around Louisville, now a part of Cherokee Park. The Alexander estate will be remembered by many of the present residents of Louisville. It was situated on the top of what is known as Cochran Hill. Colonel Gerard Alexander was a great lover of flowers and took an immense interest in the beautifying of his spacious grounds. Under the supervision of Jacob Schulz, art and nature combined, this prop- erty became famous as one of the most beautiful estates in this section of the coun- try. In 1873 (fifty years ago) Jacob Schulz started in business for himself at 831 Cherokee Road and conducted his business from there for thirty-one years. In 1904, he purchased the retail business of F. Morat's Sons Co., the store at that time being near the corner of Fourth Walnut Streets, on a part of the ground where the Seel- bach Hotel now stands. A few years later the property at 550 South Fourth Avenue, was purchased and the business continued under the name of Jacob Schulz until 1915, when he disposed of the retail business to the Jacob Schulz Co., which had been incorporated by his son, George E. Schulz, its present President. The business has grown and expanded steadily from the start and today the Jacob Schulz Co., with its three departments, is one of the largest floral establish- ments south of the Ohio River. The Greenhouse Department is still located at the old stand, 831 Cherokee Road, and is owned and operated by Mrs. Bettie Schulz, Fred L. Schulz, a son being manager. The Dahlia Farm and Nursery Department is located on the Bardstown Road and Gardner's Lane just beyond Strathmoor, and the Retail Department, 550 Fourth Avenue. Fifty years ago the Alexander estate, under Jacob Schulz, was one of the show places of Louisville. Today the Dahlia Farm on the Bardstown Road, operated by Jacob Schulz Co., attracts thousands of sightseers. When the Dahlies are in bloom people come from far and near to see these acres of loveliness. 106 Louisville Fifty Years Ago Shoeing Oxen Over Fifty Years Ago T ODAY, it would be a curiosity to see a team of oxen on the streets of Louisville, much less see one put shoes on them. This, however, was common and along the regular routine of work over fifty years ago by Jacob Weber. Jacob Weber started in the wagon building and horse shoeing business fifty-seven years ago on Market Street, between Jackson and Hancock, and shod oxen as well as horses and there were quite a few oxen teams used in those days. An oxen shoe is entirely different from a horse shoe. The hoof of an oxen is split like a cow's hoof, and so two shoes are necessary on each foot, and part of each shoe would circle to the inside of the foot to cover the entire hoof, each oxen shoe would form a sort of a half moon. At Jacob Weber's death in 1908 the business was continued by his two sons, Arthur C. Weber, and J. Henry Weber, and the old name was changed to Jacob Weber's Sons who continued the wagon business for three or four years, then see- ing the more progressive and modern way for hauling was the motor truck. Enter- ing in the motor truck business at this time, we were the pioneers in the business. Seeing that this business was growing and a more modern building was necessary for the advancement and progress that had been made in the motor truck business, the old shop was torn down and a new modern, concrete, steam heated building was erected on the same site covering the entire lot. At this time, wagon building and horse shoeing were discontinued and our busi- ness developed into the motor truck and body building business for motor trucks only, showing the young blood had progressed and advanced with progressive and modern times. We were the first company in Louisville to receive merchandise by airplane, having a shipment of parts sent us from our factory in Wabash, Indiana, landing in Shawnee Park, a distance of two hundred miles, in two and one-half hours. This was on May 15th, 1919. So after fifty-seven years of uninterrupted success at the same location, the pioneers of the motor truck business are handling the same make of trucks successfully longer than any competitive dealer and enjoy the highest credit rating of any firm in the same business. JACOB WEB ..HNY VVBER ARTH c. BE 1l7 Louisville Fifty Years Ago The Louisville Live Stock Market Fifty Years Ago T HE history of the Louisville Live Stock market dates back to a time before the Civil War when live stock came into Louisville and was cleared through primitive pens and moved to the packers by the uncertain methods of transpor- tation of those days. Stockyards, such as existed, met the requirements of the day crudely, and sanitary regulations were unheard of. In 1858 the Bourbon Stockyards opened its doors and the first upward stride in marketing of live stock in Kentucky was taken. For the first time the shippers, producers, and buyers of the country who dealt in Louisville had a genuine clearing house through which they could operate. The Civil War found the Bourbon Stockyards attracting national attention. Great movements of animals through the yards followed and Louisville was one of the first three markets for live stock in America. From that day to this is a tremendous leap. Model though the stockyards were in those days, they are no comparison with the great yards of today. The present plant of the Bourbon Stockyards stands out pre-eminently as a monument to one of the largest, if not the largest individual industry in the metropolis of Kentucky. The average person has not the slightest conception of the magnitude of the live stock business of Louisville-more than one hundred million dollars being re- quired annually to handle this industry. During the year of 1922 the receipts at the Bourbon Stockyards were 168,314 cattle, 113,527 calves, 497,055 hogs, 318,325 sheep. The Bourbon Stockyards has a daily capacity of 9,000 cattle, 20,000 hogs, 25,000 sheep and lambs. All the buildings are fireproof concrete with every provision for complete sanitation, tuberculin testing facilities and all other equipment required by modern standards, make it the best equipped yards in America, not overlooking the famous yards of Chicago and Kansas City. It is the greatest spring lamb market in the world and the largest stocker and feeder market in the United States, south and east of Chicago. Prior to 1877 there were no records kept of the receipts of live stock, or the disposition made of it-The present records show that during 1878 there were received at the Bourbon Stockyards 50,690 cattle and calves, 295,303 hogs, and 114,289 sheep and lambs. Very insignifi- cant when compared with the receipts during the past year, yet Louisville was one of the big markets of the country in those days, about the "second city" in the United States from a pork packing point of view. At that time there were thirteen flourishing winter packing houses in operation and Louisville rivaled Cincinnati for the title of Porkopolis. A glance at a clipping from an old newspaper reveals these facts: For the packing season of 1870-71, the sea- son began on October 31, 1870 and ended on January 22, 1871, there were packed in Louisville, Jeffersonville and New Albany, 308,986 hogs. One of the largest of these packing plants was the Birch-Norris Co., George Birch of this firm was one of the founders of the Bourbon Stockyards and managed the properties until 1887, when he retired and was succeeded by his son G. Allen Birch, its present General Manager. 108 PESS 01 C. T. DEARING PRINTING COMPANY. IN, JOHN P. MORTON COMPANY. Isc. PREPARED . ND.. SUN -uviSgo' or THOS. S. STARK - ]