You have found an item located in the Kentuckiana Digital Library.
History of the Frankfort cemetery / by L.F. Johnson. Johnson, Lewis Franklin, 1859- 400dpi TIFF G4 page images University of Kentucky, Electronic Information Access & Management Center Lexington, Kentucky 2002 b92-148-29450470 Electronic reproduction. 2002. (Beyond the shelf, serving historic Kentuckiana through virtual access (IMLS LG-03-02-0012-02) ; These pages may be freely searched and displayed. Permission must be received for subsequent distribution in print or electronically. History of the Frankfort cemetery / by L.F. Johnson. Johnson, Lewis Franklin, 1859- Roberts Printing Co., Frankfort, Ky. : 1921. 74 p. ; 23 cm. Coleman Microfilm. Atlanta, Ga. : SOLINET, 1993. 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm. (SOLINET/ASERL Cooperative Microfilming Project (NEH PS-20317) ; SOL MN03852.10 KUK) Printing Master B92-148. IMLS This electronic text file was created by Optical Character Recognition (OCR). No corrections have been made to the OCR-ed text and no editing has been done to the content of the original document. Encoding has been done through an automated process using the recommendations for Level 1 of the TEI in Libraries Guidelines. Digital page images are linked to the text file. Frankfort Cemetery (Frankfort, Ky.) HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERYi BY L. F. JOHNSON 1921 ROBERTS PRINTING CO. FRANKFORT, KY. COPYRIGHTED 1921 BY L.F. JOHNSON TABLE OF CONTENTS Page. Preface . .................................................. 5 Chapter 1- The Incorporation . .............. .......................... 9 Report of Legislative Committee . ............l.............. n State Monument . .................................... 13 Theodore O'Hara . .......................................... 23 Chapter 2- Lots Purchased by State .......... ......................... 27 Revolutionary Soldiers and Others Buried in State Lot ...... 27 Chapter 3- Other Prominent People Buried at Frankfort ..... .......... 35 Chapter 4- The Names and Location of Noted People, Offices Held by Them, or Other Incidents Worthy of Note . ............. 55 Summary of National and State Officers ..... ............... 61 The Natural Scenery of Grounds, c. ...... ................. 62 Chapter- 5- Revolutionary Soldiers . ....... ............................ 66 The War of 1812-1815 . ........ ............................ 66 Soldiers of Mexican War . ................................67 Confederate Soldiers of Civil War . ...... ................... 68 Federal Soldiers of Civil War . ...... ...................... 71 Spanish-American War . ........ ...........................73 Soldiers of World War ........ ............................ 73 Trustees of Cemetery Company . ...... ...................... 74 This page in the original text is blank. PREFACE We cherish the memory of the soldiers who gave their jives to the service of this country and who have thus secured for their native State an honored name among the states of the Nation. We rejoice that so many of the officers and men who won lasting fame for Kentucky during the wars in which this republic has been engaged, and who laid down their lives in the defense of their country, have been removed to the State's beautiful necropolis, and that they now rest in the bosom of their native State and their bodies have become a part of the earth for which they gave their lives. We rejoice that our fathers have preserved in granite and marble the names of those men who fell in the defense of this country, and by so doing they testified to the world their regard for Kentucky's gallant dead. We are also proud of those great Kentuckians whose virtues and faithful service in civil life "are lamps unto our feet and lights unto our path." Their purity of life, their wisdom and their patriotism make their dust the most sacred heritage of a patriotic people. All the nations of the earth have honored, and have striven to perpetuate, the memory of their great and good. The Jews carried with them the bones of Joseph, their benefactor, during their wanderings through the wilderness, while in search of the Promised Land. The pyramids of Egypt are monuments to the great men of an early civilization. The ceremonies over the remains of the departed and the manner of disposing of the dead have differed among different nations, but all nations have rendered homage to, and have honored in some way, their departed heroes, and no people have ever arisen to power or greatness who have not striven to perpetuate the memory of their great men and women. No nation, whether barbarian or civilized, has failed to show some maiurks of respect and honor for their distinguished dead. We are told that the barbarians turned aside the course of a river in order that their chieftain, Alaric, might be buried in the bed of the river, and the water changed again to its natural course so that no foe could desecrate the grave of their hero. For half a century the people of Kentucky searched for a secure and permanent place in which to deposit the ashes of their loved and honored dead. Their efforts were finally rewarded and the ideal place which is now used for that pur- pose was secured in the year 1845. It is eminently proper that the mortal remains of these distinguished men should be gathered from all parts of the earth, and that thev should find a last resting place in Ken- tuckv's "CITY OF THE DEAD," which overlooks the capitol of the State. Our fathers have erected here the monumental columns upon whieh have been inscribed the names and deeds of Kentucky's noted sons, in order that their children in all time to come mayr make their pilgrimage to this holy shrine, as did the knights of old to the Holy Land; that they may read the History of Kentucky as it has been carved in marble and granite. The pens of Xenophon and Herodotus, of Livy and Tacitus, have made immortal the names of Greek and Roman, who deserve less from posterity than do many of the great men who nlow sleep in the necropolis of this Commonwealth. Kentuckv has made this cemeterv her temple of honor, and the mortal remains of her great men have been gathered from the State and Nation and from foreign countries, until these grounds have become the Ver.vResting Place of Honor- The Westminster Abbey of this Commonwealth. They who (onceived the idea of collecting into this ceme- terv the ashes of Kentucky's distinguished dead conferred a lasting benefit upon those who came after them, in that it pre- sented to their minds those conspicuous examples of patriotism and virtue which are worthy of emulation. The coming genera- tions of this Commonwealth will regard a burial in the State Cemetery at Frankfort as the most distinguished honor which can be conferred upon their dead, and they will covet such honor as did the-English Captain who said to his men as he went 6 PREF4ACE3 into battle, "Now then for a victory or a tomb in Westminster Abbey." We know not what the future has in store for us, but . we know that we are going the way of all the earth, that "Be- yond the dim unknown standeth God within the shadow, keep- ing watch above his own." When we think of the so-called "death" of our great and good, we have a counsciousness that men like these never die; death to them is but a circumstance in their existence. We have a consciousness of their immortality that they are still with us in spirit; they revisit the scenes of their earthly activity and commune With kindred spirits. We believe that in a brighter and better world we shall meet and know them; that they will all live again; yes, that they do now live, for there is no death. "There is no death, but Angel forms Walk o'er the earth with silent tread; They bear our best loved things away, And then we call them dead. But ever near us though unseen Their dear immortal spirits tread, For all the boundless universe Is life.-there are no dead." -The Author. 7 PREFACE This page in the original text is blank. KENTUCKY'S NECROPOLIS CHAPTER I. THE INCORPORATION. The Frankfort or State Cemetery was incorporated by Act of the Kentucky Legislature, approved February 27th, 1844. (The incorporators were Edmund H. Taylor, A. G. Hodges, IHenry Wingate, Mason Brown, Jacob Swigert, A. P. Cox, Philip Swigert, Orlando Brown and M. R. Stealey.) The Act provided that seven trustees should be elected by the share- holders, once every five years. The proceeds of the sale of lots and all money that came to the corporation from any other source should be applied, first, to the reimbursement of those who had made advancements for the original outlay and pur- chase; and whatever should he paid afterwards, for all time to come, should be used to ornament and improve the grounds and defrav incidental expenses. The Frankfort Cemetery was the second incorporated cemetery in the United States. Mt. Auburn, at Boston, Mass., was the first. The Act provides that the grounds shall be used for burial purposes only, and that no roads shall be opened through the grounds. It prescribes that in addition to their other duties the trustees shall preserve an accurate map and survey of the grounds and lots. and have the same recorded in the Clerk's office of the Franklin County Court, and also in the office of the Clerk of the Court of Appeals. It is made their duty to add such fixtures as may be necessary for the use or ornament of the grounds, with power to lay off and sell burial lots, etc. When -a burial lot is purchased the trustees shall give a certificate thereof, under the seal of the corporation, which shall vest the purchaser with title. If this -title is not trans- ferred by the grantee it shall descend or pass by devise as other real estate. HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY Section 5 provides: Any person defacing any of the tomb- stones, monuments or enclosures, or injuring any of the grounds, shrubbery, fixtures or buildings, or in any manner damaging the grounds of'the corporation, shall be punished by fine or imprisonment and be liable to the corporation for civil damages. There was an amendment to this Act which provided for the superintendent to reside on the grounds, and which vested him and other employees of the company with police power to arrest persons trespassing and committing depredations and offenses in the grounds. This was approved April 7th, 1888. On February 16th, 1845, Ambrose W. Dudley and Eliza G. Dudley, his wife, conveyed to the Frankfort Cemetery Coin- pany thirty-two acres of land, then known as "Hunter's Garden," the consideration for which was three thousand, eight hundred and one dollars. In the year 1911 the com- pany purchased from Mrs. Bessie L. Exum and others thirteen acres, for which was paid the sum of three thousand and twenty-five dollars. The grounds now consist of one hundred acres of land, the original cost of which was six thousand, eight hundred and twent'-six dollars. In the year 1890 the company erected a chapel at an expense of about seven thousand dollars. This building is of artistic design and is located on the brow of the hill overlook- ing the Kentucky River and the City of Frankfort. It adds materially to the beauty and convenience of the grounds. When the company secured the original tract of land it employed Mr. Robert Carmichael as landscape gardener. This gentleman was not only learned in his profession but -he also had several years' experience in Scotland prior to this employ- ment. The symmetry and harmony which prevails every part of these grounds proclaim that a master mind had planned the original construction and embellishment thereof. In the year 1919 the company reconstructed the approach or driveway to these grounds at a cost of about six thousand dollars. About twelve inches of well prepared macadam was overlaid with about four inches of rock asphalt; this makes a substantial and beautiful driveway. 10 HISTORY OP TEE FRANKFORT CEMETERY The- location of' these grounds is ideal. - The contour of the land is sufficiently undulating to' furnish a variety of scenery and at the same time- it is level enough for the purpose for which it was set aside. Mr. Carmichael died in the year 1858 -and was buried in- the grounds which he had done so much to beautifv. In January, 1.846, the books of the company were opened for the sale of lots, the deeds to only a very few of which have been recorded. In the year 1.847 the Legislature of Kentucky, by resolu- tion, appointed a committee for the purpose of inquiring into the policy and expediency of causing a suitable monument to be erected at the most eligible point in Kentucky in honor of the officers and soldiers who have heretofore and who may hereafter fall in the defense of their country, and to mark the resting place of her illustrious statesmen; also, report the most. suitable place to be selected in which Kentucky may deposit the ashes of her illustrious dead. The committee reported that in discharge of those duties they visited the grounds of the Frankfort Cemetery, recently laid off and improved, on the hill immediately above the capitol, known formerly as "Hunter's Garden." They found it to be a spot of great beauty and remarkable for its commanding situation and romantic and picturesque seenerv. The grounds embrace thirty-two acres, enclosed by a secure and excellent fence of walnut and cedar, which affords perfect security to the place. Good buildings are provided within the enclosure for the superintendent, who constantly resides there, and whose dutv-it is to take care of the improvements that have already been made and to superintend such as the -company may think proper hereafter to make, to keep the grounds in neat and complete order and protect the same from the slightest injury or trespass. Its high elevated situation, being about three hun- dred feet above the Kentucky River, affords a fine and com- manding view of that stream which winds at the base of the hill or bluff. From -a portion of this ground you have a view of the capitol and the greater portion of that part of the city of Frankfort north of the river, the whole of South Frankfort 11 HISTORI OF TRIP! FRANKFORT CEMETERY the bridge across the Kentucky River, and for many miles over the surrounding country. The elevated situation of this point, the purpose for which it has been set apart, consecrated and forever devoted and dedicated, the neat and tasteful manner in which it has been improved, point it out in the opinion of your committee as the most eligible point that could be selected for the erection of a grand and splendid monument for the purpose contemplated in the preamble and resolutions; also the most suitable place to be selected as a public burying ground for Kentucky. Your committee would further state that by the charter of the company it is forever set apart as a cemetery; no road can pass through it; it is not subject to execution or sale; it can never be used for other purposes. It has been handsomely laid off into small lots for the use of families, portions of which have been sold and handsomely enclosed. The proceeds arising from the sale of the lots are forever to be applied to the improve- ment and ornament of the grounds. The letter which Judge Mason Brown, as chairman of the Cemetery Company sent to the committee states: "You will discover, by the charter of the company, that the Frankfort Cemetery is strictlv a charitable and benevolent institution and wholly free from speculation or gain. The sole object of the gentlemen who established it was a desire that they and their friends might have a secure, permanent and beautiful spot in which to deposit the ashes of their dead; that while living they might have pious hands keep the briars and weeds from the graves of those they loved, and when laid by their side, the same melancholy but consoling care might be bestowed upon them. The grounds of the cemetery embrace thirty-two acres. There will have been expended during this and the ensuing year, in' the original purchase and improvements, the sum of twelve thousand dollars. Its romantic situation and improve- ments make it, as they believe, an interesting and beautiful spot. I am charged by the company to state that should it meet the views of your committee they will cheerfully convey to the State the beautiful mound in the center of- the grounds, which 12 HISTORY OF THE FRNKFORT CEMETERY is sufficiently large for all State purposes. The company is unwilling to receive any compensation for it now or at any future period. All that they would expect or desire is that it be kept by the State in the same neat and simple manner in which the lots of private individuals are kept, so as not to mar the beauty of the place. I am also charged to say that should the legislature at any time hereafter desire any other ground on which to erect such a monument as is alluded to in your note and resolutions, the company will cheerfully give to the State any unoccupied spot in their grounds on which to erect same. (Signed) Mason Brown, Chairman Company." y3v an Act approved February 25th, 1848, fifteen thousand dollars was appropriated for the purpose: "To erect a monu- ment to those who have fallen in defense of the country." The mound on which the State monument is erected is known as "The State Mound," and also as "The Bivouac of the Dead," so called bv Theodore O'Hara in his poem which has gained national celebrity, "The Bivouac of the Dead." Mr. Robert E. Launitz, of New York, one of the mol(SE skilled workmen in America, was emploved to do the work; most of the carving was done in Italy. The material was shipped to Frankfort by way of the Mississippi River. A barge was sent to New Orleans for the purpose of receiving it directly from the vessel, and it was delivered at Frankfort without any injury. The monument rests on a base twenty feet square, made of Connecticut granite. Many of the blocks of which the monu- ment is mnade weigh five tons each, the weight of the whole being more than one hundred and fifty tons; the height of the monument is sixtv-five feet. The Statue of Victory which crowns the column was placed in position in June, 1849. The material of the monument was imported from the noted quarry of C. Fabricotti Carrara, and it was considered the purest and richest monumental marble ever brought to America; at the time it was received it was free from all blemishes and was uni- form in color. Some of the blocks are now showing the effects of the elements to which they have been exposed for more than half a century, and some have become colored in places, caused 13 14HSTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY by the rust of the dowel pins which were used to hold the blocks in place. The Statue of Vietory which crowns the work and the four eagles which guard the corners of the die were sculptured in Italy from the models prepared by Mr. Launitz. The other relief figures on the panels, the coat of arms and the rest of the marble work was executed bv Mr. Launitz in-New York City. On the upper base, facing the west, is the inscription, "The principal battles and campaigns in which her sons devoted their lives to their country are inscribed on the bands and beneath the same are the names of her officers who fell. The names of her soldiers who died for their country are too numerous to be inscried on anv column." On the north side of the upper base is a tablet on which is inscribed "Military Monument erected by Kentucky, A. D. 1850." On the east side of the same is "Kentucky has erected this column in gratitude equally to her officers and soldiers." Facing the south is the coat of arms of Kentucky, with the motto of the State: "United we stand; divided we fall." On the bands are inscribed the names of twenty-two battles or cam- paigns and beneath these bands are the names of eighty-four officers who fell in battle. A biographical sketch of these eighty-four men would give the history of Kentucky for more than half a centurv. The names of these officers are as follows: Beginning at the top band on the south side of the column are the words "Cerra Gorda;" on the panel below which there is no name. On the next band is "New Orleans," and the next below that is "1Iassissinaway," on the panel below neither of which is there inscribed any name. This shows that no officer from Kentucky lost his life in any of the battles named. The next band is marked "St. Clair's Defeat," on the panel beneath which is the name of "William Oldham." Then follows: "Estill's Defeat" Capt James Estill Lieut. - South 14 HISTORI OF THE F11ANKFORT CEMETERY 'Tippecanoe" Col. Joseph H. Daviess Col. Abram Owen Capt. Jacob Warrick "Fort Meigs" Col. William Dudley Capt. John C. Morrison Capt. Christopher Irvine Capt. Joseph Clark Capt. Thomas' Lewis "Blue Licks" Col. John Todd Col. Stephen Trigg Maj. Silas Harlan Maj. William McBride Capt. Edward Bulger Capt. John Gordon Capt. Isaac Boone On the east side of the monument all the bands and panels (seven in number) are without name of battle or officer killed except the last or lowest one on the column which is marked "United States Navy." Lieutenant John Gunnell Talbot Drowned at Kalihikai December 19, 1870. Lieutenant Hugh Willson McKee Killed in Corea June 11, 1871. Master Alfred Foree Drowned off Georgetown April 12, 1872 "All in the perforynagtie of dtuly." is 1IISTORY OF THE FRAN KFORT C'EM EN IR.RIY Just above the base is inscribed: By order of the Legislature The name of Col. J. J. Hardin Of the 1st Regt. Illinois Infantry A son of Kentucky Who fell at the battle of Buena Vista Is inscribed hereon. On the north side is: "Mexico" Lieut. J. W. Powell "Bonesborough" Panel left without a name "Harmon's Defeat" Capt. J. McMurtry "W ayne's Campaign" Col. .John Hardin -'Monterev" Maj. P. N. Barbour "Buena Vista" Col. William R.. McKee Lieut. Col. Henry Clay Capt. William T. Willis Adjutant F. P. Vaughn ''Raisin" Col. John Allen Maj. Benjamin Graves Capt. John Woolfork Capt. N. G. S. Hart Capt. James Meade Capt. Robert Edwards 16 HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY '-Raisin" Capt. Virgil McCracken Capt. William Price Capt. John Edmonson Capt. John Simpson Capt. Paschal Hickman Lieut. John Williamson On the west side is: "Thames" Col. William Whitley Capt. Elijah Craig "Indian Wars" Col. John Floyd Col. Nathan Hart Col. Walker Daniel Col. William Christiarn Col. Richard Callowliy Col. James Harrod "Indian Wars" Col. William Lynn Maj. Evan Shelby Maj. Bland Ballard Capt. Christopher Irvine Capt. William McAfee Capt. John Kennedy "Indian Wars" Capt. Christ. Crepps Capt. Rogers Capt. William Bryant Capt. Tipton Capt. Chapman Capt. McCracken 17 HISTORY OF THE FRA N K POUT CETM E'TiR V "Indian Wars" Capt. James Shelby Capt. Samuel Grant Survr. Hanck.- Taylor Survr. Willis. Lee `Little Big Horn" By order of the Legislature The name of Lieut. John J. Crittenden 20" U. S. Infantry A brave Kentuckian who was Killed in the battle of "Littlet Big Horn" On the 25" of June, 1876 While performing his duty Is inscribed hereon. "Raisin" Lieut. Robert Logan Lieut. Thomas C.- Graves Lieut. Thomas Overton Lieut. Francis Chinn Ensign Levi Wells Ensign Shawham "Raisin" Surgn. Alexander Montgomery Surgn. Thomas C. Davis Surgn. John Irvine Surgn. Thomas Mcllvane The base of the monument is made of granite, the founda- tion of stone and the column of Italian marble. The whole is inclosed by an iron fence to protect the column from vandals, sometimes called relic hunters. There are four cannons placed near the monument, two of which were taken from the enemy at the battle of Buena Vista, both of which were spiked by the enemy before they were 18 HISTORY OF.THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY surrendered.. The other two belongwed to the State and were taken from the State arsenal. To the north of the State Monument is the tomb of Henry Clay; .Jr., son of the great commoner. . He was Lieutenant Colonel of twvo Regiments of Kentucky Infantry.: Near him on his left is the tormb of Cary H. Fry, Major of Second Ken- tucky Regiment; the next one to him on the left is that of Adjutant (., N. Canrdwell, and the last one in that row is Col. WA. E. McKee. All of these officers fell while in the discharge of their duitv at the tattles of Buena Vista. To the. south of the militarv monument- are the tombs of Adjutant E. M. Vaughn 'of the First Kentucky Cavalry, and W. T'. Willis, Captain of Second Regiment, both of whom were killed at. Buena Vista. On the west side are the tombs of Ezekiel H. Fields. Lieutenant Colonel - of . First Kentucky Cavalry. and James W. Moss, who was Captain of Company "A" in the Mlexican War, and in the Civil War he was Captain of Company "A" C. S. A.; he was promoted to the position of Colonel. Ife was, killed at the battle of Jonesboro, Georgia. Just north of the Clay tomb are two small markers; on one is inscribed "Lieutehant Colonel R. H. King, 3rd -Kentucky Cavalrv V. S. A.; died June 8th. 1866." On the other is "Capt. A. G. Bacon, 3rd Kentucky Cavalry, U. S. A.;. killed at Sacra- mento, Kentuckyj 'December. the 28th, 1861, aged 42 years." Captain Bacon was killed in a hand to hand fight with General Bedford Forrest. The A. ('. Bacon Post of the Franklin Countv G. A. R. was so named to commemorate his name. On the extreme Worth of the military mound is a monu- ment erected to the, memory of Philip Norboimrne Barbour, by Kentucky to her brave and noble son. He was brevetted for valor in the Florida War and brevetted Major for gallantry in the Mexican War.' "He fell at the head of his command, cov- ered with honor and glory at the storming of Monterey, Sep- tember 21st, 1846." Near the Harbour monument and just' south of it is a small slab recently placed there by the Susanna' Chapter of D. A. R., which marks the -grave of' "Lieut. Presley Neville O'Banion, who departed this life' September 12th, 1850, aged 74 years." 19 HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY This slab is about three feet long and eighteen inches wide. At the age of twenty he was Lieutenant under Commodore Stephen Decatur to the Algerian Coast. Lieut. O'Banion lead the charge under Capt. Eaton, who was killed when the fif- teen pirate ships were taken. O'Banion, with seven of his men, was the first to jump on shore and pull down the Algerian colors and raise the American colors. This took place at Dene Fortress. On his return to America he was regarded as the hero of the expedition. The city of Philadelphia gave him a gold mounted saddle and the women embroidered a white satin cover for it. Congress presented him a jeweled sword and had his pic- ture painted. He was in the Kentucky Legislature from 1812 to 1820. His wife was a daughter of a Revolutionary soldier. Between the Barbour monument and the State Monument is a small stone marked: "Dr. John G. Keenon, Born in Frankfort, Ky., Oct. 20th, 1827 Commissioned Brigade Surgeon Oct. 9th, 1861 Died in service at Memphis, Tenn., Aug. 12th, 1864 He was Brigade Surgeon with rank of Major U. S. A." The following is a list of the Kentuckians who were killed in the different battles of the Mexican War, and whose remains were brought back and buried in the State lot, near the State Monument, at the expense of the National Government, to-wit: William H. Maxey Mexico Sergt. Henry Wolf Buena Vista James Seston Buena Vista Major Updike Buena Vista Robert Latta Mexico L. B. Bartlett Buena Vista John Spratt Mexico William Blackwell Buena Vista Ezra R. Price, Born Dec. 23, 1817; Died July 7th, 1848 Mexico John Ellingwood Buena Vista 20 HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY Abram Goodpaster Lieut. Ed. F. Hogg, 19 Ky. Vol. Inft. Died Feb. 4th, 1863; aged 24 years John Sanders 1Lenrv Edwards W. C. Green Yves J. Thorean Thorean was a Mexican who joined the IJ. S. forces and was killed the follow- ing day. C. B. Thompson Tilford McH. Dozier Enoch Bronton Oliver H. P. Beard, Capt. of the 1st Regt. Ky. Vol. Died of wounds received at the battle of Buena Vista. John A. Scott Harvey Trotter Ambrose H. Hampton, Died Dee. 25th, 1883, aged 69 years. Cincinnattus Ramey Thomas Weigert Clement Jones Henry Carty William Thwaits William W. Bayles Buena Vista Buena Buena Buena Buena Vista Vista Vista Vista Buena Vista Buena Vista Mexico Mexico Buena Vista Buena Buena Buena Buena Buena Buena Vista Vista Vista Vista Vista Vista On the south side of the military grounds is a stone, in- scribed "G. W. Gilmore, a Lieut. in the Mexican War. Repre- sentative from Pulaski County 1850-1. Died in Frankfort while serving as senator from the 17th District, May 7th, 1880, aged 56 years." Located on the southern part of the State mound is.the un- 21 2 ISMTORY OF T1lE FRANKFORIT CEMETERY marked grave of an unknown Mexican soldier. He might be regarded as the "typical unknown" from Franklin County who gave his life for the honor of his country. The following is the story concerning this grave: When Captain Benjamin Cave Milamn, who is buried a short distance south of the State mound, was organizing his Franklin County Company of Cavalry for the Mexican war, a young man from Shelby County, Kentucky, made application to become a member of this Company. biut on account of his extreme youth the Captain refused to enlist him; a few davs later he renewed his applica- tion, his widowed mother came with him and joined in the re- quest and thereupon he was enlisted'; he manfully bore his part of the toil and hardships of the campaign. When Captain Milamn was ordered to charge the Mexican Lancers at Beuna Vista he directed the boy to remain in a place of safety, but he begged to participate and said that he would be called a coward if he did not do his part; Captain Milam very reluctantly yielded his consent and after the battle the boy was found on the battlefield pierced through by a Mexican lance, his body was returned with the other members of his Company who lost their' lives at that battle, but by oversight or some unknown reason his grave was left unmarked. The foregoing is only tradition, but the grave is there unmarked and it has become the "typical unknown" of the Mexican heroes who gave their lives for their country. In the year 1851 the Legislature of Kentucky, by com- missioners, contracted with Mr. Robert E. Launitz for the erec- tion of a monument to the memory of Col. Richard Mentor Johnson and for which the State paid the sum of nine hundred dollars. At the time this work was completed it was considered one of the most beautiful monumental structures in the United States and though the elements and vandals have greatly marred its beauty during the past half century, it still sfiows that a master in his art planned and executed the work. It is located at the extreme southern point of the military mound. It is made of Italian marble: the base is of granite on which is a shaft about ten feet tall and four feet square. A good like- ness of Col. Johnson is carved on the north side and cannons 22 HISTORY OF THE FRAN KFORT CEMETERY are on each corner. On the east side is inscribed "Richard Mentor Johnson, born at Bryan's Station, Kentucky, 1781; died in Frankfort, Kentucky, on the 19th day of November, 1850." On the south side Col. Johnson is represented on horse back in the act of killing Tecumseh. The Indian is on one knee falling backward, with a tomahawk in his hand. On the west side is the following inscription: "To the memory of Col. Richard M. Jobnson, a faithful public servant for half a century, as a member of the Kentucky Legislature and Representative and Senator in Congress, author of the Sunday Mail Report and of the laws abolishing imprisonment for debt in Kentucky and in the United States; distinguished by his valor as a Colonel of a Kentucky regiment in the battle of the Thames; for four years Vice-President of the United States. Kentucky, his native State, to mark the sense of his eminent service in the cabinet and in the field, has erected this monument in the resting place of her illustrious dead." The shaft has a flag of stars and stripes around the top, falling to one side and crowned with a large American eagle, which holds a laurel wreath in its beak. On the military mound south of the State monument is the tomb of a soldier, editor, lawyer and poet, with the simple inscription of ':Theodore O'Hara, Major A. D. C.; died June the Sth. 1867," and of recent date there has been added the further inscription "Author of the Bivouac of the Dead." No other poem has ever been written that can stir to such depth the martial spirit of Kentuckians. Col. O'Hara was admitted to the bar in 1845; later he was appointed to a position in the Treasury Department at Wash- ington. He was a Captain of Volunteers in the army against Mexico, and on August 20th, 1847, was brevetted Major for gallant conduct in the battle of Contreras. He went with a filibustering expedition to Cuba, where he commanded a regi- ment. He became editor of the Mobile Register and was after- wards connected with the Louisville Sun -and Frankfort Yeoman. He performed several diplomatic missions for the Federal Government and was prominent in the negotiations regarding the Tehuantepec grant. 23 HISTORY OF THlE FRANKFORT CEMETERY During the Civil War he cast his fortunes with the Con- federacy and was made Colonel of the 12th Alabama Regiment and subsequently served on the staff of Olen. John C. Breekin- ridge and Gen. Albert Sidney Johnson. When the remains of the Kentucky soldiers who fell at Buena Vista were brought to their native State, Maj. O'Hara wrote for that occasion the im- mortal poem by which his fame is established, "The Bivouac of the Dead." The muffled drum's sad roll has beat The soldier's last tattoo; No more on life's parade shall meet The brave and fallen few. On fame's eternal camping-ground Their silent tents are spread, And glory guards the solemn round The bivouac of the dead. No rumor of the foe's advance Now swells upon the wind, No troubled thought at midnight haunts Of loved ones left behind; No vision of the morrow's strife The warrior's dream alarms, No braying horn or screaming fife At dawn shall call to arms. Their shivered swords are red with rust, Their plumed heads are bowed, Their haughty banner trailed in dust Is now their martial shroud, And plenteous funeral tears have washed The red stains from each brow, And their projud forms in battle gashed Are free from anguish now. The neighing steed, the flashing blade, The trumpet's stirring blast, 24 HfISTORY OTF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY The charge. the dreadful cannonade, The din and shout are past; No war's wild note, nor glory's peal, Shall thrill with fierce delight Those breasts that never more shall feel The rapture of the fight. Like the dread northern hurricane That sweeps his broad plateau, Flushed with the triumph yet to gain Came down the serried foe: Our heroes felt the shock, and leapt To meet them on the plain; And long the pitying sky hath wept Above our gallant slain. Sons of our consecrated ground Ye must not slumber there. Where stranger steps and tongues resound Along the heedless air. Your own proud land's heroic soil Shall be your fitter grave; She claims from war his richest spoil- The ashes of her brave. So 'neath their parent turf they rest, Far from the gory field; Borne to a spartan mother's breast On many a bloody shield; The sunshine of their native sky Smiles sadly on them here, And kindred hearts and eyes watch by The heroes' sepulcher. Rest on, embalmed and sainted deadl Dear as the blood ye gave; No impious footstep here shall tread The herbage of your grave I 25 26 HISTORY OF THE FRAINKFORT CEMETERY Nor shall your glory be forgot While fame her record keeps, Or honor points the hallowed spot Where valor proudly sleeps. Yon marble minstrel's voiceless stone In deathless song shall tell, When many a vanished year hath flown, The story how ye fell; Nor wreck, nor change, no winter's blight, Nor time's remorseless doom, Can dim one rav of holy light That gilds your glorious tomb. Near the O'Hara sarcophagus is a small stone inscribed: "Col. T. T. Hawkins. an officer in the Mexican War; died Sept. 6th, 1879. Erected by order of the Legislature of 18834." CHAPTER IT. LOTS PURCHASED BY THE STATE. In the year 1851 the Legislature passed an Act authorizing and directing the Governor to purchase from the Cemetery Company the lots numbered 131, 132, 143, 144, 154 and 15.5 "in which to bury the remains of Kentucky's illustrious dead." The price paid for these lots was six hundred dollars; they are located some distance south of the State monument. There are eight Revolutionary soldiers in these lots, to-wit: John Adair; born in Chester District, S. C., January 9th, 1757. Died at White Hall, Mercer County, May, 1840; aged 83 years. This monument is erected by the people of Kentucky in pur.suance of a resolution of the General Assembly, approved March the 5th, 1872, as a mark of their appreciation of his services as a soldier and a statesman. As a soldier he entered the Revolutionary Army at the age of seventeen; served through the war, first as a private, after- wards as aide-dc-camp to General Sumpter- removed to Ken- tucky in 1787; participated in the Indian campaigns 1791-92- 94, and the war with Great Britain 1812-13. He commanded the Kentucky troops at New Orleans as Brigadier-General under General Jackson. 1814-15. As a statesman, previous to his removal from South Caro- lina, he served as a member of the State convention which revised the Constitution of the United States. Becoming a citizen of Kentucky, he represented the Countv of MIercer in the legislature 1795-96. afterwards frequently in both House and Senate. In 1805 he was elected to the United States Senate, -to fill an unexpired term. Tn 1820 he was elected Governor, and served a term of four years. In 1831 he served a term in the United Stales Congress from Mercer District. "He sleeps the sleep of the brave and just." Catherine Adair. wife of Gov. John Adair, was removed from her home, "Montrose," near Frankfort, and buried in the HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY same grave with her husband. "A union in life of fifty-six years; in death they are not divided." On the Christoper Creenup monument is the following: This monument was erected by the Legislature of Ken- tucky to commemorate the public services of Christopher Greenup, third Governor of the Commonwealth, by resolution approved January 16th. 1874. A soldier of the war of the Revolution and engaged in the earls conflict.s ith the Indian savages, he discharged his duties without fear and without reproach. His capacity, fidelity and usefulness in civil service is amply proven by his repeated ele- vation to and long continuance in office, executive, legislative and judicial, of the highest grade. He served repeatedly in the State and Federal Legislatures, filled the office of judge in several courts, inferior and superior, and was elected Governor of the Commonwealth in Augt, 1804. Patriot, soldier and statesman, through a long life of service he distinguished him- self in war and peace, and died in the full enjoyment of the con- fidence of his countrymen, in the 69th year of his age, April the 27th, 1818. Captain .John Howell, a gallant soldier of the Revolution, srved through the war. He was an officer in the First Jersey Regiment; - as in the battles of Brandywine, Germantown, Monmouth and Yorktown; settled in Kentucky between 1795 and 1800; died in Ohio County, Kentucky, in the year 1830. His remains were removed to this place, and a monument erected iv direction of joint resolution of the General Assembly of Kentucky, approved January, 1874. In 1779 Major Bland Ballard came to Kentucky at the age of eighteen years. He was with Col. Bowman on his expedition to the Indian town of Chilicothe. In 1781 he was with Gen. Clark in the attack on Pickawa towns, and was wounded in action. He wae with floyd's party and survived the defeat on Floyd's Fork, In 1786 he was a spy for Gen. Clark on the expedition to the Wabash. He was present in 1794 when Gen. Wavne routed the Indians at the Maumee Rapids. He was a soldier in the War of 1812 and was a captain in 28 HISTORlY OF TUE FRXINFORT CEMETERY the regiment of Col. John Allen. He was twice wounded at the battle of the River Raisin and was taken prisoner. He repeat- edly represented Shelby County in the Kentucky Legislature. He died in Shelby County in 1853, at the age of 94 years. A verv small stone marks the last resting place of Gover- nor Scott, though a Revolutionary soldier and a Governor. The inscription is as follows: "Governor Chas. Scott. Born in Powbattan County, Va.. 1741. Died in Clark County, Ken- tucky, 1813." G'overnor Scott was one of the strong characters of the period in which he lived. For more than half a century he served his country with honor, both in tented field and council chamber. In 1755 with Washington he fought in that disas- trouls battle which resulted in the defeat and death of General Braddock. In the Revolutionary War he raised the first company of volunteers south of the James River, and so distinguished him- self that a county in Virginia was named for him as early as 1 7 7. Gen. Washington appointed him to the command of a regiment in the Continental line; he was a Brigadier-General at the battle of Charleston. He inoved to Woodford County, Kentucky, in 1785. In 1791 he was with Gen. St. Clair, at St. Clair's defeat by the Indians. In 1794 he commanded a por- tion of Gen. AVavne's army at the battle of the Fallen Timber, where a great victory was gained. Gen. Scott was not an educated man; he thought the of- fice of Governor was too high a place for his ability, and he told the people that his competitor was much better qualified for the position. He was almost unanimously elected Governor in 1808, and served the full term of four years. 6General Henry Crist. "Beneath this stone were deposited the remains of General Henry Crist, a pioneer soldier and statesman. Born in Hanover County, Va., in 1764. He emi- grated to the west while young, and shared in the dangers, hardships and privations of the first settlement of Kentucky, as the history of his adopted State attests. He departed this life in September, 1844. The State of Kentucky erected this monument to his memory." 29 30HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY General John Caldwell. "D)edicated to the memory of General John Caldwell in pursuance of an order of the Legis- lature of Kentucky, approved 15th of January, 1831. The son of Robert and M. Caldwell: he was born in Charlotte County, Virginia, on the - day of and departed this life on the 9th of November, 1804. A meritorious officer of the Revolit- tion. He was taken prisoner by the British at the siege of Charleston in 1780. E migrated to Kentucky at an early day and was an ef- ficient officer against the Indians of the West. As an evidence of the high estimation in which he was held by his country- men and of his capacity to be useful, he was, after many years of distinguished services as a Senator, elected Lieut. Governor, which office be filled at the time of his death." "To the memorv of George Madison, fifth Governor of Kentucky. This monument was erected in compliance with a resolution of the Legislature approved January 16th, 1874, which directed his remains to be removed from the old burial ground northeast of the capitol to this cemetery. lie was a soldier of the Revolutionary War, of the various conflicts with the Indian savages of the frontier, particularly distinguished in the campaigns of Scott and Wilkinson, and in the battles fought by St. Clair and Adair, in both of which he was wounded. His military career was gloriously closed at the River Raisin, where his heroic resolution saved the troops under his command from the general massacre. although resulting in honorable captivity for himself in the British prison of Quebec. Alike distinguished in civil employment, he served the State with probity and intelligence for more than twenty years as Auditor of Public Accounts, and was finally elevated in Au- gust, 1816, by the unanimous voice of the people of Kentucky to the highest office within their gift. While in the public service, in the 53rd year of his age, on the 11th of October, 1816, his private and public virtues-civil and military life, were crowned by a death hallowed by religion evincing its consolation to the good and the brave." In addition to the Revolutionary soldiers named above, the 30 IfISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETY 31 following fourteen named persons complete the list of those buried in the State lot, to-wit: Governor James T. Morehead, 1797-1854;)JIillianm. T. Barry, B. 1.. Clark, John C. Mason, Judge John M. Elliott and Susan J. Elliott, his wife, Col. Walter Chiles, 1810-1862. He-was State Senator. Milton B. Buster, 1824-1864, was also State Senator. Col. Drury W. Poor, Representative from Logan County, died at Frankfort. Col. Thomas Dollerhide, a soldier in the War of 1812, died at Frankfort. December Sth, 1827. He was a Senator from Pulaski County. John 1F'. Floor, Representative from Logan County; Catherine Adair, wife of Governor John Adair; Joel T. Hart and Chief Justice Caswell Bennett. Judge William Taylor Barry was born in Virginia on February 15th, 1 784. came to Kentucky in 1796, was educated at Kentuckv Academy in Woodford County, and Transylvania. He located in Lexington in the year 1805, and commenced the practice of law. En a short time thereafter he was appointed Attorney General for the Commonwealth. He represented Favette County in the Kentucky Legislature several times and subsequently was in the State Senate and represented his dis- trict in Congress. In the War of 1812 he was aide-de-camp of Governor Shelby, and wes at the battle of the Thames. He was Speaker of the Kentucky House of Representatives, and later was elected to a seat in the United States Senate. In the contest between the New Court and the Old Court he was a leader of the New Court Party with Rowan, Bibb, Sharp and Bledsoe. and became Chief Justice of the New Court. Later he became Lieutenant-Governor of Kentucky. On the election of General Jackson as President, he ap- pointed Mr. Barry to the position of Postmaster-General. In 1835 he was appointed Minister to Spain, but he died at Liver- pool on his way to his post of duty. Joel T. Hart, sculptor and poet. Born 1810; died 1877. He made the busts of Cassius M. Clay, Andrew Jackson, John J. Crittenden and Henry Clay. Those of Andrew Jackson and Henry Clay in the Historical Rooms at Frankfort, Kentucky. His ideal productions made him famous, among which are his "RVenus de Medici." "Angelina," etc. His last and 31 2 HISTORY OF THE FASKFORT CEMETERY greate work was 'Triumph of Chastity," on which he worked for more than twenty years. This was the finest piece of statuarv ever seen in Anerica. It wos destroved when the court house at Lexington was burnt. His last resting place is marked by a square block of Quincy marble, the top.of which slopes to the east, and on which is earned ' Freeted to the memory of Joel T. Hart, by the tate of Kentuckv. Born February 11th, 1810. Died March 2nd, 1877. Seek him not here but in the stone where he lives in his own art's immortality." .James '. Morehead, 179!7-1854. Small marker loated in State lot near Governor Charles Scott. James T. Morehead, a thoroughly educated lawyer, was elected Lieutenant-Gover- nor in 1832, and became Governor on the death of Governor Breathitt, February, 18334. He was a fluent and graceful speaker and Strong writer: was United States Senator from 1841-1847. Governor Morehead war doubtless the best edu- ted man who was ester Governor of the State. On the B. L. Clark monument is found "Beverly Leonidm Clark. Born at Winterfield, Chesterfield County, Virginia, February 11th, 1.808. Died in the City of Gautemala, Central America, March 18th, 1860. As a representative from the County of Simp on in the LIlature of Kentucky; as a mem- r of Congress of the United States, as a delegate of the Ken- tuelk convention which formed the present Constitution of the Commonwealth. and as Minister from the United States to Cen- tral America, Beerly L. Clark discharged every duty with dis tinction to himself, fidelity to his State and imperishable honor to his country. Kentucky mourns the loss of her patriot son." "Kentucky by joint resolution of her General Assembly, appoedth of Februa , 1868, in memory of the services of her distinguished son, directed that his mortal remains should be removed from the city of Gautemala in Central America, where he died. in the service of his country, to the public ceme- tery at Frankfort. and that this monument should be erected to mar the spot where he slept." Near the Clark monument is a small pillow marked "John C. Mason. Born in Moitgon y County, Kentucky, August 32 HI[STORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY 4lt, 1,802. Married Annie E. Owens, of Owingsville, Kentucky, June 6tlh, 18-47. I)ied August 4th, 1865. Honored by the UInited States of America for services rendered at the battle of Monterey; served six years in the United States Congress." Judge John Milton Elliott, born May 6th, 1820; assassi- nated for having done his duty as a Judge, March 26th, 1879; a statesman of stainless honor. He was a member of the Legis- lature of Kentucky, served three terms in the United States Congress, and two terms in the Confederate Congress. "A Judge of pure heart, strong intellect, fearless, faithful, kind and efficient as a Circuit Judge and Judge of the Court of Ap- peals, he was without reproaeh." On the west side of column: "As a man he was ardent, social, genial, by nature a philanthropist; he won the love of his fellowmen by his gen- erosity and worth. Devoted as a husband; as a friend, faithful and just; a dutiful citizen. an upright official. His crowning virtues were candor, integrity and love of truth." On the north side of the stone is the bust of Judge Elliott, which is said to be a line likeness. The column is crowned by a R4atue of Astraea, the Goddess of Justice, blindfolded, with the Scales of Justice in her hands. fn this same locality is the unique and beautiful monu- ment erected to the memory of James Francis Leonard, on the east face of which is a telegraph instrument with a hand operat- ing it. and beneath which are the figures "30." On the north side is ".fames Francis Leonard. Born at Frankfort, Kentucky, September Sth. 1834. Died at Columbus, Mississippi, July 29th, 1862. Called home by the Grand Chief Operator to work the eternal circuit above." On the west side: "His comrades, the Old Time Telegraphers, have caused his remains to be brought back to his 'Old Kentucky Home,' and erected this monument to his memory." On the south side is: "Ablaze with genius and aflame with zeal, he caught the spirit of the electric force. The first sound reader. He interpreted the telegraphic alphabet of Morse." 33 CHAPTER III. OTHER PROMINEEN'T PEOPLE BURIED IN THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY. There are between ten and twelve thousand people buried in these grounds, the average being about one hundred and fifty per year. To give a short history of each would require more space than the scope of this work will permit; only a short sketch of some of the most prominent are given. There are a number of prominent people buried in these grounds who have no marker of any kind, and the location of their graves are known to only a few people who are now living. Among this number can be named Judge William Lindsey, Judge Caswell Bennett, Judge P. U. Major, General Scott Brown. Congressman A. Y. Fitzpatrick and many others.. Albert G. Hodges (1802-1881) was identified with the his- tory of Kentucky for half a century. He commenced his news- paper career in Lexington, but married a Frankfort woman and moved to Frankfort in 1826. He formed a partnership with James G. Dana in the publication of the Commentator. In 1833 he began the publication of the Commonwealth, and was elected Public Printer, which position he held for a quarter of a century. Gen. John Rodman (1820-1886), about sixty years of age; died October 29th, 1886. He was one of the ablest lawyers in the State. He represented Oldham County in Kentucky Legis- lature in 1-850; represented Franklin County in Kentucky Legislature in 1859, was elected Attorney General of Kentucky in 1867, and re-elected 1871. He was made reporter of the Court of Appeals in 1879. During his term as reporter he pub- lished 78-79-80-81 and 82 Kentucky Reports. There is a very unique stone, an imitation of a wooden cross, located near the Confederate lot, which cost perhaps two thousand dollars; it has no inscription except the word "Mother." There is a tradition concerning it which has never HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY been verified, but whether true or not, the story illustrates the marvelous influence of the word "mother." In this lot is buried three men. each of whom, in turn, was the husband of this mother; as the fruit of these marriages there were three sets of children: the mother died after the last husband had been buried. She left a small estate, and the children readily agreed to spend the two thousand dollars for the monument. But it was more difficult for them to agree on the inscription to be placed on it; after a short controversy the word "mother" was suggested, and it was agreed to by all. Judge Mason Brown died in Frankfort, January 27, 1867, at the age of 68 years. He graduated from Yale College and subsequently graduated from the law school at Lexington. He and Governor Charles S. Morehead compiled a work of great value to the legal profession, known as "Morehead and Brown's Digest." Judge Brown was known as one of the great lawyers of Kentucky. Hle was Commhonwealth's Attorney for several vears and was afterwards elected circuit judge. He was Secre- tary of State during the administration of Governor Charles S. Morehead, and he was United States District Attorney for sev- eral years prior to his death. .Col. Robert 1-. King was Colonel of the 3rd Kentucky Volunteer Cavalrv. He enlisted in the IJnion Army as First Lieutenant in Capt. Albert G. Bacon's company, which was raised in Franklin County. On the death of Capt. Bacon at Sacramento, Lieutenant King became Captain, then Major. Lieutenant-Colonel and afterwards brevetted Colonel for gallant and meritorious conduct. 1He commanded a brigade in Sher- man's "ride to the sea." 0. (G. Cates was a lawyer of ability. He was Attorney Gen- eral of Kentucky under Governor Owsley. He was afterwards Prcsident of the Board of Internal Improvements. Thomas Todd was Judge of the Court of Appeals in 1801, Chief Justice in 1806, and was Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States from 1807 to 1816. Charles S. Todd was Colonel on the staff of Gen. Harrison, in the War of 1812; was Secretary of State under Governor Madison; Representative of Franklin County in the Kentucky .35 HISTORY OF THF' FRANKFORT CEMETERY Legislature in 1817, and was the Agent of the United States to Columbia and Minister to Russia under President Harrison. l)r. William C. Sneed was for twenty-five years a success- ful practitioner at Frankfort. He contributed many valuable articles to the leading medical journals of the country. For some years hemwas President of the State Medical Society. His history of the Kentucky Penitentiary was so well written that the Kentucky Legislature had it published at the expense of the State. He died November 20th, 1862. Gen. D. W. Lindsey (1835-1918) was Colonel of 22nd Kentucky Volunteer Infantry and later was Inspector General of Kentucky. When Gen. John H. Morgan made his raid through Kentucky in 1864, (hen. Lindsey, who was at that time Commander of Second Brigade of G. W. Morgan's Division under Gen. U. S. Grant in the South, was requiested by Gover- nor Bramlette to return to Kentucky and organize the home guards. He was appointed Inspector General of Kentucky, which gave him the rank of Major-General and acting com- mander of all the military forces of the State. After the war he was appointed Adjutant General of Kentucky, and as such made his report in two large volumes, which have been very useful in prosecuting claims for Federal Pensions. He died in 1917. Gen. Ambrose W. Dudley was for fifteen years Quarter- master-General of the United States, and for thirty-seven years President of Branch Bank of Kentucky. He died in Septem- ber, 1884. Capt. John W. Russell (1794-1869) was a soldier in the War of 1812. He gained distinction as a captain of a boat on the Mississippi; he had great physical courage. His fight with the robber band of Lafitte in New Orleans made him famous in all the western country. When the steamer "General Brown" was lost by an explosion his presence of mind and heroism saved the lives of six men. He was in the State Senate in 1854) and was instrumental in building the State Arsenal, which was built in that year. Lieut. John J. Crittenden was on the staff of General Cus- ter, and was one of the sixteen officers (and three hundred en- 36 HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY listed men) who were killed by the Indians on "The. Little Big Horn" the 25th of June, 1876. Thomas N. Lindsey (1807-1877), father of Gen. D. W. Lindsey, was a leading lawyer of Frankfort and a writer of con- siderable note. For a period of about forty years he was a con- tributor to the press under the nom de plume of "Black Jack." A very unique monument of Italian marble marks his last rest- ing place. Near the western driveway is the monument of William Taylor, who died in 1850, in his sixty-eighth year. He was American Consul at St. Domingo, Vera Cruz, Alverado and the City of Mexico. Daniel Weissiger (1763-1829) was one of the Commission- ers who built the State Capitol, which was erected in 1829. He was Clerk of the Franklin County Court for several years, and was one of the substantial citizens of Frankfort for many years. Jacob Swigert was Captain in U. S. A. Volunteer Infantry; at one time Judge of the Franklin County Court; for many years was on01 of the leading citizens of Frankfort. Col. Solomon P. Sharp was thirty-eight years old at the time of his death. He was in the Kentucky Legislature (1813- 1817); was a member of Congress (1818-1819); was Attorney- General in 1821, and resigned that position to make the race against Governor Crittenden for position of Representative of Franklin County in 1825. Governor Crittenden was the leader of the Old Court Party in Franklin County, and was a very popular nian. The New Court Party was dominant in the county, but there was no man of that party in the county who had the qualifications of leadership necessary to win except Col. Sharp. President Madison said of him that he "was the ablest man of his age who had represented the West" in Con- gress. Col. Sharp and his wife are buried just east of the Boone monument. A square marbel shaft about ten feet tall and each side about ten inches broad marks their last resting place. On the west side of the shaft is this inscription: "Eliza T., wife of S. P. Sharp, died January 4th, 1844, in her 46th vear." On the east side is: Solomon P. Sharp was assassinated while extending the hand of hospitality on the morning of 37 3HISTORY OF THLE ENKWORT CEMETERY November 7th (should be the 6th), 1825, and beneath this is, "What thou knowest not now, thou shalt know hereafter." The Confederate monument, erected by the Daughters of the Confederacy, dedicated to the Confederate dead, was un- veiled in the spring of 1892. It is of the finest Italian marble imported from the Carrara quarries, Italy. The base is of granite. There is a life size statue of a Confederate soldier dressed in Confederate uniform at parade rest which crowns the column. The following are the inscriptions on the face of the base: "Our Confederate dead 1861-1865" '-They sleep. What need the question now if they be right or wrong. They know ere this whose cause was just in God, the Father's sight. They wield no warlike weapons now, re- turn no foeman's thrust, who but a coward would revile the honored soldiers' dust." Reverse side: "Greater love hath no man than this that a man lay down his life for his friends." West side: "The marble minstrels' voiceful tone In deathless songs shall tell When many a vanquished age hath flown The story, how ye fell; Nor wreck, nor change, nor winter blight, Nor time's remorseless doom Shall dim one ray of holy light That gilds your glorious tomb." East side: 38 HtIsvrORY OF THE FMANKFRT CEMETUY "To every man upon the earth Death cometh soon or late, And how can man die better Than facing fearful odds For the ashes of his fathers And the temples of his Gods." In a circle around the monument are found the graves of sixty-eight Confederate soldiers, the most of whom died of -dis- ease. at Frankfort, during the Civil War. Mrs. Jennie Chinn Morton died in 1920. She was for many years connected with the Historical Society of Kentucky; was editor of State Register; wrote "Her Dearest Friend" and other poems. Robert Burns Wilson died in New York, and his body was returned to his old Kentucky home and laid to rest by the side of Robert Carmichael near the Boone monument. Inscribed on his tomb is the following: "Robert Burns Wilson, Poet and Painter. Born October 30th, 1850. Died March 31st, 1916. Until the day break and the shadows flee away I will get me to the Mountain of Myrrh and to the Hill of Frank- incense." Mr. Wilson won for himself a permanent place in art and letters. His paintings and poems are regarded by critics as the work of a genius. His poems were published in book form, which he called "Life and Love." He might have been desig- nated as Nature's Poet. He loved the trees and birds and brooks and flowers, and he sought them "As the hart panteth after the water brooks." A quotation from his "Beside the Stream" best illustrates the bent of his mind: "The breath of fields-the song of birds, The lifting leaf, the dancing beam, The landscape wide, the grazing herds, The moving music of the stream, These, do not call for wasted words; These, shall enfold me in their dreams." 39 HISTORY OF THE RANKFORT CEMETERY Gen. Simon Boliver Buckner (1823-1914) was educated at 'West Point; served through the Mexican War; was brevetted first lieutenant for gallant conduct at Cherubusco; was brevetted captain for bravery at Molino-del Rey. In 1860 he became Commander-in-Chief of the Kentucky State Guard, with rank of Major General; was made Brigadier-General C. S. A.; was left in command of Fort Donelson and surrendered with his men. He was exchanged in 1862 and promoted to Major- General. After the battle of Chickamauga was promoted Lieutenant-General; was elected Governor of Kentucky in 1887. On his tomb is inscribed: "Simon Boliar Buckner. Born April 1st, 1823. Died January 8th, 1914. Graduated U. S. Military Academy 1844. Twice brevetted for gallantry in Mexican War 1847. Lieut. General C. S. A. Governor of Kentucky 1887. A noble life devoted to duty, honor, country." Governor William Goebel was a State Senator from 1886 to 1900. He contested the election for Governor of Gen. W. S. Taylor, before the Legislature of 1900. Gov. Goebel was shot from the window in the Secretary of State's office in 1900. After he was shot the Legislature declared him duly elected Governor. He took the oath of office and died in the afternoon of the Sate day, February 3rd, 1900. Governor William Goehel was a successful business main and a successful lawyer: Perhaps no other man in Kentucky ever incurred such bitter opposition. lie was a hard fighter: even his'enemies admired his ability and his fighting qualities. He was a conspicuous member of the Senate at the time he con- tested the seat for Governor. The Goebel monument is' a large block of solid granite crowned by a bronze statue of Gov. Goebel. On the south side is, "Erected vby the people of Kentucky and other states in memoriam of Kentucky's martyr, Governor William Goebel. who devoted and gave his life .in defense of the rights of the people." "The question is: Are the corpora- tions the masters or servants of the people" On the west side is, "Be calm, alide by the law," I forgave them, they do not understand. On north side is, "Governor William Goebel. Born .January 4th, 18561. Tied February 3rd, 1900. "Tell my friend to be brave and fearless and loyal to the great common t0 HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT ,EMETERY people." His last words, On the east side is "Author of the Anti-lottery Law," The pioneer in American railway rate regulating legislation. The'champion of school book legala- tion. Dr. Duncan R. Campbell, L.L.D., native of Scotland; a prominent minister of the Baptist Church; was President of Georgetown College. Henry Wingate was on the first Board of Directors of the Cemetery Comp anyi, and a prominent banker of the city. He was a Knight Templar of high degree. His son, Lucien Wingate, was the first pe rn who wa buried in the Frank- fort cemetery. Colonel Daniel Boone (17351842). The grave which visitors most frequently request to see is that of Daniel Boone, located on the brow of the hill overlooking the city and the Kentucky River. The Legislature of Kentucky appropriated a sufficient sum to have his remains and those of Rebecca, his wife, brought from Missouri and re-interred in a very beauti- ful and picturesque Fpot; this re-interment was on the 13th day of September, 1845. Thousand of peple were present, repre- senting every section of the State; after the coffins were lowered into the grave, hundreds of them passed by and each threw handful of dirt into the open grave. In 1860 the State of Ken- tuckv built a handsome monument to his memory, the panels of which were of Italian marble, but relic hunters so defaced them that the monument w s practically destroyed. In 1906 the State assisted the Daughters of the American Revolution to renew the panels which are an exact reproduction of the original. The base is Georgia granite. The stone of the monu- ment is from Boonsboro. The new panels are Italian marble. The State appropriated two thousand dollars for the purpose of helping to rebuild the monument. The panel facing the south represents Boone in a fight with two Indians, one of whom has been killed; Boone has one foot on the dead Indian and is readv to strike the other one with his knife. The Indian has his war club drawn. ready to strike. On the east side is Rebecca Boone milking a cow. On the north side is a man and boy standing, facing each other; it is supposed to be Boone telling 41 HISTORY OF THE FRAVKFORT CEMETERY the boy where he wanted to be buried. On the west side Boone is sitting in front of his cabin. with a slaughtered deer at his feet. The lot on which the monument is erected contains about a quarter of an acre. The first monument erected in the cemetery is a few feet northeast of the Boone lot, and is located on the Major lot. It has no inscription on it; the column is about eighteen inches square, crowned with a pyramid four feet in height. Rev. H. A. M. Henderson, A.M., D.D. L.L.D., was a minister in the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, of unusual learning and eloquence; he was small of stature but broad minded, and popular with all classes of people. He was a captain in the 28th Alabama Infantry, C. S. A., and was known as "The Soldier Preacher." Later he was com- missioned Lieutenant Colonel, with the pay of a Brigadier Gen- eral. In the fall of 1866 he became the pastor of the Methodist Church at Frankfort, Kentucky. In 1871 he was elected Super- intendent of Public Instruction. In 1874 he was re-elected to the same position. Dr. Henderson was the author of several books, some of which were theological and some were secular. Governor John Jordon Crittenden (1786-1863) was one of the greatest. and probably the very greatest, man who has been buried in the Frankfort Cemeterv. He was the compeer of Clay, Calhoun and Webster, all of whom he survived. When a young man he was an army officer; he served as Major in General Hopkins' expedition to the northwest, and was aide-de- camp of Governor Shelby at the battle of the Thames. In the year 1811 he was elected to represent Logan County in the Kentucky Legislature, and he continued to represent that county for six terms, the last of which (1817) he was Speaker of the Flouse,. and during that term he was elected to the U nited States Senate. He represented Franklin County in the Legislature in 1825-29-30-31 and 1832. He was the leader of the Old Court Party in the controversy between the Old Court and the New Court. Tn 1835 he was re-elected- to the United States Senate and was serving in that capacity when President Harrison appointed him Attorney General for the United States, which position he resigned and was again elected 42- HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY to the Federal Senate (1843). He resigned that position to make the race for Governor in 1848. He also resigned the posi- tion of (Governor in 1852 to accept the appointment of Attor- ney General under President Fillmore. After the expiration of his term as Attorney General he was again elected to the Federal Senate. Governor Crittenden was serving his second term as member of the lower House of Congress from the Ash- land l)istriet at the time of his death. He was the recognized leader of the Peace Party. As a man he was loved and honored, and as a statesman he wvas held in reverence by the people of his State and Nation. 'Two of his sons became distinguished during the Civil War; one was a Major General of the Confederate States and the other was a Brigadier General of the United States. Governor Crittenden was President of the Border State Convention, held at Frankfort in 1861. On the north side of his monument is: John Jordon Crittenden. Born September 10th, 1787. Died July 20th. 186:3. On south side is: Erected by the State of Kentucky in honor of her illustrious son, John J. Crittenden. member of the Legislature, Governor, Represen- tative and Senator in Congress and Attorney General of United States. West side: For fifty vears he devoted himself with in- flexible integrity, consummate wisdom and patriotic zeal to the cause and service of his native State and of his whole country. his great talents made him preeminent in the elevated offices he filled, and placedi him among the first of American states- men. "Ivet all the ends thou aim'st at be thy country's, thy Grod's and truth's." These were among his last. words. They were the rule of his life, and are a fitting inscription for his tomb. The historv of the nation will bear witness to his loftv patriotism, and Kenticky will ever cherish the memory of her son. Mrs. Emily Tubi'an, a sister of Landon A. Thomas, was born and reared in Frankfort. She donated twenty-six thous- and dollars for the purpose of building the Christian Church at Frankfort, dedicated August 11th, 1872. She endowed a clair in Bethany College, and materially assisted the Kentucky It tn- - ersity and the Orphan School at Midway. 43 HISTORY OF TUE FRANKFORT CEMETEY Captain John cannon was owner and iii charge of the Robert E. Inc, and gained national notoriety by defeating the Ntchlex. Captain Leathers was in charge of the Natchez, a boat built at Cmininnati, Ohio, at a coot of two hundreI thousand dollars, for t.he expres purpose of defeating the Robert E. Lee. The" race had been talked of for many months prior to the great ra ce. At one minute before five o'clock on June 30th, 1870, the great race was started. The time from New Orleans to St. Louis was three days, eighteen hours and twenty-seven minutes, defeating the Natchez three hours and thirtyne minut. Perhaps no other race in all the history of the world created such widespread interest. Many thousand people were on the river fronts to see the boats pai. At night the banks were almost a conti nual blaze of campfires. Millions of dol- Ixrs were wage. on the result. One enthusiastic admirer of the Natchez, who lived in the city d Natchez, staked ll of ,is (ahl) and then bet his home against thirty thousand dollars on thie NTatchez. This race made Captain Cannon the most fanmtous man in America. Captain Cannon was born in Frankfort, Kentucky, in 1810, and died at Frankfort in 1880. His life was practically spent on the isiippi, Red and Ouachita rivers. The great rave of the Lee and Natchez was an occurrence that gained world-wide notoriety. Near the Boone monument is a stone marked "Robert Carmichael. Died Jannary 17th, 1858; aged 40 years. He located and w1as the first superintendent of these grounds." Judge William Iin say (18351909) was Captain C. S. A.; was on staff of Generals Buford and Forrest. Elected State Senator in 186, Judge of the Court of Appeals in 1876 and became Chief Justice at forty-one years of age; was elected State Senator from Franklin County in 1890 and United States Snator in 1893. I e ws one of the great men of the nation. No sone of anv kind marks his gryve. William Cromwell died December 18th, 1909. He was for twenty years Chief Clerk of the State Senate. His memory and power of endurance were marvelous. Judge Patrick Tipsher Major (1822-1903). Was County 44 HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CHMETERY Attorney in 1852: -Commonwealth's Attorney 1856; Circuit Judge 1870. The strongest criminal lawyer who ever engaged in the practice at Frankfort. His grave is not marked Major Frank Murphy Scanland was buried in the Frank- fort Cemetery on Wednesday, October 26th, 1920, aged 38 years. Major Scanland was very mysteriously assassinated in New York. He had been discharged on account of disabilities a few days prior to his death. He had been in the United Staii Army for about eighteen years, and had seen service in the Philippine Islands and in Panama; he was brevetted Major for gallant conduct in the world war; he was gassed and also wounded with shrapnel while serving in Italy as Major of 332d Infantry. He was in the service overeaes for two years and prior to that time was Drill Tlaster at Camp Sherman. Gen. JoLn J. Pershing gave him the following citation: United States Army. U. S. A. A. E. F. Major F. M.' Scanland, 332 Infantry. For exceptionally meritorious and conspicuous services at Cattaro Dalmatia, Italy. American Expeditionary For es. In testimony thereof and as an expression of appreciation of these services I award him this citation. Awarded on 20th June, 1919. JOHN J. PERSHING, Commander-in-Chief. Col. S. I. M. Major died June 21st, 1880. He was born in Franklin County September 14th, 1830, and was educated by B. B. Sayre. He was regarded as one of the best educated men in Frankfort. In 1853 he became the Editor of the Yeoman, winch was considered the leading Democratic paper in the State during the time he was Editor. An incident in his editorial life was a challenge to fight a duel in 1857, sent by Thomas M. Green. Col. Major was Public Printer for twenty-five years. In 1867 he was elected to the Kentucky Legislature and in the following year wa elected Mayor of Frankfort, which position he held for four terms. 45 6HORY OF THE 1NEAKOBT CEMETERY James Andrew Scott. Represented Franklin County in the Kentucky Legislature and was Master Commissioner of the Franklin Circuit Court. He was a prominent lawyer of Frank- fort for many years. Pat McDonald, lawyer, editor and Democratic politician, died March 14th, 1901. He was a Magistrate of Franklin County and was the best informed man on county affairs in the county. For many years he was editor and publisher of The Western Argus. Miles Ragland was killed in the World War. He was buried a short distance west of the State Monument on August 7th, 1921. Stewart Hosler was a private in the 166th U. S. Infantry. He was killed in France July 28th, 1918, in the memorable drive of the American troops on the western front. Hon. Thomas Francis Marshall (1801-1864). Was born in Frankfort, Ky. Represented Woodford County in the Ken- tucky Legislature 1832-3. Served two terms in the Kentucky Legislature from Louisville. He returned to Woodford County and again represented Woodford in the Legislature. Was elected to Congress from the Ashland District in 1841. Served as Captain in a company of cavalry in the Mexican War. Rep- resented Woodford County in the Kentucky Legislature again in 1853. He fought three duels, one with John Rowan, Jr., one with James Watson Webb, editor of the New York Courier and Enquirer, and one with Gen. James S. Jackson. He was an able lawyer and was one of the greatest orators Kentucky has produced. His remains were removed from Woodford County in May, 1921, to the State Cemetery at Frankfort. Dr. T. D. Elliott, a wealthy physician of Bardstown, Ken- tucky, came through Frankfort with his only daughter. They visited the Frankfort Cemeterv and she was so much pleased with the beauty of the place that she told her father that she wanted to be buried there when she died and her father told her that her request would be granted. A few months later she died of a fever, and in compliance with her request he brought her remains to Frankfort, and since then he has had erected to 46 1'ISTORY OF THLE FRANKFORT CEMETERY her memory a beautiful monument of Italian marble. He had the work done by the noted sculptor, R. E. Launitz Mr. Charles Eugene Hoge, 1845-1919. Contractor for rail- roads and public works. President of Mason Ford Company, later, Hoge-Mlontgomery Company, shoe manufacturers. Presi- dent of State National Bank. President of Frankfort Cin- cinnati Railroad Company. President Home Realty Company. Director Kentucky Theological Seminary, Center College, Capi- tal Trust Company, Central Kentucky Traction Terminal Company and Commonwealth Life Insurance Company. Mem- ber College Board of Presbyterian Church, U. S. A., and Elder First Presbyterian Church, Frankfort, Kentucky. Mr. Horatio Pleasant Mason, builder of railroads and pub- lic works contractor. President of Mason Hoge Company. President of Mason Hanger Company. He built railroads and canals in different parts of the LUnited States. Vice-Presi- dent of State National Bank. Senator Thomas H. Paynter (1852-1921). Was elected County Attorney of Greenup County in 1872. Represented the Ninth Congressional District in the Fifty-first, Fifty-second and Fifty-third Congress. He was judge of the Court of Appeals in 1894; was Chief Justice in 1906. He was elected to the United States Senate in 1906 and served one term. Dr. Urban Valentine Williams (1833-1920). Was Com- missioner of Public Schools for Franklin County; President of the School Board of the City of Frankfort for sixteen years; wps member of the Faculty of the Kentucky Military Institute for several vears. Was President of the Franklin County Medical Association from the time of its organization until his death, and was also President of the Kentucky Midland As- sociation for many years. Represented the State of Kentucky in the National Medical Society at Atlanta, Georgia, by ap- pointment of Governor J. C. W. Beckham. He was an eminent physician who practiced his profession for more than sixty years. Bishop Benjamin Bosworth Smith. Was Bishop of the Episcopal Church. In 1830 he was called to Christ Church, Lexington, Kentucky. He was chosen Bishop of Kentucky. in 47 HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY 1832, and was the first Superintendent of Public Instruction. In 186S he became the presiding Bishop of the Protestant Episcopal Church in the United States. He died in New York City on fay 31st, 1884. He loved Kentucky and he requested that his remains should be brought back to rest in her soil. His request was complied with and after a funeral in New York his remains were bro ught to Kentucky and placed in the State Cemetery at Frankfort and marked by a monument of New England granite, erected to his merory by the Diocese. His funeral at Frankfort was one of the most imposing religious services ever held in the city; three Bishops and about thirty Clergymen took part in the services. John J. Marshall (17851846). Reporter of Kentucky Court of Appeals; Circuit Judge; eminent lawyer. Martin D. Hardin (1780O-1823). In 1812 was Major in Colonel Allen's regiment of riflemen. Was Secretary of State under Governor Shelby (1812-16): was United States Senator by appointment of Governor Slaughter in 1816. Col. John J. Hardin, member of Congress from Illinois, who was killed at the battle of Buena Vista in 1847, and whose name was inscribed on the State monument by special act of the Kentucky I egilature, was the son of Martin D. Hardin. Dr. W. B. Rodman, son of General John Rodman, was one of the prominent physicians of America. His first work of note was as a lecturer at the Jefferson Medical College. He hadg address, a good voice and in a short time he became one of the noted physicians of this country. In practice he was eTecally succesful as a surgeon; he was a pioneer in sev- eral sueful operations, iuch as connecting the stomach and bowels, and in the removal of tumors. He was at the head of his profession in Philadelphia. He also wrote the biography of Dr. Samuel D. Gross. which was a work of considerable meit. At the time of his death he was President of the Ameri- can M ediea Association. A. William Rodman, son of Dr. Hugh Rodman, was the father of the State Bard of Health, and was one of its first mbe. A. W. Overton. For several years was cashier of the Farm- 48 HISTORY OF TRE FRANKFORT CEMETERY ers Bank, Frankfort Kentucky.- In the year 1864 he was a cadet at the Virginia Military institute and was called to the service of the Confederate States in the valley of Virginia and on the lines around Richmond. On the 15th of May, 1864, at New Market, he, with the other eadets of V. M. I., were ordered to take a certain Federal battery which had ben particularly annoying to the Confederate Army. As the cadet corps passed, preparing for the charge, some of the veterans derided and made fun of the "infants"' as they were called. The charge was gallantly made. As the ranks were thinned bv shot and shell, the lines were more closely drawnwithout a waver or a faltering footstep these boys, many of w hom were not as hmng as the gum they carried. made the charge and captured the battery. Out of the two hundred and fifty boys, more than fifty of them fell. As the corps made its return the veterans who had derided the "infatnts" took off their hats and gave them cheer after cheer in ayppreciation of their gallant conduct. Col. John Rodman, U. S. A. Born February 24th, 1787. Died .July 11th, 1833,. Mrs. Margaretta Brown (1772-1838). Was the wife of United States Senator John Brown. She was eminent for talents, learning, charity, piety and all the virtues which adorn female character. She organized the first Sunday Schgol in the Mississippi valley. Lieutenant Anthony Crockett (17581838). Was Lieu- tenant in the Revolutionary War. When LaFayette was severelv wounded at the battle of Brandywine, Lieutenant Crockett carried him from the battlefield to a place of safety. He was a member of Virginia Legislature from Kentucky; was later a representative from Franklin County to Kentucky Legislature; for thirty years he was Sergeant-at-Arms of Ken- tucky Senate; was a soldier in the War of 1812; was bured in the Benson church yard. In 1916 his remains were removed to the Revolutionary soldier lot in Frankfort Cemetery. Mrs. Elizabeth Love, born Februay 4th, 1762; died January 17th, 1.846. She was one of the strong characters of pioneer days. Her husband was a Major in the Revolutionary War. He came to Frankfort with General Wilkinson and 49 HISTORY OF TIF FRANKFORT CEMETERY helped to lay off and establish the City of Frankfort. Mrs. Love was remarkable for her personal beauty, social and Christian virtues. The Love Hotel, of which she was proprietor, was the most noted hotel in the western country. She entertained Aaron Burr and manv other noted men. She assisted Mrs. Margaretta Brown in organizing the first Sunday School in the Mississippi valley. Isham Talbot (1.77.3-1837). Was elected to the State Senate in 1812. In 1815 he was elected to the United States Senate, and in 1820 he was re-elected. -Judge Thomas B. Monroe (1791-1865). Represented Barren County in the Kentucky Legislature in 1816; was Sec- retary of State in 1823 under Governor Adair; was Reporter of the Court of Appeals in 1825. In 1834 he was appointed Judge of the United States District Court by President Jackson, and held that office twentv-seven years. General George Bibb Crittenden, son of John J. Crit- tenden, served as officer in war between Texas and Mexico; was Brigadier-General C. S. A.; was elected State Librarian in 1867. Near the Boone monument is a stone marked "Elison Wil- liamson. The friend and companion of Daniel Boone; born April 19th, 1766, in North Carolina; died August 11th, 1850, in Kenton County, Kentucky." William O'Connell Bradley (1847-1919.) A special act of the Kentucky Legislature granted him the right to practice law when he was eighteen years of age. He was elected prose- cuting attorney in 1870; was elected Governor of Kentucky in 1895, and to the United States Senate in 1908. Hon. Joseph C. S. Blackburn (1838-1918). In 1861 he was aide-de-camp to General William Preston, C. S. A. In 1864 he had an independent command in Mississippi until the close of the war. In 1871 he represented Woodford County in the State Legislature. In 1874 he was elected to Congress in the Ashland District. In 1898 he was elected United States Senator from Kentucky. In 1900 he was appointed Governor of Panama. Mrs. Terese Graham, wife of Senator Blackburn, is buried near her distinguished husband. On the marker of so HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY his grave is inscribed: Ile passed through life the friend of all. Hon. James Blackburn, brother of Hon. J. C. S. Black- burn, was State Senator and a Major in the Confederate Army. Major Blackburn was highly recommended for the position of United States Marshal. President Cleveland indicated that he would give him the appointment. About that time a letter which the Major had written while he was Lieutenant in the Confederate Army, and which had been intercepted by federal authorities some forty years prior thereto, was published. This letter told about the great Confederate victory at Shiloh, and it further said that he hoped the time would come when he could ride through Yankee blood up to his saddle skirts. This idle, boastful wish of the young Lieutenants prevented the ap- pointment of the Confederate veteran to the important position of Marshal. Dir. Luke P. Blackburn (1816-1887), brother of J. C. S. and James Blackburn, was located in Lexington in 1835. When cholera broke out at Versailles he was the only doctor in the State who answered the call for help, all the physicians having fled from Versailles or died. Dr. Blackburn located there. Tn 1843 he was elected to the Kentucky Legislature from Woodford County. In 1848 when yellow fever appeared in New Orleans he again answered the call for help, and he built a hospital at that place at his own expense. In 1861 he bec-wu-ie 'attached as surgeon to the personal staff of General Sterling Price, C. S. A. When the yellow fever visited Memphis he volunteered his aid and rendered great service to that city. He volunteered in more epidemics of cholera and yellow fever than anv other man has ever done. He was elected Governor of Kentucky in 1879. The monument erected to his memory by the Commonwealth of Kentucky was unveiled on May 27th, 1891. The Masons con- ducted the ceremony, and addresses were made by Hon. Wil- liam M. Beckner and Gen. Basil W. Duke. Hon. Robert P. Letcher (1788-1861) was a soldier in the War of 1812; represented Garrard County in the Kentucky Legislature several times. In 1822 he was elected to Congress, 51 HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY serving in that capacity for twelve years; was Speaker of the House of Representatives in 1838; was Federal Judge; was elected Governor of Kentucky in 1840. In 1849 he was ap- pointed Minister to Mexico. He died January 24th, 1861. "Sagacity, integrity, social wit and benignity crowned his life with untarnished honor and rare popularity. His name is his best epitaph." Hon. Charles S. Morehead (1802-1868) represented Nelson County in the State Legislature in 1827, and moved to Frank- fort; was appointed Attorney General in 1832. In 1838 he was elected to Legislature from Franklin County; was Speaker of the House in 1841 and 1844. He was elected to Congress in 1847. In 1853 he was again elected to represent Franklin County. In 1855-.he was elected Governor. He was a civil prisoner, sympathized with the South during Civil War and lost a great part of his -property. In 1861 he served in Border State Convention and as Peace Commissioner at Washington. Gen. James Harlan (1800-1863) was appointed Common- wealth's Attorney in 1829; was elected to the Lower House of Congress in 1837. Was Secretary of State under Governor Letcher 1840-1844. In the year 1845 he was elected to the House of Representatives in the Kentucky Legislature. In 1850 he was appointed Attorney General of Kentucky. Later he was appointed United States District Attorney. Judge John M. Harlan, Justice of the Supreme Court of thy United States, was a son of General James Harlan. Judge George Robertson McKee (1810-1889) was Circuit Judge in Covington District; was an able judge and a strong advocate. He was a nephew of Chief Justice George Robert- son. James G. Dana was publisher of The Commentator and Re- porter of the Kentucky Court of Appeals. John H. Hanna was Clerk of the United States District Court and a prominent banker and business man of Frank- fort, Kentucky. Captain Ed Porter Thompson, C. S. A., was Superintend- ent of Public Instruction and Historian; resigned as State Librarian in 1890. He published his "Young People's History 52 HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY of KentUcky" in 1897. Prior to that time he issued his excel- lent '"History of The First Kentucky Brigade" C. S. A. Judge Alvin Duvall (18183-1891) represented Scott County in Kentucky Legislature; was Circuit Judge and Judge of the Court of Appeals. He was afterwards Clerk of the Court of Ap- peals; he was also Reporter of the Court for several years. Almost in front of the chapel is found a small marker with the simple inscription: "Henry T. Stanton, June 30th, 1834; Mlay 8th, 1898." Major Stanton was known as the "Poet Laureate of Ken- tuckv." He wrote numerous short poems, which were collected and published in two books: "The Moneyless Man and Other Poems," and "Jacob Brown and Other Poems ;" his most noted work was "The Aloneyless Man." These poems gained for him a national reputation as a man of letters. Major Stanton was associated with Colonel J. Stoddard Johnson in writing the His- torv of Louisville. The first verse of his "Moneyless Man" is as follows: "is there no place on the face of the earth Where charity dwelleth and virtue hath birth; W17here bosoms in merev and kindness will heave, Where the poor and the wretched shall ask and receive 1.s there no place at all where a knock from the poor Will send a. kind angel to open the door Nay, search this wide world wherever you can, There is no open door for a moneyless man." The fact that only a small marker notes the grave of Major Stanton, and that so many great men have not even a marker to designate their last resting place, the liberty is now taken to add to this poem the following lines: Go to the cemetery where the wealth of the mart Has erected great columns of beauty and art, Where shaft after shaft in the glittering sun Tell the brave deeds our heroes have done; Where soldiers and statesmen and men of renown, 53 54 HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT"CEMETEBY After life's weary struggle, can always be found; Go search for a monument and find if you can One which was erected to a moneyless man. Major Stanton's "Jacob Brown" is a pleasing little imagi- native story based upon the uncharitable view which some peo- ple take of women, illustrating how impossible it is "to stop the lady's tongue." Illis "Ciulex In Carminie" gives a history of "A Mosquito, lean and thin," looking for "Carmine," what he found and what became of him. His "Parson (Giles" was severelv criticised by Dr. H. A. M. Henderson. This criticism was the beginning of a sharp con- troversy between Major Stanton in the Courier-Journal and Dr. Henderson in the Kentucky Freemason. His "Self-sacrifice" is a satire which was well received and greatly enjoyed at the time of its first publication. CHAPTER IV. THE NA'MES AND LOCATION OF SOME OF THE NOTED PEOPLE BUR1IND AT FRANKFORT, GIVING THE OFFICES HELD BY THEM, OR OTHER INCIDENTS WORTHY OF NOTE. Hon. John Brown (1757-1837) was elected to the Vir- ginia Legislature from Kentucky, and was sent to the Old Con- gress from Kentucky before it was admitted as a state. He was also the first Senator from Kentucky to the Federal Senate. He served three terms in the United States Senate. He is buried on the first terrace overlooking the city, a few yards south of the Boone monument. Judge Mason Brown is also in the same locality. In the southwestern portion of the grounds can be found Captain Benjamin J. Monroe, C. S. A. Born at Frankfort, Kentucky, and died at Marshall City, Mississippi, of wounds received at the battle of Shiloh in 1862; and near him is Major Thomas B. Monroe, C. S. A., born at Frankfort, Kentucky, July 3rd, 1833; was Secretary of State in 1850; killed at the battle of Shiloh, April 7th, 1862. Captain John M. Sharp of the United States Navy, was drowned in the Gulf of Mexico, May 28th, 1863. His body was never recovered, but a nice monument was erected to his memory. Near this monument is one inscribed: "William S. Harris, U. S. N., born in Kentucky in 1800; entered the Navy in 1815; drowned on the Tauxpan Bar in Mexico, May, 1848. He was a brave, skilful and gallant officer, and when in com- mand of the Iris, with self-sacrificing heroism, lost his own life in a desperate attempt to save that of Commander H. Pickney and others. His life was without reproach. His death was a becoming illustration of his principles and his profession. His body was recovered from the sea and is buried here." In that same locality is found "Joseph Belt, Sr. A Revolutionary sol- dier. Born November 30th. 1751. Died- September 12th, 1850." 6hISTORY OF THE FPiNKFOIIT CEME1TERY In that section can be found the last resting place of Dr. John Mc(lusky Blayney (1841-1909); he was a broad minded, patriotic Christian gentleman, who deserves special mention because of his services on behalf of Frankfort in the fight for retaining the capitol. He was in charge of the Presbyterian Church at Frankfort, Kentucky, for many years. The grave of Professor B. B. Sayre is found in the extreme southwest corner of the grounds. He was one of the most celebrated teachers in Kentucky; his influence has been felt throughout the State and Nation. He educated, at least in part, General George B. Crittenden, General Thomas L. Crit- tenden, Governor T. T. Crittenden, of Missouri, Federal Sena- tor George Vest, Senator J. C. S. Blackburn, General D. W. Lindsey, Judge P. U. Major, Colonel S. I. M. Major, and many other men who have been important factors in] the govern nient of both state and nation. Professor W. 0. Crockett, who suc- ceeded Prof. B. B. Sayre, taught a private male school for mally years. A large number of the business and professional men in Frankfort at the beginning of the present century were edu- cated by him. Some of the other prominent teachers who are buried in these grounds are Professor S. P. Browder, Superintendent of the Frankfort Public Schools for many years; Captain John Thomas Gaines, C. S. A., who was Superintendent of the pub- lic schools in Louisville, and Major Martin S. Harmon (1821- 1848) of Ohio who taught French and German at the Ken- tucky Military Institute. Near the Sayre lot is the shaft of Congressman John White (1802-1845), who was Speaker of the National House of Rep- resentatives; also Judge Harry Innes, Judge of the United States District Court and of the Kentucky Court of Appeals, and Judge Van B. Young was Judge of the Superior Court of Kentucky. Congressman A. Y. Fitzpatrick is buried in Colonel South's lot; his grave is not marked. Isham Talbot, a native of Virginia and a pioneer of Kentucky: "A statesman distin- guished in law and oratory; called to the United States Senate. 56 HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY Died September the '5th, 1837, bequeathing his virtues and worth." Chief Justice Caswell Bennett died in 1894; no stone marks his grave. He is buried in the State lot near Governors Scott and James T. Morehead. General Scott Brown, Adjutant General under Governor Magoffin, is buried in front of the chapel; his grave is not marked. He possessed considerable wealth at the time of his death. General Humphrey Marshall, C. S. A., has a small marker, about twelve by eighteen inches. His grave is located in the extreme eastern part of the grounds near the eastern driveway. Judge B. Mills, legislator, lawyer and judge, and his wift, Cornelia, who was a daughter of Rev. Eli Smith, are buried east of the State monument; they were the parents of EvangeliA B. Fay Mills. Richard Knott, and Ann Mary Roberts, his wife, are located just east of the western driveway. They were the par- ents of Colonel Richard Knott, editor of the Louisville Post, who has recently died. John J. rest and his wife, Harriett, were the parents of Federal Senator George Graham Vest of Missouri. Their graves can be found east of the State monument near those of Nicholas Smith and wife, Kiziah Johnson, who were the par- ents of Col. Nicholas Smith, one of the editors of the New York Tribune, and of whom it was said, "He is the handsomest ma in America." Col. Smith married the daughter of Horace Greelev. The Frankfort Chapter of the Daughters of the Ameri- can Revolution has recently secured a lot located in the ex- treme southwestern part of the grounds, for the purpose of collecting from all parts of the State the remains of the Revo- lutionary soldiers, and eventually to erect a monument to their memory. In this lot has been collected the remains of James Russell, Alexander Wilson, Sr., Colonel Anthony Crockett, Rev. William Hickman and wife, and the Rev. John Gano and wife. The Rev. William Hickman was justly recognized as the first Baptist preacher in Kentucky. He preached at Har- 57 HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY rodsburg in 1776, and he preached in different parts of Ken- tucky for forty years. For many years during that period he was located at Buck Run church near the Woodford County line. The Rev. John piano was the first to be buried in the D. A. R lot. He was perhaps the greatest Baptist preacher who ever lived in Kentucky. He was educated at Princeton College, and was recognized as being the most learned and eloquent preacher in the western country. He was the first chaplain of the Kentucky Legislature, and there is a well founded tradi- tion that he preached the first sermon ever preached in Frank- fort. Rev. Gano was a chaplain in the Revolutionary War and so frequently was he found in the van in time of danger. and so seldom in the rear, that he became known as "the fight- ing chaplain of the army." The grave of Rev. Silas M. Noel, D.D., is located a short distance south of the D. A. R. lot, near Governor Letcher. He was educated for the law and was appointed Associate Circuit Judge under the Old Constitution. He was a member of the Frankfort Bar, and practiced his profession with success. After a few years he returned to the ministry, where he became one of the strongest and most successful preachers the Baptist Church ever had in the State. When the great Reformer, Alexander Campbell, with his new doctrine, divided almost every Baptist congregation in the western country, Dr. Noel was thought to be the only man who could hold the Frankfort congregation together and refute the arguments of Mr. Campbell. Another strong Baptist preacher buried in these grounds was Dr. John L. Waller; for many years he was editor of "Bap- tist Banner," "Western Recorder," "Western Baptist Review" and "Christian Reporter." He was the first president of the "Bible Revision Association." At least three other preachers of national reputation are found here, to-wit: Bishop B. B. Smith, Dr. H. A. M. Hender- son and Rev. Philip S. Fall, and there are others of almost equal note, such as Rev. George Darsie, Dr. Benjamin Mills, Rev. Thomas N. Arnold, Rev. Thomas S. Major and Rev. H. H. Kavanaugh. 58 HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CBMETERY About twenty-five preachers, forty-one doctors of medi- cine and over eighty lawyers are buried in this cemetery. Many of these men had national reputation. The biography of John J. Crittenden makes two large volumes. If a like biography of all the great men and women who are buried here, and who sre worthy of such a history should be given, they would fill many volumes, and it would make the greatest history of Kentucky that was ever written. On the brow of the hill just north of the chapel can be found the graves of Thomas C. Jones, Clerk of the Court of Appeals and Minister of the United States to Madeira (grave not marked). By his side is Judge William Lindsay, judge, statesman and perhaps the greatest lawyer Ken tucky has ever produced. His grave is also unmarked. Near them is Grant Green, Auditor of State and Secretary of State from 1860 to 1865, and across the driveway is R. R. McKee, congressman, legislator and lawyer. The S. F. J. Trabue lot is the largest of any private owner, and it is the only one on which there is a v'ult. This vault was the work of the celebrated R. E. Launitz, who built the State monument. The angels that guard the entrance to this vault are the products of his skill. The only mausoleum in the grounds is that of Frank Heeney, recently constructed at a cost of about four thousand dollars. It is of granite and marble, and has the appearance of being a permanent structure. It is located in the eastern part of the Catholic ground. A very unique monument is the one erected to the memory of Thomas N. Lindsey (1807-1877), lawyer! statesman and writer. Only a few inscriptions can be found in any part of the cemetery which are out of the ordinary. In this class is that of Dan Driscoll (1855-1886), which is as follows: "Here lies the body of a much lamented youth, For sense distinguished, and esteemed for truth. Now he was beginning to bloom, But alas! he left his mother too soon." 39 HIWrORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY On another is found "Keziah B. Johnson. As much of virtue as could die." Mrs. Jane Madison, wife of Governor George Madison, is buried in the Madison lot on the brow of the hill near the Boone monument. Mrs. M. Train Runyan, a noted teacher of young ladies, and Mrs. Agnes Brawner Franklin, one of the noted teachers of Frankfort, and many other excellent women are buried in these grounds. Mrs. Eudora Lindsey South (1852-1918), teacher and author, wife of Rev. J. K. P. South, established Excelsior Col- legiate Institute in 1878. She ranked well with the educators of the State. Her two books, "Wayside Note and Fireside Thoughts," published in 1884, and "Luther in Rome," pub- lished in 1890, were well received by the reading publie throughout the country. She also wrote many poems and articles for magazines, which received much favorable com- ment. Mrs. Jane Stephens Stout (1799-1872), known by the many Confederate soldiers whom she befriended during the Civil War as "Aunt Jane," was a strong southern sympathizer and gave liberally of her time and means to help the South in the great internecine struggle. A great many of the monuments found in these grounds are of artistic design, and some of them were expensive. That of Alexander, located near the chapel, is said to have cost ten thousand dollars. Those of L. A. Thomas, Hiram Berry, George B. Macklin, R. P. Pepper, and many others are expen- sive and wvell designed. Recently the tomb has come into great favor; several very handsome ones have been placed here during the past few years. In this class can be named that of John W. Rodman, George Baker, Rev. George Darsie, Governor Buckner, Wm. E. Brad- ley, and others. Including Hon. J. C. S. Blackburn, Governor of Panama, there are thirteen Governors buried in these grounds, to-wit: Governors Christopher Greenup, Charles Scott, George Madi- son, John Adair and James T. Morehead are in the State lot about one hundred feet south of the State monument. 60 HISTORY OF THIN: FUtAXKFORT CEMETERY Governor John J. Crittenden is on the first terrace over- looking the city. Governor Luke P. Blackburn is on the second terrace near Governor Crittenden. Governor Robert P. Letcher is in the same neighborhood, on top of the hill, and east of the western driveway. Governor J. C. S. Blackburn is buried about half way between the State lot and Governor Luke P. Blackburn. Governor Charles S. Morehead is a few feet north of the Boone monument. Governors William 0. Bradley and S. B. Buckner are on the mound due west from the State monument, and Governor Goebel is on the north of the ground near the entrance. A summary of the National and State officials follows: Vice President: Richard Mentor Johnson. Governors: Christopher Greenup, Charles Scott, George Madison, John Adair, James T. Morehead, John J. Crittenden. Robert P. Letcher, Charles S. Morehead, Luke P. Blackburn, William 0. Bradley, Simon B. Buckner, William Goehel and J. C. S. Blackburn, Governor of Panama. Ministers to Foreign Countries: Martin D. Hardin, Alex- ander Robertson McKee, Beverly Leonidas Clark, William T. Barry, Thomas C. Jones, William Taylor and Ro'-ert P. Letcher. Secretaries of State: Martin D. Hardini, under Governor Charles Scott: William T. Barry, under (Governor Joseph Desha; John J. Crittenden, under Governor James T. More- head; James Harlan, under Governor Robert P. Letcher; Or- lando Brown, under Governor William Owsley; Grant Green from 1860 to 1865, under several governors; Mason Brown, ull- der Governor Charles S. Morehead; Thomas B. Monroe, under Governor B. Magoffin; A. J. James, under Governor Bramlett.: E. L. VanWinkle, under Governor Bramlett; George W. Crad- dock, under Governor Leslie. Attorney Generals of State: Isham Talbott, William T. Barry, Owen Glendower Cates, James Harlan, Charles S. More- head, John Rodman, A. J. James, P. Watt Hardin, and Solo- mon P. Sharp. Chief Justices of Kentucky Court of Appeals: Harry Innis, Thomas Todd, William Taylor Barry, of New Court, 6t 6HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY Alvin Duvall, Caswell Bennett, George M. Bibb, William Lind- say, and Thomas H. Paynter. United States Senators: John Brown, John Adair, W. T. Barry, Isham Talbot, Martin D. Hardin, James T. Morehead, Ricard M. Johnson', John J. Crittenden, William Lindsay, William 0. Bradley, J. C. S. Blackburn, and Thomas H. Paynter. State Librarians: Joseph J. Bullock, Ed Porter Thompson, A. W. Vallandingham, G. A. Robinson, George Bibb Critten- den, and Mrs. Cornelia Wheat Bush. Adjutant Generals of Kentucky: John B. Tilford. Scott Brown, Marene West, Thomas A. Theobold and D. W. Lind- sey. Perhaps no other cemetery in all the world is more beauti- fully located than the one at Frankfort. The natural scenery of these gounds and their stirromnd- ings are unsurpassed. To this natural beauty has been added much by skilled landscape gardening. The protection which has been given to the birds in the cemetery has eauezed manll varieties to make it their home. The excellent superintendent now il charge (1920), wvlio is versed in botany and ornithology, says there are sixty-two varieties of trees now growing in these grounds, all or nearly all of which are indigenous to Kentucky. There are also found about twenty-five varieties of birds which make their homes, during the summer season, among these trees. A list of the trees include the following named varieties: The largest varieties are the white pine and sycamore. The pine was brought down the river by Robert Carmichael , the first superintendent of the cemetery, who took charge in 1845. Among the evergreens are the hemlock, juniper, arbor vitae, Norway spruce and silver fir. The shrub evergreens, box, holly, mahonia, and southern magnolia are found here. The wahoo is also found here. There are all the varietieR of the maple, Norway, red, sugar, Japanese, birdseye and silver. To the variegated foliage is added the blooms of many trees, in- cluding the catalpa, both red and white dogwood, juineherry, 62 HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY red bud, horse chestnut, wild cherry and the double bloom peach. The maiden hair, white fringe, Normandy poplar, smoke tree, purple leaf beech, purple Norway maple and linn, black and red haw, ironwood, all the varieties of the catalpa, the red elm and English elm. The varieties of oaks include red, white, pin, burr, and cork bark. There are the blue and white ash, tulip, poplar, cut leaf weeping birch, European larch, varnish tree, service berry, willow, boxelder, hickory, Washington thorn, black gum, Eng- lish alder, chestnut, sassafras, walnut, Colorado blue spruce, hackberry, cedar, beech, cottonwood, pecan, butternut, mocker- nut., shagbark hickory, chinquapin, sugar, rock and winged elm, sugarberry, mulberry, osage orange, tulip, cucumber and umbrella trees, pawpaw, hazel, wild yellow plum, coffee tree, yellow bud, leaved hop tree; the hollies, black, red and striped mountain maples, buckeye, buckthorn, linden, basswood, an- gelica, tupelo, great laurel, sour wood, silver-bell, red, green and black ash, with a profusion of flowering shrubbery in all parts of the grounds; roses of every kind, lilacs spirea in three varie- ties, golden dell, rose of Sharon, crepe myrtle, peonies, several kinds of magnolias, snowball, wvgelia dentzia and hydrangea. The arboretum found here is perhaps more nearly complete than that found in any other collection in Kentuck. The list of birds which has been given includes the fol- lowing: Thrush, robin, red-bird, which has been designated by James Lane Allen as "The Kentucky Cardinal," blue-bird, catbird, mocking bird, kinglet wren, creeper, warbler, swallow, finch, hbumiing-bird, oriole, lark and several varieties of wood- peckers. There are also found a few squirrels and chipmunks. It is difficult to find, on a summer afternoon, a more in- teresting place than Kentucky's Necropolis. Here lie three poets of national note, two historians, the greatest sculptor America has produced, the greatest scout and Indian fighter, whose history sounds like fiction, a great law maker who relieved the Nation and the State from that in- cubus known as imprisonment for debt, lawyers, statesmen, soldiers, inventom and men of note in every walk of life; here is the history of Kentucky carved in granite and marble. 63 HISTORY OF TIHE FRANKFORT CEMETERY As you wa through the sets of this beautiful "City of the Dead," and read the history, the heroic acet, the self-sacri- ficing conduct of these men and women, you have a feeling of exaltation, and you are impressed with the idea tat the ground on which you tread is holy ground; that it has been consecrated by having deposited therein the mortal remains of the greatest and best which the world has known. On the day -set apart for decorating the graves of Keni- tucky's honored dead, June, 1920, the following lines were read as a tribute to Kentucky's noted dead: KENTUCKY'S NOTED DEAD. Distinguished dead, Kentucky's honored gret., We come your grave to decorate; Our treasures of frankincense and myrrh We place upon your sepulchre. You are li ving still, your honored name Is written on the rolls of fame; The examples of y our life so shine, They make your grave the pilgrim's shrine. Your course of action has defined The secret longings of your kind; The achievements which you have wrought Are the best exponents of your thought. Brave your deeds, deathless your name, Great your fame, as wish could claim; Pure in purpose, strong in strife, For the common weal you gave your life. The foundation of this State is laid Upon the record which you made; Your life has ben a giding light To teach the world the way of right. Those who died on foreign earth, Far from the land which gave them birth; From the land they went to save We claim the ashes of our brave. 64 HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMIETZY Kentucky has, with generous care, Brought home her dead from everywhere; With a mother's love she did create This, Westminster Abbey of the State. Your sacred dust has in this ground A resting place of honor found, A place in which both Church and State Have dedicated to the great. Woman, with true and gallant heart, Has always borne as brave a part As anyone has ever found On tented field or battle grou d; Always gentle, kind and true, Man iiever failed to find ii yoi, Ais mother, sister, friend or wlife, Thbe verv best there is in life. Virtue, immortal, virtue- oman's inamc. How dim, how shadow-like is fame; How weak are all the powers of earth, Compared to that which gave you birth Here your precious dust is found Near this stone, beneath this mound; In memory of your love and power We place thereon a fragrant flower." 65 CHAPTER V. A roster of the soldiers buried in the State Cemetery, made up of all the soldiers who served in the wars of the Nation, this list includes many names which have been previously men- tioned. Those who served in the Revolutionary War: John Adair, Governor of Kentucky, Aid de Camp to Gen- eral Sumpter; Major Bland Ballard; Joseph Belt, Sr., served five years and seven months, died September 10th, 1850, aged 99 years; Colonel Daniel Boone; John Brown, the first Repre- senative in Congress and the first United States Senator from Kentucky; General John Caldwell; General Henry Crist; Lieu- tenant Anthony Crockett; Rev. John Gano, Chaplain; Chris- topher Greenup (Governor of Kentucky); Rev. William Hick- man, Chaplain; Captain John Howell; Harry Innis, Judge of United States District Court; George Madison (Governor of Kentucky); Thomas Paxton; James Russell; Brigadier Gen- eral Charles Scott; Thomas Todd, Justice of Supreme Court; Elias Williamson, a friend of Boone; Alexander Wilson, Sr. Soldiers of the War of 1812-1815: Brigadier General John Adair (Governor of Kentucky); Major Bland Ballard; William Taylor Barry (Chief Justice of New Court); John B. Bibb; Colonel Daniel Boone; Major John J. Crittenden (Governor of Kentucky), on Staff of General Hopkins; Col. Anthony Crockett; Joseph Crumbaugh; Cap- tain Thomas Dollarhide; General Peter Dudley; Captain Walter Dudley; Major Martin D. Hardin; John A. Holton; Col. Richard Mentor Johnson (Vice-President); Robert P. Letcher (Governor of Kentucky); Major Gen. George Madi- son (Governor of Kentucky); Major Alexander H. Rennick; Captain John W. Russell; James Shannon; Major Solomon P. Sharp; Richard Taylor, Jr., and Samuel Thockmorton; Soldiers who served in the Mexican War: Major Philip Norbourne Barbour; William W. Bayles, killed at Beuna Vista; L. B. Bartlett, killed in battle; Capt. HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY Oliver H. P. Beard; William Blackwell, killed at Beuna Vista; Enoch Bruton, killed at Beuna Vista; Col. Simon Boliver Buckner (Governor of Kentucky); Cyrus Calvert; Henry Carty, killed at Beuna Vista; Adjutant G. N. Cardwell, killed in battle; Col. Walter Chiles; Lieut. Col. Henry Clay, son of the great Commoner, killed at Beuna Vista; Lieutenant Col. Thomas L. Crittenden; Surgeon Richard Davenport; George D.avidson; Newton Dean; Tilford McH. Dozier, killed at Beuna Vista; Ilenry Edwards, killed at 1Beuna Vista; John F. Elling- wood. killed at Beuna Vist; Humphrey Evans; Charles R. Featherstone; Lieut. Col. Ezekiel H. Fields; Major Carey H. Fry; 13. Stewart Wayle; Lieut. C. W. Gilmore; Araham Good- paster, killed at Beuna Vista; W. T. Green, killed at Beuna Vista; Col. John J. Hardin; Ambrose W. Hampton; Col. T. T. Hawkins; Capt. Ilewellyn Harvie; Col. Richard Mentor John- son (Vice President); Clement Jones, killed at Beuna Vista; Robert Latta. killed at Beuna Vista; Col. Humphrey Marshall; Capt. Thomas F. Marshall; John C. Mason; Capt. William H. Maxey; John C. McChesney; James H. D. McKee; Col. Wil- liam R. McKee. killed at Beuna Vista; Robert McKee; Capt. Benjamin Cave Milam; John E. Miles; A. J. Mitchell; Lieut. James Monroe; Sim P. Montague; John Edwin Moore; Capt. James W. Moss; Alexander G. Morgan, killed at Beuna Vista; Major Theodore O'Hara, wrote the Bivouac Of The Dead; A.lmus W. Polsgrove, next to the last veteran of the Mexican war to die in Franklin County; Lieutenant Joseph Powell, killed at Beuina Vista: Fzra. R. Prie ; N. Ramey, killed at Beuna Vista; Alfred Read; C.. A. Robinson; John Sanders, killed at Betina Vista; John A. Scott; James Seston, killed at Beuna Vista; John .Spratt; William Walker Stephens; John Swigert; Lieut. Thos. H. Taylor; C. B. Thomas, killed at Beuna Vista; J. .J. Tharp, killed at Beuna Vista; Yves J. Thoreaux, joined the army the day before and was killed at the battle of Beuna Vista; William Thwaits, killed at Beuna Vista; John F. Todd; Lieut. Thomas J. Todd; Harvie Trotter, killed at Beuna Vista; Major Updike, killed in battle; Benjamin Utterback, was the last Mexican soldier in Franklin County, died 1919; Ad- jutant Edward P. Vaughn, killed at Beuna Vista; Thomas 67 HISTORY OF THE FRA'NKFORT CEMETERY Weigert, killed at Beuna V ista; John Whitehead; James bhite; Captain W. T. Willis, killed at Beunn Vista; Sergt. Henry Wolf, killed at Beuna Vista. Confederate soldiers in the Civil War, 1861-1865: Captain 10ober Allen, 5th Kentucky Inf.; J. L. Abbott, 1 . 36-1917, 6th Kv. Inf., C. S. AX. James Alley; C. A. Ander- on. 7th Florida Inf.; R. A. Anderon, Co. H, 2nd Ky. Inf.; C. Atkins; (eorge R. Bacon, Sth Ky. Cav., and scout for (en. Bedford Forest; lajor John P. Bacon; Captain William Bean; Lieut. John Bell, 4th Kv. Inf.; John Berry; Berbridge Black- Lurn; Col. J. C. S. Blackburn, Governor of Panaa; 'lajor James Blackburn, Co. HI, 1st Regt.; Surgeon Luke P. Black- burn (Governor of Kentucky); lajor Benjamin Blanton, on Gen. Hood's Staff; Alexander Clr. Brawner, Co. H, 2nd Ky. Inf.; Thomas P. Brawner, Co. E, 2nd Ky. lnf.; Jeremiah Brown, 7th Florida Regt.; D. M. Brown, Co. E, 4th Ky. Inf.; Oris T. Bauknight, Florida Regt.; Lieut. Gen. Simon Boliver Buckner (Governor of Kentucky), Inft.; Col. William T. Bullet, Forest's Command; Li eut. George Bibb Burnley, 4th Ky. Jnf., killed at MIirfseehoro; Capt. Fred Carter; Coleman Carr; E. W. Clbris-_ tian, 42nd Ga. Inf.; Lieut. A. J. Church, 3rd Ky. Cav'alry, Morgan's Command; Robert Church, .3rd Ky. Cavalry W. H. Church, 3rd Kv. Cavalry; Robert Cochrane; Major Cen. George B. Crittenden; Sergt. James G. Crockett, Co. E, 4th Ky. Inf., 109t a leg at Jone boro, Augist 31st, 1864; A. T. Dudley; L., Daiievy, Co. F. 1st Ky. Caav.;. Jerry Downing; Lieut. lsham T. Dudley, Co. E, 4th Ky. Inf.; William-T. Dudley; Major Ben F. Duval], Surgeon, th Ky. Inf.; Corelius Duvall, Co. F, 4th Ky. Inf.; Major Humphry Eans, Tenn. Brigade; J. K. Exutm, Co. E, 4th Ky. Inf.; Robert Exum; George Farmer; W. Fen- wick: Col. James Fitzpatrick: Capt. Thomas B. Ford, Commis- sary Department: (en. Thompson B. Flournoy; J. Fugate, Co. B, 5th Kv: Inf.;- Gage, 6th Florida Inf.; Captain J. Thomas Galines. Co. K, 5th Ky. Inf.; Capt. W. L. Gray, Miss. Reg.; Major J. . Gibbons; - Glenn, 34 Ga. Inpound;; Major J. Alex Grant; Tad Gray, Texas Regt.; Capt. Joseph R. Haddock; W. B. Hammond: David C. Hardin; Lieut. William Hardie; Major Lewis E. Harvie, Va. Brigade; Col. T. T. Hawkins, on 68 HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY Gen. Breckenridge's Staff; James Hayden; S. T. Helind; A. A. Henderson, 7th Florida Inf.; Lieut. Col. H. A. M. Henderson, Ala. Regt.; Lieut. Virginius Hendrick, Va. Regt.; Alexander Henry; S. B. Hill, Co. A, 4th Ky. Inf.; Jessie Hockensmith, Co. C, 3 rd Ky. Cav.; N. Horton, shot by order of Gen. Steve Burbridge; Chaplain Lewis Hume; Major Geo. B. Hunt, Miss. Regt.; Col. Jilson P. Johnson, on Gen. Breckenridge's Staff; John William Johnson, 8th Ky. Cav.; Captain Jones, Tex'as Regt., shot by order of Gen. Steve Burbridge; J. Jones. 7th Florida Reg.; Thomas Jones, 1st Ky. Cav.; W. L. Jett, Co. E, 4th Ky. lnf., was captured at Shiloh and was exchanged, wounded at Chickamauga. was wounded again at Resaca and thereby disabled from further field duty; John E. Kirtlev; Chaplain H. H. Kavanaugh, 6th Ky. Inf.; 0. Lafferty, shot by order of Gen. S. Burbridge; Leslie L.ane, Co. 5th Ky. Cav.; George W. Lawler, Co. E, 4th Ky. Inf.; Hugh Leonard; Luke Lewis; Capt. William Lindsay, on Staff of Gen. Forest; Capt. John B. Major, Commander of Port at Knoxville; Thomas Major, afterwards a Priest in the Catholic Church; Gen. Hum- phrey Marshall; John Marshall; Charles Martin, Co. H, 54th Georga Inf.; T. J. Martin, Co. H, 54th Ga. Inf.; Gen. C. E. Mer- rell. was Col. on Staff of Gen. Hood, brevetted for gallant con- duct and commissioned Brig. General, was wounded four times, after the war was Editor of the Nashville Banner, Memphis Ap- peal and Jacksonville Times; William McCollister, 6th Florida Inf.;- McCullock; John McMahan, Co. D, 9th Ky. Inf.; Alamander Mershon, Co. K, 5th Ky. Inf.; William Moffett; Capt. Ben. J. Monroe, Co. E, 4th Ky. Inf.; Col. Victor Monroe; Major Thomas B. Monroe, 4th Ky. Inf.; Lieut. Col. George Monroe; -- Moore, no marker; Montgomery, no marker; John S. Morehead; Frank Morgan; Col. J. W. Moss, 2nd Ky. Inf.; Clinton Neal; Major Luke C. Norman, 4th Ky. Cav.; Col. Theodore O'Hara, on Gen. Breckenridge's Staff; James 0. Ragan, Co. E,. 4th Ky. Inf.; Robert Parsons, Co. E, 4th Ky. Tnf.; Adjt. John Patten, 1st Miss. Artillery; J. H. Pat- tie, Co. K, 5th Ky. Inf.; C. A. Payne; Daniel P. Payne; John W. Payne, Sr., Chief Bugler Orphan Brigade; Major M. T. Poe, Scott's Cav.; A. Pool, 31st Ala. Inf.; J. E. Potts, 7th 69 HISTORY OF T1114 FRANKFORT CEMETERY Florida Inf.; Thomas T. Price, Co. E, 4th Ky. Inf.; W. T. Price, Co. E, 4th Ky. Inf.; Col. John Polk Prior, Ala. Rgt.; Capt. S. V. Pence; Sergt. N. M. Pulliam, Co. D, 2nd Ky. Inf.; Ambrose Quarles: R. S. Ray, 6th Florida; Robert Redd; Lieut. James C. Robb, Co. K, 5th Ky. Inf.; William Robb; Major John Roberts; Benjamin F. Rogers, Co. K, 5th Ky. Inf.; Capt.. H. B. Rogers, Co. D, 2d Ky. lnf.; W. T. Richardson, Co. H, 2d Ky. Inf.; Eugene Scearce; George Scearce; Joe E. Scott, Co. A. 9th Ky. Cav-.: General Preston B. Scott, Co. E, 4th Ky. Inf., Medical Director -f Department; Thomas W. -Scott, Co. A, 9th Ky. Cav.; William Seay; John W. Shannon; Samuel W. Shan- non, Co. E, 4th Ky. Inf.;- Simmons; S. F. Smith; Capt. E. R. Smith, Commander of Georgia Post; Martin South, 5th Ky. inf.; Sam South, 5th Ky. Inf.; Thomas South; Col. J. W. South; Lient. J. K. P. South, preacher in the Christian Church, died in February, 1921; W. J. Spencer, 1st Florida Cav.; Jerry Spaulding, Co. K, 5.th Ky. Inf., at Dalton, Ga.,he was placed on the corps of sharpshooters, and was almost daily engaged with the enemv for four months; Major Henry T. Stanton, brevetted Major for gallant conduct; G. H. Stone; Norton Stoughton; Tabor; Brig. Gen. Thomas H. Taylor, Army of Va.; Ed Thomas, 1st Ky. Cav.; Col. B. Timmons, 2nd Regt. Texas Inf.; Capt. Ed Porter Thompson (State Librarian and Historian), 6th Ky. Inf.; Capt. R. A. Thompson (for many years County Judge of Franklin County, Ky ), Co. E, 4th Ky. Inf.; William G. Thompson, 2nd Ky. lnf. 41. J. Trabue; William Trabue; fifteen graves in the Confederate lot marked "unknown;" George R. Valandingham; Washington Weight; Hubbard Whittington, 8th Ky. Cav., grave not marked; Capt. Robert Wingate; Merrit Williams, Co. E, 5th Ky. Cav.; Sergt. H. C. Williams, 7th Florida; Granville Williams; Capt. H. Z. Will- more. 2nd Maryland Inf.; G. Marsh Woods; R. K. Woodson, Jr., 4th Ky. Inf., killed at Murfreesboro, January 2nd, 1863, he became t.he volunteer color bearer after three others had been killed in that famous charge made by Breckenridge on that day; Samuel D. Winter; J. Wooley, 5th Ky. Inf.; Lieut. G. W. Yates, Co. E, 5th Ky. Inf.; J. Young, 7th Florida. The names of the Federal soldiers and commissions held 70 HISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY by them are as follows: Charles Ames, Co. C, 16th Regt. U. S. Regulars; John Angraves; W. M. Arvin; Capt. R. R. Bacon, 11th Regt. Kv. Cav.; Capt. Albert G. Bacon, 3rd Ky. Cav., kill- ed by Gen. Bedford Forest at Sacramento, December 28th, 1861, the Frankfort (G. A. R. Post is named for him; Col. J. C. Bailey; Ferdinand.Bell; John Bell; Vincent Berberich, Home Guards; George Berry; Hiram Berry; Thomas Black; Joseph Bohannan, Co. E, 9th Ky. Cav.; J. T. Bradley, Co. B, 1st Regt., Capital Guards: William E. Bradley; John Brady; Fielding Bransom, Co. E. 9th Ky. Calv.; Andrew Brown; Lieut. Col. Or- lando Brown, Jr., Co. F, 22nd Ky. Lnf.; Yoder Brown; Charles T. Boudinot, 1842-1918, was Sergeant Major of 85th Indiana Infantry; William Buckley; John Bullin; Dennis Bergin, Co. F, 22nd Inf.; John Burk; Flick Burns; Sonny Burns, Co. F, 22nd Ky. Inf.; Morris Caples, Co. E, 9th Ky. Cav.; Major I. N. Cardwell, 7th Kv. Inf.; John M. Coleman, Home Guard; Ed- ward B. Coleman; A. Collier; Col. James W. Craddock, 16th Ky. Inf.; William Craik, Co. E, 9th Ky. Cav.; Major E. W. Crittendon; Col. Eugene Crittenden, 12th Ky. Cav.; Major Gen. Thomas L. Crittenden, 3rd Ky. Cay., Buell's Division; G. C. Crumbaugh. Co. T, 22nd Kv. Inf.; Capt. G. W. Daniels; John W. Daniels, Co. E, 9th Kv. Cav.; George Daum, Co. C, 10th N. Y. Cav.; Richard Davenport; James Dean; William Dean; John B. Dryden, 9th Ky. Cay.; William Duke, Co. E, 9th Ky. Cav.; Zach Evans; Timothy Forbush; Charles Feather- -tone; Capt. Lewis Finnell; Major Cary H. Fry; Capt. Daniel Garrard, Jr., Co. 22nd Ky. Inf., killed in battle; Bart Gisher, Co. E, 9th Ky. Cay.; Philip Goins, Co. H, Frankfort Battery; Sandford Goins, Sr., Co. 9th Ky. Vol.; Sandford Goins, Jr.; George Goldsmith; George E. Woodwin, 32nd Regt. Ky. Inf.; Gibson F. Graham, Co. E, 9th Ky. Cav.; F. M. Graham; Capt. K. Gray, Co. I, 22nd Ky. Inf.; James Griffie, Co. H, 19th Ky. Inf.; Lieut. D. W. Haley, musician, 55th Ky. Inf.; Peter Har- mon, Co. E, 9th Ky. Cav.; Surgeon James T. Hatchett, Post Master at Frankfort for many years; Howard Henderson; John T. Henderson, Co. F, 22nd Vol. Inf.; William Henry; Lieut. Ed. F. Hogg, Co. D, 19th Ky. Inf.; Thos. Hosler, Co. C, 9th Ky. Cav.; Wes Hulett; Thomas J. Hutcherson, Home Guard; 71 I7ISTORY OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY John William Jenkins; John Geter; Major John G. Keenon; Surgeon T. Kersey; Lieut. Col. Robt. H. King, Co. B, 3rd Ky. Cav.; David Kirkpatrick, -Co. E, 9th Ky. Cav.; Frederick Kneyer; Gen. D). W. Lindsey, Adjt. (Gen. of Ky.; Major Thomas Mahoney, Co. E, 9th Ky. Cav.; John Marshall; J. B. Mauer; Schluvler Miyhalil; Cornelius McCarty, Co. F, 22nd Ky. lnf.; Lieut. Joseph L. McClure, Co. C, 15th Ky. Inf.; Capt. W. T'. McClure, Co. C, 15th Ky. Inf.; Lucien McKee; Alex- ander Mlewan, Co. E, 9th Ky. Cav.; J. Fleming Meek, 32nd Ky. Inf.; Ben Merchant, Co. F, 22 Ky. Vol. Inf.; C. C. Mer- chant, Co. F, 22nd Ky. Vol. Inf.; E. M. Merchant, Co. E, 9th Kv. Cav.; Taylor Merchant; R. H. Mitchell, Co. E, 9th Ky. Cav.; Brig. Gen. George W. Monroe, 7th Ky. Inf.; James Monholland; Wat Nickols; Andy Norwood; Isaac Osborne; Coleman Spilsbee Owens; Major J. R. Pave, Co. E, 9th Ky. Cav.; George Peiffer, 3rd Ky. Inf.; William Peiffer; W. G. Purdy; Robert L. Ready; George Reock; William T. Scott; Leon Scott; Major J. M. Scott, died October 26th, 1850; W. H. Scott; Philip Selbert, musician, 5th Ky. Inf.; Dan Sheehan, Co. E, 9th Ky. Cav.; Frederick Smith; Joseph S.Smith;Samuel Smith; Lieut. William H. Sneed, Police Judge of Frankfort, Ky., Co. F. 22nd Ky. Inf.; John R. Spires; Col. Lyne Starling, 20th Ky. Mounted Inf.; John Sullivan, Co. E, 9th Ky. Inf.; Capt. Jacob Swigert, 22nd Ky. Inf.; James R. Tate, 32nd Inf.; Col. L. P. Tarlton, Railroad Commissioner; Capt. Robert rFay- lor, 32nd Ky. Inf.; Lieut. L. Franklin Todd, Co. C, 15th Ky. Inf., he lost his right arm at Chaplin Hill and was killed at Murfreesboro, January 2nd, 1863; Lieut. John H. Todd, 3rd Cav.; Capt. Harry I. Todd.; Capt.. J. R. Todd; Robert Trumbo; John Veach; D. C. Venable; William T. Walls, Co. A, 22nd Ky. Inf., died near Black River, Miss., 1868; John Waller, Co. E, 9th Ky. Cav.; J. Wallace; Joshua Warren, Uo. E, 9th Ky. Cav.; Jerome Weitzel; Marine D. West; E. Adelbert Wey- mouth, Mass. Vol.; Jessie Whitehouse, 9th Ky. Cav., John S. Williams, Co. E, 9th Ky. Cav.; Kit Willis; James Willis. United States Navy: Capt. T. Fred Carter; William S. Harris; Calender I. 72 HISTORY, OF THE FRANKFORT CEMETERY Lewis; Alexander McEwan' John M. Sharp; Chester Brooks, marine corps, died February, 1921. Soldiers of the Spanish-American War: Lieut. William N. Bridgeford; Hord Brown, William Cul- ter, Cad Davis, J. D. Davis, John B. Kingkade, Clarence Mc- Daniel; C. M. Netherton, A. D. Quire, Andrew Salender, Buell Taylor. Soldiers of the World War: Frank Busam, Harry T. Conroy, William Chism, 149th Inft., 48th Division, died at Brest, France, March 11th, 1919; Charles Dickey; Orvid Herrick; James Harris; Thomas Miles; Otho B. Marlow; Newland Moffett Shryock; Walter White; Samuel E. Williams, and Major Frank M. Scanland; Lieut. William McEwan, son of Rev. W. L. McEwan, D.D.; Miles Ragland, Stewart Hosler; Eugene Mitchell, Navy. In addition to the above lists, which includes some of the names given below, the followmng are given to make more cer- tain the character of service rendered: Sylvester Welch was chief engineer of Kentucky from 1837 to 1842; Marine D. West, Quarter Master General Marine of the United States; Calender J. Lewis, Paymaster in the United States Navy; Captain Breckenridge F. Blackburn died 1867, aged thirty-five years; Gen. Ambrose W. Dudley, Quar- ter Master Gen. of the United States for fifteen years; Col. E. H. Taylor, U. S. A.; Col. John Rodman, U. S. A.; General Wil- liam Hardin, 1840, United States; Lieut. Presley Nevil O'Banion, Algerian War; Lieut. John J. Crittenden, on Staff of Gen. Custer and was killed by the Indians June 25th, 1876, at the Little Big Horn when Gen. Custer with sixteen officers and three hundred enlisted men were massacred by the Indians. 73 HISTORY OF TUIF FRANKFOR1' CEM1ETERY PRESENT BOARD OF TRUSTEES. John W. Milam, President. Thomas P. Averill, Secretary. J. William Pruett, Treasurer. George L. Payne. W F Dandridge, V ruett Graham, J. Swigert Taylor, Henry Craik, Superintendent. TRUSTEES AND OFFICERS IN 1890. BOARD OF TheSTEES. E. L. Samuel, S. C. Bull, W. T. Reading, J. M. Todd, W. H. Waggoner, W. J. Chinn, D. W. Lindsey. OFFICERS. E. L. Samuels, President. W. T. Reading, Treasurer. S. C. Bull, Secretary. William Craik, Superintendent. E. L. Samuel EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE. W. J. Chinn, D. L. Lindsey. W. H. Waggoner, FINANCE COMMITTEE. J. M. Todd, All of these officers are now buried in these grounds: E. L. Samuel, 1908; D. W. Lindsey, 1917; W. J. Chinn, 1892; Ben C. Milam, 1904; William T. Reading, 1912; J. M. Todd, S. C. Bull, W. H. Waggener, William Craik. 459 S. C. Bull. 74