You have found an item located in the Kentuckiana Digital Library.
Story of Mayfield through a century, 1823-1923 / by D. Trabue Davis. Davis, D. Trabue. 400dpi TIFF G4 page images University of Kentucky, Electronic Information Access & Management Center Lexington, Kentucky 2002 b92-146-29449923 Electronic reproduction. 2002. (Beyond the shelf, serving historic Kentuckiana through virtual access (IMLS LG-03-02-0012-02) ; These pages may be freely searched and displayed. Permission must be received for subsequent distribution in print or electronically. Story of Mayfield through a century, 1823-1923 / by D. Trabue Davis. Davis, D. Trabue. Billings Printing Co., Paducah, Ky. : c1923. 131 p. : ill., ports. ; 24 cm. Coleman Each part preceeded by half-title not included in collation. Microfilm. Atlanta, Ga. : SOLINET, 1993. 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm. (SOLINET/ASERL Cooperative Microfilming Project (NEH PS-20317) ; SOL MN03850.05 KUK) Printing Master B92-146. IMLS This electronic text file was created by Optical Character Recognition (OCR). No corrections have been made to the OCR-ed text and no editing has been done to the content of the original document. Encoding has been done through an automated process using the recommendations for Level 1 of the TEI in Libraries Guidelines. Digital page images are linked to the text file. Mayfield (Ky.) History. Mayfield (Ky.) Biography. Photoi by Powvell Studio The Author Storj of maqfield Throuqh a Centurj 1823- l923 7M; Biq D. Trabue Davis This page in the original text is blank. Copqright 123SbN D. Trabue Davis BILLINGS PRINTING COMPANY I'N COR PO RATED PADUCAH, KENTUCKY Endorsed bq the CitN Council as a True Historj of Matfield Hix Pre uae If history teaches any lesson, it teaches this, that progress must be slow; that humanity does not develop A, ) through gifts, nor by abrupt development, but it acquires H7) .t its progress by a severe upward struggle, a little at a time. KID X The great problem of the future of Mayfield is not the E5 organization of leagues or societies for the maintenance of D ,r peace and prosperity, but rather a true comprehension of . humanity and its problems. rsTh The Busy Corner, Where Seventh Street Crosses Broadway - AV( This page in the original text is blank. Lover s lane Forewori This page in the original text is blank. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 1 Foreworl E NLARGEMENT is the soul of ambition and if through a fair education of Mayfield's story of growth, the school boys and girls of the city will have become fired by the ,f 2 celestial flame of desire to achieve bigger things these labors have not been in vain. It is with a blunt pen that the author labored and the results are but a short, incomplete outline of some of the more important events perpetuating the lames of its pioneers, keeping the time and manner of set- tlement, recording the names of its officials and recording much other material that would otherwise, in a few years, be entirely lost, all of these marking the coming and grow- ing of what can become a most famous American metropolis. Assistance has been gladly given the author by many of the older citizens of the city, which is greatly appreciated. Among these are Ben F. Briggs, deceased; Mrs. G. T. Fuller, Mrs. J. C. Speight, Mrs. Mollie Briggs. Miss Eugenia Parham, Mrs. Collins Pitman, Mrs. J1. E. Warren, Judge J. E. Robbins, Rev. John A. Troxler, M. B. Holifield, George Bingham, R. G. Robbins, Judge Gus Thomas, Andy Hall, W. J. Webb, Alfred E. Ross, New Haven, Conn., and Dave Harris, colored. Many national and state histories were used to the extent that they seemed deserved. The author first began work on a history of Mayfield when a prize was offered by the Parham Bible class of the First Christian church for the best history of Mayfield written by a member of the Senior class of Mayfield High School in 1922. Not being satisfied with an incomplete history the author has written this book. Much credit is due this Sunday school class for these results. Be it what it may, it has nevertheless been offered by one who has the best interest of his native place at heart, and the best interest of those who are at its head. D. TRABUE DAVIS. 2 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Contents INTRODUCTION Physical features; "Hub of Jackson Purchase"; Location of Mayfield; Mayfield Creek; Boundaries of Graves County; Town Laid Off; Well Known Springs ------------------5 PART ONE "And They Called It Mayfield." The Name Mayfield; Chickasaw Indians; Trees and Animals: Earliest White Settlers; First House; Birth of First White Child; Slave Trade; Graves County Men in Revolutionary War; The Civil War; "Reign of Terror"; General Grant Passes Through Mayfield; Arrests Made; The World War; Nine Mayfield Men Gave Lives; County Council of Defense; Liberty Loan Campaigns; Draft Boards; Four-Minute Men; Nov. 11, 1918; Spirit of Improvement; Mayfield "City of Homes"; Al Cargill Oldest Living Person Born in Mayfield; Federal Census; Sports; Kitty League ---------------------------------------9 PART TWO "A Flail and a Scythe and a Stack of Rye." First Business House; Early Business Men; Early Busi- ness Center; Railroads Enter Town; Tobacco Market; Dark Tobacco Growers Co-operative Association; First Bank; First National Bank; Bank of Mayfield; City National Bank; Graves County Banking Trust Co.; Exchange Bank; Early Manufacturing Concerns; Mayfield Woolen Mills; Merit Pant Co.; First Automobile; Early Newspapers; Daily Messenger; First Hotel; Present Hotels; John Rice Shows; Princess Theatre; Fair Grounds; Young Men's Building Loan Association; First Telephone Co.; Cumber- land and Home Telephone Cos.; First Flour Mills -_____25 _ _--STORY OFMAYFIELDTHROUGH A CENTURY 3 PART THREE "The Council and the Law." Wadesboro First Land Office; Mayfield County Seat of Graves County Dec. 17, 1823; First Session of Court; Members; First Tavern License; First Trial; First Term of Circuit Court; First Civil Case; Erection of First Court House; Later Court Houses; County Jails; Mayfield First Town in Kentucky to Effect Local Option; Overland Delivery of Mail; First Post Office; Streets; Mayfield Water and Light Plant; "Bucket Brigade"; City Fire Department; Local Law Attorneys; Present Bar; City Government_ -47 PART FOUR "Progressive Institutions." First Religious Organizations; Cumberland Presbyterian Church; Presbyterian Church, U. S. A.; First Baptist Church; First Methodist Church; First Christian Church; Roman Catholic Church; Second Methodist Church; Church of Christ; Primitive Baptist Church; Schools; West Kentucky College; Local Doctors; Mayfield Hospital; First Cemetery; Maplewood Cemetery; Highland Park Cemetery; Private Cemeteries; Odd Fellows 151; Modern Woodmen of America Camp 11651; Woodmen of World Camp 115; Masonic Lodge 679; Elks Club; Elks Home; United Com- mercial Travelers Post 40; United Daughters of the Con- federacy; The Daughters of American Revolution; War Mothers; Red Cross; Womans Club; Health and Welfare League; Business and Professional Womans Club; Local Company of National Guard; Boy Scouts and Camp Fire Girls; Country Club; Chamber of Commerce - __-__-__65 PART FIVE "Some Mayfieldians" _ __-_-_-____-_---- _ 93 This page in the original text is blank. On the Dixie Highway Introduction This page in the original text is blank. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Introduction B EFORE there were any settlements made in l. the region that is now Mayfield, the greater part of the land was almost entirely devoid of timber, but was covered by tall grass in 00 which but few shrubs of any kind were to be seen, except along and skirting the streams, where a variety of trees, such as white oak, poplar, sweet oak, shags, white hickory, black and winged elms, laurel oaks, and a dense under- growth of small bushes and vines thrived in luxuriousness. Mayfield is located on the summit of an undulating plain 491 feet above sea level, which is the highest point between the Ohio river at Smithland, Ky., and New Orleans, Louisiana. The Union Station at Paducah is only 338 feet above the sea, which gives Mayfield a range of 153 feet over Paducah. The top track on the Cairo bridge is 379 feet above sea level, which indicates that Mayfield is even 112 feet higher than Cairo. It is due to this higher altitude that Mayfield can boast of pure, fresh air, a good supply of pure water and excellent health and sanitary conditions in general. Relatively, Mayfield is located in the center of Graves County, and has been frequently spoken of as the "Hub of the Jackson Purchase." The "Jackson Purchase" in Ken- tucky is bounded on the east by the Tennessee river; on the north by the Ohio river; on the west by the Mississippi river, and on the south by the state of Tennessee. The location of Mayfield in the center of such a fertile county makes it the most important city in the "Purchase," because from nearly all the surrounding country the pro- ducts of the soil are brought there for marketing. These products indeed have made Mayfield known all over the world. A county which, while only thirty miles long and eighteen miles wide, is nevertheless noted for its produc- tivity. a 6 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Mayfield creek is the largest and most important water course near Mayfield. It rises in the southeast part of the county and flows in a northwesterly direction about a mile east of the city. This creek has been of great value to Mayfield, in that it was used as a drainage system, but unfortunately and due to excessive land deposits it became so irregular in its habits that it failed to function properly in its drainage work. To correct this the land owners along the creek have been co-operating on a project by which the creek can be drained permanently. This work is now under way and when complete a lasting achievement will have been consumated. In the early days Mayfield like most other towns took life without any definite plans with regard to the regularity of the streets, and the boundary lines of the city. During the early years of its creation its growth was slow, but eventually as the settlement increased in its general scope the people began to realize the importance and necessity of laying off the town and properly recording it. By the Act of 1821 the boundaries of Graves County were definitely established with Mayfield as the county seat, however, no survey of the place was made until the county was organized in 1823. On the 27th of March, the following year, the original plot, embracing an area of 160 acres lying in Section 10, Township 3 north, Range 1 east, was duly recorded and signed by the first board of trustees, which consisted of John Anderson, Richard Reigar, Isaac Darnell, Joshua Shelton and Crawford Anderson. This plot showed 35 blocks, 72 lots and a public square, with 9 streets crossing each other at right angles, 5 running east and west and 4 running north and south, with Broadway as the main street. Each street was to be 66 feet wide. Since then from time to time several additions have been made, the most important ones being West Mayfield, which consists of 22 lots recorded officially on May 24, 1867, and the Williams addition of 56 lots July 26, 1878. Others were the Murphey addition on the east side of town, which is now known as Black Bottom, the Park addition, west of 7th street and south of the little Mayfield STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 7 Creek, to about 2 blocks back of West Kentucky College; the Bullock addition, east of 7th street and south of the little Mayfield Creek which lies and extends to Usher and Brand additions farther east, and finally the Anderson addition which takes in all the lots on the north side of town. Nature did not provide many springs in this region and in the Mayfield vicinity, thus it was with much difficulty that the settlers procured their water. In fact when Mayfield was in infancy it has been said that a well existing somewhere in the northeast corner of the Court House yard provided all the people in town with water; women even went there to wash their clothes. Naturally, and due to incessant use, the ground around was muddy and slimy much of the time and it has been said that hogs could always be found in the mud, and that not infrequently an inquis- itive pig fell into the well and could not be recovered due to the great depth of the well until an old man who did this kind of work came around, which was usually not earlier than six or seven months. This page in the original text is blank. Broadway Looking East From Ninth Street Part One "And Tleiq Called It maqfielcll This page in the original text is blank. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 9 J UST how the city earned its name is a much J argued question but from much data from many sources an interesting story has been recalled. About 1817 at or near Mill's Point on the =i !L!J Mississippi river, which is now Hickman, Ky., there was a track for horse racing. The remains of this noted track are still apparant to the naked eye, and each year when the races were held people from all the country around came to enjoy the popular pastime. Now among the multitude which made an annual pilgrim- age, was a certain man by the name of Mayfield, who hailed from Mississippi. This man habitually came by the way of the Mississippi river and as a big-money man he was exceedingly popular, indeed so popular that in the year of 1817 several men plotted to kidnap him. This was done with but little difficulty and he was carried into what is now known as Mayfield and held there in captivity. During the period of captivity and for some inexplicable reason he carved his name unbeknown to the guards into a tree, then he planned and attempted a dart for liberty and as he was crossing a log over the creek near which the camp was located, he was shot and drowned. The men made no effort to remove his body, for they were glad to get rid of him. So when they returned to Mill's Point they were sus- pected of committing the crime and arrested. Later one man confessed and searches subsequently followed the con- fession for Mayfield's body, though it was never found. All that was ever found was his name as he had carved it on the tree, and from this, as in memoriam, the creek was thence- forth known as Mayfield Creek and later the town as the town of Mayfield. The Indians never used the Purchase for any other pur- pose than that of hunting grounds. There is no evidence of any permanent settlements by them though it has been proclaimed that the Chickasaws were present in various portions of the district as late as 1830. They removed from their lands very readily however, after signing of the treaty 10 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY between the government and the Chickasaws for the Jackson Purchase. In regard to an Indian camp near Pryorsburg, M. B. Holifield said, "I have heard my grandfather, G. W. Holifield, say that when he was a boy, living south of the public road and opposite Bethel grave yard just east of Pryorsburg, that the boys spent their Sundays at the Indian village catching rats. The Indians would split logs and turn the split sides up, which served as a floor upon which they built their wigwams. Space left in middle of the floor was used to build fire on. A hole in top of the wigwam served as a chimney. The village covered eight or ten acres of ground and a spring near by furnished the water. This spot was located where Bob Bradley's concrete home is built one mile east of Pryorsburg, Ky. The only game animals found in this region were (leer, wild turkeys, panthers, wildcat, and bear, also smaller animals such as skunk, rabbits and squirrel. When Mayfield was a small town there were a number of Indians who camped under the silver leaf poplar tree that can now be found at the corner of Fourth and North streets. It is said that this tree is two hundred years old and that in the early days of Mayfield it was the only tree aroundI Mayfield of any size. It stands today, possibly, as the only object which marked the founding and growth of the city. Beneath the shade of its branches many illustrious nen have stood; men who have shared in the creation and growth of Mayfield. Another very interesting tree, because of its history, is a mighty silver poplar which attracts the attention of every one who passes by. It stands on the corner of North Sixth and North streets. The story goes that many years ago Smith Thomas, a prominent citizen, was driving a very stub- born mule and just at this place the beast refused to proceed further. After much entreating in which the mule was perfectly oblivious to his master, Thomas became angry enough to use a poplar switch which soon broke and which w-as cast away. In discarding the switch, it fell upright in STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 11 Some Historic Lall(i MAr1k ls. 12 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY the snow and from this, some men assert, the mighty tree has grown. Those who first settled in Mayfield, and in Mayfield Dis- trict were John Anderson, Crawford Anderson, Ervin Anderson, Col. R. L. Mayes, Jonathon Pryor, John Cunningham, Oliver Perry, John Tolbert, David Orr, James Dunbar, William Yandell, Joshua Shelton, Mr. Stephens, Arthur Jenkins, John Killough, Frank Tolbert, Ruben Tolbert, Mr. Cravens, C. Smith, Jesse Wells, Dr. Wilkerson, James Edens, Mr. Leach, Henry Williams, Mathew Travis, John Galloway, William Fleming, Henry Coulter, Riley Anderson, Benjamin Stokes, Thomas Dodson, John Gardner, Joshua Gough, Joseph Hamilton, William Edwards, Bluford Gore, Jim Beadles, and others. Most of these men brought families, and they either came from Virginia or North Carolina. John Anderson as far as is known was the first settler of Mayfield, being born in what is now Albermarle County, North Carolina, where he was reared and educated. He came to Kentucky a young married man at the time when the Jackson Purchase had not been organized into counties. Mr. Anderson first settled in Caldwell County. The fol- Jowing, is a copy of a record made in his own hand writing: "Emigrated from Caldwell County, Kentucky, into the region country west of the Tennessee river, and settled on Mayfield Creek in the woods two and a half miles from the present site of the town of Mayfield. We had made our way through the woods from the Tennessee river and were three days on the route, encamping in the woods at night and treading our way through the thicket by day. We arrived on the twenty-seventh day of October, 1819 at our place of future residence, and pitched our camp. I built cabins and cleared land, and resided at that place until Dec., 1821, when the county of Graves having been recently organized and myself appointed clerk of the county and circuit courts, I moved to the place that is now Mayfield." The first house built in Mayfield was a crude log structure, located about where the Coleman Farthing place is now located on North Fifth street. It was owned by John STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Anderson, and all the country around this place was owned by Anderson, making a big farm. He brought many slaves from Virginia with him, and they tilled the soil. The first white child born in Mayfield was Ervin Anderson, son of John Anderson. It was not long until houses began to spring up here and there, and all of the owners were engaged in agriculture. Most of these people had slaves to do the work. There was at no time a slave market in Mayfield, but slaves were sold and traded on the public streets. Slaves would sometimes run away and it became so common men would stay on guard at night. These men were called "Patter Rollers." When a runaway slave was caught he was whipped severely. When the Cival War broke out most of the slaves left their owners and went to Paducah. After the Civil War many became unruly and after several attacks on white women and other acts, a large number were shot or hung during the years of 1866 and 1867. So far as is known, but two of the early settlers of Graves County served in the Revolution. Willis Odom, one of the first residents of Wingo Precinct, served during that struggle, and up to the time of his death, he was drawing a pension for such services. In January, 1829, one James Ross appeared in open court and applied for a pension, stating that he had served in the Continental Army from 1776 to 1779, having belonged to a North Carolina regiment. Quite a number of the early residents were soldiers in the War of 1812, and in the war with Mexico. Graves County furnished three companies, numbering in all about 207 men. John A. Board and J. N. Beadles raised a company of ninety men, which served for a period of six months, but partici- pated in no engagements. A company of ninety-seven men, commanded by Capt. Charles Wickliffe, was recruited from Graves, Ballard, and Calloway Counties and Capt. Reed's company of thirty men was made up from Graves and Ballard Counties. During the great Civil War, Graves County was consid- ered neutral ground, although the majority of her citizens sympathized with the Confederacy. The occupation of the 13 14 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Purchase by Federals prevented the active organization of troops for the Southern Army, although nine companies went from Graves County at different times, besides a num- ber of individuals who enlisted at Union City, Camp Boone, and other places in Tennessee. The following is a list of Graves County Confederate companies with the names of officers as far as obtainable: Company E, Seventh Kentucky Regiment, commanded by Capt. Joel Cochran; David Hicks, W. E. Anderson, and William Cochran, Lieutenants. This company numbered about 100 men and served throughout the war. Company A., same regiment, James G. Pirtle, captain; Thomas Burnett, J. A. Collins and George T. Wilson, lieutenants. This company went to the front with about 120 men, and participated in many of the hardest engagements of the war. Company H, of the same regi- ment, was recruited in this county, Capt. H. S. Hale, com- manding. The lieutenants at the time of organization were C. W. Jetton, F. E. Dodd, and Joel Rucker. Major Hale whose slogan was "Come on boys, never go" was a man of wide and varied community spirit for Mayfield. He died on July 24, 1922, at the age of 86. His name goes down in history as one that meant much to the city of Mayfield. This was a full company of about 100 men when it first entered the service. Company E, Third Kentucky Regi- ment, numbered 120 men, almost all of whom were residents of Graves County. The officers were J. M. Emerson, cap- tain; W. M. Cargill, first lieutenant; S. P. Ridgway, second lieutenant and M. D. Emerson. third lieutenant. Company G, same regiment, commanded by Capt. C. C. Edwards; lieutenants were Staten and Bryant. Company B, same regiment, consisting of 100 men was raised by Capt. James G. Bowman. These companies served during the war and took part in all the Western Campaigns. A company of about 100 men was raised in this county by Capt. R. H. Fristoe and was attached to the Eighth Kentucky Infantry. The names of under-officers were not learned. The battle of Shiloh was the biggest battle in which Mayfield men took part. It was in this battle that Capt. Joe Emerson was killed. Many men went to the Federal STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 15 Army from Mayfield and Graves County. Capt. L. A. Hanson raised a company for the 16th Ky. Regiment and a company under Jones Gregory was recruited for the Fed- eral service about the beginning of the war and served for a period of three years. Mayfield was occupied at different times during the war by Federals and Confederates. In 1864 Gen. Payne assumed command of the Union forces of Western Kentucky, with headquarters at Paducah. He caused a fortification to be thrown up around the public square of Mayfield, in which the citizens, irrespective of class or sentiment, were compelled to assist. Such was View of Fort Mayfield built duiing the Civil War by order of General Payne, under the supervision of Maj. John A. Wilson, 134 Rgt. Ill. Vols., T. W. E. Beldon, Co. A, engineer. drawn front nature by J. E. Dillingham, Co. G. Photo made from drawing, which is owned by R. D. Robertson, by J. C. Grahm. the vigor with which he exercised his authority, that sixty- one persons in the Purchase, many of them entirely inno- cent, are said to have been executed during his short "reign of terror." His removal, in the latter part of the above year, was hailed with delight by the citizens of the town and sur- rounding country, many of whom had been subjected to the greatest cruelty on account of their suspected friendship for the Southern cause. 16 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Payne's successor was Gen. Meredith, an officer of dig- nity and a true gentleman. His conduct was such as to win the confidence and esteem of the people, whom he treated with fairness and courtesy, and his occupancy of Mayfield was the beginning of an era of friendly feeling among all classes. He abandoned the fortifications con- structed by his predecessor as useless in case of an attack, and in their stead threw up earthworks on an eminence in the southwest part of town, which commanded a wide range of country. He planted several batteries on these fortifica- tions, but no enemy appeared to dispute his possession of the place. General Grant passed through Mayfield in the early part of the war enroute to Fort Donaldson with reinforcements. He came from Paducah, and passed through the city about a week before the battle of Shiloh. At that tine he was not known as a great man. Later Gen. Forrest of the Confed- erate Army, a man of the highest reputation, marched through enroute to Paducah. Many Mayfield men were arrested by the Federal soldiers and kept in prison in Paducah during the war. Other exciting events during the Civil War took place when upon many occasions Guerillas would meet in Mayfield, and make this the scene of hotly contested fights, which did not cease until one side decisively won. During the late World War, Mayfield supported the cause of our country and sent many men to the colors. The total number who either died or were killed is nine, and these were: Edward Allen, son of Will Allen, died of disease at Camp Taylor, Louisville. Marshall P. English, son of C. T. English, died of disease on seas. Jas. Boyett Pryor, son of B. B. Pryor, killed in action. Sergt. Claude B. Reynolds, son of Frazier Reynolds, died of disease overseas. Raymond Traughber, son of J. W. Traughber, died of accident overseas. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Cletus E. Wilson, son of Mrs. Eva Wilson, died of disease overseas. Harvey Ackerman, son of W. A. Ackerman, killed in action. Bennie Samsil, died of disease overseas. John Crabtree, (colored), died of effects of gas in N. Y. hospital. Wilson Cochran, son of Hiram Cochran, died of disease overseas. Graves County gave twenty sons, who were as follows: Peyton Davis, son of George Davis, now of Nashville, Tenn., killed in action. J. A. Barkley, died of disease overseas. Haywood Collier, died of disease at Great Lakes Naval Station. Charles French, died of disease. Roy 0. French, died of wounds. John C. McGough, died of disease in camp. Irl D. Ray, died of disease overseas. Jesse Shelton, died of disease overseas. Luster Sherman, died of disease at Great Lakes Naval Station. La Fayette Stanley, died of disease overseas. Wapley Hargrove, (lied of disease at Great Lakes Naval Station. Clarence Weeks, died of disease in camp. Thessie Lee Slayden, died of disease at Camp Shelby. T. Z. Galloway, died of disease in camp. Chester A. Riley, died of disease at Camp Shelby. Raymond French, died of disease overseas. Ray Carmon, died of disease in camp. Milton Pankey, died of disease in camp. Tolbert Dallas, died of disease in camp. Chester Thomas, died of disease in camp. 17 18 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Photo by G. R. Robbins Typical Mid-Winter Scene. __ _STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 19 The organization of the County Council of Defense for this county during the World War was as follows: J. U. Kevil -Chairman C. C. Wyatt -Chairman Finance P. H. Mitchell -Chairman Agriculture Joe Coleman - -Chairman Health F. M. McCain -Chairman Public Safety Joe Coleman - Chairman Education W. V. Gregory - - - - Chairman Industry W. S. Cook - - - - Chairman Military Affairs F. B. Martin - Chairman Publicity and Speakers Bureau S. B. Smith - - - - - - Chairman Labor Woman's Committee-Mrs. R. E. Lochridge, chairman; Mrs. J. E. Warren, Mrs. J. L. Stunston. Mrs. G. T. Fuller - - - - Committee on Nurses The organization of the Graves County Liberty Loan Campaign was as follows: N. A. Hale - - - Chairman Estelle Morehead - Director of Publicity WV. A. Frost - - - - Director of Sales 'A. H. Brizendine - - - - - Directors of Bankers Lube Orr - - - - Director of Supplies C. W. Wilson - - - Director of Cities and Towns WV. S. Cook -Director of Townships Changes in this organization were as follows: Third Loan Chairman -Leon Evans Victory Loan Chairman -Leon Evans Director of Sales -J. E. Coleman Director of Bankers -C. C. Wyatt First Liberty Loan-May-June, 1917. Quota - _-----------------------------334,531 Subscriptions and Cash Sales- -_-_-___-_____ 93,600 Second Liberty Loan-October, 1917. Number of Subscribers - _-- _-_-____-____ 451 Quota -_______________________________ 295,500 Subscriptions and Cash Sales- -______-___-____ 96,750 Third Liberty Loan-April-May, 1918. In the summer of 1918, during this drive, a liberty house was erected on the public square, which added more to the 20 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY convenience of the subscribers and made it a bigger success. Number of Subscribers ------------------------ 4,352 Quota ---------------------------------------197,250 Subscriptions and Cash Sales- -- __- ______466,750 Victory Loan-April-May, 1919. Number of Subscribers- -_____________________ 630 Quota ---------------------------------------244,250 Subscriptions and Cash Sales -------------------290,300 Food Administrator - -W. B. Stanfield, Mayfield, Ky. Fuel Administrator - X. B. Wickersham, Mayfield, Ky. Local Draft Boards-Chairman, WV. B. Sullivan; F. M. McCain, W. S. Cook. Medical Examiners-Dr. J. L. Dismukes, Dr. NV. S. Hargrove. Secretary-H. C. Albritton. Chairman-R. N. R. E. Johnston F. B. Martin H. J. Moorman W. B. Stanfield R. G. Robbins J. J. Castleberry W. H. Hester Houston Brooks Four-Minute Men. Stanfield. Speakers-All of Mayfield, Ky. Clyde Burnett Rev. W. M. Wood W. V. Gregory W. H. Wyman M. B. Holifield J. E. Warren Gus Greene Joe Weaks Seth T. Boaz Official Report. City of Mayfield-Cash-_____________ _-_ 4,800.00 City of Mayfield-Pledges----------__-____- - - 2,100.00 Victory Boys and Girls_____________---___-__ 2,200.00 Colored Division------------------------------ 50.00 County Division (reported) ___-_- - - 5,850.00 Total to 7 A. M., Nov. 23, 1918 - - ______15,000.00 It was an interesting time in Mayfieid at the close of the war, Nov. 11, 1918. The news was received about three o'clock in the morning, and it was only a few minutes until all the town was awake, out on the streets, building bonfires, and making noises of all kinds, showing their joy at know- ing the greatest of all wars had come to an end. That morn- STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY ing and the day following was a great day for all Mayfield. The people of Mayfield from the early days to the present have been a people with high ideals for themselves and their city, and it is with these ideals that they have at least put Mayfield on the map with the outlook of a still greater Mayfield in view. They are true southerners, and true Kentuckians in style, and show that same old hospitality that the people of the Southland always have. The men representing Mayfield and Graves County in governmental affairs have always stood true to the char- acter and morals of the people of this city. Men of the highest type of American citizenship and with outstanding character have been produced, rendered great services to the community, and then passed away with their names never entering the pages of history, but only in the lives of those people who lived in their time. One of. Mayfield's most widely known citizens is George Bingham, whose "Dog Hill Paragrafs" appear in all the leading newspapers of the country. Over three million people read Mr. Bingham's paragraphs every day and through his popularity as a writer he has toured most all of the southern states deliverinlg his original monologue entitled "Shucks." Mr. Bingham was born in Trigg County but has spent most all of his life in Mayfield and Mayfield is justly proud of her native son. One of the greatest tragedies which ever occurred near Mayfield was the burning of eleven people about one mile northeast of Hickory on the night of June 25, 1921. More so especially since the fire originated from a mysterious scource which was never discovered. The coroner's verdict gave the origin to foul play. The remains of the eleven people were buried in onc casket in Maplewood Cemetery of this city. In April, 1897, a startling event happened when five baby boys were born to Mr. and Mrs. John Lyon, just south of Mayfield. The names given the boys .were: Mark, Luke, John, Paul and Mathew. They lived only a short while, and people from all the country around came to see them. Trains even stopped in front of the house to let passengers 21 22 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY visit the home which was only a short distance from the railroad track. Sheriff John T. Roach, a Graves County man, who was killed on March 6, 1922, by Sam Galloway in his office at the Court House in Mayfield, was at the time of his death one of the most popular men among Mayfield people. His death caused his widow, Mrs. Lois Roach, to be appointed sheriff by the County Judge, Judge Monroe, on March 11, 1922. Four views of Broadway looking west from Sixth street, showing how the City of Alayfield looked in 1865, 1874, 1894 and the present time, 1923. At that time she was the first and only woman sheriff in the United States. The people of Mayfield have always had the spirit of improvement but it was not until the year 1880 that the spirit seized the citizens and caused the city to make a change from the log cabins, with stick and dirt chimneys, to residences of more refined taste, beauty antl ___ STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 23 comfort. With added improvements, as time passed, Mayfield has become a city with more handsome residences than any other city of its size. Driving out the streets beyond the business portion of the city, on either side one will find palatial homes, beautiful cottages, and shady lawns of the rarest beauty. Mayfield has become a cosmopolitan city in that she has citizens from most every country on the globe, and these people are now desirable citizens, because they are the high- est type of foreigners and law abiding natives. Al Cargill The oldest person who was born in Mayfield is Charlie Dallam, who now resides in St. Louis, Mo. He was born in 1845. The oldest living person born in Mayfield, who still resides here is Al Cargill, born in the year 1850. Federal censuses for the past 30 years are as follows: 1900 1910 1920 Total Population--------------------4,081 5,916 6,583 Native White-native parentage ___ 3,117 4,578 5,377 Native white foreign or mixed parentage. 73 85 56 Foreign born white ___-_________-22 20 27 Negro -_--_____----______________869 1,233 1,123 The Federal census gives a gradual and more than 24 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Kitty League "Cyclone" Basehall Park. ordinary increase of population of the town, a continuance of which may be anticipated as a result of the improved school conditions and the progressive business interests of the town. Mayfield people have always been lovers of good, clean sports, and for the last three years has had a salaried base- ball team. The first year a ball park was constructed in the north part of the city. They have always supported the High School Athletics and, also, as a result of their hearty support Mayfield has produced teams which are known far and wide as chain- pions. Mayfield won the penant in the Kitty League in 1922. This was her first year in organized baseball and the outlook in this city for this national pastime is great. Mayfield has never had a slum section or immoral dives. She has been engaged in man- ufacturing boys and girls into clean hearted, level-headed men and women. She has maintained herself free from filth and dragdowns. And "Uncle" Dave Harris, Widely this is Mayfield's crowning Known for His Memory of glory as to the history of her Events in Regard to History people. of Graves County. A Wheat Field Part Crwo "A Flail and a Scqthe anJ a stack of Rqe" This page in the original text is blank. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY T HE first stock of goods was brought to Mayfield by John Anderson, who with his sons, Vincent and Davenport, soon estab- -lshlish ed a fair trade in this sparsely settled country. Jesse Wells, Dr. Wilkerson, and Paul Tolbert were among the early business men, and later came Joe Wilkerson, Lewis Wilkerson, Edmund Rogers, L. B. Holifield, Charles Smith, Michael Eaker, William Beadles, and John Bolinger, all of whom sold goods prior to 1848. James Edens opened a public house soon after the organ- ization of the county, and was one of the early merchants of the town, and perhaps the first manufacturer, too. During its first twelve years the growth of the town was very slow, but as the population in the county increased, its importance as a business center became fully established, and as early as 1848 it had a population of several hundred and was recognized as the most important inland town of the Purchase. The completion of the Memphis, New Orleans and North- ern Railroad gave new life to the town, and since that time its development has been substantial and satisfactory in every respect. It was not until July 3, 1858, that the first engine came to Mayfield. Everybody in the surrounding country came to town to see the sight, and one young man, Bud Eastman, who lived in the backwoods near Pryorsburg, carried a pepper box pistol along as a means of protection, and while standing near the track the engine stopped and the engineer, purposely or otherwise, permitted steam to escape which blew over the young man. At first he was frightened, but soon regained his composure, and feeling that he must demonstrate his bravery, he pulled out his pistol and announced to the engine that if it "blew its damn nose at him again he would blow a hole slap dab through it." A colored woman died of fright in Mayfield that day when she saw the first railroad engine. The train was to have made the trip on July 4th, 1858, but that day came on Sunday. J. T. Webb, one of our fellow townsmen, was present on that day. 25 26 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY On this day, which was a big one for the little town, R. K. Williams, a prominent citizen, spoke after the train had arrived from Paducah about eleven o'clock in the morning, stopping about where the Mayfield Milling company is now located. The supreme moment of the day was the noon hour with barbecued mutton and red lemonade, while later in the day the train returned to Paducah and another page in history was reached. At a later date this railroad line was bought by the Chesapeake, Ohio and Southwestern Railroad Company, and then later by the Newport News and Mississippi Valley Railroad Company and later by the Illinois Central, by which it is still contro led. At the present time eight pas- senger trains pass through daily with close coonections at both Paducah and Fulton for all points into western Kentucky. Since the construction of the railroad several freight and passenger depots have been erected and torn down. The present passenger depot was completed in 1912. J. R. Lemon bought the first ticket from this station. Bus lines now in operation between Mayfield and Murray and Paducah are having a goa-l business and meet- ing the approval of the traveling public. Early in its history the town became known as a tobacco market. Indeed its handling was one of the first important industries of the place. W. S. Melloo and John Bradley were the first men to be engaged in the business with factories in west Mayfield. New interest developed and the general tobacco business increased to such an extent that Mayfield eventually became known and was recognized as one of the largest loose leaf tobacco markets in the world, handling some thirty million pounds of tobacco annually with markets in almost every foreign country on the globe. The Dark Tobacco Growers Co-operative Association, the organization of which was perfected October 28, 1922, has in one year been indorsed by most all of the Dark Tobacco growers in this section. The handling of the tobacco co-op- eratively brings to the farmer many advantages over the old system. Over 70 of all the tobacco grown in the United States is handled co-operatively. 27 28 STORY OF MAYFIEL.D THROUGH A CENTURY Mayfield, One of the World's Largest Loose Leaf Tobacco Markets. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 29 Aaron Sapiro, the California marketing specialist, is the man who put on the movement. He was greatly assisted in organization of this association by Judge R. W. Bingham, who is called the friend of every Kentucky farmer. In Graves County the work was carried forward by Geo. J. Covington who was one of the nine members of the executive committee for organization. He had charge of the organ- ization work also in Carlisle, Fulton and Obion Counties and now is Assistant Director of all warehouses in the pool (listrict. This association is composed of all the counties of Kentucky and Tennessee that grow dark tobacco. Several counties in Indiana are also in the pool. The association was organized with 57,000 members. Graves County stands strong with 4,000 members and with 18,000 acres pledged to the pool. 175,000,000 pounds of dark tobacco was handled co-oper- atively by the pool the first year. Mayfield is one of the central offices and all tobacco handled by this station is shipped directly to the manufacturer or exporter. Main headquarters for the entire association are located at Hopkinsville, Ky. 1). W. Doron is at the present time local director and he is responsible for the rapid advancement made in Graves County since the time of organization. His work as director is meeting the approval of all Graves County farmers that are now in the pool. Prospects are that Graves County will soon be 100 for the Dark Tobacco Growers Co-operative Association, an organization which is doing wonderful things for the farmer, who is at last beginning to realize the value of co-operative marketing. Practically all the tobacco factories are located in West Mayfield and these are contracted by fifteen or more sep- arate concerns. There have been many big fires of tobacco factories, which have destroyed large amounts of property and tobacco. The two largest occurred. on the twenty-sev- enth of June, 1901, and in April, 1909. Mail order tobacco business has been just recently organ- izecl and is proving a success. There are at this time two 30 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY local houses which have a trade extending over the United States and Canada, with ever increasing prospect for a bigger business career. In 1859 a branch of the Ashland Bank was established at Mayfield and remained until 1864, when it was removed to Paducah, Ky., and reorganized as the First National Bank of that city, thus Mayfield furnished Paducah its first National bank. The First National Bank of Mayfield was established in May, 1875, with a capital of 100,000, which was increased two years later to 150,000. The present capital is 150,000, surplus 250,000. Major H. S. Hale was president until he was elected State Treasurer, after which D. B. Stanfield became president. The present Board of Officers are: President, Ed Gardner; Vice President, N. A. Hale; Cashier, C. C. Wyatt; Assistant Cashiers, C. Y. Dodd and N. J. Gregory. The savings and trust departments of the bank, which have lately been added, are of great benefit to the general welfare of the small investor. On March 25, 1919, the Farmers National Bank was con- solidated with the First National Bank under the latter's name. The Bank of Mayfield was established in 1883 by a stock company with a capital of 100,000 with Lucian Anderson as president. This was a state bank, but in February, 1896, it was reorganized under the name of the City National Bank, as a national bank. D. B. Stanfield was president and R. A. Mayes cashier after the reorganization. The bank at this time has a capital of 100,000 and surplus and undivided profits of 100,000. The present Board of Directors is W. H. Benjamin, J. W. Pryor, D. B. Stanfield, R. 0. Wilford and E. A. Stevens. D. B. Stanfield still holds the office of president with T. P. Smith, cashier, and L. Chapman, assistant cashier.. The Graves County Banking and Trust Co. was organized July 15, 1891, with a capital stock of 50,000. Judge W. W. Robertson was president of the bank until it was moved to Fulton, Ky., in 1891, becoming the First National Bank of that city. In the same year another bank was organized 31 32 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY under this name, The Graves County Banking and Trust Company, and under the same charter, with a capital stock of 100,000. Judge J. E. Robbins held the office of president until 1898, when he resigned to become Circuit Judge, fol- lowing the November election of 1897. He was followed by W. S. Cook and later by J. L. Stunston, and during the course of his administration it was liquidated. The Exchange Bank was organized March 6, 1898, with D. R. Meritt as president, and with a capital of 25,000. This was later increased to the present capital of 100,000, with surplus and undivided profits of 50,000. The present Board of Directors is J. L. Sherrill, J. F. Wilson, C. W. Wilson, John Watts and G. W. Pryor. The officers are: J. L. Sherrill, chairman of board; J. F. Wilson, president; C. W. Wilson, vice president; R. L. Ross, cashier, and R. E. Andrus, assistant cashier. In the early days, besides the blacksmiths, carpenters, and the usual number of mechanics, artisans, and idlers, there were several manufacturing concerns, and business houses in Mayfield that did a large business, but these have all gradually vanished and have been forgotten. Of them all, the following are the most noteworthy: A Hominy Factory, Mayfield Soap Factory., The May Pants Co., The Mayfield Medicine Co., Mayfield Brick Co., The Mayfield Pottery Co., The Pegram Tobacco Co., The Overall Manufacturing Co., The Vitrified Brick Co., The Mayfield Foundry and Machine Works and the National Clothing Co. Mayfield enjoys the unique position of having within her corporate limits, two of the largest factories of their kind in the United States. These are namely: The Mayfield Woolen Mills, and The Merit Manufacturing Co. These two factories now have over a four million dollar output annually, and employ over fifteen hundred people. They send out about sixty-five traveling salesmen, through every state in the union. Most of these men are products of Mayfield. The Mayfield Woolen Mills was organized in April, 1860, and is today Mayfield's most important industry. For over half a century this business enterprise has been building STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 33 Scenes of Mayfielis Woolen Mills and Merit Manufacturing Co. 34 STORY OF MAYYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY its reputation and how well it has builded and how strongly it is intrenched, is evidenced by its constantly growing business, and its thousands of satisfied customers. Origin- ally established in 1860, the business has succeeded by manufacturing honest cloth from the raw wool and con- verting it into the latest and newest models in pants. The first consideration has always been to make honest mer- chandise. Success has been attained by a strict adherence to this old-time and long-established principle. The record made by the Mayfield Woolen Mills reads more like romance than real facts. This plant is today one of the greatest industrial concerns in the state and the largest plant of the kind in the United States. The company has resources of over 1,000,000 and employs between 700 and 750 people, and consumes 400,000 pounds of wool annually in the manufacture of pants from the raw wool to the finished product. The Mayfield Woolen Mills is under the management of H. J. Wright, president. 0. T. George, treasurer, and M. J. Wright, general manager. Every department has its trained and experienced foremen, under whom are hundreds of skilled workers who work ten hours a day, and the plant has operated uninterruptedly for many years, shutting (lown only a few days each year for invoicing and repairs. The plant occupies two full city blocks, the buildings and machinery being modern and up-to-date and no concern is Letter equipped to manufacture its product. The buildings are two stories in height, steam heated and electric lighted from their own splendid power plant, and are subdivided into various departments such as wool storage warehouses, dye houses, scouring and drying rooms, carding and spin- ning rooms, weaving rooms, cutting and sewing, finishing and pressing rooms and scores of other departments. Established in 1860 with 8,488 square feet of floor space, it has increased to 266,180 square feet of floor space devoted entirely to the converting of raw wool into the finished pants. New and improved machinery is constantly being added, the policy of the management being to keep abreast of the times in the manufacture of their output. To one not 35 ST1ORY OF' MAYSFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY S0. C r . C 'f- 36 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY familiar with a plant of this kind, it is an interesting experience to be shown through the various departments where hundreds of busy workers are employed. The weave-room contains 90 broad looms with a capacity of 15,000 yards a week or 750,000 yards a year. The daily production of this concern represents from 4,000 to 4,500 pairs of pants, or 400 to 450 pairs every hour. The pay roll of the company amounts to over 10,000.00 per week, while the sales the past year reached nearly 2,500,000.00. The company secures its wool from East India, Australia and other foreign ports, besides using a great deal of domestic wool. The output of the company is sold in the forty-eight states, from the Dominion Line on the north to the Gulf and from the Atlantic to the Pacific. Thirty-three as loyal and enthusiastic salesmen as any company can boast represent the sales force. The Merit Manufacturing Co. was organized Oct. 1, 1899, and began business in a small way in an upper story room, 60x20 feet in area, using twenty-five machines. From this small beginning it has grown to a two story brick factory and is a great commercial advantage to the city. A branch of the concern is located at Paducah, Ky. Twenty-seven efficient salesmen represent the firm throughout the United States. The industry is known for production of the famous brands, "American Gentlemen Trousers," "Pony Boy Suits" and "Merit Hi-School Suits." Their motto is: "The lines that have made their way by the way they are made." These goods are shipped into every state in the Union. The officers of the company are: J. L. Sherrill, president; J. W. Pryor, vice president; W. H. Brizendine, secretary-treasurer and J. R. Morrow, superintendent. The renown of this business extends throughout the entire country. Merit pants, known everywhere, enjoy an eviable reputation. Over 7,500 merchants selling them and over a million men wearing them testify to their superiority over all others. It has taken almost a quarter of a century of honest dealing and many thousands of dollars in advertising to establish their famous brands to the reputation which they now have. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 37 38 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Before there was a railroad through Mayfield, goods were brought by boat to Paducah, and overland by wagon to Mayfield. In the beginning oxen were used on account of the bad roads, but since the advent of good roads and the highways which extend from Mayfield, transportation over- land is more easily carried on. With the coming of the motor truck the speed was increased, and at present a large amount of hauling is (lone by motor trucks in and out of Mayfield.. One of the first automobiles in Mayfield was owned by R. G. Robbins, costing 500.00. At the same time, 1908, T. L. Stovall bought one costing 900.00. Both of the cars were Reos. One of the First Automobiles, Belonging to R. G. Robhins. rhe automobile industry has increased rapidly, and at pi esent Mayfield has 15 automobile garages and repair shops. Seven of these 13 have car sales departments. This is one of the biggest industries in the town, and out of a population of 6,583 there are 560 car owners. The first newspaper established in the county was the "Southern Yeoman," and was owned and established by C. C. Coulter. The first copy issued was on July 7, 1865. During the war, when the necessary supplies could not be obtained, the enterprise had to be abandoned. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY The "Jackson Purchase" was established March 13, 1869, by A. C. Caperton, who issued it until 1870, at which time E. K. Warren assumed editorial charge, and changed the name to the "Mayfield Democrat." R. J. Beaumont succeed- ed Mr. Warren in 1872 and ran the paper until 1876, at which time his sons, E. S. and M. F. Beaumont became editors and proprietors. In January, 1885, E. S. Beaumont assumed control, changing the name to the Mayfield Mirror, which was issued semi-weekly. Other owners of the paper from time to time were Lee Elmore, L. A. Chandler, and Geo. H. Pike. The paper went to the wayside, Mr. Chandler sell- ing his interest in the plant to N. P. Bonney of Mississippi Ben. F. Briggs. who launched the Mayfield Sentinel. This paper suffered a short existence. The "Banner of Temperance" was established in 1873 by B. F. Briggs. In 1875 it was merged into the "Mayfield Monitor." The paper was started by Messrs. Briggs and Watson, who ran it seven months, at the end of which time the former purchased the entire interest. The "Monitor" was a Democratic paper and was quite a flourishing weekly paper. In 1904 it was bought out by W. K. Wall, who ran the paper for three years as a daily and suspended. B. F. 39 40 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Briggs then ran a job printing office until 1922, when he retired from business, his death occuring September 118, 1922. In 1880 a religious paper called the "Apostolic Church" was established by C. J. Kimball and W. L. Butler. The paper was devoted to the interest of the Christian Church in Kentucky. It was removed to Louisville in 1884. The "Mayfield Leader," a Democratic paper, was estab- lished in 1878 by R. S. Murrell and Ed Watson. The enter- prise did not have a financial success, however, and died an easy death in 1880. The "Rip Saw" an Independent but very personal sheet was established in 1878 by J. W. Leech. The paper had for its motto: "Saw to the Line, but let the shavings fall where they may." The paper failed for want of patronage. There were at different times two papers under the name of the Mayfield Democrat. The second of these being started by Erve Johnston in 1894, later in 1896, being sold to R. C. Wright, who changed the paper from a weekly to a daily. J. D. Watson bought out Wright in 1898, giving the paper the name of the "Index Democrat," issued weekly. 1899 saw another change in ownership when Percy Ran- dolph bought out Watson and gave the paper the name of the "Mayfield Item." This. as a weekly paper. was sius- pended in 1900. The Gibralter Herald, a district paper, lived between the years 1888 and 1892. The owners were Will Smith, Gus Coulter and Lawrence Anderson and was edited by Arch Pool who is now connected with the Courier-Journal of Louisville, Ky. The paper was later bought by J. T. Webber who merged it with the Mayfield Democrat, the new name being the the Gibraltar Democrat. R. E. Johnston and Henry George served at different times as editors of the paper. The Mayfield Messenger, later the Daily Messenger, was first started in 1900 by Lee Elmore, who ran the paper for four months, when it was bought out by J. R. Lemon. The paper was under his charge until his death in 1919, going then into the hands of his three sons, B. T., S. T. and C. G. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Lemon. In 1920, S. T. Lemon assumed full control of the paper and it is now a very flourishing and progressive news- paper, a credit to Mayfield at all times. At present it is a four page paper of eight columns with a large circulation. J. R. Lemon. The birth of the Mayfield Times occurred in January, 1916, under the management of Gayle Robbins and Erve Johnston, as a semi-weekly paper. In July, 1918, the paper was bought by Bert S. Berry, who made it a daily. The Daily Times was purchased February 28, 1923, by Scott T. Lemon, publisher of the Daily Messenger. The first hotel in Mayfield was kept by William Edwards, whose house stood a little east of the town limits. John Anderson in 1825 was granted license to keep a tavern in the village. Bluford Gore kept a hotel a few years later. W. M. Cargill kept a hotel just before the Civil War called the Union House. After the war when he returned home, after being in the Confederate Army, he changed the name to the Burnett House. At a later date there was a McConal Hotel and Anderson Hotel, the latter being run by Baily Anderson. At the present time, Mayfield has two hotels, these being the "Hall" and "Mayfield," besides these hotels 41 42 STORY OFMAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY there are also numerous restaurants and boarding houses in town. The John Rice Exhibition Shows which traveled overland on wheels was one of the first shows that was given in Mayfield. Since the first performance the company gave frequent engagements in the city. The first theatre was located on the northeast corner of Sixth and South streets. Tom Slaughter was its manager then. The Unique Theatre, as it was called, was established by T. L. McNutt and was used as a play house until 1914, when it was trans- ferred into a moving picture house for the colored people. At present Mayfield has two show houses, one of which, The Princess, is the best in Western Kentucky. At this place motion picture shows are held as well as vaudeville. In 1858 the fair grounds were located just north of where now located, but after the war in 1866, the fair grounds were moved to the present location. In the past, the fair grounds was the principal place for all the sports and amusements of Mayfield, but in the last few years it has not been used for amusements of any kind, owing to a lack of proper financial backing, all buildings being torn down. The Young Men's Building and Loan Association, organ- ized in 1893, has become one of the leading institutions of Mayfield. At the present time Will Wyman is president, and the company has a capital of 1,750,000.00 and 500,000 assets. They have matured and paid over a million dollars worth of stock. The first telephone company was organized in Mayfield in 1895 under the name of the West Kentucky Telephone Company, with Judge J. E. Robbins as the president; R. M. Chowning as the secretary and treasurer; and J. E. Wright as the general manager. The company had exchanges in Mayfield, Fulton and Hickman, Ky., and was successfully operated until 1902, when it was bought by the Cumberland Telephone Company for the sum of 30,000.00. The Home Telephone Company was the telephone organ- ization next to be perfected. It has had a steady and con- tinual growth up to the present time, and serves now almo'st every home in the county. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 43 44 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Another concern of importance is the Wickersham Brick Plant owned and controlled by X. B. Wickersham. It is equipped with modern machinery for the manufacture of dry press building brick with efficient designs of down draft kilns. It has an annual capacity of five million bricks. The product of this plant includes in addition to common building brick a superior quality for face work, selected from the kilns. The attractive appearance of these bricks is evident in the many buildings in which they have been used in this and surrounding territory. Before there were any flour mills in Mayfield, all wheat was ground at a mill on Clark's river. Lever and Banger put up the first flour mill here, and the first bushel of corn was ground Monday morning, July 6, 1868. It was located on North Seventh street. Now the Mayfield Milling Company is the largest of the two mills in the city, and it ships many barrels of flour to other markets. Located at Sixth and Broadway is one of Mayfield's lead- ing business houses. This is the Ed Mohundro Co., Wholesale Grocery, who since their present organization in December, 1922, have with pleasure achieved enviable suc- cess. The success of the present company is due to the fact that the establishing of another wholesale company in Mayfield created a competitive market. The house supplies portions of all the counties in West- STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 45 ern Kentucky, sending out four salesmen who cover this territory every week. The leading brands in all kinds of products are handled and they have the record of receiving monthly the largest number of car loads of products of any other business in Mayfield. Besides the main building at Sixth and Broadway where all the offices are located there are a number of warehouses in different sections of Mayfield. This page in the original text is blank. Sunset Over Court House Part CThree "LThe Council and the Law" This page in the original text is blank. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY W E A D E S B O R 0, familiarly called "Old W XE Wadesboro," was in consequence of its being the first land office, the capital of the Purchase. From it emanated most of the business, legal and moral, of Mayfield and the new country. The boundaries of Graves County were established by virtue of an Act of the General Assembly, approved December 19, 1821. It and Calloway and McCracken Counties were parts of Hickman County prior to that time and the Act appointed Constant A. Wilson, William Rice, Reuben Ewing, Geo. H. Briscoe and James Mason, commissioners, for fixing county seats of the newly made counties, and they were to meet at the house of William Owens on the waters of the middle fork of Clark's river on the third Monday of June, 1822, for that purpose. Graves County was named in honor of Major Benjamin Graves, who fell in the battle at the River Raisin. The same Act designated the town of Mayfield as the seat of justice and appointed commissioners to lay off the same. The permanent organization was effected by an Act bear- ing the date of December 17, 1823, (page 338 of Acts of that year), with ten justices of the peace, a sheriff and a cor- oner appointed by the Governor, and the justices were to meet at the newly created county seat of Mayfield on the second Monday in January, 1824, and appoint a clerk, and the county was assigned to the Seventh Judicial District, and the terms of court were to be opened on the Thursday succeeding the second Mondays in February, May and November each year and continue for three judicial days. Section Three of the Act said "The permanent seat of justice for said county shall be, and is hereby established at the town of Mayfield and the county court shall cause to be erected on the public square of said town, the necessary public buildings according to law." The first county court to assemble in Mayfield did so on the 15th day of January, 1824, but the parties who com- posed the court did not receive their commissions from the governor at that time, and hence it was not really an .- -- l A7 48 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY official term of the Graves County Court. They again met on February 2, 1824, which is the real date of the first official meeting, because each of them on this date had received his commission from the governor, and was on that date inducted into office by Arthur H. Davis, a justice of the peace of Calloway County. The members of this court, which is equivalent to the fiscal court at this time, were: Joshua Shelton, who was a great uncle of Judge J. E. Robbins, Ebenezer Killough, Ezekial Edens, Crawford Anderson, Isaac Darnell, William Holifield, Michael Adair, and William Armstrong. The Photo by R. G. Robbins court met at the home of William Edwards in Mayfield. John Anderson was appointed the first clerk of the County Court and Elijah Cravens the first sheriff of Graves County. These appointments were made by the Governor. By an Act approved January 7, 1824, (page 460 Acts of that year), it was provided "That John Anderson, Richard Reiger, Isaac Darnell, Joshua Shelton and Crawford Anderson, gentlemen, be, and the same are hereby appointed Trustees of the Town of Mayfield in the county of Graves." The first tavern license for Mayfield was granted to William Edwards July 15, 1824. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY The first trial before the County Court was the case of the Commonwealth of Kentucky vs. John Julian, who was charged with vagrancy. The first deed recorded after the organization of the county was by John Anderson, Joshua Shelton, Rich Reiger, Isaac Darnell, and Crawford Anderson, Trustees of the Town of Mayfield, to Vincent Anderson and John D. Anderson, conveying a part of Lot Number One in said town for the sum of 18.00. This deed was for the first part of a lot that was sold in Mayfield, and was dated June 17, 1824. The first will recorded in Graves County was made by one Court Square, Third Monday in March, 1919. Rolan Hughes, and was dated June 30, 1824, the other parties being Beal Williams and Stacey Pryor. The first term of Circuit Court to be held in Graves County was held at the residence of William Edwards on February 12, 1824, by Hon. John C. Dodds and John Samples, Associate Judges. At that time John Anderson was appointed the first Circuit Court Clerk. The first civil case tried in Mayfield was the case of Thomas Griffith, plaintiff, vs. William Green, defendant. At this time, tobacco was a circulating medium in Graves County, and the judgment rendered against the defendant in the above case 49 50 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY awarded the plaintiff one hundred and fifty pounds of tobacco at one penny per pound. The first civil case in which a jury was used in the Graves County Circuit Court was the case of Jonathon Wyatt vs. Armstrong Nowill. The jury that tried this case consisted of Benjamin Stokes, William Holifield, Michael Atlerberry, Henry Ford, John Cook, William Cook, Jonathon Pryor, Boswell Williams, Jeremiah Adams, S. H. Johnson, Abel Copeland, and Thomas Copeland. The first court house erected in Mayfield cost the nom- inal sum of 139.00. It was built under the supervision of William Berklow and John Cunningham, and was built near the place where the present court house now stands. The building, which was completed in November, 1824, was a rude log structure with but few conveniences. In the year 1832, R. L. Mayes, Stephen M. Jenkins, John Anderson and Jesse Wells were appointed as a committee to draft plans for a new court house. The plans of this com- mittee were not accepted when submitted at the June court of 1833, and a subsequent committee was appointed the same year which drew up satisfactory plans and specifica- tions. These were sold to Michael Eaker and Benjamin McGee for the sum of 5,400. The building, which was erected in 1834 on the public square was a brick structure, forty feet square and two stories high. It contained a large court room, two jury rooms and one grand jury room. During the Civil War (1864) this court house was destroyed by fire. Within the past ten years the Federal Government was forced to pay for this building, the legis- lation on behalf of Graves County being conducted by Judge R. E. Johnston. The building of the third court house was under the supervision of John Eaker, Joshua Boaz, T. J. Puryear, L. B. Holifield, J. S. Thomas, C T. Greer, and A. Williams. The draft prepared by J. K. Frick, an architect of Cairo, Ill., was adopted and a contract was given for 32,000. This sum proved inadequate for the completion of the building, so for the purpose of creating a building fund, an advalorem tax of 15 cents on cach hundred dollars' worth of property STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY was levied for the years 1865, 1866, and 1867. The building was completed in 1866. It was two stories high and con- structed of brick. It contained a commodious court room, jury room, and three county offices. This court house was destroyed by fire on the night of December 18, 1887, and most all valuable books and papers were destroyed. The fourth and present court house was erected in December of the next year, 1888. During the period of its erection, court was held in the old opera house at the corner of Sixth and South streets. The entire cost of the present court house, including the iron fence for the yard, was 40,000. The first jail in Mayfield was a crude log structure with no definite architectural plans. It was located in the south- west corner of the court house yard. As time went by this was replaced by a more substantial frame edifice which was used until 1875. Then at the October term of court, the County Court ordered that 15,000 be appropriated for the purpose of erecting a new jail. G. W. Boston was appointed commissioner to frame legislative enactments for the pur- pose of providing means to meet the payment of the neces- sary expenses. Bonds to the amount of 9,000 were issued October, 1876, and a contract was awarded the same year to Backus and Cosby of Mayfield for the sum of 1,950. The building was completed in 1877 and stood until 1888 on the ground donated for the purpose by the City of Mayfield, at the corner of Seventh and Water streets. In this year this jail was torn down and the present jail was built, the work being done under W. L. Landrum, and at the same time the present court house was built. Judge J. E. Robbins was at the head of all legal work in construction of these two buildings. Improvements have been made on the jail several times since the erection. Mayfield was the first town in the state to effect local option. In the Spring of 1874 the first vote on the prohi- bition question was taken, the bill being introduced into the state senate by Major H. S. Hale, state-Senator at that time. A law was passed, which restricted the selling of liquor only to a certain extent. The law was not enforced, and 51 ;2 5 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY . = A STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY whiskey could be easily bought. It was not until 1884, ten years later, after 7 or 8 votes on the question, that liquor and open saloons were successfully barred. The Woman's Christian Temperance Union and the Good Templars led by J. J. Hickman and Tim Needham were two local organizations which headed the fight against the liquor traffic. Whatever Mayfield has, or has not done, in progress and achievement, it has stood for nearly a half century four square against alcohol-the degrader and destroyer of man- hood. For this, its voice and its influence have gone out to the whole state, and far beyond. In the days when a sa'oonless town was the ridicule and butt of coarse jokes, throughout almost the whole state, Mayfield stood staunchly and almost alone in her isolation as a local option town. And she dearly paid in money, labor, care, and thought, to hold this position. But the result was worth the effort for today her stores, offices, mills, farms, manufactories, the profes- sions, law, physic and divinity, are manned by two genera- tions of sober, moral men and women, who have been reared under the regime. In the early days before there was a railroad through Mayfield, mail was brought overland from Paducah. The first post office in Mayfield was a small one-room frame building, located on the corner of Seventh and South streets. A Mr. Blount was postmaster. From that time until the present, the post office has been moved many times. Usually it was located in some of the uptown store rooms. In 1910 the present post office was built at a cost of 65,000. This building is one of the magnificent structures of the city. The streets of Mayfield are exceptionally good for a city of her size. Broadway, along the business district and the streets around the square, are paved with brick, while all the other streets are made of the best grade of gravel. On several of these streets oil has been used. At present there is a project under way by the Mayor and his Council to provide either concrete or asphalt streets over most of the city. Seven public highways leading into the surrounding county extend out from Mayfield. Along the streets are 53 54 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY concrete walks which afford much more comfort than the old boardwalk of the early days. In 1922 street markers were installed and every house numbered. This is a great convenience for the traveler. One of Mayfield's greatest public conveniences and one that greatly enhances its reputation is the Mayfield Water and Light Plant. This corporation was organized in 1891 and the plant completed in 1892. The water was first turned on March 1st of that year. At that time the corpo- ration went under the name of the Graves County Water and Light Co., operated by private ownership with Frank Bray as president and John W. Landrum, secretary and treasurer, as well as general manager. One year after the water plant had been completed the electric light plant was completed and began to give service. In the early days of Mayfield, oil lights were used and in the main part of town there were oil street lights. When the electric lights came the people rejoiced over their bene- fits and pleasures. On the night of May 27, 1908, the entire plant was destroyed by fire. As one of the pumping machines was not destroyed the town was without water only one day. The electric light plant was out of use until December 24 of the same year. Immediately after the fire, a new plant was built, using only one piece of machinery from the old plant. The name of the company at that time was changed to the Mayfield Water and Light Co. When the company was first organized in 1891, the city gave a 25-year franchise. When this expired July 31, 1916, the city exercised its option and during the November term of court in 1917, the city forced the company to sell for 276,000.00, the city taking charge on March 5, 1918. An ordinance passed by the city designated the plant to be under the control of the Mayor, one councilman and three citizens. The first board of the City Water and Light Plant being Mayor E. A. Stevens, chairman; 0. T. George, J. F. Wilson, J. L. Sherrill, and R. 0. Wilford. Later the STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY ordinance was changed to include six citizens, and T. J. Weaver was added. The value of the water and light plant, at present, is 350,000. The water of Mayfield, which is noted for its purity, comes from four wells with a daily output of two million gallons. The wells are three hundred feet deep, the water being two hundred, which leaves only a distance for pumping of one hundred feet. On December 27, 1915, the present Whiteway was com- pleted, the lights being turned on during a big celebration in honor of the occasion. The Whiteway, which is com- posed of seventy post lights, runs up the main part of Broadway and around the public square. This added feature was made possible when the merchants donated the posts and the city did the wiring and installing. In addition to these lights there are one hundred and forty street lamps over the resident sections of the city which will surpass any other city of her size for this convenience. The light plant now has 12,000 kilowatt capacity, supply- ing most every house in the city. Mayfield has a very good sewerage system, which keeps the gutters free from surplus and stagnant waters. The "Bucket Brigade" was the first system of fire fight- ing, then came the hose cart, next the wagon, and then the truck. At present, the city fire department is composed of six regular paid firemen, with outside assistance; and with two trucks with hose equipment, bought in 1922, which gives the best of service in getting a fire under control. Fire Station No. 1 is located on East Broadway, while Station No. 2 is located on West Broadway in West Mayfield. A number of prominent attorneys have practiced in the Graves County Courts from time to time, and the members of the local bar have been noted for their ability. David McGoodwin and James A. Cartwright were the first two men admitted to the Mayfield bar. The following list com- prises the leading lawyers, resident and non-resident, who have practiced here from the organization of the county: Benjamin Patton, W. B. Flowers, James Breathitt, James Calloway, R. L. Mayes, James Campbell, Rezin Davidge, 55 56 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Mayfield Fire Fighting Crews. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY R. K. Williams, W. R. Bradley, John M. Crockett, William Allen, Mathew Markland, David S. Patton, James W. Gibson, W. B. Jenkins, B. G. Dudley, John L. Murray, A. A. Kimball, P. H. Beckham, Lucian Anderson, A. R. Boone, W. W. Tice, B. A. Neale, D. G. Park, D. B. Stanfield, C. C. Coulter, John A. Mayes, S. H. Crossland, H. J. Moorman, W. M. Smith, Gov. R. B. Smith, A. L. Gilbert, W. V. Gregory, Edward Crossland, James Evers, T. L. Wallace, Ed Crossland, L. W. Mason, W. D. Dunbar, Caswell Crossland, A. V. Stubblefield, Judge Gus Thomas, W. W. Robertson, R. L. Anderson, W. G. Blount, Gus C. Coulter, J. K. Jameson, Ping Averitt, Robert D. Gough, W. L. Weathers, W. P. Lee, Steven Elmore, Bayless Linn, Dawson Smith, Joe H. Weaks and J. C. Dean; the present bar con- sists of: Judge J. E. Robbins, L. B. Anderson, Seth Boaz, 0. H. Brooks, Clyde Burnett, James DeBord, Bunk Gardner, Aubrey Hester, W. B. Stanfield, J. E. Warren, R. N. Stanfield, J. T. Webb, W. H. Wyman, R. 0. Hester, Judge W. H. Hester, M. B. Holifield, R. E. Johnston, T. J. Murphey, F. B. Martin, H. J. Moorman, John W. McDonald, R. G. Robbins, L. R. Smith, B. C. Seay, J. C. Speight and W. J. Webb. Mayfield has always had men of the best character at the head of its governing system and these same men have labored faithfully to give the best they had to build up the city in the right way. The average cost of the city govern- ment at this time is about 120,000 per year. Following are parts of some of the most important amendments to the charter of Mayfield: By Chapter 118, Page 116, Acts 1846, entitled "An Act to incorporate the Town of Mayfield, and for other purposes," it was provided in the first section: "That, hereafter, it shall be lawful for the free white male citizens of the Town of Mayfield, over the age of eighteen years, to meet on the first Monday in April next, and on the first Monday in that month in each year thereafter, at the court house in said town, and pro- ceed to elect five Trustees for said town, who shall be citizens of the same, and who shall hold their office for the term of one year, and until their successors are duly elected; 57 58 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY and it shall be the duty of the County Court of Graves County, annually, to appoint some Justice of the Peace of said county, judge of said election; and said court shall also appoint a clerk for the same, and it shall be the duty of the judge and clerk, so appointed, to hold said election for Trustees, as above directed." By Chapter 26, Page 195, Acts 1856, amend an Act incorporating the Town County," approved January 19, 1856, it entitled "An Act to of Mayfield, Graves is provided that the Ward 1, Precinct 2, at Mayfield. First Election at Which Women Ever Voted in Kentucky. Trustees of the town have the power to grant coffee house license and fix the amount of the tax thereon; that the applicant for such license shall take an oath not to sell or give to any slave of which he is not the owner and possessor any wine, brandy, whiskey or other spirituous liquor and without an order from the person owning such slave. This act also establishes a Police Court consisting of a judge and marshal to be elected by the qualified voters of the town at the same time and in the same manner that the trustees are elected. The Act also provides that the police judge is _STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 59 to be commissioned by the Governor, and points out in detail the qualifications and powers of the police judge and marshal. Chapter 548, Page 97, Vol. 2 Adjourned Session Acts of 1873, entitled "An Act to incorporate the City of Mayfield," provided an entirely new charter for the city, and in lieu of the Trustees of the town provided for three councilmen to be elected in each ward, and for a city judge, and made the corporate limits of the town co-extensive with what it had formerly been. It also divided the town into two wards and prescribed their limits and in addition to the above officers provided for a marshal, a city attorney, city clerk, city assessor and city treasurer, and such officers as from time to time may be found necessary to transact the busi- ness of the city. The city judge, marshal, treasurer and city attorney were to be elected by the qualified voters of the entire city and the councilmen by the voters in their respective wards, and all other officers were to be appointed by the city judge. The time for election of the officers was specified as well as their qualifications and tenure of office. Certain detailed duties and powers of the council are pro- vided for as well as those of other officers and it was made the duty of the council "to keep the streets in the City of Mayfield open in good order and repair, and free from gulleys and obstructions" and upon a failure to do so the members were subject to a fine of not less than five or more than twenty dollars to be recovered by indictment in the Graves Circuit Court. By Chapter 574, Page 251, Vol. 2 Acts 1876, the charter was amended by enlarging the powers of the council and enumerating categorically its powers with reference to cer- tain enumerated subjects corresponding somewhat to the present charter of cities of the fourth class. It also changed the name of the "City Court" from "Police Court" to "Mayfield City Court," the presiding officer of which was styled "Judge of the Mayfield City Court." He was given jurisdiction in all proceedings for violation of the city ordinances and concurrent jurisdiction with the Circuit Court of all violations of penal laws of the Commonwealth 60 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY arising within the limits of the town, excluding felonies. Appeals to the Circuit Court were given in all cases of fines exceeding 50.00 or imprisonment exceeding twenty-five days and power was given to empanel a grand jury at each regular monthly term of the court and certain civil jurisdic- tion was conferred upon it. Provision was made with refer- ence to other officers of the city and the Act was a complete substitute charter for the city. This Act was approved March 9, 1876. Before 1893 the highest city official was the city judge and he acted with practically the same power as the present mayor. The city marshal was at the head of law enforce- ment and acted with the same power as our present chief of police. C. H. McNutt. One of the most familiar figures in Mayfield's municipal concerns, and one who held a city office for the longest time was Charlie McNutt. He held the office of city marshal and chief of police for thirty-five years, with the exception of one term and six months. His death came January 16, 1923, while holding this office. Jodie Owsley succeeded Mr. McNutt as chief of police, being appointed by the city council January 18, 1923. No complete correct record of the city officials and gov- STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 61 ernment before 1895 can be found. In that year the city hall was destroyed by fire and all complete and important papers were burned. The following is the first record of city government now on file: "The Board of Councilmen met in regular session in the office of the Graves County Water and Light Com- pany, with C. J. Whittemore, mayor, presiding and the fol- lowing members present: J. B. Cochran, R. H. Gardner, R. A. Hale, R. A. Mayes, and T. B. McNeely, with J. P. Evers, city attorney, and C. H. McNutt, chief of police. "The reading of the minutes was dispensed with on account of loss of same by fire. "Signed: A. B. CARLIN, City Clerk. "August 9, 1895." In 1893, with a change of the State Constitution, Mayfield became a fourth class city. In that year Mayfield was granted the present charter that is in the statute at this time. The following year, with a new system of government, Mayfield had her first Mayor. The man who had this honor was C. J. Whittemore, who held that office until his death, September 30, 1896, at which his son, Hon. Clem J. Whittemore, who is now a prominent attorney at Seattle, Washington, was elected to fill the vacancy and served out his term. The city judges who preceded C. J. Whittemore were: G. L. Poplin, Mayes Anderson, T. W. McNeilly, J. W. Hocker and Steven Elmore, who by virtue of their office were ex-officio mayors of the city. All record of preceeding judges being destroyed their names could not be obtained. A. J. Watts followed as third mayor and held that office from 1898 till March 7, 1909, a period of almost three terms, his death occuring during his administration. The remain- der of his term was filled by A. S. Anderson. From 1910 to 1918, a period of two terms, C. M. Parkhill was Mayor. It was during his first'administration that great improvements were made on the city streets. During the administration 1918-1922 of Dr. E. A. Stevens 62 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 63 the city settled a long fought question and put under their control the city water and light plant. Our present mayor, W. H. Brizendine, who was elected in 1922, is heading great things for the better interest of Mayfield and is a man of wide community vision. His term expires in 1926. The present city officials are: Mayor, W. H. Brizendine; Judge, J. W. McDonald; Attorney, S. T. Boaz; Clerk, F. A. Crawford; Treasurer, W. G. Skinner; Assessor, G. W. Derington; Chief of Police, J. H. Owsley; City Health Officer, Dr. H. H. Hunt; City Physician, Dr. A. P. Hendley; Council: First Ward, R. F. Pryor and T. H. McGuire; Second Ward, J. T. Dismukes and W. B. Joiner; Third Ward, J. F. Wilson and J. W. Trafford; Cemetery Sexton, Ransey Joiner; Street Commissioner, Walter Russell; City Nurse, Miss Grace Turner; Patrolmen, Sam Yarbrough, R. R. Hughes, A. F. Brown, B. B. Carney, Emmet McNeilly and Dennis McDaniel; Firemen, H. H. Gibson, chief; Clint Glover, captain No. 2; Frank Russell, captain No. 1; K. Hammonds, J. C. Johnson, and Charlie McWhorter. The Board of Education is as follows: Will J. Webb, pres- ident; Mrs. Fendol Burnett, Gus Greene, T. P. Smith, Gus C. Covington, and H. J. Wright. This page in the original text is blank. South Side of Court Square Part Four Proqressiv3 Institutions This page in the original text is blank. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 65 THE first religious organization in Mayfield Mwas the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, -o . its history beginning about 1832. The first services were held in private dwellings, and l ater in the court house, which was used for a meeting place a number of years. The first ordained members were: John Anderson, Jesse Wells, John Cunningham, and Henry M. Coulter. In 1868 they erected their first house of worship at a cost of 4,000. It was remodeled in 1898 and they used it until 1915 when a new and most beautiful building was completed to meet the demands of the growing organ- ization. The old building still stands at the corner of 8th and North streets, and is now used for business purposes. The new building cost about 30,000 and is one of the many beautiful structures of the city, located at the corner of 9th and Broadway. Rev. John A. Troxler is the present pastor, and is a man of great ability. All departments of the church are wide awake and doing good work. The Sunday School, with graded classes, has an enrollment of 268, with an average attendance of 151. At the present time there are 229 communicants of the church. The following pastors have ministered to the church from time to time: Collins J. Bradley, C. F. Hay, Leve Calvert, John Ward, Finis E. Roberts, R. L. Calvert, W. D. Weir, J. G. Webb, J. B. Self, J. M. Herbert, R. G. McClesky, W. A. Dillion, H. B. Willey, G. H. Sheldrake, E. M. Johnson, Walter Underwood, P. M. Fitzgerald, J. S. Grider, B. Wrenn Webb, W. T. Logan, R. B. Kuntz, J. W. Hudiburg, Henry N. Barbee, Pearson Lockwood. The First Baptist Church of Mayfield was the second religious organization, it being organized in July, 1844, by Rev. Milton S. Wyman and Henry Richardson with a mem- bership of 14 persons, namely: John Boyd and wife, Thomas J. Puryear and wife, Mrs. William Puryear, J. N. Beadles, William Beadles, and Mrs. J. B. New. The court house was used for a meeting place until 1859, at which time a brick house of worship was built. Nine years later, October 7, 1867, the house was destroyed by fire, and it was immed- 66 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY I.II- A:; Mayfield's Pride, Her Churches. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 67 iately rebuilt. The building was valued at 3,500 and was located on the north side of Broadway between Fifth and Sixth streets. It was used until May 14, 1901, when it was again destroyed by fire. The present building was built in 1900-1901, and is located at the corner of South and Eighth streets. It cost 40,000, and presents a most imposing appearance. The organization has grown from a small beginning to the largest membership of any Mayfield church, at present having 1,364 members. Under the leadership of Rev. Arthur Fox, present pastor, who is a man of firm opinion and undaunted courage, the church is doing a great work. With a Sunday School membership of 1,416, and all other departments doing live and active work, the outlook is still brighter. The greatest number ever attending Sunday School was 2,479, while the average attendance is 850. The first services in the new church on the corner of South and Eighth streets were held Sunday morning, October 6, 1901. The Sunday School that morning was the largest recorded up to that time: Attendance at Sunday School, 390; Attendance at church, 850. Rev. H. C. Roberts, pastor; Ed S. Lowe, Church Clerk; R. 0. Dossett, Superintendent of Sunday School; and Brethren J. R. Slaughter, I. J. Davis, C. A. McDonald. T. J. McClendon, J. K. P. Holcomb, W. M. Wilson, and W. S. Hunt were deacons. The following are the names of the different pastors of the church: Thomas L. Garrett, H. G. Puryear, Willis White, D. B. Ray, John M. Harrington, E. W. Benson, A. C. Caperton, T. H. Pettit, F. L. DuPont, R. S. Fleming, Ezra Smith, W. C. Taylor, A. S. Pettie, Gilbert Dobbs (supply), H. C. Roberts, W. D. Nowlin, W. M. Wood, G. P. Bostic (supply), and J. W. Gillon. The Mayfield Methodist Church, South, was established some time between the years 1840 and 1845. The court house was used to hold the meetings until 1855. In the latter year a frame building was erected on the corner of Eighth and Broadway, anrd at that time was the first and only church edifice in Mayfield. It was used until 1875, at which time a handsome brick structure and 68 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY parsonage were erected at a cost of 5,000. In 1893 on the same ground, South and Seventh streets, a handsome building was erected to meet the demands of the increases in attendance and membership. The present structure, built in 1919-1920, is located at the corners of Eighth and Water streets, costing over 100,000, with a parsonage included. This church is the most beautiful and stately building in the city, being built from the most modern architectural designs. The present membership of this church is 900, and an average Sunday School attendance of 37",. All organiza- tions in the church are doing progressive and loyal work. Rev. F. A. Downs is the present pastor, coming to Mayfield only a short while ago, but in that time he has made many close friends. The pastors who have served the church from time to time are namely: Finley Bynum, T. L. Boswell, J. M. Major, M. H. Neal, J. R. Walker, Z. W. Richardson, Daniel Tabb, C. W. Williams, M. F. Mitchell, W. H. Leigh, Jere Moss, J. P. Stanfield, James Culpepper, Jeremiah Moss, Christenburg Lee, James J. Brooks, J. C. Reed, W. H. Frost, J. G. Acton, M. J. McFarlan, D. D. Leach, B. H. Bishop, J. W. Piner, J. S. Smotherland, Elias Jackson, J. B. McCutchin, H. A. Bourland, J. W. Futrell, T. J. Lane, T. M. Ragsdale, J. M. Spence, A. R. Miller, A. L. Hunsaker, J. A. Mason, A. B. Sellars, F. A. Bone, J. W. Lawrence, H. B. Avery, J. R. Brooks, R. H. Mahon, G. R. Brooks, J. V. Fly, B. F. Peebles, J. R. Peebles, T. P. Holman, J. T. Collins, J. M. Maxwell, A. B. Jones, W. H. Leigh, C. J. Nugent, T. J. Whitter, W. G. Hefley, G. T. Sullivan, E. E. Hamilton, J. M. Scott, Warner Moore, W. C. Sellars, W. Mooney, S. I. Jewell, J. H. Roberts, C. A. Waterfield, W. W. Adams, R. W. Hood, Cleanth Brooks, .J. T. Myers, J. W. Irion, and James D. Jenkins. The first services by ministers of the First Christian Church were held about the year 1853 in the court house and private dwellings, but it was not until 1857 that permanent organization was effected. The first elders of the congregation were J. H. Robbins and Dr. J. D. Landrum. The organization increased in number very rapidly and in STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY ___ 69 1868 a temple of worship was erected at a cost of 8,000. This structure, which was located just back of the present post office, was used until 1906, when the present handsome building was completed at a cost of 37,500.00. Rev. A. E. Dubber is the present pastor of what appears to be a flour- ishing denomination. There are 850 members and an aver- age Sunday School attendance of 579. The church boasts of the Parkhill class of young men which has 235 members. The following pastors have been in charge of the organ- ization from time to time: Elders R. R. Trimble, Myles, Kibby, Butler, Howard, Kimball, Orvis, J. B. Briney, J. W. William, A. E. Smither, W. L. Smith, W. T. Shelton, Walter White, J. W. Hardy, E. W. Thornton, R. L. Clark, S. B. Moore, J. J. Castleberry. The Roman Catholic Church was organized in 1904. The present church, built at the time of its organization, is a frame structure located on West Broadway, and is an added beauty to that part of town. At present Father O'Sullivan is the priest. He is a man who has elements of character which eminently fit him for leadership and under which his congregation of 150 is doing splendid work. Father P. J. McNeil was the first resident priest but Father O'Sullivan has been priest since the departure of Father McNeil. The Second Methodist Church located in South Mayfield, was organized in 1903, and the present church was erected the same year. The structure is a frame building, with a neat appearance. Pastors of the church from its organiza- tion are, viz: Rev. A. C. Holder, Rev. Woody, Rev. J. L. Hunter, Rev. W. P. Hamilton, Rev. Banks, Rev. Nelson, Rev. S. W. Peeples, Rev. J. 0. Hagler, Rev. G. W. Cobb, Rev. E. E. Spears, and Rev. T. E. Calhoun. Rev. T. E. Calhoun is the present minister, and with his high spirituality, the church is progressing rapidly. At present the church has a good membership and Sunday School attendance. The Church of Christ was organized in 1916 with only a few members and has increased rapidly. The present build- ing was erected in 1917, and is a frame structure located on South Ninth street. The following are the names of the 70 STORY OF MAYFIELDTHROUGH A CENTURY___ ministers of the organization: John B. Hardeman and A. L. Wilson. The Primitive Baptist Church, located on South Seventh street, was organized in 1891, the present church being built in 1890. This church was organized by the name of Zion, and since its organization has been a benefit to our city in many ways. Pastors of the church since its organization were J. M. Perkins, R. T. Davis, H. N. Oliver, 0. W. Perkins and W. J. Shaffer. The colored people of Mayfield have five churches, Methodist, Baptist, Presbyterian, Christian and Holiness, all of which are largely attended and well supported. The preceding mentioned churches are the heart and soul, the starting point and the end of Mayfield's very existence. Mayfield may be truly said to specialize in the church and its work. Her Sunday Schools, with an average attendance of over 2,000, and the associate organizations are the working power of her high-spirited citizenship. Mayfield has the ablest and best paid pastorate of any city of her magnitude in the state. At present the ministers of the uptown churches have organized a Mayfield Minis- terial Association with Rev. John A. Troxler as president. The churches in Mayfield radiate the inner content and intent of her community life. It reaches into the mission- ary fields of the Old World and the New. It is full of faith in God borne brightly and hopefully from the evening hearthstone of every home, whether cabin or mansion, and lights up the dim distance between her and her children in far, far lands. At the time of the formation of Graves County and for several years afterward, the State of Kentucky did not have the common school system of today. The first schools were taught as early as 1828 or 1830. They were the old subscription schools, which were of inferior grade. The heaviest expense then fell on the family with the largest number of children and these were usually the families less able to sustain such an expense; and as a necessary conse- quence, in that early day the children were largely without the advantages of education. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 71 6. 4 I I S 72_ STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY The first school house erected in Mayfield was a log struc- ture with a stick and dirt chimney at each end of the b)uilding. It was located about twenty feet north of the present jail building, and was built at a very small cost. The logs were cut and hauled with an oxcart by Johnson Gibson, out of Mayfield Creek bottom. The building only had one room which was fitted up with rude board seats and desks. Testaments were frequently the first readers, and the ability to read, write and cipher constituted the sum and substance of a teacher's qualifications. There was no progress made in the cause of education until the organization of the public school, which dates from the year 1850 or 1851. Prominently connected with the work was Henry Coulter, one of the early school commis- sioners, to whose efforts the county is largely indebted for the present success of the schools. N.'Sf0. f f i Snow Scene on Campus of West Kentucky College. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 73 Of all the private educational institutions in the county and city, West Kentucky College was the most noted. It was built under the direction and management of the Christian Church, in 1886, at a cost of 16,000. At the same time a dormitory was built on the same plot of ground, which is located in South Mayfield. The campus of eight acres was bought for the sum of 400.00. J. B. Briney was the pastor of the Christian Church at the time the college was built, and much of the credit is due him. H. A. McDonald was the first president of the college. The institution opened in the Fall of 1886 with a splen- didly equipped faculty drawn from the eastern colleges and universities of the country, and met not only the local need, but drew a large and flourishing patronage from all the surrounding counties, and from other states. "For twenty-five years and more, this little college stamped its spirit of culture on the community. Its students today are scattered abroad in the cities and states, north, south, east, and west. Some are in Europe, some in China and the Philippines. Some are on the Rhine, and wherever they are, they are holding responsible positions of confidence and trust, whether as private citizens or public servants." Miss Eugenia Parham, at present editorial writer for The Daily Messenger, was a member of the first faculty, being teacher of English and mathematics thirteen of the twenty-five years it existed. The board of trustees were: Maj. H. S. Hale, Judge J. E. Robbins, Dr. J. D. Landrum, W. M. Smith and J. M. Cosby. Later the college interests were merged into the graded schools and the High School. The old college was used as the High School, and, in 1910 three graded schools were built at a total cost of 180,000. which are Mayfield's great- est pride. The college was used as a High School until 1922, when a new High School was built at the same location, costing 100,000.00. It is ranked among the best in the state, and is Mayfield's newest blessing. Bonds to cover the building expense were voted by the citizens of the city. 74 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY_ _ The building has all the modern conveniences of a school Its erection was under the supervision of Superintendent D. W. Bridges, and the Board of Education. It has twenty- four class rooms and well equipped laboratories for teach- ing biology, chemistry, physics, and home economics. The average salary paid Mayfield teachers is above that of towns of 10,000 population. All of the schools are doing a large and effectual work, under the direction of the superintendent and his able corps of twenty-four teachers. The schools have lately been changed to the 6, 3, 3 system; that is, with a Junior High School between the grades and High School. The Junior High School is in the building with the High School. Both combined have an enrollment of 450. The three grade schools, which are all conven- iently located, have an enrollment of 1,200. From the educational viewpoint, Mayfield ranks high, running expenses of her schools costing approximately 300 per day at present. The one man to whom special credit is due for the development of the schools is the president of the board of education, Hon. W. J. Webb. The Mayfield Business College, which has been open since April 2, 1908, is an important factor in the educational sys- tem of Mayfield. The school is owned and operated in the uptown district by H. D. Happy, assisted by a number of competent teachers. They offer the regular course that is given by a school of this kind, and not only have students from Mayfield, but all western Kentucky. Along side of Mayfield's splendid lawyers, Mayfield boasts of her doctors, not especially of this age but from the early days. Among the best known pioneer physicians who prac- ticed out of Mayfield were: Butler Boyd, A. F. Wright, J. R. Hurt, J. R. Holifield, Dr. McFall, John Dismukes, J. D. Landrum, M. W. Rozzell, W. A. Boyd, W. R. Ruble and R. J. Neal. Popular dentists were: Dr. Huntsinger, A. J. Watson, Tom Reynolds and Buck Orr. The present force of doctors in Mayfield are: J. R. Pryor, E. A. Stevens, W. J. Shelton, W. H. Fuller, J. H. Shelton, E. C. Walter, G. T. Fuller, E. V. Edwards, J. F. Kirksey, __- _ STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 75 J. G. Puryear, H. H. Hunt, M. W. Hurt, J. L. Dismukes, J. R. Johnson, A. P. Hendley, A. V. McRee, and A. G. Taylor, colored. The list of chiropractors includes Drs. E. A. Douthitt, and T. M. Broughton, while E. F. Day is the only osteopath and T. R. Palmer and C. C. Brown are the only optometrists. The dentists are C. C. Kenper, W. H. Stokes, L. L. Dodson, J. C. Reynolds, J. T. Dismukes and B. W. Reynolds. An institution which deserves much credit and praise is the Mayfield Hospital. It was opened in 1921 under the management of two of Mayfield's most popular doctors, E. A. Stevens and J. R. Pryor, assisted by three other spec- ialists. Although young in experience, it has proven to be an institution without which the city would be at a great loss. The first cemetery in Mayfield was located on the lot where the present Methodist church is built. Skeletons were discovered in the excavation for the foundations of the church. Mayfield now has two cemeteries, Maplewood and Highland Park, which are a credit to the city in that both of them are well kept and at all times present a pleasing appearance. Mayfield has always had a large number of secret socie- ties, clubs, and organizations along with the other blessings of the city. While many have made their debuts, lingered, and died, many are still alive and doing progressive work. The Independent Order of Odd Fellows, lodge number 151, was organized in October, 1865, with eight members, at present having about 300 active members. This organiza- tion contributes liberally to the I. 0. 0. F. Orphans' and Widows' Home at Lexington, Kentucky, and assists in many other ways for the welfare of its brothers. This is probably the oldest organization of its kind in Mayfield. Starting with only 19 members, at the time of its organ- ization on May 23, 1905, the Modern Woodmen of America, camp number 11,651, has grown to a mnembership of 300. An important factor is its contributions to the Woodmen's Sanitarium at Woodman, Colorado. The Royal Neighbors, 76 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Maplewood an(d Highland Park Cemeteries. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 77 the ladies' division of the organization, under Mrs. B. H. Cobb, ranks among the best in the United States. They have received several honors since their organization. Hickory Camp 115, Woodmen of the World, is a very active organization with 250 members. The camp was organized on March 25, 1904, with 12 members. The Ladies' Circle meets with the camp and is active in every department. The Masonic Lodge 679, since its organization on April 20, 1893, has made an admirable history. Starting with ten charter members, it has at the present time 225 names of active members on the roll. From this lodge has come several state officers holding high offices. The Elks Home, which was erected in 1917 at the corner of North Seventh and North streets, is one of the many handsome structures of Mayfield. It stands as a memorial to this, one of the best organizations in the city. This organization was perfected on July 12, 1902, and since that time has enjoyed a successful growth, at the present time having 242 members. The club has in many ways helped the poor of the city, and this is one of the page markers in its success. Several state officers have come from this local club, which at the present ranks among the best in the state. The club gives approximately 450 each year to the poor of the city. The United Travelers' post number 40, organized in 1910 and the T. P. A. post E, organized in 1899 are two organ- izations of the traveling men which are doing a good work. The T. P. A., which has the largest number of members, assists in a great way the City Health and Welfare League. Mayfield Chapter U. D. C. was organized November 29, 1899, at the home of Col. Henry S. Hale, by Miss Annie Grant Cage, Jackson, Miss., under the wise direction of Mrs. Basil Duke, President of the Kentucky Division U. D. C. with the following charter members: Adelaide Gregory Hale, president; Mrs. Lizzie Crossland McGoodwin, first vice president; Mrs. Mayme Dismukes Harris, correspond- ing secretary; Miss Hattie Louise Hale, recording secre- tary; Miss Annie Belle Hale, treasurer; Mrs. Anna Cochran 78 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY McFall and Mrs. Bessie Patterson Thomas, historians; Mrs. Ida Burnett Webb, Mrs. Daisy McFall Winfrey, Mrs. Mary Hall Dorris, Mrs. George T. Fuller, Mrs. J. W. Hocker and Miss Ella M. Burnett (now Mrs. W. F. Ward). Col. H. S. Hale, honorary life long member; Dr. J. L. Dismukes, hon- orary life long member; Mr. J. T. George, honorary life long member, and Mrs. Josephine Pope Evans, honorary life long member. For a number of years the home of Col. Henry S. Hale was the home of the Mayfield Chapter. Since organization nine different presidents have served two terms each, except the first, who served eight years, and ill health forced her to resign; at which time, a change in the constitution and by-laws limited the time of service to only two consecutive years. Presidents in order of administration: Mrs. Adelaide Virginia Hale, (Henry S.), Nov. 29, 1899 to Sept. 24, 1907; Mrs. Lizzie Lowe Fuller, (George T.), October 15, 1907 to Oct., 1909; Mrs. Chas. L. Carney, (Pearl Ridgway), Nov., 1909 to Oct., 1911; Mrs. Will Webb, (Ida Burnett), Oct., 1911 to Oct., 1913; Mrs. J. T. George, (Lula Baker), Oct., 1913 to Oct., 1915; Mrs. J. L. Stunston. (Beulah Winn), Oct., 1915 to Oct., 1917: Mrs. Will Ward, (Ella Burnett), Oct., 1917 to Oct., 1919; Mrs. Joe E. Warren, (Mayme Moorman), Oct., 1919 to Oct., 1921; Mrs. Claude T. Winslow, (Mary Hall), Oct., 1921 to Aug., 1922. The order has enrolled 144 active members, 11 honorary members and 6 associate members. The organization bestowed Crosses of Honor upon 32 Confederate veterans. Dr. J. L. Dismukes, Senior, was the first to receive a Cross of Honor from the Chapter, which was bestowed by Miss Annie Hale, June 2, 1903, at the home of Col. H. S. Hale. They have contributed to the Old Soldiers' Home at Pewee Valley, Ky., annually; to the Jefferson Davis High- way; the Jefferson Davis Monument; the S. A. Cunningham Memorial, and others; yearly contributions to the Educa- tional Fund which is now near the 100,000 mark in the general organization. In 1913 a scholarship to Centenary College, Cleveland, STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Tennessee, was awarded to Miss Madeline Murphy. In 1919 a scholarship to the University of Virginia, was obtained for James T. Fuller, and in 1920 Miss Loraine West was given a special scholarship of 300.00 at the University of Kentucky. During the World War the chapter was one of the Red Cross units of the Graves County Red Cross Chapter, ren- dering vauable service to our soldier boys. They placed markers at the unmarked graves of the Confederate soldiers at Malplewood Cemetery; built the Confederate drinking fountain in the Mayfield court house yard, assisted in building the Camp Beauregard Monument at Water Valley, Ky., which was done under the direction of one of the members, Mrs. George T. Fuller. They have affiliated with the public school in every way possible for the betterment of the educational work in Mayfield and Graves County. The Chapter has furnished seven state officers, viz: Mrs. J. L. Stunston, president, Oct., 1919 to 1921; Mrs. George T. Fuller, honorary president, elected Oct., 1921; Mrs. J. L. Stunston, recording secretary, Oct., 1914 to Sept., 1916; Miss Ruth Jones, registrar, 1917 to 1918; Mrs. George T. Fuller, recording secretary, Oct., 1919 to Oct., 1921; Mrs. George T. Fuller, acting registrar, Dec., 1919 to Oct., 1921; Mrs. George T. Fuller, permanent custodian of records, elected Oct., 1921 The Mayfield Chapter was hostess to the State Conven- tion in 1921. Saturday, January 5, 1918, the organization of the Mayfield Chapter of Daughters of the American Revolution was perfected, Mrs. E. G. Boone, of Paducah, State Regent, officiating. Mrs. R. E. Lochridge was appointed organiz- ing regent;, Mrs. J. E. Warren, recording secretary. The charter members were: (Mrs. B. F.) Mary Rives Briggs, (Mrs. J. H.) Virginia Thomas Boswell, (Mrs. J. L.) Mollie Landrum Dismukes, (Mrs. R. E.) Clara Boswell Lochridge, (Mrs. Will L.) Mississippi Beasley Landrum, Miss Mildred Mayfield, (Mrs. Geo.) Ann Carman Mayfield, (Mrs. Roy) Suanna Pulliam Morehead, (Mrs. Will B.) Hal Moorman 79 X0 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Stanfield, (Mrs. S. B.) Robbie Hall Smith, (Mrs. Walter F.) Nell Briggs Wright, (Mrs. J. E.) Mayme Moorman Warren, (Mrs. Elmer) Rebecca Boswell Simpson. Nine of the thirteen charter members were descended from Lieut. William Haynie, North Carolina; three from Lieut. John Yeates, Culpepper County, Virginia; one from Col. James and Lieutenant Benjamin Chambers of Pennsylvania. Organized during the World War, the chapter, though small in numbers, did its bit of war work, buying Liberty Bonds, contributing to the relief of the French civilians toward restoring the French village Tilliloy, undertaken by the National Society, and the World War service, for Memorial Hall, Washington. The Chapter finds that the following Revolutionary soldiers resided in Graves County: John Brimmage, age 85, in 1835; Joshua Gamblin, age 75, died in Graves County in 1844; Charles Gilbert, age 84, resided in Graves County in 1833; Joseph Glover, age 85, died in Graves County in 1847; William Thompson, age 85, resided in Graves County in 1835. They yet have hope of locating others. The membership has increased from 13 to 66 with several names pending. The purpose of the D. A. R. is to perpetuate the spirit of the brave men and women who achieved American inde- pendence, to secure liberty, to foster true patriotism for all men everywhere, to memorialize the heroes of the Revolu- tion and to preserve history. The Mayfield Chapter has achieved something along these lines and they hope to do more and more as they grow in years and experience. Regents from 1918-1923: (Mrs. R. E.) Clara Boswell Lochridge, 1918-1920; (Mrs. B. F.) Mary Rives Briggs, 1919-1920; (Mrs. J. W.) Mabel Wiley Mason, 1920-1922; (Mrs. W. S.) Lalla R. Albritton Pitman, 1923. In February, 1920, the mothers of the Mayfield boys in the World War organized under the name of the War Mothers. Their object was to assist in every way possible to help the boys of the Flanders Field feel proud of their victory. The organization meets reg- STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 81 ularly every month with Mrs. Sallie McClendon, who is president. It has over 50 members and is doing good work in assisting the local post of the American Legion. The Mayfield and Graves County Chapter of American Red Cross, organized June, 1917, with Dr. E. A. Stevens succeeding Gus P. Greene, chairman, and T. P. Smith, sec- retary, was composed of six units and fifteen auxiliaries. There were six drives during the period of the World War and the total collected was about 10,000.00. Members of the Executive Committee were: Mrs. R. E. Lochridge, Mrs. G. T. Fuller, Mrs. J. E. Warren, Mrs. W. B. Stanfield, Mrs. W. H. Brizendine, Mrs. J. C. Speight, C. T. Winslow, and Estelle Morehead. Principal committees and names of chairmen were: Mrs. W. H. Brizendine, Chairman of Women's Work; Mrs. 0. M. Merritt, Chairman of Knitting; Mrs. G. T. Fuller, Auxiliary Organizer. Articles shipped to the distributing depots of the American Red Cross during the year ending November 21, 1918, as taken from the report of Mrs. W. H. Brizendine, chairman: "1,609 pairs of socks, 547 sweaters, 28 helmets, wristlets, 50 blood wipes, 3 eye bandages, 34,690 hospital articles, 96 operating sheets, 246 operating towels, 576 hos- pital shirts, 9 split pillows, 4 comfort bags for cantonment, 10 pajamas, 194 shoulder wraps, 1,226 abdominal bandages, 506 head bandages, 1,205 many-tailed bandages, 935 slings, 2,621 "T" bandages, 132 roll bandages, 96 infants' gar- ments, 250 girls' chemise, 200 girls' pinafores, 60 boys' shirts, 100 property bags. "Total number of articles shipped, 45,483, covering the conservative value of 9,743.90 (cost price when samples were bought August 1, 1917.)" The Woman's Club has been a power for good in this community for thirty years. Their chief aim has been to keep their spirit fresh and fervid through contact with the best experiences, the best thoughts and the highest ideals which have been handed down through the ages; and to keep their minds securely poised by a real knowledge of real con- ditions in their community, town, and country, and to make 82 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY definite efforts to better these conditions. In the early years of their existence they instigated and performed the actual work of all civic improvements. In 1903 this club inaugurated the cleanup day and the city beautiful movement, offering prizes for the most beautiful yards and gardens, flower seed being furnished for free distribution. In 1912 this noble band of earnest women secured the co-operation of the mayor and council and developed the clean-up day into clean-up and paint-up week, making beau- tiful with flowers and shrubs the court house lawn and plac- ing benches about for the convenience of the citizens. In 1907 the Parent-Teachers Association was organized by the Woman's Club. This organization is now one of the strongest in the city. In 1909 they installed the sanitary drinking fountains at the schools. In 1911 the Humane Drinking Fountain which stands at the intersection of South Sixth and College streets was pre- sented to the city and the Woman's Club by the National Humane Alliance, Henry Lee Ensign, founder; This foun- tain was secured through Mrs. George T. Fuller, president of the Woman's Club in 1910. The fountain was erected in 1911 during the administration of Mrs. Ed. Ligon as presi- (lent of the club. In 1900 a public library was started. A reading room was secured through the co-operation of the mayor and council. A charter and rules of government were adopted and many were the projects resorted to by the club to raise money to carry forward this project. After the expiration of two years the council refused further aid and the library was forced to close. The books were turned over to the library of West Kentucky College. In later years another attempt was made to establish a library. In 1916 a whirl- wind campaign was put on by the Woman's Club to raise 3,000 to buy the lot where the Elks club now stands to build a Carnegie library. The necessary papers were secured and filled out to get the Carnegie Library. The money (3,000) was raised, but the council refused to STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY undertake the upkeep of the property, so the library was lost to Mayfield, but it was not the Woman's Club that failed to provide a Carnegie Library. They did everything in their power. In 1913 an effort was made to establish a day nursery. A room was secured and a nurse provided, but lack of funds made it impossible to carry forward the work. In 1920 the club was permitted to fit up one of the small rooms upstairs at the court house as a rest room for women. They made it very attractive with rugs, draperies, pictures, pillows, etc. The Woman's Club was organized in 1893. The member- ship was limited to twenty-five through no spirit of selfish- ness, but for lack of a place large enough to meet to accommodate a larger number. The Kentucky Federation of Women's Clubs was organized one year later, 1894. The Mayfield club was among the first forty-four clubs to join the Federation; among the first 1,500 women which consti- tuted the State Federation at that time. Now the Federa- tion numbers 210 clubs, with a membership of 50,000 women. The Mayfield Woman's Club joined the General Federation of Woman's Clubs in 1896. With the co-operation of the Daughters of the Confederacy the club secured a club room and the limit was lifted from the membership. The membership increased from 25 to 150 members. It became a departmental club with four departments, viz: literary, art, home economics, and civics and philanthropy. In 1914 the civics and philanthropic department secured for Mayfield her first public health nurse. In 1916 they organized the Associated Charities, which made permanent the service for Mayfield of a public health nurse. The Associated Charities changed its name to Health and Welfare League. In 1917 the Woman's Club launched the organization of the Graves County Red Cross Chapter. The chapter was organized June 7, 1917, and recognized June 11, 1917. The Woman's Club became a Red Cross unit, making hos- pital garments until the end of the war. 83 84 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY In 1922 they organized garden clubs, offering free bulbs, flowers and shrubs to any one who would call for them, that our city may be an ever blooming city beautiful. Flowers were selected with this idea in view. At a meeting of the Woman's Club, Thursday, May 3, 1923, the action of the president and Outdoor Arts com- mittee in adopting the Boy Scouts was ratified and approved by the club. The Woman's Club now stands full sponsor for the Boy Scout movement in Mayfield, ready to back up that position in all its phases. Presidents: Mrs. Augustus Thomas, 1893 to 1899; Mrs. Annie B. Hale, 1889 to 1900; Mrs. H. C. Canaday, 1900 to 1901; Mrs. W. C. Pitman, 1901 to 1903; Mrs. J. C. Speight, 1903 to 1905; Mrs. R. 0. Hester, 1905 to 1907; Mrs. John F. Blalock, 1907 to 1909; Mrs. G. T. Fuller, 1909 to 1911; Mrs. Ed Ligon, 1911 to 1912; Mrs. T. J. Myles, 1912 to 1914; Mrs. Will B. Stanfield, 1914 to 1916; Mrs. Joseph E. Warren, 1916 to 1918; Mrs. A. M. Thomas, 1918 to 1920; Mrs. J. W. Wilson, 1920 to 1921; Mrs. R. D. Robertson, 1921 to 1923; Mrs. G. E. Budke, 1923 to 1925. The Woman's Club of Mayfield secured for Mayfield their first Public Health Nurse, Miss Louise Poindexter, March, 1914, at a salary of 25 per month from the city. The club had the whole responsibility and up-keep of the nurse. Unable to furnish her transportation, she (lid on foot the charity and public health work of the city. In order to make the nurse a permanent service in the city the club realized the necessity of a permanent money basis to take care of her salary and to furnish her work. So they organized the Associated Charities for that pur- pose. The committee on organization consisted of Mesdames J. E. Warren, G. E. Budke, W. B. Stanfield, and Katie Mae Creason. The organizations affiliating were the Baptist Church, the Methodist Church, Christian Church, Presbyterian Church, the Woman's Club, the City of May- field, Commercial Club, Metropolitian Life Insurance Co., Elks Lodge, the U. T. C. and the T. P. A. The officers were Mayor Claude Parkhill, chairman; Mrs. J. E. Warren, vice chairman; Mr. Lube Orr, secretary-treasurer; Mr. Charley STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Waller, reporter. The organization was perfected in 1916. The name was changed to Health and Welfare League in 1917 to secure the fund provided by the State Board of Health for such organizations. The same year for the same purpose they affiliated with the Red Cross. In 1920, under the able leadership of Charles Waller, secretary, and Mayor E. A. Stevens, chairman, and Miss Anna Nichols, nurse, this League went before the City Council and secured a Sanitary Commission for the city. Jim Byrn was appointed commissioner. The city bought auto trucks and a street sweeper to clean the streets and alleys and to remove the trash that better health conditions might pre- vail. This commission did all in its power for the health and welfare of Mayfield. The present administration of this splendid organization under the leadership of W. J. Webb, chairman; Fendoll Burnett, vice chairman; Mrs. Ed Gardner, secretary; Miss Grace Turner, nurse, is making a strong effort to establish a Settlement House in Mayfield. They have secured a social service assistant under the direction of the nurse. Mrs. W. J. Johnston was appointed to fill the place. With the Public Health officers, this league is doing the charity and Public Health work of the city. The rapid progress of this organization in the past fore- casts great work for it in the future. The purpose of the organization and the character of work done marks it as one of the greatest organizations in Mayfield today. Miss Ruby Oldham took charge of both the health and social service work November 1, 1921, and served until July 1, 1923, when on account of her failing health she resigned. Much credit is due her for the success of the league. The Business and Professional Womans Club, which was organized March 23, 1922, with 28 members, is doing more than any other organization to promote the social, educa- tional, economic and physical welfare of the business and professional women of Mayfield. Officers elected at the time of the organization were: Miss Mabel Mason, president; Mrs. A. L. Lindsey, vice president; Miss Janie M. Happy, recording secretary; Miss Myrtle 85 86 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY__ Johnston, corresponding secretary; Miss Nellie Watts, treasurer. They have adopted an educational program in which the club is striving to interest the young girls of the city in completing a high school education, and to assist them in securing a business training which will prepare them to take their place in the business world fully equipped. They have sent delegates to each State and National Convention since its organization, being associated with both the State and National Federations. A sign board advertising Mayfield was erected by the club on a site near the I. C. Passenger Depot in 1922. The present officers of the club are: Mrs. A. L. Lindsey, president; Miss Clara Brown, vice president; Miss Janie M. Happy, recording secretary; Miss Alene Tripp, correspond- ing secretary; Miss Nellie Watts, treasurer. The American Legion Post, No. 26, with two hundred and fifty members, is doing a big work for the soldier boys of the World War. Ever since the reorganization Nov 11, 1921, with Harry Weaver as president and Doyle Hutchin- son, adjutant, the post has been on the boom. They have recently, with the aid of the War Mothers, equipped club rooms for their members' comfort. It is the intention of these Legionaires to erect on South Seventh street, a Community Auditorium, Club Room and Rest Room for the ladies. The plans have not as yet been drawn up, but proper steps will be taken looking to securing the same in the near future. The estimated cost of the structure is 40,000.00 to 50,000.00. When completed it will be an ornament to the city, and a fitting memorial and testimonial to the boys who were "over there" ere the sign- ing of the armistice. The local post of the American Legion, through its efficient officers, is fast taking front rank in the work of the organization in the state, and now ranks second in mem- bership. With this added impetus to their enthusiasm, the leaders will have to move on, or Mayfield post will take the lead in membership as well as in pep and enthusiasm. A Woman's Auxiliary to this organization was organized STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 87 recently, which is open to membership to any mother, wife, sister, or daughter of a member of the Legion. The organ- ization has made big plans and a prospective auxiliary is in view under the following officers: Mrs. Sallie McClendon, president; Mrs. Mary Walker, vice president; Mrs. G. R. Allen, secretary; Mrs. J. T. Roach, treasurer; Mrs. G. E. Budke, executive committee; and Mrs. Whit Garner and Mrs. E. V. Edwards, chairmen. V 4 One of the most popular organizations of the city is the Lions Club, which was organized in 1920. It is composed of the most prominent business men of the city, numbering about one hundred. The object of the club is to promote the moral, civic, and social conditions of Mayfield. It meets once every week at the club room in Hotel Hall with a luncheon. Company L, 149th Infantry, Kentucky National Guards, is an organization which has been functioning since Feb. 18, 1922. The company is composed of some of the best young men in the city and county, and their work ranks above most companies, especially in drilling and attendance. 88 __ STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY The company was organized by John T. Roach and at the present time Fred Crawford is captain. The Boy Scouts and Camp Fire Girls are two organiza- tions of the young people which are a pride and benefit to the city as well as a pleasure and help to the boys and girls that are members. These troops are always under competent leaders. They assisted much in helping put over many war works during the late World War. Another club which Mayfield has much pride in is the Mayfield Country Club, which was organized in 1922 with much expense and opposition. The club owns 46 acres of the most suitable land for a golf course in the county and this is located on West Broadway, extended. In so short a time the grounds have taken on unusual beauty and are at all times calling to the members for recreation. Several tennis courts are always in fine shape while an artificial lake filled with black bass adds to the beauty of the sur- roundings. The club has one hundred anld twenty-five members besides associate and non-resident members. They own a most beautiful club house which is surrounded by pleasing shrubbery and flowers. A gravel road with center grass plot leads from Broadway to the club house. An interesting feature of the club is a gun club, with regular weekly "shoots." The officers of the club are planning still bigger things as the club grows older. They are: F. B. H. Waller, president; W. H. Brizendine, vice president; T. P. Smith, treasurer: R. L. Ross, secretary. The directors are: Dr. Ray Pryor, Dr. L. H. Dodson, Leslie Anderson, J. L. Stunston and J. U. Kevil. The most recent organization which has more to do with the future achievements of Mayfield -is the Chamber of Commerce. It was organized this year and already great plans are being put under way for a bigger and better Mayfield. The officers are: Board of Directors, F. B. H. Waller, Markham Ligon, R. L. Ross, R. F. Pryor, H. J. Wright, C. T. Winslow, Chas. Anderson, T. L. Stovall, Elmer Willett, C. C. Wyatt, R. D. Robertson, Delbert Wyatt, Dr. J. F. Kirksey, W. H. Wyman, W. H. Brizendine, Tudor Jones STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 89 I I A IiN 90 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY and Doyle Hutchinson. H. J. Wright, president; T. L. Stovall, vice president; C. C. Wyatt, treasurer; L. F. Orr, secretary. The following general policy to govern their activities has been adopted by the board of directors: It is the purpose of the Chamber of Commerce to promote industrial development of the town and surrounding com- munity, using every effort to develop the possibilities and remove any handicaps. It will give its whole support to the improvement of agri- cultural conditions, such as growing of leguminous crops, diversifications, soil fertility, promote the large and small fruit industries, encourage the raising of more and better cattle, dairy cows, hogs and other livestock, poultry and the growth of more and better tobacco per acre. Its transportation department will have as its purpose the securing of a rate parity entitled by its location, pro- mote more and better roads, and anything that will make the problem of transportation less difficult. Civic improvements, such as health conditions, schools, and any other movements having as their purpose the upbuilding of the town and county and its citizenship will have the endorsement and support of the Chamber. A continuous advertising campaign will be maintained, advertising both town and county to the country at large, and it is expected to enlist every citizen in this campaign and through the medium of our traveling men alone, expect to have Mayfield more favorably known from Maine to the Pacific coast and from Canada to the Gulf of Mexico. The Chamber is better organized than ever before to carry out its campaigns, having the backing of over two hundred of the most influential citizens, and with the proper support from the county and town, there is nothing within the bounds of reason this body of live wires cannot accomplish. It is expected that the citizenship at large will forget its petty prejudices, person against person, community against community, and all pull in the same direction and for the STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 91 same purpose, and with this support Mayfield and Graves County cannot keep from growing. The Chamber of Commerce extends to all citizens, whether they are members or not, the invitation to make use of the Chamber, letting it help you in any way possible, and it solicits any suggestions from any citizen that has as its purpose the making of a larger and better town and county. No man, no set of men, no enterprise, nor any city can afford to be self-satisfied with his, their, its, or her accom- plishments. The goal of higher and better achievements should always be sought. The only successful men or organization, or cities, are those that are continually after something beyond what they have. Mayfield is a city that has great opportunities, and many advantages. She is nationally known now. She might be better known. This is the aim and purpose of the men behind the organization of the Chamber of Commerce. UMJ!S This page in the original text is blank. East Broadway From Fifth Street Part Five Some Maqfieldians This page in the original text is blank. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY I N the life of every community and town there are those men who shoulder all the responsibility for the advancement of the community. Mayfield and Graves County links its history with the lives of its native or adopted sons and daughters whose names are in gold letters upon the local, state and national pages and whose lives of achievement, with disre- gard to fame, is inspiring to the young and stimulating to the old. Mention of all the lives which were heart and soul for Mayfield and Graves County would be impossible in this concise history. In a political way there are six men who stand out distinct from all others and whose accomplish- ments grow brighter with the years. These are Judge A. R. Boone, R. L. Mayes, Lician Anderson, Gus Coulter, Major H. S. Hale, and Judge Ed Crossland. Judge A. R. Boone, county judge of Graves, circuit judge, member of the legislature, was a man of firm opinion and lived a life that marks him as one of Graves County's hon- ored sons. He was the only man ever expelled from the legislature, this coming about because he was strongly in favor of cession. He was sent to London as a representa- tive of the Methodist Church of the South to attend world- wide convention of the Methodist Church. R. L. Mayes, in his day one of the most prominent attorneys in this section, was at different times county attorney and commonwealth attorney. He was a member of the state constitutional convention which met sometime between the years of 1849 and 1851. He was strong in his belief of legal reform in enforcement of law. In all that he (lid for his community he reckoned himself as secondary in the achievement of his purpose. Lucian Anderson, a son of John Anderson, the first white settler in this section, was a man with a community spirit that goes down on the pages of history with great honor. He was for a number of years in congress where he made his greatest record as a politician. He has the distinction of being the only man south of the Mason-Dixon line that -93 "94 STORY OF' MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY voted for the 14th amendment of the federal constitution. Gus Coulter was a man who so conducted himself as to receive honors justly bestowed at the hands of the people, among whom and for whom he lived, beyond his expecta- tions, but not beyond his merits. He held the office of cir- cuit court clerk, master commissioner and state auditor in his public career. He was a close friend and associate of William Goble in his fight for governor. No man in the state of Kentucky was better known than Maj. Henry S. Hale when he was state treasurer. During his life he did much for his community and by his zeal and energy he climbed the ladder of fame and moral principles. He was for fifteen years president of the First National Bank of Mayfield. Prior to entering the banking business he had served Graves County as sheriff and state senator. He won the title of major in the Civil War by his valor and excellency in commanding as captain, his company of brave Kentucky boys in fighting for the South. He finally became lieutenant colonel of his regiment. Judge Ed Crossland who was circuit judge and a member of congress was one of the most influential men to Graves County, being a man of wide community vision. In the Civil War he was made colonel of the 7th Ky. Regiment following the death of Charles A. Wickliffe who was pro- moted to generalship for gallantry, but who was killed before he received his commission. Immediately after Colonel Albert Thompson was killed in the Battle of Paducah, Col. Crossland took charge and assumed command. STORY OF MAYFIELI) THROUGH A CENTURY 95 Major Henry S. Hale 91 s'rOinY 01F MAYFIELD THIROUGHL A CENTURY LIFE OF MAJOR HENRY S. HALE (Taken from History of Kentucky, published in 1922) Achieving fourscore years is of itself an achievement, but Major Hale has more to his credit than a long life. He fought on many battlefields of the South, was the first to hold the office of Graves County sheriff after the war, rendered conspicuous service to the State as state treasurer, and for a quarter of a century was closely identified with one of the largest banks in Western Kentucky, the First National Bank of Mayfield. He exemplified all the best ideals of Christian citizenship and manhood and his long life was a course of duty performed and service rendered. He was born near Bowling Green in Warren County, Kentucky, May 4, 1836. The Hales came from England to Virginia in colonial times, and his great-grand-father was a Revolutionary soldier. His grandfather, Joshua Hale, though born in Virginia, took up his early residence in North Carolina and later came to Middle Tennessee where he spent his last years as a farmer. Nicholas Hale, father of Major Hale, was born in North Carolina and died in Graves County, Kentucky, in 1847. He married Rhoda Crouch who was born in Tennessee in 1807 and died in Graves County. The children of Nicholas and Rhoda Hale were: William Harrison, Geraldine, Nathan Perry, Major Henry Stevenson, Bathsheba and Joshua David. Major Hale was eleven years of age when his father died and fifteen at the death of his mother. He and his brothers and sisters found a good home with their uncle and aunt, Mr. and Mrs. Nathan Hale, of Graves County. He acquired his early education in rural schools, also attended the Mayfield Seminary. He completed his education at the age of twenty-two and for a time clerked in stores. He was twenty-five when the Civil War broke out and in the first year he enlisted in the Seventh Kentucky Infantry, serving as captain one year, major two years and finally was promoted to lieutenant colonel in command of the Third and Seventh consolidated regiments of Kentucky Infantry. Starting at Columbus, Kentucky, he was with Gen. Leonidas __ STORY OF MAY'FIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 7 Polk, was with Gen. Albert S. Johnson at Shiloh, with Gen. Pemberton at Vicksburg and Baton Rouge, with Gen. John C. Breckinridge at Jackson, with Gen. Price and Van Dorn at Cornith and through a large part of his service was under the command of the great Confederate calvaryman, Gen. Nathan B. Forrest, participating in Brice's Crossroads, Harrisburg, and Old Town Creek. At Old Town Creek he was seriously wounded in the left hip. It was supposed to be a mortal wound but he was nursed back to health in the home of James Sykes at Columbus, Mississippi. On rejoining his command he was promoted by Gen. Forrest to lieutenant colonel and filled that post during the last year. His final engagement was at Montevallo, Alabama, and he surrendered with Forrest at Columbus, Mississippi, in April, 1865. At the close of the war he returned to Graves County and for about a year he was in the mercantile business at Boydsville and Lynnville. In 1866 he was elected sheriff of the county and by re-election in 1868 fiilled the office for four years. In 1871 he was elected to the state senate, rep- resenting the First Senatorial District four years. His service in the senate was made notable by his work in intro- ducing and securing the passage in 1873 of the Mayfield local option law, which became a law in that year. Immediately after leaving the senate Major Hale solicited the capital stock and organized the First National Bank of Mayfield in the Spring of 1875. He was elected its first president and for fifteen years he guided that institution through periods of financial stress and prosperity with the wisdom of a true financier. It was his prominence as a banker that caused him to be called by Governor Buckner to the office of state treasurer in 1890. He served by appointment for two years and then was elected for a term of four years. In 1895 Major Hale was nominated at the Democratic convention for secretary of state. On returning to Mayfield he was called to the presidency of the First National Bank, and held that post of duty and responsibility for thirteen years until he accepted an hon- orable retirement in 1919. 97 98 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Major Hale helped found West Kentucky College at Mayfield in 1886 and has given his counsel and resources to many other enterprises that have promoted the growth and welfare of his home city. He became president of the re-organized Mayfield Woolen Mills about 1904. No interest could be said to have dominated his lifelong service in the Christian Church. He was an elder in his church for many years, and was, in fact, the chief support of that denomination in Mayficld. He was a member of the Masonic Fraternity, of Lexington Camp of Confederate Veterans and in time of war as in peace was associated with many movements in his home city and state. Next to his patriotic devotion to the South his chief inspiration during the war was Miss Virginia Adeliade Gregory, who on November 8, 1865, soon after he had returned to civil pursuits, became his bride. She was born in Kemper County, Mississippi, in 1843, daughter of Ma. and Mrs. Henry Gregory. She graduated from the Female Institute at Columbus, Mississippi, in 1850. For nearly half a century she was the sharer of his home and partner in his increasing success. Mrs. Hale died April 30, 1914. Major and Mrs. Hale reared the following children: Albert Sidney, who died at the age of eighteen; Annie Bell, who never married and died at Mayfield, age forty-fot.r- Nathan A., born in 1870, now vice-president of the First National Bank of Mayfield and who for twenty-fi e Shear, was its cashier; William L., who for the past several years was the postmaster at Mayfield; Mary E., wife of Dr. Edgar Odell Lovett, who since 1908 has been president of the Rice Institute at Houston, Texas, one of the largest institutions of higher learing in the South; Henry S., Jr., in the con- struction business at Fort Worth, Texas; and Josei h Theodore who is assistant cashier of the First National Bank at Mayfield. Major Hale died July 24, 1922, at the age 86, and was laid to rest in Maplewood at Mayfield, by the side of his devoted wife. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 99 Judge J. E. Robbins 100 _ STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY JUDGE J. E. ROBBINS The subject of this sketch was born on Brush Creek in Graves County, Kentucky, on August 4, 1854. At the age of four years his parents moved to Calloway County, where he lived until he was eighteen years old, at which time his father died, and he was left the sole support of his mother and sister. His father having been a blacksmith, he worked at this humble but worthy trade. As a hired hand and cropper on farms for several years, he managed to provide sustenance for the family, and also to go to school a few weeks each year. Later he taught school in the public schools for about four years, and then entered upon the study of the law. On August 5, 1878, he was elected surveyor of Graves County. On October 9, 1879, he was united in marriage to Miss Eva Chowning, of Mayfield, and as a result of this union, five children were born to them, three of whom died in infancy, and two sons, R. G. and J. G. Robbins are still living. In 1885, he was elected city attorney of the City of Mayfield. In 1886 he was elected county judge of Graves County, and held this office four years. While county judge he sup- erintendent the building of the present jail and court house, and personally bought the furniture and fixtures for these buildings. In 1891 the Graves County Banking Trust Company was organized, and he was chosen its first president, which position he held until he was elected circuit judge. In 1895, he was nominated by acclamation for represen- tative in the General Assembly of Kentucky, and was elected the following Fall. He served one term as representative, which included the regular session and a special session. In 1897, he was elected judge of the First Judicial District, over the incumbent, Judge N. P. Moss. He held the office for five years, when, owing to a failure of his STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY health, he resigned, to enter the practice of law. Since that time he has been actively engaged in the practice. In 1903, he was appointed special judge of the Scott Circuit Court by the governor, to try the case of Common- wvealth of Kentucky vs. Caleb Powers, indicted for the murder of Gov. William Goebel, and presided during the trial. He was chairman of the Democratic convention which nominated Hon. J. C. W. Beckham for governor of the State of Kentucky, and has been active in Democratic politics in the state for many years. In 1905, on account of the disqualification of two of the judlges of the Court of Appeals, the governor appointed Judge Robbins and Judge M. C. Saufley to sit as special judges of said court to try the case of Asher, et al vs. Uhl, et al., involving the title to several thousand acres of land in Bell, Clay and Knox counties. Since 1913 Judge Robbins and his son R. G. Robbins have been partners, practicing law under the firm name of Robbins Robbins. In 1923, he was solicited by hundreds of voters over the county to announce himself as a candidate for representa- tive in the General Assembly of Kentucky, and he finally consented to do so. Although opposed by a most excellent young man, Judge Robbins was nominated by an over- whelming majority, which is equivalent to election, in the big Democratic county of Graves. So, twenty-six years after his first service in the General Assembly, he again goes as a member of that law-making body to serve his constituents. He is a member of the First Christian Church of Mayfield, and is always found on the moral side of all questions. He served as Trustee of West Kentucky College, and of the Mayfield schools for more than twenty years, without pay, and has always been connected with every niovement for the betterment of Mayfield and Graves County. 101 102 SSTORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY F. B. H. Waller 11 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 103 F. B. H. WALLER Prominent among the business men of the city is F. B. H. Waller who has been in some form of the dry goods busi- ness in Mayfield practically all his life. Mr. Waller wvas born in Marshal County, Kentucky, January 18, 1878. His father, B. R. Waller, was a captain in the Civil War a- d commanded a company of Union soldiers from Kentucky. Mr. Waller moved to Graves County in 1882. His earlY advantages were not the best, but he applied himself vigor- ously to the discharge of every duty and did not neget t to improve every opportunity for an education. A, the a ge of nineteen he came to Mayfield where he worked as a clerk. In interviewing Mr. Waller he said: "I have lived in Mayfield almost all of my life, with the exception o1 eight years that I was located in Clinton, Kentucky. I hope that the rest of my days may be spent here, the best town en the globe." While he was in Clinton he was made mayor of that city in which capacity he won, by his fair dealing, the admiration of every citizen in Clinton. Mr. Waller married Miss Mary Saughter, daughter of J. R. Saughter, on October 29, 1901. To this union three children have been born, one daughter, Frances, and two sons, Frank and Ben. As president of the Mayfield Country Club Mr. Waller is honored. He is an influential member of the First Methodist Church, being a member of the Board of Stewards and Sunday School Superintendent of the Adult Depart- ment. He is a Shriner and Odd Fellow. He is one of the directors in the Chamber of Commerce, Lions Club, and Health and Welfare League. Mr. Waller has done many goad things for the city by his work through public organizations. He is at all times ready to help in anything that is for the betterment of- Mayfield and Graves County. He was connected with the Boy Scouts of the city at dif- ferent times, at present he is Scout Master of Troup Num- ber Three. He was previously Scout Executive. At present Mr. Waller is conducting a ladies' ready-to- 11)t STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY W. J. Webb N_MQ 1: STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY wear store and by his ability in this line of work he is still enjoying success, which sends him among his many friends in Mayfield with his usual happy smile. W. J. WEBB One whom Graves County delights to honor is Hon. W. J. Webb, who has been a citizen of Graves all his life, having been born April 17, 1866, about one-half mile north of the present site of Sedalia. Since he was admitted to the bar in 1886, when he was but twenty years of age, he has been one of the most influ- ential members of the Mayfield bar. Mr. Webb's father, Rev. J. G. Webb, was a minister in the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, having located in Graves County in 1848 and afterwards for a number of years was pastor of the Mayfield church. His mother, Mary J. Dunbar, came to Graves County in 1834. Both his father and mother resided in Mayfield for the remainder of their lives. Mr. Webb received his education in the public schools of the county and the Mayfield Seminary. He graduated from Cumberland University, Law Department, of Lebanon, Tenn., in 1887, with an LL. B. degree. His first public office was city attorney which he held during the years 1890, 1891 and 1892. During his administration the present water works system was built in Mayfield, and when the plant was taken over by the city, he was one of its representatives in that litigation. Above all Mayfield is proud of Mr. Webb because of his work in establishing the public school system of Mayfield. He became a trustee in 1897. In 1908, when the present school system was established, he became president of the Board of Education, which office he has held since that time. Being connected with the schools of the city so closely and for his interest in school affairs, Mr. Webb has won the honor of doing more for the city schools than any other man. The present High School and the Graded Schools were built under his administration. Mr. Webb was married April 28, 1891, to Miss Ida M. 105 106 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Burnett. The children are: Mrs. D. M. Maddox, Will J., Mary Burnett, James T., and Robert. Mr. Webb is a Mason, Knight of Pythias, and Elk. He is a Royal Arch Mason and a member of the First Presbyterian Church. At present he is president of the Mayfield Health and Welfare League, an organization which is doing great things for the city. In his offices he has one of the most complete law libraries to be found in this end of the state. His ability as a lawyer has given him the opportunity to practice in all the courts in West Kentucky. R. E. JOHNSTON One of West Kentucky's best known and honored attorneys-at-law is R. E. Johnston, who is a native of Graves County and has lived here all his life, winning the approval and friendship of scores of people in all parts of the South. He was born and reared in Mayfield, Ky. Grad- uated in law at the University of Louisville and was admit- ted to the bar in 1890; represented Graves County in the legislature in i894; was editor of The Gibraltar Herald at Mayfield; one of the organizers of the Young Men's Build- ing Loan Association, being its attorney since its organ- ization, 1893; was two years the state commander Sons of Confederate Veterans; was county judge 1919 to 1920; acted as special circuit judge; is a Woodman of the World, having the honor for two years of being its consul. Mr. Johnston married Miss Nanie Ridgway, daughter of Capt. S. P. Ridgway. He is a member of the First Presbyterian Church. Mr. Johnston is a staunch Democrat. He is a member of the law firm of Johnston Wyman. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 107 Seth T. Boaz 108 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY SETH T. BOAZ Seth T. Boaz, one of the most efficient and popular attorneys in the city comes from one of the oldest and best families in West Kentucky. He is the great-great-grandson of Thomas Boaz who came to the United States from England in 1750 and settled in Patrick County, Va., with his wife Betsy, who he had previously married in Ireland. Mr. Boaz's grandfather on his mother's side was James Houser and he moved from North Carolina in 1837 to nine miles south of Paducah where he lived to be 99 years, 9 months, and 27 days. He had the honor of voting for every Democratic nominee for president from Andrew Jackson to William Jennings Bryan in 1900. He died in 1901 as the oldest man in McCracken County. Mr. Boaz's father, Samuel Boaz, settled in the north part of Graves County where he lived and died. Seth T. Boaz was born October 29, 1885, near Boaz, Ky. He was educated in the county schools, Kentucky Western College, and he received his LL. B. degree from the Law Department of Cumberland University at Lebanon, Tenn. He was admitted to the bar in 1909 and located in Mayfield at that time. Mr. Boaz held his first public office in 1914 when he was elected city attorney. Later he was appointed police judge by the city council to fill the place of Judge Bunk Gardner who had resigned. He was twice elected to that office without opposition. In 1921 he was appointed city attorney by the Board of Council, which position he now holds. Mr. Boaz is an Elk, Odd Fellow and Mason, and is Past Exalted Ruler of the Elks and Past Grand of the Odd Fellows. During the late World War Mr. Boaz was chair- man of the Home Service of the American Red Cross. In 1909 Mr. Boaz was married to Miss Osa Whitis and they have five children, namely; Odessa, Seth Thomas, Jr., Naomi, Houser and Shadrack. The family reside on North Seventeenth street. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 109 Dr. C. C. Kemper 110 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY DR. C. C. KEMPER On the opposite page is a likeness of Dr. C. C. Kemper, one of Western Kentucky's leading dentists and fraternal men. Dr. Kemper, a native Kentuckian, was born in Owen County, Aug. 2, 1880. He graduated from the Cincinnati College of Dental Surgery in 1903, after which he returned to his native city of Owenton to practice dentistry. He moved with his family to Mayfield in 1912 and since coming to Mayfield has established one of the best and most up-to- date (lental offices in the state and his practice is second to none. His home, one of the city's most beautiful, is locate(l on Bachusburg Avenue. Dr. Kemper has held several high ranking offices among Kentucky dentists. In 1922 he was elected president of the Southwestern Kentucky Dental Association. He is also a member of the Kentucky State Dental Association and a member of the American Dental Association. He is a staunch member of the First Baptist Church of Mayfield; Past Master Mayfield Lodge 679 F. A. M., Past High Priest Mayfield Chapter 69; Member Paducah Knights Templar; Member Shrine at Louisville, Ky.; Kosiar Temple, a Thirty Second Degree Mason and Past Exalted Ruler Mayfield Lodge No. 565 B. P. 0. E., a member of the Lions an(l the Chamber of Commerce. During his twelve years residence in Mayfield Dr. Kemper has rapidly forged to the front as a leader in many circles. He Js known throughout the state as one of Western Kentucky's big professional men and as an officer of the Dental Association his leadership and ability have never been questioned. Dr. Kemper, although not a native of Graves County, is one of its first ranking citizens and Mayfield and Graves County are proud to number him and his family among its most valued additions. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 111 J. E. WARREN J. E. Warren, one of the most prominent attorneys in the city, who by his methods, which are in keeping with the character of the man, has become one of the lead- ing attorneys in West Kentucky. Mr. Warren was born on a farm in Graves County near, Boaz. He applied himself diligently to his studies and at the age of fifteen he gradluated from the common schools of the county. After this he spent one term at Bethel College, Russellville, Ky., and completed his literary studies at West Kentucky College. He graduated from the Law Department of Cumberland University at Lebanon, Tennessees, in 1899, with LL. B. degree. The same year he was admitted to the bar and the following year he moved to Mayfield where he opened his first law office. Mr. Warren was married November 6, 1907, to Miss Mayme Moorman, daughter of H. J. Moorman. Mr. Warren, his wife and one daughter, Ann, now reside at their beauti- ful home on Backusburg Road. Mr. Warren is affiliated with the First Baptist Church of Mayfield and is a member of the Board of Deacons. For two years he was Sunday School Superintendent. He is an Elk and Odd Fellow. Mr. Warren is an ardent Democrat, being at several times the county manager for state campaigns. His success as a lawyer has given him practice in all the courts in Western Kentucky. He has a most complete law library and is at all times a(l(Iing the newest and most instructive books to be found. During the late World War, Mr. Warren assisted greatly in putting over the Liberty Loan campaigns in Graves County. He is a member of the Chamber of Commerce and the Country Club. When asked what was his special hobby, lhe replied "I)oing atnythinig that is for I he good ot (Gaves Cointy' an(l West Kentucky." 112 STORY OF' MAYF'IELD THROUGH A CENTURY WALTER ROWLAND Walter Rowland, an insurance man in every sense the term implies, was born in Calloway County in 1880. He was the only child of Mr. and Mrs. Robert Rowland, native Kentuckians, and can be truly styled a self made, highly esteemed citizen. He moved to Mayfield in 1902 and has been a resident of the city since that time. He first entered business in Mayfield as an employee of J. E. Atwood in the grocery busi- ness, and later was connected with the firm of Lochridge Walter Rowland Ridgway, hardware merchants. His last position before entering the insurance business in 1908, was as an employee of the Mayfield Woolen Mills. Taking the word of those who has said, "salesmen are born and not made," Mr. Rowland has proved that saying as he is one of the leading life insurance salesmen of the United States. He represents the Mutual Benefit Life Insurance Company and his office has been located for many years on Broadway at the Briggs STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Printing Shop. Statistics show that he is leading the field as an insurance salesman by many points. He is a member of the Masons and Odd Fellows and holds many responsible offices in the First Methodist Church, of which he has been a faithful member for many years. He is at present secretary-treasurer of the church, president of the Epworth League, a member of the Board of Stewards, and a leading teacher in the Sunday School. Of all life insurance salesmen in the United States repre- senting the old and well known Mutual Benefit Life Insur- ance Co., he ranks in third place in the state and has been second several times. He has sold more than 2,000,000 -worth of insurance since entering the field which is a fair record for them all to shoot at. Mr. Rowland is married and has four children. He is one of the organizers of the Town Club, a member of the Lions Club and a member of the Mayfield Chamber of Commerce. G. RUSSELL ALLEN Graves County's youngest Master Commissioner, G. Russell Allen, is a son of the late G. R. Allen and Mattie Lee Breckenridge Allen. He was born in Mayfield, March 17, 1897, and has resided in this city all his life with the exception of about eighteen months spent in the United States Navy in the service of the Stars and Stripes. In March, 1922, Mr. Allen had the distinction of becoming Graves County's youngest Master Commissioner, getting his appointment from our beloved circuit judge, William H. Hester. He has served since that time in splendid fashion and no veteran official of the county could have fulfilled the duties of this important office in better fashion. Mr. Allen during the troubled days of 1917-18, heeded the call of his country and joined the navy. He served overseas with this branch of the service for nine months with a "sub" chaser flotilla. In fraternal life he is an Elk, Mason, and a charter mem- ber of the Graves County Post, American Legion. In poli- tics he is a Democrat and his religion is Methodist. He is married and has one daughter. He is a strict young business man and above all things, a thorough gentleman. 113 114 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY FRED A. CRAWFORD Fred A. Crawford, at present city clerk, Captain 149th Infantry, secretary local lodge of Odd Fellows, secretary Southwest Kentucky Association I. 0. 0. F., Service Officer for American Legion, veteran of World War, Missionary Baptist, Democrat, son of Alfred B. and Blanche (Gallemore) Crawford, was born February 19, 1892, at Vulton Creek, Graves County, Kentucky. Fred A. Crawford is a quiet and unassuming Christian gentleman, and any success that he has had or may have is largely due to the training received from his honest, upright, Christian father and mother, who are now living and enjoying the pleasures of a life well lived. _-STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Rev. A. L. Wilson 115 11f _STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY REV. A. L. WILSON Rev. A. L. Wilson, present superintendent of Graves County public schools, was born near Pottsville, Graves County, June 14, 1883. He is a son of George P. and Eva Linn Wilson and one of Graves County's finest citizens. Mr. Wilson was educated' in the public schools and attended West Kentucky College at Mayfield, later graduating from the Freed-Hardeman College at Henderson, Tenn. He was married to Miss Victoria Culp of Bells, Tenn., and three fine children have blessed the union. They are: Elizabeth Lee, aged 11; George P., aged 7, and Jack, aged 5. Mr. Wilson has spent all his life in Graves County and his advance in the service of his people and his county has been rapid. Reared on a farm, he forged to the front, worked hard for an education and his efforts were rewarded when he was selected by the Graves County School Board and went into that office January 1, 1922. He is a minister of the Christian Church and spent many years preaching the gospel in Graves and surrounding counties, where he has had many charges. Mr. Wilson was a school teacher in Graves County for eighteen years. He was vice-president of the Farmers' Educational Co-operative Union, which organization at one time had 40,000 members in Kentucky and he was later selected as president of the organization in this state. He is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America, a staunch Democrat and one of Graves County's most popular and esteemed gentlemen. NOAH CALDWELL Noah Caldwell, one of Graves County's self made men, an official and not a politician, was born near Lynnville, Ky., Sept. 14, 1880. He is at present clerk of the Graves circuit court, which office he received without opposition, so fine was his record in civil life. Mr. Caldwell, after leaving school, returned to the farm where he ranked as one of the best of the county until he STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 117 retired to enter the merchantile business at Lynnville. He was in business at Lynnville until 1909 when he sold out to become one of the organizers of the Farmer's Bank of Lynnville. He was elected cashier of this institution follow- ing its organization, which office he held without opposition until a few years ago to enter the race for circuit clerk. His varied experiences at farming, banking, merchant, made him doubly fitted to make one of the ablest officials to ever hold this office, which he has been during the two years of his term in office. Noah Caldwell In 1900 Mr. Caldwell was married to Miss Mitchie Rebecca Easley of this county. The union was blessed by two children, a boy and a girl. Mr. Caldwell has lived in Graves County all his life and his every effort towards success has been rewarded because he is thoroughly capable and a gentleman in every sense of the word. Mr. Caldwell is a Mason and an Odd Fellow. He is a staunch Democrat and an elder in the First Christian Church of this city. Of all his business and official appoint- ments, Mr. Caldwell is most proud of the appointment as an elder of the First Christian Church, having received 11 _ STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY this appointment upon the recommendation of the late Major Henry S. Hale. Mr. Caldwell is of the type that makes any city or country proud to call him "our citizen." GUS C. COVINGTON, SR. In a fleeting panorama of the prominent men of Mayfield, a man who deserves mention is Gus C. Covington, Sr., who heads the Mayfield office of Covington Brothers Co. To tell of a man whose success in life is a result of his own efforts and hard work, is a most pleasing task. Mr. Covington was born at Murray, Kentucky, in 188., his parents being E. H. and Lucy B. Covington. In 1887 he moved to Mayfield and five years later he went into the wholesale grocery business. During the year 1893 the house at Paducah was established by his brothers, W. E. and C. C. Covington, and the two stores formed a company under the head of Covington Brothers Co. Mr. Covington is a real live business man and has built up a business which extends over all the counties in Western Kentucky. The one big reason for Mr. Covington's success is proven by the principle of honest dealing to all. In 1888 Mr. Covington was married to Miss Georgia Hunt, daughter of W. S. Hunt. They are parents of seven child- ren. Ben, Slayden and Gus C., Jr., are connected with the local firm of Covington Brothers Co. The other children are Herbert, who is in school at Centre College at Danville, Kentucky; Mrs. 0. B. (Lucy Mae) Rominger, of Fort Worth, Texas, and Will Ed and Hunt who are in Mayfield high school. Mr. Covington is a deacon and an enthusiastic worker of the First Baptist Church, a Democrat and a Mason. He has been during the thirty-six years that he has lived here, one of Mayfield's strongest boosters and is one of the big reasons why Mayfield is a good place to live. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Jim Byrn 119 120 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY JIM BYRN A man who has many friends and is widely known in in Mayfield and Graves County is Jim Byrn who is a native of Graves County. He is the son of Robert and Lula (Brockman) Byrn, deceased. His father was for two terms county jailer, being elected the first time in 1906. Mr. Byrn was born on a farm in West Graves on Nov. 12, 1882, and lived on a farm the greater part of his life, moving to Mayfield when his father was elected jailer. His early education was received in the county schools. Under the administration of C. M. Parkhill as mayor he served for about six months on the city police force. He has been deputy jailer at different times for the past ten years. Recently he was elected to fill out the unexpired term of Chief of Police C. H. McNutt, who died in office. Mr. Byrn is true to the trust placed in him by the people and in the office of chief of police he will hold true to the obligations he is under, as he has done in the past. Mr. Byrn on December 24, 1922, married Gracey Gray, daughter of T. W. Gray, who is at this time county jailer, and under whom Mr. Byrn is working as deputy. He is a member of the local order of the Woodmen of the World and is a Christian gentleman from every standpoint. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY R. G. ROBBINS (Q;Q000f;; -00t0Not born or reared on a farm, yet notwithstanding this, R. G. Robbins, familiarly known as Guy, has been a familiar figure on the streets of Mayfield for more than forty years. This makes him one of the oldest native-born inhabitants of the city now living. He is the oldest living child and son of Judge J. E. Robbins and Eva F. Robbins, having been born within one hundred yards of the court house on April 25, 1883. He graduated from West Kentucky College, for years one of the foremost institutions of learning in Kentucky, receiving the literary degree of Bachelor of Arts. He studied law in the office of Robbins Thomas, the senior member of the firm being his father, and the junior member being Judge Gus Thomas, now an associate justice on the bench of the Kentucky Court of Appeals. He was admitted to the bar in 1905, since which time he has been engaged in the practice of the law in the counties of the First Judicial District, and those adjoining. Since January, 1913, he and his father have been practicing law as partners under the firm name of Robbins Robbins. The firm of which he is a member has for many years been local attorneys for the Illinois Central Railroad Company in the counties of the First Judicial District. In 1909 he was ,appointe(l Master Commissioner of Graves Circuit Court by the late Judge R. J. Bugg, and held this position for about four and one-half years, until the death of Judge Bugg. In 1907 he was united in marriage to Miss Irene Amberg, of Hickman, Ky., and they are the proud parents of two sons and two daughters. The subject of this sketch possesses certain peculiar traits, not usually found in members of his profession. As an illustration, he is a great lover of music, and is a violin- 121 122 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY ist of no mean ability. He is the author of several books which have met with hearty approval. He is very fond of hunting and camping, and enjoys life in the outdoors. Per- haps his greatest hobby is as a cabinet workman, and after office hours he has built some very fine specimens of the craftman's art in walnut, oak and mahogany. He is quite an artist with the camera, and has in his collection several high grade cameras and lenses. He has a pictorial history of his children from infancy to the present, which is exceed- ingly interesting. He is of a modest disposition, and only those who know him intimately understand the real versatility and nature of the man. When asked for his biography, he replied: "Born April 25, 1883; not dead yet." is,.. it. far. fuit, STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY DR. H. H. HUNT The above named gentleman first saw the light of day among the hills of Trigg County, Kentucky, Oct. 1, 1872. He was one of the eight children of William Spencer and Sally James Hobson Hunt. He moved with his parents to Paducah in 1880, where he attended the public schools until the Fall of 1884, when he moved to Mayfield where he has resided since that time. He attended West Kentucky College and Clinton College. He was graduated from the last named place in 1890 with the degree of A. B. He then studied medicine at Vanderbilt University, the "Yale of the South," and received the degree of M. D. with the class of '95. During his school days he was perhaps the South's greatest college baseball pitcher and before hanging out his "Doctor's Shingle" in Mayfield, he pitched baseball with great success in the Virginia State League. In 1897 Dr. Hunt married Miss Mae Wilford. Five child- ren, George, Wilford, Jincy, Oliva, Herbert, Jr.. and Hugh, have blessed the union. Dr. Hunt ranks high among the practicing physicians and surgeons of Western Kentucky. He is at this time president of the Southwestern Kentucky Medical Associa- tion and has been secretary and president of the Graves County Medical Association. In religion Dr. Hunt is a Baptist; in politics a staunch Democrat. He is at the present Graves County Democrat Chairman and for many years has been the city health officer. His fraternal orders are Odd Fellows and Elks, and by birth and training he is first, last an(l ever, a gentleman. 123 124 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY F. M. McCAIN F. Marion McCain, recognized leader of all moral and progressive moves in West Kentucky by all classes, and also recognized community builder, was born in Weakley County, Tennessee, June 11, 1860. He was moved to Graves County, Kentucky, the following year by his parents, and located on a farm near Hickory Grove, Kentucky. He was educated in the common schools of Graves County, remain- ing on the farm until the age of thirty-one, devoting part of his time to general merchandising. In the year 1891 he was married to Miss Nelia Cox, of Graves County, and moved to Mayfield in the same year, where he engaged in the grocery business, in which business he continued until January, 1896, at which time he closed out his business, due largely to his unsettled, disturbed con- dition by reason of the loss of his wife. After closing out his business he accepted a position on the road selling a line --- - STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 125 of agricultural implements, which position he held until August, 1915, when he resigned, took charge of his farm eight miles east of Mayfield, where he remained until May, 1917, at which time he was induced-not only by the Republicans of the county but the Democrats as well-to make the race for sheriff in Graves County. After consid- erable thought he yielded to the requests of his many friends and entered the race for sheriff, which race he won over the Democratic nominee by 105 votes, polling more than fifty per cent of the entire vote in Graves County, and this is the largest Democrat county in the State of Kentucky. His election to the sheriff's office is the second Republican ever elected to an office in Graves County. After being elected and before taking office as sheriff Mr. McCain was made a member of the draft board in this county (luring the war. Mr. McCain's high moral standing, coupled with his high political prestige placed him in the position where he was the party's choice without opposition to make the race for congressman (1922) in the First District against Honorable Alben W. Barkley, Democrat. Mr. McCain has been a member of the Methodist Church for forty-one years, which time he has devoted a large part of his time to the interest of all departments of the church. He is also a member of the Masonic, Odd Fellows and Ells lodges. 126 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Hucton Brooks STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY HUSTON BROOKS 0. Huston Brooks, who is at this time county attorney, being elected in 1921, is a man who is filling his office to a credit to himself and Graves County. Equal and exact justice to rich and poor, high and low, has been the policy of Mr. Brooks at all times during his sixteen years of practice. He has been a diligent prosecutor to the violators of the liquor laws. Mr. Brooks was born in Graves County, April 30, 1881. His ancestors were Colonial Americans who came to this country from England and settled in North Carolina. His grandfather, Nelson Brooks, was born in North Carolina and in his early life he moved to Weakley County, Tennessee, where he died at the age of sixty years. Robert R. Brooks, father of Huston Brooks, was born in Henry County, Tennessee, July, 1845; moved to Graves County in 1870, and died at Mayfield, Feb. 24, 1920. He saw active service in the Civil War under Gen. Forrest ,enlisting when he was only sixteen years of age. After reading law for two years, Mr. Brooks entered the Law Department of Cumberland University at Lebanon, Tennessee, and after completing his studies there in 1907 he was admitted, the same year, to the bar. Previous to that time he had graduated from the Murray Institute at Murray, Kentucky. His early education was received in the rural schools of the county. On the Democratic ticket he was elected to represent Graves County in the legislature in 1907 and re-elected in 1909. While in the legislature he was chairman of the com- mittee of cities of the fourth class and of the committees on revenue and taxation, charitable institutions, courts of appeals, education, judiciary, and state capitol. He intro- duced the resolution providing for the ratification of the sixteenth amendment providing for the income tax amend- ment. He married at Paducah, April 23, 1914, Miss Mayme Puryear, daughter of Squire J. W. and Mary (Neeley) Puryear, now residents of Graves County. Their children 127 128 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGHA CENTURY are: Virginia Huston, Herman Wickliffe, and John Robert. Mr. Brooks is a self made man and at all times been true to the trust placed in him by the people. He is an orator of ability and force. He is a member of the State Bar Association, an Odd Fellow, Woodman of the World, Elk, and a member of the First Methodist Church of Mayfield. B. C. SEAY No man in the state is more widely known than B. C. Seay of the Mayfield bar, who has gained a reputation in many of the southern states for his unexcelled ability in criminal cases. Mr. Seay is a natural born lawyer and while he is well fitted to handle any civil case his general practice has led him more and more into criminal cases. Mr. Seay was born in Graves County near Lowes, Feb. 13, 1872, and his family dates back to his great-great-grand- father who came to this country from Ireland. The grand- father was Bernard Seay, a pioneer of Graves County, who in his elderly days was widely known as "Uncle" Barney Seay. Ed Seay, father of B. C. Seay, was born near Lowes in 1843 and is living in Mayfield, now retired. Mr. Seay received his education in the rural schools of the county and West Kentucky College. He began his study of law while a teacher in Carlisle County and afterward attended St. Louis Law School. He was admitted to the bar in 1895. Miss Annie Smith became the wife of Mr. Seay in 1897. She was the daughter of Col. B. A. and Mattie (Baker) Smith, now deceased. Agnes, the oldest child of Mr. and Mrs. Seay, died at the age of five years. Watt C. Seay is the oldest living child. He was married in 1922 to Miss Malinda Beasley, daughter of R. L. Beasley. Other children of the family are: Robert, Allen, Elizabeth, William Reed and Gardner. Mr. Seay is a member of the First Presbyterian Church, Woodmen of the World, Hickory Camp 115, and local Chapter of Elks. The profession of Mr. Seay is the one great object of his life and unlike many lawyers he has never sought the diver- sion of politics, being satisfied to do his duty as a Democrat. STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 129 SCOTT T. LEMON At the head of Mayfield's only newspapers, the Daily and Weekly Messenger, is Scott Thompson Lemon, a young man who has gained his present place of prominece by hard work. Ever since he became interested in newspaper work as a carrier of the Paducah News-Demo- crat he has been connected in some way with this kind of business. He carried the first route of papers in Paducah ever published by the News-Democrat. Later he came to Mayfield and began work with The Daily Messenger as a carrier boy. His rapid progress has placed him in his present office where he now employes carries to deliver his papers. In the early part of his life Mr. Lemon won fame on the baseball diamond as a catcher, playing with some of the best teams in the South and Middle West. He supervised the building of Cyclone park in April, 1919. Mr. Lemon is a son of Mrs. J. R. Lemon, a resident of Mayfield. He is unmarried and lives with his mother at her home on North Sixth street. He is president of the Parkhill Sunday School class, holding for one year and a half the record of being the largest class of men in the state of the Christian Church. He is a graduate of five schools of higher learning, an Elk, Odd Fellow, Woodman of the World and a member of the Mayfield Chamber of Commerce, Lions Club, Country Club and the First Christian Church. Recently the offices of The Messenger Publishing Co. have been remodeled, all the newspaper plant going to the second floor and the job work department remaining on the first floor. Soon, Mr. Lemon expects to add a night force to the job department which will make it the only one in the state with a night and day force for job printing. The Messenger Publishing Company is the largest business con- cern in the city that is owned by one man and Mr. Lemon is honored in being its sole owner. 130 STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY Aubrey Hester r7 , Mm A STORY OF MAYFIELD THROUGH A CENTURY 131 AUBREY HESTER Mr. Aubrey Hester is worthy of representation in a work that tells of Mayfield's most widely known men because he has been of great service to Graves County, his native county in which he was born and reared. Mr. Hester was born in Mayfield November 6, 1892. He is the son of the Hon. R. 0. Hester, under whom he received his first study of law. His mother, before marriage, was Miss Hattie Albritton, daughter of the late Judge S. P. Albritton, who was a former school superintendent of Graves County. He comes from one of the oldest families in West Kentucky, his grandfather, J. C. (Brown) Hester, was born in Christian County but lived in Graves County for most of his life. The present circuit judge, W. H. Hester, is an uncle of the subject. In 1914 Mr. Hester was admitted to the bar after attend- ing the Law Department of Cumberland University at Lebanon, Tennessee, and at this time Mr. Hester was only twenty-one years old. Previous to his studies at Cumberland University he received his literary education in West Kentucky College and Transylvania University, Lexington, Ky. Miss Pauline Leonard, daughter of Martin Leonard, became the wife of Mr. Hester on July 11, 1917. The children of this union are: Aubrey Leonard, age 5, and Robert Martin, age 2. Mr. Hester is a member of the First Christian Church and a member of the local chapter of Elks. Mr. Hester is the junior member of the law firm, Hester, Seay Hester, with offices located in the Stovall Building on the south side of the square. No local attorney has a more extensive acquaintance in West Kentucky than Mr. Hester and his success as a lawyer is due to the efficient results he gives to all his clients. Epilojue "I like to see a man proud of the place he lives in. I like to see a man live so that his place will be proud of him. Be honest, but hate no one; overturn a man's wrong- doing, but do not overturn him unless it must be done in overturning the wrong. Stand with anybody that stands aright. Stand with him when he is right and help him when he is wrong." -Abraham Lincoln. A GOOD PLACE TO LIVE